Rent Rooms: The Main Building for Wii
view large frontback

Rooms: The Main Building

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
3.5

251 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Rooms with a Decent View

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Mar 27, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It’s part jigsaw puzzle, part maze.
Rooms: The Main Building is all about getting the protagonist from the starting point to the exiting door. To do this, you slide the segments of the room up, down left or right (provided there’s an empty slot for the segment to slide into, or use some magical tool to get around the room.
The early levels have you making the path from start to goal, but it is not long before you pick up a few tricks; you can switch rooms via a dresser, teleport using phones, move water from one room to another (and use a fishbowl to breathe underwater) and so on. Some of these tricks are very ingenious and are well used.
If only the segments making up the rooms weren’t this small. It can get tough to see if a door will let you go both ways, or which impassable wall goes with which segment.
And the segments can get overcrowded with stuff; dressers, phones, keys, fire hydrants, and train stops can easily fill up the tiny segment interior and make it tough for the player to pick the right one (in some levels if you pick the wrong one, you fail the puzzle and have to start over from the beginning)
A lesser problem is some parts of the story mode I didn’t like; our protagonist can be a bit of a dim bulb as he talks with the book.
And some players might be turned off by the fact that if you are stuck on a level in Story Mode, there’s no way out; there’s no hints in the game to help you solve that level.
There are other modes available: you can create your own levels or take on a friend to see who gets to the exit first. There’s also a Challenge Mode, and a Time Trial Mode where you how fast you can solve the puzzles but to get those, you have to finish the game (a really tough task.)
Rooms: The Main Building is made for puzzle lovers (who should get it), but I think it’s a place I’d visit and not take up residence in. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

No fun

posted by decapad (BRONX, NY) Apr 23, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Hello - this is a fuzzy puzzle game where you have to navigate through several rooms, obstacles & use gimmicky special items to get from point A to point B. I do love a good puzzle & a good challenge mind you - but this really just didn't do it for me at all. Which is extra sad because it's the kind of game I should like! Horrible graphics & music certainly didn't help, and after the initial learning curve the puzzles were really simple. I only lasted a couple hours & had enough. I'll look forward to my next game rather than dwell anymore on this! My best, D.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rooms The Main Building

posted by dlp434 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Jan 11, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Rooms the Main Building is not at all worth playing in my opinion. The graphics are mediocre at best. The basis of the game (the idea) is a really good one but not preformed to it's bst standerds actually it eas not even close. The designers should be regretting ever sponsering or designing the game for it's lack of pretty much everything. I believe that this game has good potential to be a good game with some or alot of designing changes. I believe that he main genre of the game is puzzles meaning it's supposed to challenge your mind and quiz to your best ability's but in no wy dis this hapen as io skimmed by this game without even a paue or a moment to think about the answer. I hope they know for future games like this that puzzling means to make the player take moments at least if not hours at trying to solve or thinking even where to start. To me I wouldn't rent this game any where at anytime. The game did nothing I thought or it even said it would except for follow the story which of course it had to. am not inslted nor ashamed to play the game but mearly stunned at the lack of good quality's it should have. I do hope you take ths review into consideration before you rent and play the game becase it would be a waste of your time and money.

DLP434,
P.S. This is my and olny my opinion and not a serious critic review I am just a fellow gamer that loves gamefly and loves to play video games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun

posted by Nicekitty (NEWARK, DE) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

It was fun and quite challenging. It was a little small on the TV; I'm not sure the Wii was a good venue for this. I did not like that when I got stuck, I could not get extra hints or skip the room. It was satisfying when I figured out a difficult puzzle. I'll probably check it out for the PC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Who created this game?

posted by Tammylynn2 (STOCKTON, CA) Jul 31, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Reading the title to this game was misleading, it sounds like it would have been fun to play, but when we got the game home, and played it, it became irritating because the graphics were so cheesy, and the gameplay was stupid. I've seen more complex games on a kids watch.

I don't know who thought this game would be fun for anyone, and then for some company to use good money to design and create a game like this, in this day and age of modern electronics, it boggles my mind.

Before you select this game, try to pull it up on you tube so you can see the gameplay, so you won't waste your time like we did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

intresting concept

posted by MKmaster (BATON ROUGE, LA) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

cool game I like to see the WII used in new ways. Good Times!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Only because I couldn't give it a 0

posted by taklil321 (LAFAYETTE, LA) Jan 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2009

This is a very bad game. I love puzzles and brain teasers but can not see how anyone could like this game. The graphics are horrible and the idea is boring. I'm sending it back tomorrow and I just got it today!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Groan

posted by GrouchoM (LAKE IN THE HILLS, IL) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

What a stinker!!!! It is clunky, boring and just plain poorly put together. I gave tried to give it the benefit of the doubt for about an hour, but I quickly realized it was a complete waste of time and slipped it back in the envelope.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

well done

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Aug 24, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

i love puzzle solving games like this and professor Layton type solving games this is a brain teaser good work for your brain it gets hard as well too. i give rooms the main building 3 keys out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good game but not really for Wii

posted by rtdaisies (BALTIMORE, MD) Jun 14, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I think this game has a lot to offer and is definitely challenging but to point and aim at the screen all the time was a little much. Great concept, needs a little more work or make available for other gaming systems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »