Rent Romance of the Three Kingdoms XI for PS2
view large frontback

Romance of the Three Kingdoms XI

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.6

321 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Strategy Game

posted by Winuvas (DECATUR, MS) Feb 15, 2007

Member since Apr 2004

26 out of 27 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

Overall, the game itself is good, especially if you are already a fan of the series. The best addition to this game is the tutorial, which goes step-by-step and ensures by the time you finish it that you will have a basic grasp of game functions, something previous versions have lacked. The new graphics are beautiful compared with other games in the series but are nothing special compared with other video games.

The only complaint I have personally with this rendition of the series is that they took out the ability to play as any officer in any time frame. Half the fun was being a plain officer following your leader to glory in RTK 10. Now you are the leader only of your faction.

The create-an-officer setup has gotten better and better as the series has matured, and this one is no exception. The amount of detail that can be worked into characters (including creating entire family lines from the beginning to the end of the era, no small feat) is staggering and welcome for someone like myself who enjoys a lot of detail. For those that don't, there is an auto-generate for names and for entire characters as well.

Overall, try it out. The menus are not as confusing as other entries in the series, the gameplay is smooth and easy to understand, and it is a fun strategy game. Not perfect, but definitely one to try to purchase, especially if you have played others in the series (I have played all of them at one time or another from the first).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best yet

posted by kevin80 (LOUISVILLE, KY) May 7, 2007

Member since May 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

RoTK 11 returns to the ruler-only style of play that used for the first five installments of the series and was brought back for 9. This may turn off fans of 10's style of play, but anyone that has ever enjoyed 1 through 10 owe it to themselves to give this one a try.
Why? To begin with, the new graphical style is a wonderful addition to the series. Combat has been retooled and now occurs on the game map, as was the case with 9. However, the player has complete control of tactics/strategies and when to utilize them. Duels now have four different fighting stances and officers can now swap out during the duel. Debates are handled by selecting a topic and then using a higher value argument (scored 1,2 or 3 points each.)
City development is entirely new, as each city possesses a limited amount of spaces in which buildings can be placed. Larger cities have more spaces, naturally. It is completely up to the player to choose the type of building they wish to place.
Overall, 11 stands out as my favorite game in the series, despite a few problems. The debate system from 10 seemed more strategic and fun, the development of cities can be completed within a year, cities are no longer restricted by a population, and the computer can be rather inept at times when invading. However, the gameplay is still fun, challenging and provides endless replay value as no two games will ever play out the same.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An interesting game, but not enough improvement.

posted by MrReviewer (WESTBROOK, ME) May 23, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you're reading this review, you are undoubtedly familiar (at least in part) with Romance of the Three Kingdoms games. The series began on the MSX, even before the NES. Since then, the series has improved by leaps and bounds. However, I feel the series has begun hitting a ceiling of sorts in its gameplay. The series seems to be running out of ideas to keep the gameplay fresh. Previous to XI, the last Romance of the Three Kingdoms games that I spent more than 40+ hours with was RotTK XIII. Since VIII, I am disappointed with how little has been added to the game. The only real standout additions are the new 3-D map and the Debate system. However, I dislike the new 3-D map system. The debate system is one of the most unique ideas I have seen in a video game. But one would do well to remember that unique does not mean 'good.' The debates are awkward and clunky. The graphics (though never a series standout) have improved little if at all, and in this iteration the graphics are actually cell-shaded, which feels out of place to me. However, if you're hard up for a good strategy game, you really can't go wrong with Romance of the Three Kingdoms. However, if you're a longtime series fan, don't expect any astounding leaps in graphics, gameplay, or development ideas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

For the RoTK fans

posted by GeneralB (LOVELAND, CO) Aug 13, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's a good solid game, but like 10 they changed it up. in 10 you could only control on guy, persay 8 or so like previous RotK games. This one changes it again. You can still create a guy and max out his/her stats, but you don't actually control them, you control a Force. So if you pick Lu Bu, you don't actually control Lu Bu but his course of actions, but no individual control. not a bad game, I enjoyed it. But I am an avid RotK fan, since 4 to be exact, which sstill one of my favorites. This one I liked least , to be completly honest, out of the series, but the change of gameplay could be a cool change of pace, for RoTK fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great strategy

posted by ASplayer (SODDY DAISY, TN) Feb 14, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I just got on to say if your looking at this game its no Dynasty Warriors its a strategy game. It is more of an Open path game do what you want while playing. One of my favorite things is create a character i love that in all games. Pick up if you enjoy strategy for sure!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Romance of the three kingdoms XI

posted by Nevablind (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jun 30, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This is the worst Game I have ever played in the series if the ROTTK. There is no more playing as yourself. in the others you at least had a choice. I love the ones were you are in control of the life of your character. Blahhhh!!!!!!!!! This is not a good game at all. I'm very disapointed. Please bring back the choice of what role you can play; and don't change that option again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

IT IS A JOKE TO CALL THIS A VIDEO GAME!?!?!?!

posted by DarthVdr (CHESTERFIELD, VA) Apr 14, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

OMG! this game is one of the WORST dynasty warriors games ever. Most stuff does not even make sense. Like when you have to develop a city or whatever jazz you get like 10 blocks to build something on. but there are like 100 blocks to build something on that you are not allowed to use! The tutorial stinks so bad. You have to develop a city so it has 1000 income and 16,000 food, (that's realistic (not)), well you don't have enough spaces. You only get 10 spaces. I even had 3 graneries/mints with markets and farms and it still did not work. This is a waste of a week's worth of gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good but could be better

posted by dogieboi (FORSYTH, MT) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

I liked the game alot. it was fun to play but it was kinda lackin in substance after the tutorials and first 5 minutes of the game. overall it was great but needed a little more structure to the storyline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best of the series

posted by schulerta (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Dec 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

This is the best one of the whole series. The graphics are very good and the AI is a little more respectable. The only problem I have with the AI is that it will substitute dogged tenacity for actual strategy. Playing Lie Bei in Wan with all of his great generals, you can simply withstand Cao Cao for a few years until he beats himself to death like waves crashing into a rock. All to spite himself by leaving him vulnerable against other foes.

There is also one exploit that should be removed. A general with the "Capture" trait can easily take over the whole map.

Also, this series isn't based off of Dynasty Warriors, it is the other way around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok Game

posted by gamehater7 (NEW PLYMOUTH, ID) Dec 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

Romance of the 3 kingdoms XI is an okay game. It eliminated the seperate Battle sequence and made it flow smoothly its a lot harder to manage a bunch of citys but once you get the hang of it you should be fine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

this game is for those who have a lot of free time

posted by dulun21 (CHANDLER, AZ) Aug 20, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

i had never seen one strategy game reach greatest hits status:/ since the majority of gamers like fast paced gameplay, we even accuse a game of repetitive if they show a similar environment twice! I this game is based on dynasty warriors series but strategy instead of hand on button masher like the dynasty warriors series. Romance of the three kingdoms XI is a good game for those who prefer strategy games and have a lot of free time :( but for those with 30 minutes of free time a day.. you better off with other type of games like crackdown, gear of war, resistance, virtual fighter, etc...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

So-So

posted by Wolfchi (FRESNO, CA) Aug 20, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

this game is okay i expected something like dynasty warriors but it's more like Kessen it's good if you like kessen type games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »