Rent Rune Factory 2: A Fantasy Harvest Moon for DS
view large frontback

Rune Factory 2: A Fantasy Harvest Moon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.7

393 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than ever!

posted by tiloho (OSHKOSH, WI) Jan 21, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

One thing I like about this game is that it's much easier to raise friendship and romance levels. There are quests that you do for others that raise your levels and usually earn you money or special tools/items. You can start the second generation within a week in real time, if you're in a hurry, and choose to play as either a boy or a girl. Playing as a boy gives you an extra romance choice or 2, but other than that I don't think it makes a difference. One of the things that I find interesting is that you have to raise your own mother's friendship level. I like to think that she's depressed and I'm just cheering her up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

New and Improved!

posted by Zephyr7 (WAYNE, MI) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

So if you've played the first Rune Factory (which is also an amazing game) take everything from that and improve on it 2 times. This game was done exceptionally well and it's extremely addicting. They didn't go too far from the original formula but there were a few new additions. One of the new features is the request board in town and that alone adds a good amount of depth to the characters. With that you really get to know the townsfolk (and the rewards are sometimes very very nice). The game really picks up after you have your kid and build him/her a school. What else is there to say? I highly recommend this game to all Harvest Moon fans... If you liked the first, you'll love the second.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very nice

posted by chingle (OAK PARK, IL) Nov 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I got this game I was expecting a good game; and that's what I got. This game is pure fun. It's almost just like the first one with a new story line and a new person. Although there's fighting it's not that bad, so it's ok for kids. I love this and hopefully everyone else who has tried it will love it too

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A decent but boring farming game

posted by darkman239 (SUNRISE, FL) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is pretty much the same as harvest moon, plant crops, go around town doing favors and such, hookin up with the ladies in the town, and all that other stuff they offer in harvest moon. what this game did differently from harvestmoon is add in a fighting monster system, that governs your lvl, which gives you more stats to improve your fighting skills. you also have a lvling up system that lvls up certain things, like do alot of watering and plowing you lvl up the farming/crop skill. this is a pretty good game, but can be a little tricky in the begining, because you have to learn certain things yourself. it does not really guide you through a decent tutorial, but nothing an online guidebook cant fix. in all fairness its pretty much the same as the other harvest moon games for the GBA, which is perfect for those who really love the series, but for first time players to a farming game, i would recomend getting the orignal harvest moon for the GC, or atleast a GBA instead of this dull game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game ever!

posted by nadare (AUSTIN, TX) May 27, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

I love this game! After I've done a lot of quests though it gets a little less fun. You usually do a few basic things, farming, monster ranching, scavenging, cave scavenging, and fighting monsters. I'm still in the first generation, but I'm going through my first Winter. I had seeds that I had gotten for finishing tasks, but they weren't for the season I was in. So, I waited until Winter (when I couldn't plant anything), and then planted them in the three season places (I forgot what they were called). I planted them in Spring, Summer and Fall. Usually I get up, (this is in Winter)look to see anything I can scavenge, go brush my monsters, water my Spring and Fall plants, check the quest board, and then finally water my Summer plants. I hope this helped you. =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One reason why to get a DS!

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) May 10, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

I only rented this game for two days and I wanna KEEP it forever! Rune Factory was NO match for Rune Factory 2! So your a person who lost his memory and somehow you end up on a farm! ....(Thank you Mana!) I don't know a whole lot about the game but I do know that it is the best game for the DS ever! (Sorry Avalon Code!) Of course Rune Factory Frontier is great too! Was gonna give this game a 10. But it has few things I don't like. 1 Jake thinks he is so wonderful! 2 It needs more anime in it. 3 It's hard to decide which one of the girls to marry. 4 .......Um....Rosalind's hair is to dull. Those are the four things I don't like. But you should see for yourself!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Kandie (CALICO ROCK, AR) Mar 21, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Excellent game. It has a good story. Great graphics. And loving NPC's. I'd recommend this game to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's almost BEST, but stuck on better...

posted by UnityK (AKRON, OH) Feb 7, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2003

I am a huge Harvest Moon fan. I've played them all on the many platforms that HM has appeared on over the years.

I was really excited when the first HM Rune Factory came out, and I rank it as "good." RF2 in my mind is "better," but there's still room for a "best."

Much of the game play mirrors RF1, where you can battle monsters and befriend them. The HM staple of crop growing is there, too, and plays about the same role. When RF2 differs is that you actually play TWO generations in that you play the main character and later your child. It's a fun twist to the standard HM format.

That being said... As the parent, the game is tedious at times. Although making friendships and wooing is easier than traditional HM games, I think it still took too long to get to the child phase.

Trust me, the child phase is much more fun! New adventuring places are open to you. You can learn more than one spell. You can cook and forge. The first part of the game felt like a long prologue that just wouldn't end.

Once you're playing the child, you have so many more opportunities that you'll realize that the wait to get born might be worth it all.

Overall, I liked the game. Here are some highpoints of RF2 compared with other HM games:

> Once your parent proposes, the wedding is quick and the child is born fairly soon after.
> Better crop choices. Let's say that money is never a problem once you get started.
> The town characters seem to have personalities. The wife choices were DIFFERENT from one another. Yay!

Downfalls:
> SLOWWWWW start to the real fun part of the game.
> No pet dog. Hello, it's HM!
> As the parent, you have too much time in the day and not enough you can do.
> As the child, you start with really useless tools, which is a hassle in farming.
> Tasks are limited and seem repetitive.

If you're a HM fan, check it out. Let's hope that HM RF3 is the BEST.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not too shabby sequel.

posted by FrozenSilv (ANDOVER, MA) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game is okay. But I highly suggest playing the first one first. You don't have to, but it will help you plan for this game in the long run. Because the 1st is nicer (More money, better tutorial, more wood -which does actually matter, just trust me okay?!-) as in, easier to get a hang of. So obviously, this is a MUST for veterans. And I am one. OH! To the vets: Sorry, but there aren't many familiar faces in town, except for one, but I don't want to spoil it. But if this were my first Rune Factory game, I would give it a 6.5. But you really have to stay with it for a while. You know, let it grow on you. That will really add to the enjoyment later on. The only thing I can complain about is the voice acting. Ouch! Only Mana sounds believable!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »