Rent Rogue Trooper: Quartz Zone Massacre for Wii
view large frontback

Rogue Trooper: Quartz Zone Massacre

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.7

165 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

2nd best is pretty good

posted by Blacksheep (BEDFORD, OH) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been playing Rogue Trooper for the last 2 weeks and I have to say this is probably my 2nd favorite game on the Wii, with RE 4 as 1st.

The grenade throwing can be glitchy, but the levels and story are top notch. I highly suggest you check this title out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rogue Trooper: Quartz Zone Massacre Review

posted by Zaho75 (THOUSAND OAKS, CA) Dec 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

The "Rogue Trooper: Quartz Zone Massacre" is really an older game ported from other platforms like PS2 and XBox, but it has been redesigned for the Wii and playing it on Nintendo is quite a different experience, especially when it gets down to shooting games. I was eager to try it out and it was sitting in my rent queue here on GameFly a month before the release date.

Storyline: Game's story is a typical shooter's scenario: you are sent on a fairly long journey through different types of enemies that you have to eliminate and you are following orders from "high-command" occasionally. If you feel lost, you can always check your objective in the menu and any new assignments that are given to you as you go along. The best part of this game is that you are constantly on a new mission objective and new place. For the developers imagination I have to tell that they've done it and this game keeps you entertained. I give the Story a solid 10.

Controls/Interface: Along with the usual Sound and Screen adjustments, developers also were thoughtful enough to think about adjusting your horizontal and vertical "dead zone". By default a trail effect was on, but I quickly switched that off as I found it to be distracting. The game does not have any "crazy" motion sensor controls associated to it as some other games sometimes try to implement and it would decrease the amount of pleasure since you have to think about your moves too much. The only control that falls into this category was the use of the Nunchuk to throw a grenade. It stops you in your tracks and it doesn't always work right. I give it 8.5 for that and the fact that the Flak Cannon on the Train was very unresponsive.

Graphics/Animation: Great detail and scenery. Some credit is given to NASA for the world creation. I give it 10.

Multiplayer: Up to 4 players on split screen, but not enough challenge or online play. Score is 5.

Overall great game with a new twist, that will keep you up for hours. Recommended

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Going Rogue Can be Fun

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 24, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Okay, guys, let’s go through the checklist of first person shooters while talking about Rogue Trooper: Quartz Zone Massacre.
Lots of weapons for the player to fool with? Check.
A standard storyline where the player has to defeat the evil army to save the day? Check.
Lots of targets for the player to shoot at? Check.
Multiplayer co op? Offline for one level only. (uh oh)
On line Deathmatch/anything else? No.
Don’t get me wrong, there are a few good things about Rogue Trooper: Quartz Zone Massacre. Using salvage from fallen enemies or certain locations on each level to build ammo, weapons, health items and improve your equipment is very inventive. It’s something I’ve not seen in many first person shooters.
And it gives the action that fans of the genre are looking for (besides, who needs a good story, anyway?)
But this game has flaws. The first one being the grenade toss via a flick of the Nunchuck. It was very imprecise (several times I chucked a grenade when I didn’t want to) and sometimes it sticks in pre-throw position, leaving me wide open to get shot by all sorts of enemies. Cancelling a grenade toss is very tough to do.
Another problem is the sniper scope. Whenever I get hit while in this viewpoint, the scope would shake up and down violently, throwing off my aim. I have no idea why this happens.,
And it would help if these guys would automatically jump over small gaps (like in Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess) But no, they have to do a combat roll over those gaps, which can lead to missed jumps and deadly falls. Which is embarrassing for guys who are supposed to be some of the most highly skilled soldiers ever made.
It would be even better if there was on line deathmatch/co op, too.
Still, this game is a lot of fun to play. Rogue Trooper: Quartz Zone Massacre is a passable first person shooter, but if they make a sequel, they have to fix a few flaws in the gameplay. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Finally a 3rd person shooter worth the rent!

posted by wyetukay (PITTSTON, PA) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was a nice change from the games usually available on the wii. While it isnt the graphics of a ps3 or 360, for the wii this game made me feel as though I finally found a game along the same playability as my all-time fave, Star Wars: Battlefront 2 for xbox. Great 3rd person playability, aiming controls are easy, and graphics and storyline are top notch for the wii system. Aside from the occasional accidental flick of the nunchuck, no real problems. Periodic checkpoints to restart from and post level save points weigh in to give this game a solid 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very "common" game

posted by Jason00H (STERLING, VA) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I found that the game just did not have a story that keept my attention even after playing for 4hrs straight. The graphic are to be expected and the game play/controllers are a 5/10 in my opinion. I could not continue playing this game after the 5hr in so needless to say i'm waiting to try out the next title on my GF account.

Thanks for reading

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the greates shooter game ever

posted by josh91210 (CLAREMORE, OK) Dec 18, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

i still enjoy playing this game, its very good, i recomend it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

HORRIBLE!!!!!

posted by NinFreakinJa (BLUFFTON, SC) May 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

THIS GAME WAS HORRIBLE DO NOT RENT!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ugh

posted by tr1nity (TOMBALL, TX) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

If there were negative ratings I would give this game one of those.

Ok so you run into a stream of dark figures who are apparently shooting at you but somehow you just don't die even after many many direct hits. You of course have little reaction to this until you die. No initial noticeable strategy, "I couldn't stomach much past the first boring blue and black cavern/ rocky hall you are sent to run through.

All the enemies are the same ducking and shooting and ducking and shooting at you. Wii controls for throwing grenades and your use of the wand to change your camera angle is annoying. "Too bad guys but it is really true that the wii motion controller has certain uses but not ALL uses. You are allowed to bypass its use...see Mario."

The marines are downright ugly and hard to even imagine joining.

Laughable and few appearance options that of course do little for your uninspired robotic feeling character in game play.

people who think this game is any good also still make WYSIWYG jokes I think.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

suprizingly good

posted by metaspiral (ASHEVILLE, NC) Jun 20, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

when i selected this title, i expected it to be another sub-par wii shooter (but since most of them are sub-par i figured i'd give it a try). i was pleasantly surprised by this decidedly above average tactical shooter. while it certainly isnt on par with the newer pc shooters, it blows away most of the competition on the wii.

as another reviewer mentioned, the lack of decent multiplayer modes is a problem. why on earth is it that so many wii titles lack online play? this is something i've never understood. surely it cant take that much memory to simply add in online deathmatches...

unlike other players, i had no problem with throwing grenades. in fact, i'd say this feature works surprisingly well for a command activated by nunchuck movement. after i figured out how to best aim grenades, it was no problem.

while there are a few control issues, it works on the whole. just watch out when playing with cover and concealment... the hero will automatically use or leave cover just by pressing toward/away from it. this can be very handy, but i find that i accidently use cover when not needed, and leave it when i need it most!

overall, definitely worth renting, if you were considering it. rogue trooper definitely stacks up well against the other shooters for the wii. try it if you're looking for something a little more tactical than conduit, or a LOT more fun than farcry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Very bad!

posted by DLdexter (SURGOINSVILLE, TN) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This game is so bad and the controls for the game will give you a headache! I hope that all the Wii games is as bad as this waste of effort was. This game was like playing a Super Nintendo, not a Nintendo Wii! Very bad all around game! DO NOT RENT OR BUY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Same game, clunky controls, epic fail.

posted by KillIphone (LAKE WORTH, FL) May 15, 2010

Member since May 2010

I saw in the rules for writing this review that there should be no spoilers. However, if you played this game on PS2 (original title: Rouge Trooper), then there's no need to play it again. Nothing has changed, at all! I take that back, the controls have changed, but for the worse. Unlike other ports to the Wii (Resident Evil 4), no extra element of fun is added in any way. If you're interested in this game, get it on PS2 and kill a few hours. If you're looking for good shooting on the Wii, get RE4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rogue Trooper is like Halo for wii.

posted by dylrod4 (ARROYO GRANDE, CA) Apr 18, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

ok, Rogue Trooper has a good story that keeps you interested and makes u have to go against armies on your own after your buddies are betrayed. the graphics are ok on the GI's but good on the enemy. the nunchuck control works well as long as you actually snap your wrist.theres great weapons to mess around with but no deathmatch between you and a friend.dialogue and mouth movement are well and in sync. it screams for a sequel. each level allows you to be a silent killer behind the shadows or a run and gun maniac. every time you play a level its a new experience.(there is no use of alchohal in the game). you can go back with your upgraded equipment into past levels. bad: if you use a hologram you can't always get a kill move.when you hit someone they die or blow up like how a real person would.all in all Rogue Trooper is a great third person shooter and game and i highly reccomend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »