Rent Rogue Warrior for PS3
view large frontback

Rogue Warrior

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
3.7

1484 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Renters (PARENTS) Beware! Read the reviews!

posted by OKCGamer (EDMOND, OK) Feb 16, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

44 out of 48 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I have to admit, I read the reviews on this one and still thought "hey, its a shooter... its Richard Marcinco, he's a happenin guy... just give it a shot!"

I could not, in a MILLION years, have been more wrong. I have suffered through some bad games before, playing them through like a trooper just to say I did it. I got halfway through the second level (about 10 minutes) on this and couldn't take it any more. I sent it back praying for the gamefly gods to redeem my bad fortune.

PROS: umm... yeah... its a shooter... and... I got nothin.

CONS: Its a horrible shooter, aiming is very difficult, too sensitive to get a target. the default controls are weird, they don't make sense (admittedly I did not take the time to try and fix them). Every time you kill someone the charachter spits out a stupid saying. I am not opposed to profanity, this was just dumb! "TAKE THAT YOU MOTHERF>>>>S!" or "CHEW ON THIS MOTHERF>>>>S!" Over and Over and Over and Over and Over and Over.... get the picture? I had to turn the TV down so as not to offend my cats! (don't worry, they will recover with therapy) There was nothing fun about it, and I love to run around and shoot things just for the fun of it! I critiqued the game as I played it instead of after and in my book, that's a true sign of a bad game.

For the record I did try to get on the multiplayer, there was nobody playing so it sat there for 10 minutes waiting for 7 people, I got to 3 and decided to quit.

Rebellion and Bethesda... you guys didn't just miss the mark on this one... you launched a hail mary... to the fat guy in the stands... who was rooting for the other team.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste of time

posted by ilndhpr (QUANTICO, VA) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

16 out of 17 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Just like Macincko, this game is overrated. If you are accustomed to playing Call of Duty or Tom Clancy style games, stay away from this one. The graphics are pretty good, but the story plot stinks. Recommend jabbing a pencil in your eye instead!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Rogue Warrior

posted by GrauAdler (SEATTLE, WA) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

I cannot believe that I used my first rental on Game fly for this!? I have read all of Dicks books and was sure this would be an awesome title. It sucked. Cursing and shooting. That's it. There is little or no substance to this game. On top of that, I finished it in about 4 hours flat. Given the quality this guy and his stories could have generated, I was really disappointed. Had I purchased this game for $59.99, I would have been really upset. Save your money, and only rent it if you have played everything else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pathetic

posted by noleboy (JACKSONVILLE BEACH, FL) Mar 9, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible. It shouldn't have ever been made and is a disgrace to the great name of Richard Marcinko! If you don't know who he is, do some research. He was a true warrior in the Cold War era! Leave this game at the warehouse and don't rent it! Sorry!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Seriously?

posted by jawsdaddoo (FEDERAL WAY, WA) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Having been a fan of the Rogue Warrior books for years, I was expecting this to be great. The game started off bad and went downhill from there.
I could barely see what was on screen during the first mission and it never really got any better.
Rent Rainbow Six or Splinter Cell instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Unbelievable!!!

posted by Zeckard (CENTENNIAL, CO) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well, there isn't much to say about this game......the average rating of the game is 3.5 and that is a stretch. The surprising thing is that the game has potential, but it appears that the budget was small...real small. I have never played a game as short as this, but it was a relief in a way because the game was so bad I don't know how much more I could have taken. Good luck to the ones who try this out someone out there may like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible, but Mickey Rourke...

posted by whyzmehere (BROOKLYN, NY) May 10, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is short, boring and easy, no excitement and not fun gameplay, BUT Mickey Rourke voice over is hillarious, especially the end credits and he performs some pseudo-rap.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Rogue Warrior

posted by username23 (DANVILLE, NH) Apr 2, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Typical first person shooter with boring dialog and not much of a plot. In fact, seems like they were looking for an excuse to write a game where they could use the f-word as much as possible.

Not much of a game.

Although, to be fair, I only made it through 2 levels before I was so bored I sent it back, so maybe the show gets better later on... But I doubt it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

rogue warrior

posted by steelers86 (NORWALK, CT) Mar 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i'll tell you this game sucks the graphics stink every thime he kill someone he curses for no apparent reason and the story of it stinks so what i will say is this game is not worth your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Beginner Shooter

posted by weizen (OSCEOLA, IN) Mar 9, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It good only if you are a beginner to shooters!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This (probably) sucks

posted by MistaP (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 11, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game looked amazing until a saw the reviews on youtube.
The gunplay is horrible. The controls are unresponsive.
It has in ,my opinion, terrible graphics.
And out of all the videos i've seen showcasing this video they all have at least 10 f-bombs in 'em.
Overall this looks like it freakin' can just eat it...

P.S. At least 60 f-bombs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dissapointing

posted by Phalanx06 (EVERETT, WA) Jan 29, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a big fan of Richard Marcinko. I loved all of his Rogue Warrior Books. When I heard this game was in development, I had high hopes especially after it was stopped halfway through its development and redone by another producer. I talked to its producer at PAX in Seattle, I really wanted the game to do well. The North Korean scenario was a great idea. Unfortunately the game ended up being terrible. The sad part is I doubt another studio will ever pick up this franchise and do it well. If you like Rogue Warrior, a safe bet is to stick to the books.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Skip it

posted by Reneost (NESCONSET, NY) Jan 17, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was absolutely horrible. I put it in to play and 10 minutes later I took it out and sent it back. The language is just one aspect of what makes this game a waste of time. It's amazing that the guards I ran into all had their backs turned to me making kills too easy to be fun. Granted this game might have gotten better but I decided not to waste the time. The only aspect even worth mentioning was the kill actions were just grusome enough to be fun to watch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Chicago Enforcer is back, oh boy!

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Jan 17, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

They obviously don't care about other people at this company. Why do I even bother, this game almost makes Chicago Enforcer look good. This game had to have been made last generation. In fact that should sum this review up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Rogue Warrioris less warrior, and a lot of Rogue

posted by ohu812 (MC CORDSVILLE, IN) Jan 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was really looking forward to this release, and when it came i started playing.... a hour later i was hoping for more.... it never came . the best part of this is the commentary .... action is predicatble and the accuracy of any weapon other the knife is less than accurate. It is shooter game that is low on ammo. Bypass this if you can and focus on another.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Duke Nukem meets Bethesda's final exam

posted by Siksh0tz (GRAPEVINE, TX) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

From the terrible dialog that I feel was ripped straight out of Duke Nukem (come get some!) to the awful controls and laughable AI this game royally sucked! The games graphics and all around feel seems to be like Bethesda was in school at Full Sail and this was their final exam to graduate.

I understand this game was suppose to be like a cheasy 80's flick, but they took it way to far. The dialog was so stupid and what is worse is that Mickey Rourke did the dialog. I thought Mickey did a good job and felt his talent was completely wasted. Something else that was odd is when the dialog is heard in the game you do not even feel like your character just said it. It's like Mickey is narrating the game with dirty language...pathetic.

The controls on this game were just awful. The crosshairs jerk/skip around so precision in this game is just painful. They dumb down the AI so you can sneak up behind enemies and make "kill moves." The AI is so dumb that the cut scene "kill move" isn't even gratifying because it was so easy.

The graphics look as if you are playing this game on a Wii. The character models made me laugh because there are only around 4 "types" of character models. Meaning that the "kill scene" you are shown killing the 4 same guys in the same outfits over and over...SIGH!

I only made it to level 3 or 4 of this game and had enough! I shipped it back and could careless about ever finishing it. I heard another big complaint was this game was extremely short...but I don't see that as a bad thing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Only Saving Grace

posted by Iceman3887 (PRINEVILLE, OR) Feb 11, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

On the whole the game was terrible. Gameplay was like playing a game from the Sega Saturn Age. Not to mention is was ridiculously short with no replay value whatsoever. The only thing that made this game interesting was hearing some of the things they had Mickey Rourke say as the voice of the main character

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not great, but some fun to be had

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Dec 3, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

50 out of 61 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

"Rogue Warrior" from normally reliable Bethesda is somewhat of a disappointment. On the one hand, we have good source material (the real-life exploits of Navy SEAL Richard Marcinko), decent voice acting by Mickey Rourke ("Sin City", "The Wrestler"), fairly easy controls, and the ability to pull off some nifty stealth kills. On the other hand, we have generic levels, not so good enemy A.I., cheap deaths, and not up to snuff graphics. Plus, with only eight missions, the game is ridiculously short with no real incentive to play through again. Some said the single player campaign in "Modern Warfare 2" was short ( and it was, clocking in at 6-8 hours) but it was a blast to play through with plenty of incentive to play through again due to finding intel and simply because the set pieces were just plain cool. Not so with "Rogue Warrior", which can be beaten in under 5 hours and its set pieces tend to underwhelm due to last-gen graphics. It's not the worse game out there, and there is some fun to be had, especially when executing the stealth kills, but in the wake of so many other great games out currently, this one's a rental at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Rogue Gameplay

posted by Nineteenth (BRONX, NY) Feb 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Gameplay :From the moment I hit start, I was treated to a gritty, tough marine who's essentially Steven Segall with an additional coat of hair grease. It would slowly seem like any other FPS on the market this generation, except. It's easy. The entire design from invincible instant kills on enemies to the un-ending regenerating health render the game if anything,a brief 3 -5hour run through.
There is some value to be had in the game, the instant kill animations are quite funny and if you have someone making narration, you'll have a blast. Otherwise you'll wonder why they ever gave you a gun.
The titular character has somewhat of a potty mouth, suffering from T.V Tourette's syndrome, uncontrollable swearing spouting from his mouth everytime you kill an enemy or take damage. It's as if he hung out with the guys from FEAR a bit too long.
Speaking of the enemies, nothing says fun like enemies that know exactly where you are at any given time. Stealth is a viable action, that is until you're spotted and forced to invincible knife your way to victory.

Sound: Ah, the delightful sounds of never ending swearing and screaming. It goes from amusing to down right disturbing when you start to think about how many times can he use those words in a single breath.
Graphics: Next Generation Standard. Shiny for no reason. Glossy for no reason, but all and all good.
Online: Non-existent. I really don't have the patience to wait 4 hours for a game to start, if it ever does start.
Comedy Value : Truckloads of yelling " I AM THE JUGGERNAUT" while stabbing helpless enemies due to your amazing invincible frames. Killing yourself with a random grenade does lighten the mood and just when you think you're done, your infinite ammo pistol should suffice for more silly moments.

Overall : This game, like essentially every single Bethesda -Parent/Child game ever made. They would actually be good if they actually took the time to work out the flaws.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rogue Warrior

posted by PBarronton (STOCKBRIDGE, GA) Dec 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

19 out of 24 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible. Got it at 4pm and beat it at 7:45pm. Very short no replay value at all. Language is horrible in the game if you have a kid dont let them be in the house when you play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW, i was impressed.

posted by Lucasdiazm (HIALEAH, FL) Dec 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

The trailer for this game made it look so amazing, so i decided to rent it.
I feel bad writing this review because sometimes i feel bad for people, especially the creators of this game. This game sucks so much, the graphics are medium, the cussing every time you kill somebody gets super annoying, and disrespectful. This game is not recommended from me, waste of time, and space.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a let down

posted by Kodiak928 (KINGMAN, AZ) Jan 3, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

i Agree with most everyone else this trailers of this game looked great i rented this game and i have to say it is the worst game that i have ever played i am more entertained by cell phone games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Worse than ps 2 game

posted by Geneve (VAN NUYS, CA) Dec 3, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

I received this game couple of hours ago, and i was excited to try it.
Can you imagine bad horror C movie watching at home, by fast forwarding it? that's what i felt during playing. don't rent it, its not worth trying it. the only good thing about this game kill move, which is still cheesy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect game

posted by p3rf3ct1 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jan 12, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

So incredibly bad it can actually be entertaining in a very sad, demoralizing way. Also I feel bad for the developer's self esteem, so merry Christmas horrible development team!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An Average Shooter!

posted by Cybertron (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Dec 2, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

11 out of 20 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

This game is alright but it isn't really that good because you will end up dying more often than actually playing the game. For example during most gun fights you'll die within 10 seconds, and then after only taking 5 or 7 hits you fall to the ground and its gameover. I personally would not recommend this game unless you like to die every 2 minutes. Also even if you take cover it still doesn't really help that much. Plus you go through ammo like crazy. Overall this game is average I only gave it a 5 for effort but it could have been alot better, atleast the controls and button layout were simple.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse