Rent RollerCoaster Tycoon for 3DS
view large frontback

RollerCoaster Tycoon

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.0

111 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Path creation is a complete hassle!

posted by dsb1983 (BEATRICE, NE) Oct 26, 2012

Member since May 2011

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a huge fan of the RCT series, so when the 3DS version was announced, I was ecstatic. Then when the release date was pushed back a few times I thought it was to make the game even better. Sadly, they should have pushed the release even farther back.

The path builder is by far one of the worst features in the game. If you build a ride that starts above ground, it is improbable that you will find a way to connect your pathways to the entrance/exit of your ride. I spent three hours NOT connecting my paths to a ride that was only 3-4 squares high.

Another thing that really bothered me was that the 3D effect felt rushed and unrefined leaving me with a headache and a bad taste in my mouth, figuratively speaking

Best part of the game:
-Same basic premise of every RCT game

Worst part of the game:
-Path building system

Final say:
If you are a big RCT fan, then this is good for at least a rental, if not a purchase since it's so cheap. But, if you have never tried the series before find a different RCT to try so that you get the true experience instead of this severely watered down version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointment

posted by ramirez11212 (FORT POLK, LA) Oct 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was a HUGE fan of Roller Coaster Tycoon as a kid, but this is definitely going down on the top 10 worst games I've ever played. I feel the game is rather disorganized, much too many limitations, and the challenges are boring. The coaster building is dreadful, and that used to be my favorite thing about the game, well that and launching my visitors through the air on unfinished coasters. Simply put, this game was a WASTE of time. Stick to the computer versions, this is embarrassing for Atari.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Ok

posted by centofa3 (EAST LANSING, MI) Nov 29, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You can only build custom roller coasters, no pre-loaded coasters. The graphics aren't very good and the 3D is terrible. I probably wouldn't recommend this game at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A fun game!

posted by zack57526 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Apr 2, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is rilllllllllley fuuun I like the game becaues you can bild rollercoasters. I hope other kids will ingoy this fun game. siceriley jacob

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ouch...right in the childhood.

posted by burntice61 (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Oct 24, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lets get this out of the way, im one of THE biggest RCT fans, played the first 3(although not liking the 3rd one as much as the first 2) religiously. Building parks, managing guests, popping balloons, picking up those stupid guys in panda costumes and drowning them(i was a cruel child), and best of all, building Roller Coasters. All that culminated into one of the greatest series of games of all time...until now. Lets get to the verdict:

The BAD:
Since there's so much, im going to just list them.
Controls, ride selection, graphics, lack of playability, lack of Balloons, lack of 2D, lack of fun, lack of space in "Games you have out".

The Meh:

-The Menu, Looks like a Photoshop newb put it together....wait, this should have been in the bad.

The Good:

The fact that is on its way back to the Gamefly HQ.

Sorry to be harsh Atari, but words cannot describe the disappointment that came to me when i started this up, i really, REALLY wanted this to be good. I gave it a try...but i just couldn't stand it. I just don't know why after many teases and delays that this is what the loyal fans receive. The ONLY way they could redeem themselves is either 1: Remake the first game in a isometric 3D/2D hybrid or 2: Remake the 3rd game and its expansions in HD. This way the fans get what they deserve and that they can get new fans to enjoy the masterpieces those games were.

Overall:
Its, an AVOID.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Short but Sweet

posted by Eternalsandwyrm (Biddeford, ME) Nov 20, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was really fun. The graphics where awesome and the Single player was actually very funny the only issue was I felt like I was done everything in 5 hours. So i went and tried out sandbox mode assuming i would have as much fun as i did with it on PC, unfortunately this wasn't i made one theme park and it was kinda of boring since nothing bad actually happened. By the time my rides started breaking down I already had 4 repair men and with some strategically placed trashed cans I never got over run by trash. There really should have been something to give me more of a challenge, like city 2000, when your would a monster come down and start wrecking your town, like FDA comes and shuts down your food stands or the safety board closes down your roller coaster and you have to build a new one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

what a waste

posted by christyne4 (LAWRENCE, KS) Oct 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i love roller coaster tycoon ever since i was a kid but way too many limitations like a fill the bar up you can't add anymore ride or anything for that matter thank you gamefly for saving me from making a mistake of buying this sad excuse of a game i will tell you do not buy stick with the computer version i have lost faith in this now people are right giving this game a bad rating this game to me is a 1 at least i will be sending this game back tomorrow i am saving up for a better really atari what was you thinking i waited a whole year for this game 3ds deserved better then this i rather do good reviews but i had to tell how i felt thank you for reading this review

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Huge Disapointment

posted by luke1010 (CHATHAM, NJ) Aug 22, 2014

Member since Dec 2012

This Game is Stupid I think it is better than RCT4M Its impossible to build coasters the gameplay is horrible the graphics are dumb and i hate the characters they never let you do anything and i built a coaster and the grandpa won't let me make any coasters he is annoying I only played it for one day and I'm sending it back Do not spend $12 on this piece of junk!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and do not rent this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Make Your Own Amusement Part

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 29, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

While the original PC games were better, this is pretty enjoyable a game, especially if you're into making Theme Parks on the go. I say give it a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »