Rent Rumble Roses XX for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Rumble Roses XX

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.8

2211 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rumble Roses XX

posted by LordSigma (SANTA CLARITA, CA) Jul 29, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First of all, I must say that if you loved the original Rumble Roses on the PS2, you're going to love this. I approached this game the same way I did with the PS2 version. T&A is the primary focus here and Konami/Yukes really made all the girls look even MORE beautiful than ever. Of course the actual wrestling engine was done by Yukes and I was very impressed by the mechanics of the engine. (those of you that have played the WWE Smackdown! games will get used to the grappling right away). There is very little clipping in this game as well and I liked that too. It's a fun game that you play for a couple of days and then play something else and then come back to it. Why? Well, to put it simply, it takes a VERY long time to unlock stuff and the instruction manual doesn't really help at all and neither does the tutorial. And that got me a bit frustrated. Another thing that I didn't like was that there isn't any Japanese audio language track to select if you get tired of hearing the girls and the announcer's English tracks. Don't get me wrong....I'm not saying that the voices are terrible, some sound good and very much like what you would imagine that they would sound like. But others sound silly to downright corny (not to mention embarassing) to the point of cringing. The menu system is also confusing because you really don't know where to go or what to do for that matter. Let me also point out that Konami did NOT include a "storymode" as in the original PS2 version. As for the online play via Xbox Live, I've had very little to no problems at all. (altough there seems to be some lag issues if you are playing others who live overseas). This game could've also used some kind of "lobby" for players like with what Tecmo/Team Ninja did with Dead Or Alive 4. Other than that, it's actually not a really bad game, (all the T&A and gimmicks aside) it just could've used a bit more "polish" and testing and a delay probably would've scored alot better with the critics. Try it out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

There is actually a decent wrestling game in here.

posted by Weeble (TACOMA, WA) Aug 16, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

22 out of 26 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

If you can try for about ten minutes to ignore the jiggling, and swaying of some of the female anatomies best offerings, you will find a seriously good wrestling game mechanic.

Believe it or not behind all the grand exploitation, and sophomoric displaying of attractive and absurdly proportioned female characters, this game does deliver a very good wrestler game.

I think we all know what rumble roses is selling here so I need not get in to that.

There are some really good moves, and a fun wrestling game to play behind the T & A.

Learning combos, and special moves are not too difficult and really entertaining. It's the "Humiliation" moves that although funny, add to the exploitation factor.

I don't even want to talk about the photo shoot mode..that's for 13 years old boys who cannot get their hands on a dirty magazine. At least look at real living women to satisfy yourself privately behind closed doors. I suppose it has some entertainment value, but it really creeped me out a little bit.

The graphics overall are not bad. The characters models and environments are well lit, detailed and colorful. This game does look very good.
There are plenty of unlockables, and lots of characters to choose from, and even the career mode has a lot to offer if you want to stick with a girl and make your way up the ranks, searching for reward for being the most popular and biggest bad ~donkey~(insert euphemism for donkey here since Game Fly is insane with its censorship) in the female wrestling ring.

But the game delivers only up to an above average game on the whole. to much glitter and exploitation get in the way of the really good game play aspects, and may leave one feeling awkward or bored after a while. Even with good sound, graphics and wrestling engine the over the top butt in the face, ruins the experience. What a back fire.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mediocre but still entertaining.

posted by Shazoo (TITUSVILLE, FL) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2004

20 out of 24 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The games pretty confusing at first load up trying to decipher what to do. Without a manual the game play is also frustrating, even after reading all the tutorials, which seldom explain something clearly. The controls are decent but feels as if there's a slight delay with your characters actions. Good graphics and mediocre game play will make this game only worth a rental, don't waste your money purchasing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Don't believe everything you Read

posted by Goat01 (RICHMOND, VA) Aug 29, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This game isn't as bad as the reviews purport ladies and gents. The graphics are excellent, and as far as wrasslin games go, its actually solid. Sure it lacks a story and sometimes it feels like the developers just quit developing at some point, but it is an enjoyable hoot of a game. If you like ultra-kitschy Japanese insanity, then this is the game for you. Tongue-in-cheek ultra sexuality infused with a solid wrestling engine. Puritans need not boot this one up. Do they still exist? They might given some of the other skewed reviews you may have read by now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Pretty Good Game

posted by Aticus (NORTH HAVEN, CT) Sep 29, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Like most reviewers have said, if you can get past the 'girls in hardly no clothing' aspect of the game, then you're in for a decent game.

For 2006, the graphics are great! The girls and cut-scenes are really well done. The screen shots do it justice. The sound is just OK. There's not much acting in moans. The game has a great counter system. It's a 50/50 chance of counter if you land the 2 button combo system right. X-Rb is for an attacking combo where Y-Rb is for a grappling combo.

There's 2 negative aspects of this game which leaves it short. First is the lack of story. Second is the ENDLESS grind of trying to unlock stuff. I swear, it's horrid how long it takes to not only get a belt but to even unlock achievements takes forever. It becomes a grind and a lack of story only enhances this grind.

In the end, for a $5 used price on eBay, you might as well get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A surprisingly good wrasslin game

posted by GTripp (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Sep 15, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I've always wanted to check this game out. I expected it to be a TnA game with an envelope of wrestling masking it. It is much better than this though. There are many cool moves in this game and they look great. Many of them are even used in the Smackdown vs Raw games (the timing and animations are exact). I am having a blast with this and the TnA part is more of icing on the cake rather than the reason I am playing. You can find several real life wrestler's moves in this game, from Alex Shelley's Shellshock, Victoria's Widowmaker, and more which I cannot think of at this time. I am pleasantly impressed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Seriously, its not that bad

posted by GesusFish (Worcester, MA) Apr 24, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Okay, okay. I'm not going to try to convince you that you can enjoy this game if you in no way have any interest in the scantilly clad wrestlers. However, the graphics are really polished, and the girls do look good and that kept me interested just long enough to actually get hooked on this game.
Alright, I'll come clean, I love this game and I defend it to everyone so I am biased. But I've also logged about 40 hours into the game and here's the skinny
Pros:
-Looks great
-Gameplay actually is smooth and easy enough to learn.
-There is a much better variety of moves than in the first game
-CUSTOM ENTRANCE MUSIC!!! That's right, Smackdown vs. Raw for the 360 didn't even bother to do it but Rumble Roses does. You can have your wrestler enter to any song on your hard drive (just set the song as its own playlist). It got big points with me for just this feature alone
-Create a wrestler. It's not bad, not great. But at least its there

Cons:
-No story mode AT ALL. Nothing. You just play match after match. There are a few match varieties but it all boils down to the same thing. Play a match, hope for a title match.
-Speaking of title matches. You get one at some point AT RANDOM between around 15-60 (you heard me, 60!!!) matches. In 40 hours of gameplay I've won the singles title maybe 6 or 7 times. Winning these title matches is how you unlock most of the characters so this can be frustrating.
-speaking of unlockable characters, there really aren't any. Instead there are "good guy" and "bad guy" versions of the 11 characters. They all play like different characters so it is over 20 differnt ways to play but it still only feels like 11 characters.
-online...nobody plays online. You'l almost never be able to find a game.
-achievements. 40 hours = 50 points. Until I saw the gamercard of the person who did it I thought it was perfectly reasonable to assume that no one on earth hd gotten the full 1000 points for this game

Overall, I loved this game, but you probably won't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

T&A is not best the thing to make a game about all

posted by BigO2008 (FAIRBURY, NE) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

I played the game for about five hours before I found I got really tired of the game because all the game come down to is really bad porn. there is a lot more to the game then the first one, like the online is fun and I didn't run in to any problems on online, tag team and the other modes are fun, some of the move are cool and the outfits are very hot. But it takes to long to get in to the game and even longer to unlock all the things in the game about 50 hours to unlock all of the thing in the game with all the girls but there is no way I would play the game for that long just to see more of the same thing I seen in the first hour of the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

mildly amusing

posted by jkoopa (SANTA CLARA, CA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

18 out of 28 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Rumble Rose XX was entertaining for 15 minutes, the girls look great and the various outfits are a hit.

The gameplay is terrible. Controls aren't very innovative. And the match setup isn't anythng to write about. There aren't any storylines between the characters either.

Definately a renter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I liked it.

posted by revenge101 (Okmulgee, OK) May 3, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If your like me and don't have hours to dedicate to learning and playing a new game, then this is a great game. Just pop it in and within a few minutes of playing your doing well enough to hold your own. I grew up in the atari age and realy miss the games you didn't have to play the tutorial first to even begin to figure out what you were doing, lol. For the causal player this game is not an "overcomplicated" game that by the time you figure out you gotta turn it off so your not late for the next appointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Rumble Roses 1.5

posted by daannounce (STOCKTON, CA) May 7, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Rumble Roses XX is not as bad as the numerous reviews on this site say it is. Granted this is just my opinion and I didn't pay full price for the game.

Visuals:: Drop dead gorgeous! All the ladies are visually stunning and animate very well.There are some slight clipping issues during matches but other than that this game's visuals alone got me to buy the game.

Sound:: Not much to review here. The entrance songs are alright and the sound quality is great. But other than these two options you get your standard grunts and moans from the girls as they wrestle. You can also set up your own entrance music for your created wrestler and the standard ones. So thats pretty cool.

Gameplay:: The creator of the game added more depth to the simplistic engine and Yuke's delivered. But the gameplay hasn't changed too much from the first rumble Roses. Countering is trickier to pull off. Which is ok considering when two good players played the first Rumble Roses the game was reduced to just countering each other all day.
There is no longer a story mode only random matches ranging from Single bouts to 4 way way Royal rumbles. You will be playing alot of matches before you unlock more outfits and poses for photo mode.
The online lobby set up is pretty skimpy but the gameplay is fun. Especially seeing other created wrestlers or character edits of the standard wrestlers in the game.

Conclusion:: If your a hardcore wrestling fan you will despise this game. Rumble Roses isn't a true sequel. Alot of options that were hyped before the game was released like create a wrestler lack the options to compete with Raw and Smackdown franchises. This is not a hardcore title its more of a casual interactive fan service game.
It seems that this game was rushed. But since it is the only all female wrestling game in the U.S. it will sell regardless of its shortcomings. If you love to oogle at CG girls and a casual wrestling fan I recommend this title. This game isn't too bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best games I have played

posted by Zwick1 (MELROSE, MA) Jun 14, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

In my opinion, this game is great. I cant find any flaws in it at all, except there is no storyline, but fighting games usually don't have one. The graphics are stunning, the fighting is better than decent and the girls are unbelievable. I think this is a buyer definitely

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Please Rent this game before buyin!!!

posted by Dmoreno (TAMPA, FL) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Ok where do I start.. I bought this game the same day I bought my 360. Being an indy wrestler I figured it might be good, looked good in the pics.. When I played it I found it quite the opposite.. The character models are hot and all, and some innovative moves that I have never seen done in the real ring, but overall a horrible effort. There really is no career mode, and some of the stipulations to the matches are retarded! Loser gets tickled with a feather by the winner match? My god, who comes up with this stuff..

Graphics great, the women are hot.. but gameplay, just downright stupid..'

Wish they would have come out with Wrestle Kingdom in the states instead.

Rent it first please.. Dont shuck out the $60 bucks for this game.. Trust me, I wish I hadn't!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

All T&A - NO Gameplay

posted by Nappster (CANTON, CT) May 1, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Once you get by the first 2 minutes of staring at the well rendered female parts of all the wrestlers you are left with a sub par wrestling game. The grappling system is horrible, the counters are almost impossible to pull off, and the special moves get old real fast. Don't play if you are in it just for the achievement points because title shots are RANDOM. That's right, you fight and fight and fight and pray that the system will give you a title shot so you can get a measly 10 points towards your gamer score. This game is not worth your time or spot in the queue. Thank god I got it from Gamefly so I could quickly return it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game ruled

posted by nealg6 (SPRING, TX) Oct 7, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

All i can say about this game was it was so amazing, dont listen to any of them!! its really fun, and looks great!!! 9/10!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What Could Have Been

posted by schtumpy (NEW ALBANY, IN) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Rumble Roses Double X intrigued me as a wrestling fan. I'll tell you right now that I care little for the costumes and the bouncing. I'm an adult and happily married. But, I do love wrestling games. I have wrestling games all the way back to the Sega Master System. What I was hoping for was a title to hold me over until the next WWE game came out. This wasn't it. The gameplay is passable, and some of the gimmick matches are entertaining. But, this game is slow. Who'd have thought that the developers make a game with two or even four giggly little characters so boring. The action is painfully slow that it felt more like a runway than a wrestling ring.

Also, the interface takes some getting used to. I started the game and didn't have any clue what to do next. Then, I figured out that you had to choose a location for the fight.

Honestly, I wrestled a half a dozen matches or so, even winning a few of them and I was done.

Boring is boring even with huge cup sizes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Bad

posted by scarfaic (NORRISTOWN, PA) Jul 16, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've seen GameFly users and critics alike score this game below average and honestly I don't agree with it.

The wrestling mechanics take some time, especially how to trigger the reversals at the right point, but they are good. The first thing I noticed that some of the moves looked really similar to the ones I seen in the Smackdown! series, which is another great running series, with some new moves. The animations are quite good as well as the graphics.

The only bad spots about the game is the short roster list and the submission controls. Submissions can be a royal pain if your not the one giving them. The controls for getting out of a submission is mashing the face buttons. Its not so bad with some people but with characters like Aisha, your hand thats doing the mashing will cramp up because every move she does, whether its a finisher or a just a normal grapple, will end up in a submission. Thats the part that made this game quite a turn off for me. But other than the submission controls, this game is worth a shot if your a wrestling fan. Wrestling haters need to go pick up Halo or whatever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome

posted by gprime (GAINESVILLE, FL) Aug 8, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Rumble Roses for the 360 looks amazing. The gameplay is very similar to the PS2 version, and it is succesful adding to the original premise while adding features you may have wished for in the PS2 version. Only drawback is no story, but lets be honest, fighting game stories are lame anyways. Theres an in game tutorial for anyone whining about the control scheme, and once you've viewed it, there really shouldnt be too much of a problem. Bottom line, its a fun game, and looks awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rumble Roses XX Review

posted by gamerater (KATY, TX) May 20, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Story- Wrestle With Your Own Crafted Lady.

Graphics- 9.0

Gameplay- 7.0

Overall Review- 7.0
"Decent Game"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!!!!!

posted by jkwilson93 (VISALIA, CA) Jun 12, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS AWESOME!! THE GIRLS ARE HOT AND THE WRESTLING IS SWEEEET!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't bother...

posted by Rokswel (XENIA, OH) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game has decent graphics, BUT...the gameplay is horrible!!! Wrestling fans won't even be able to appreciate this piece of gaming junk!!! Beware, Rumble Roses XX is a complete waste of money, time, effort etc...DON'T BUY, RENT, OR EVEN THINK ABOUT THIS GAME!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game rocks

posted by mattside (HOWES CAVE, NY) Aug 5, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. Everything in it is good from the pro wrestling moves. To its down right goodness. This is definatly worth your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't waste your time

posted by dratsab (MANTECA, CA) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This was honestly one of the worst Xbox 360 games I have played. The controls where slow and unresponsive. I love fighting and wrestling games and the controls and timing for moves on this game where horrible. The lighting on most matches made the graphics seem a washed out(yes I played in on a HDTV). Even if you want to rent this for the skin factor, he girls don't even look that good. You are better off sticking to DOA4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

bad

posted by brandon (SPOKANE, WA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

this is a bad game graphics are bad and controlls are worse its a hard game i did not have fun playing it so dont get rumble roses if u dont want a next gen looking game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

rumble roses review

posted by octavious (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Sep 12, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

i think the game is very interesting i think its funny and a little heart racing plus the rewards are endless but what i don't like bout the game was that the story mode was so difficult to follow the girls are not all that good of fighters and the glitches really happen often so annoying over all i'll give it a 5 .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse