Rent Rune Factory 3: A Fantasy Harvest Moon for DS
view large frontback

Rune Factory 3: A Fantasy Harvest Moon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.3

414 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the most amazing DS games to date.

posted by CoreyKei (OAK CREEK, WI) Nov 16, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

24 out of 24 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't even know where to start. I put this game in expecting as we all know, Harvest Moon with swords. But, I got SO much more. They have made DS video game gold with this one. So let's get started.

Story: 10/10
It starts out with you being a having amnesia and being helped out by a girl (Shara), she then gives you your own house that has two fields below it. You basically do random things that people post on the bulletin board. You can also: Fish, Farm, Raise Monsters, Harvest Items and ore. And Level up everything from walking to sleeping. Oh, and get married and raise a family. Pretty much everything you could want to do, you can do.

As for the girls you can marry, there are a lot of marriage candidates. And ALL of them are amazingly adorable.

Graphics: 9/10
The whole look of the town and the people portraits look nice. But the actual sprites look a little weird. I feel like their arms are too long and wide.

Sound: 10/10
Like Harvest Moon it's a pretty similar sound at all times. Unlike Harvest Moon the music changes when you go into battle. AND, one of my favorite parts, is that there is voice acting and sometimes the towns people actually "Talk" to you.

Controls: 10/10
Unlike some of the recent Harvest moons where everything is touch based. RF3 uses both the buttons and the touch screen. And they make it pretty easy. You will have to get used to the copious amount of different button usage but once you get the hang of it it's pretty easy to play.

Overall: 10/10
I played the first Rune Factory and that was it. I enjoyed the first but wasnt amazed by it. But this one is probably one of my favorite games on the DS. It's worth any amount of money you spend on it. Well $40 and below. I would recommend buying this game because you will not regret it. You're pretty much buying a game that you could play and play differently forever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING.

posted by BobTheGlob (CLEARFIELD, UT) Dec 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I ADORE this game. So much. I haven't finished it yet, I'm almost done with the last dungeon, but I know who I'm gonna marry, I already have 10 hearts with her and I've finished all the other requirements except fixing the problem with the Univir tribe, so I'm close enough to being done to write a review, I think.

Graphics: 10/10. At first it looked pretty bad (I'd been playing KH 358/2 Days before I started, it wasn't very good in comparison) but after a while it I got used to it and it's actually really good. Especially the portrait things. Or sprites, whatever they're called.

Characters: 10/10. I love them all. Well, except Collette... She annoys me so bad. But Raven is AMAZINGGG. I chose her to marry the second she was introduced. Evelyn's great, too, but sadly you can't marry her. Oh, and Micah or whatever you named him is really cute. I didn't love his Wooly form, but it's grown on me and I like it now. All of the marriage candidates have their own personalities and obsessions, and almost all of them are adorable.

Farming: 9/10. It's pretty good. Unlike the other games (I think, I didn't play RF1, I haven't bought RF2 yet, and RFF didn't have it), you can stack things while you're holding them. If you pick up one of something, you can pick up another one of the same thing without putting away the other one. It's pretty handy. The only bad thing about the farming is that when you harvest something, the tilled spot goes away and you have to re-till it. It's pretty annoying. I don't know if RF1 or 2 did that, but the Harvest Moons game I've played didn't and neither did RFF, so it bugged me.

Forging/Cooking/etc: 10/10. It takes quite a bit of your RP, but that's pretty minor. Fishing doesn't, though, which is really good. I can fish for the whole in-game day and it'll only take maybe half of my RP. Probably less. It's pretty time-consuming, though.

Story: 10/10. It's really, really interesting. Especially the events with Raven.

Buy/Rent: Definite buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RF3 Takes Harvest Moon to Next Level

posted by StratMan (MIAMI, FL) Jan 21, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I agree with both previous reviews on all aspects and they forced me to move this rental to the top of my GameQ. I enjoyed RF2 as well as HM: Grand Bazzaar so this title was easy to like. But they added some nice touches that put it better than expected. First I didn't have to use the touch screen at all if I didn't want to. Some games I want to use buttons only and this one makes it possible. Accessing the fridge or storage would be easier/quicker with a stylus, but at times I am lazy and enjoy not picking up and setting down the pen.
I live my life similar to the RF character, sleep only minimal keep myself busy. But I did find a trick in the game: go to sleep just before 6am and all is well (no cold or side issues). Also befriending monsters is easier than anticipated. I just start giving them all the junk I don't want and they usually befriend me with simple left over items I am carrying.
The new twists and easy to use system makes this game a good version 3. You will enjoy the human/monster transitions as well as the grab as you want story line. A great low keep it price is well worth the $25.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazingly awesometastic

posted by SkySquid (PHOENIX, AZ) May 3, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What I found the most appealing and sensationally tasty was the interaction of characters and there very well defined personalities, help shoot this game through the roof, making this game a fun time passer of byness which if im not mistaken is a great thing.I found that most people dont actually take the time to beat this game, however the entire game is very entertaining, down right hilarious in some cases, it even suggests some pretty burst out lauphing squidgestions. This game will live up to any harvestmoon fan, it did for me and if speaking only by myself here would most enjoy another rune factory. I played and beat all three and recomend all of them to the full extent which leeds me to another thing this game doesnt nessisarily have any ties with the previous games so no nessisary play through of the previous titles is nessisary. All in all I would suggest this game and all its splendid glory 100 %. This was SKYSQUID the magnificence in review of RUNE fACTORY 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad, high performanced game, few issues though

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Jun 19, 2011

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

High performance rune factory game, but it is visiting an area that we are all too familiar with(dante's inferno ring a bell??), but instead of 7 deadly sin's the town seems more infected with the major cardinal sins! Good foundation for a really deep plot, but maybe that is to come later? I keep asking myself why the villagers are all seemingly corrupted by all these sin? Are they cursed? Sadly, you won't get any awnsers beyond the fact that their behavior is a little odd.. REALLY?! NO KIDDING!!! Maybe it was all a plot to have a rune factory main heroine who are usually strange to be the most likely canidate for marriage for once... Don't get me wrong! This a pretty good game, but the plot just seems a bit deeper than it really is! I mean, come on, how can a whole village of people be a living testament of every major sin in humanity, and NOT have it that the town is cursed or something?! So maybe in the next installment of vthe Sharance saga we will know more about it, and maybe find a way to end the madness(or we could have a sparta moment! LOL! madness? THIS IS SPARTAAA!)
I DO have a few complaints about the festivals, as some are just too HARD! But not all of them, though, still I strongly suggest trhat you save on the festival days, so you can reload if you don't win, but DON'T expect to win right off the bat!(Presonally, I think the game cheats on festivals!) It is a good game, but it could have used a bit more balance in some areas, so it could have spent some more time in developement... TRY BEFORE YOU BUY! I Will be looking forward to see if they can take the plot deeper next time! (Will you take this man to be your husband to love and cherish as long as you both shall live? Sofia: I DON'T! (she means I DO! play it, and you'll understand, FUNNY stuff!!!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Oh well...

posted by Dasheara (SAINT PAUL, MN) Apr 30, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I was enjoying the game until summer hit and a steady stream of hurricanes rendered farming impossible. Three hurricanes in the first five days meant I couldn't even clean up my land, much less hope to plant new things. Bit of a game breaker in a farming sim, really.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Rune Factory Game

posted by nadare (AUSTIN, TX) Jun 16, 2013

Member since Aug 2010

This game, in my opinion, is the best Rune Factory game. And I think you should trust my opinion, seeing as I own every single Rune Factory except Rune Factory 4, which hasn't been released yet. It has a very unique story, though it starts off basically the same way as usual, with the main character waking up in a town with no memory. The characters are all unique as well, with many different personalities, some being mysterious and somewhat antisocial (Raven), others being laidback and lazy (Gaius), while others are completely odd and hard to understand (Sophia and her father. I forgot his name...). The side requests are a good thing to keep you busy as you progress through the story, while the main requests often make you progress through the story. The bosses are often either very easy to beat, such as the raccoon in Privera Forest, or very hard to beat where you have to bring someone along and use all your magic seeds. The town and areas outside of town are all very unique and usually well put together, though they are sometimes hard to navigate (I'm not too good at video games... I try, though). All in all, one of the only DS games I play anymore and actually enjoy. I still haven't beaten it though!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

grate

posted by bunnyboy (LEANDER, TX) Dec 22, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

grate it starts slowly but then gets realy fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It's ok... but...

posted by Diecry (KINGWOOD, TX) Aug 29, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I play harvest moon and i do wish for more things to do in harvest moon so i played runefactory, i got bored easily, just like i did in the second one, I recommend this for 10 year old boys. The graphics are nice but it would be nice if they focused a little less detail on the graphics because it is to the point i cant tell if they are a girl or guy. Tame monsters ok a little different from harvest moon or transform into one, which is a wooly. Either it is just not the game for me or the game just isn't very good. I find this to be another rpg game with some flashy new details but lesser addictive qualities. Not to be harsh but it is just not all that great actually i am a little disappointed that you cant be a girl either. I was very disappointed playing this overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Fantasy Harvest Moon

posted by temarifangirl12 (SUMNER, WA) Feb 4, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Gotta love of Rune factory on the Ds and the Wii for the best or for the worst.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best DS Game Available

posted by oberchop (DEER ISLAND, OR) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Jul 2006

Amazingly fun and addictive. Running your own farm and building relationships with neighbors has never been more entertaining in this genuinely flawless fantasy game.

The combat system is extremely deep, and includes many different weapons each with their own style.

The characters are brimming with color, and within a few hours of play, you'll find yourself in love with the all the denizens of the little town of Sharance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

For Harvest Moon fans

posted by Ponsay (VACAVILLE, CA) Oct 25, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Fantastic game. Excellent time sink and a good successor to the Harvest Moon series, incorporating everything that made Harvest Moon fun while simultaneously improving upon it. Most fun I've had with the series since Friends of Mineral Town.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Was Sorely Disappointed

posted by Thaela (MAGEE, MS) Mar 16, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

The game didn't even register in my DS. It made me sad, but oh well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »