Rent Rockstar Games Presents Table Tennis for Wii
view large frontback

Rockstar Games Presents Table Tennis

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $9.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.2

919 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

good but could have been better

posted by jdsampson (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Oct 21, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was a good rental. I would not pay the $40 to own the game. Rent it and then wait for it to fall down into the bargain bin to buy it. When playing I suggest playing with the sharp shooter control set up because this is the most enjoyable style and has the most exciting rallies. With this control setting you aim with the nunchuck and swing with the wii remote. The game is fun when playing with friends beacuse rallies can get very fast and exciting. When playing single player it gets boring and very repetitive though. The other problem is that you can basicly swing any time before the ball gets there and the computer will then swing once the ball is their.I was hoping for more of a real time where the players movements corresponded to my movements with the wii mote. In short the game is a fun game to play with a friend but don't buy it until it is in the bargain bin for $10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Schweeeeeet

posted by pkessler (LOUISVILLE, OH) Jan 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the best table tennis game for the Wii. Balls of Fury sucks compared to this. This has everything the X-box version has except for the online play. There are 3 different controls. One using just the wii-mote, and the other two use the wii-mote and nunchuck. The game has a great soundtrack, great multiplayer, and great single player modes. Rockstar did a good job porting this to Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Much Better Than "Balls of Fury"

posted by Mulley007 (MEDFORD, NY) Oct 20, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

OK, this game seems to be pretty decent at first play...and that's a good thing. As you get more and more used to the controls, I assume the game will get even better. I tried Balls of Fury first, was not impressed, and sent it back right away. This game, however, is much better, and more time went into the game. It is a great concept to work with...and hopefully we will see follow up titles for this game in the future.
Game-on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great gameplay, low replay value

posted by Bergshot (KENT, WA) Oct 22, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game does a great job of utilizing the wii controls in a fun way. The gameplay is fast-paced and exciting, especially when you and a friend are swinging wildly back and forth. Anyone who's played table tennis competitively will enjoy the depth and accuracy of the gameplay.

Unfortunately, this game is following the path of a lot of sports games recently. The multiplayer gameplay is fabulous, but the single player campaigns are short and weak. Aside from arcade-style one-on-one matches, there are only a few short tournaments that seem way too easy. The game seems fairly complete after only a few hours.

This game is definetly worth getting if you have a roomate/friend to play competitively with to pass the time. If you love the sport of table tennis as I do, then it might be worth buying as a fun way to pass some time. Other than that though, it serves as a great rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A good rent

posted by pezboy92 (SOUTH AMBOY, NJ) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Rockstar Table tennis for the Wii is a great game to rent. The game is really fun and interesting for the first couple hours. With no online component, the game lacks much replay availibility. The graphics are alright and the gameplay mechanics are decent. I would strongly reccomend anyone to rent this game, bur a buy will not be worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible game

posted by Caroline3579 (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 4, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

I got this game and thought it might be fun but I was wrong. It is hard to control the player and it is loud. DO NOT GET!!! I sent it back the next day after I got it. It also freezes, when you play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't Bother

posted by clheitz (GOODING, ID) Aug 31, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

After tennis for the WII we sure thought this would be a blast......Not so much, i was dozing off 2 minutes into game play. The beginning sequence seems to go on forever and no way to skip it.
Thank goodness for Gamefly, I would be in a rage if I had bought this dumb thing
Don't bother use your dining room table line up 3 butter dishes for the net and use saucers or spatulas and actualy have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wii Worthy

posted by stone338 (JACKSON, GA) Jul 31, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

OK, I've only played about 20 different titles on Wii - and haven't really been all that impressed. But THIS... THIS game MADE the Wii. Everyone got involved... very competitive, yet playable by kids of all ages. Played well into the night every night we had it. I highly recommend this game, especially if the Wii novelty has kinda worn off for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ouch

posted by smolsom (MONTICELLO, IL) Jan 31, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

this game made my arm hurt. I played it for 3 hours and my shoulder hurt for three days. Aside from that the game is ok. Good graphics save this game, but should be expected from rockstar. after that, there's not much else to say. Once you have the timing down the computer is easily beaten by switching up your shots. Good to play with your friends, if your shoulder can take it, otherwise it gets old fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Table Tennis

posted by tarotlv (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I think that the worst thing about this game is that it is made by a third party software company and there is a delay in game play. What I mean is the key to table tennis is that you have to be able to move your body as fast as the ball is coming at you but in this game when you swing the paddle the paddle on the screen doesnt swing and you dont score.

That made the game hard to learn and score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Maybe new Wii remote tech will help

posted by naven12 (BRANDON, MS) Aug 4, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

This game was a decent attempt at ping pong. However, the Wii remote is just not accurate enough for a game that needs precision to understand what you're doing with the paddle. I was playing against my 10 year old niece, and she almost beat me just by thrusting the remote forwards and back while I was actually trying to mimic a paddle swing. Wait until the Wii remote technology gets better and more accurate before trying a ping pong game would be my recommendation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't do it!

posted by zeppray (SURRY, VA) Jul 26, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Save your time and don't rent this game! It is awful! Total JUNK!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not too bad....

posted by BuffaloBIL (MEDINA, NY) May 12, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

The game was about what I expected. It is a great game to play with a friend and I didnt think it was all that bad in single player mode either. I thought the graphics were up to par and overall, it was a fun game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I could have played this with arrow keys on a PC

posted by dmorin (NORTH ANDOVER, MA) Mar 5, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Let me explain how much I disliked this game - I never got out of the first training lesson before packing it up and shipping it back to Gamefly.

I have a Wii specifically for the motion sensitive controller. So whenever this game started up and began showing me power meters and how I'd have to use 6 different key combinations depending on whether I wanted topspin or backspin, all before I ever got to swing at the ball, I said that's it, I'm done. And I was. Oh, and I almost forgot about choosing a player, each of whom has different skill levels. Umm....how about the player is me, and it tracks my skill levels? I don't want a role playing ping pong game.

I'll keep playing Wii Sports Tennis until a meaningful substitute comes along.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Neat Graphics, Horrible Controls

posted by NeilkCA (YORBA LINDA, CA) Jan 26, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Although the graphics and idea behind Rockstar Table Tennis is really neat, the control porting is a shambles. Just going through the tutorial, the game does not respond consistently to the controller. I ignored the target to just try to learn to control the ball. Using the same motion time to time resulted in the ball going in different directions every few motions. So trying to hit the ball continuously to the right would result in 2, 3 or 4 rights followed by a left or two, then back to right. I tried another game to verify that my remote was actually working, and it responded correctly, eliminating the remote as the cause behind the inconsistent results.

As control is everything in this game, the lack of steady control kills the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Old Ping Pong

posted by TedGoFirst (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jan 26, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Like any game I first went through the training sessions to learn the mechanics of the game. It took me a long time to figure out the serve although my wife seemed to toss the ball with no problem. Only after playing several hours, did I finally feel comfortable with how to toss the ball and serve. Definitely serving was the weakest and for me the most frustrating part of the game.

After learning the spins and how to position your shots the game became very enjoyable, and advancement against the different opponents easier. Learning to take your shots earlier then timing your swing with the ball seemed unrealistic but effective with a fast return.

If like me it has been a few years since you last played ping pong, you should enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its ok

posted by travesty (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Dec 26, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

this was fun for a day. the controls good, but this won't take the place of regular ping-pong. and that is what you're hoping for right? I was more addicted to the "laser pong" in the wii play game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lots of fun when playing with a friend.

posted by BMagPDX (VANCOUVER, WA) Dec 26, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

Overall I find this game very enjoyable. Rockstar really went to great lengths to create a realistic (as much as a video game can) table tennis game. Single player is okay, but where the game shines is in two people playing eachother.

Good: Graphics are nice and smooth. No framerate issue even when throwing down in a fast paced match. The Wii controls are great, if not awesome. There are several different control modes, coming down to if you want to use just the Wiimote or the Wiimote and the nunchuk together, both of which offer excellent shot control, spin control, and power control. This really is a great game for two people play together. My wife and I have running battles now to see who is the best. Also, something else Rockstar took advantage of is the speaker in the Wiimote, which if you have ever played table tennis before you will be surprised to hear how perfectly the Wiimote sounds just like a "whooshing" paddle.

Bad: Single player is a bit weak, not very many opponents.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Umm....

posted by DavidWolf (BERTHOUD, CO) Dec 25, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

The Good:
+Great sound and graphics.
+Great as a Wii title.

The Bad:
+Gets boring fast.
+Controls are a bit sketch. Some moves work sometimes, etc.

Conclusion:
Fun multiplayer game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I'd Rather Play Real Ping Pong

posted by mattcal (RONKONKOMA, NY) Dec 3, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

Don't get me wrong, the game isn't horrible, it just doesn't have any intensity. When you start the game, you play in like an easy tournament thing, and it's just boring really. It doesn't really capture playing table tennis for real. The screen is dark and just makes the game that much more boring.
I haven't tried the multi-player yet, although I have heard the multi-player is better than the single game.
I wouldn't recommend buying this game, because after playing a single match, I turned the game off out of bordum.
Rent this and just invite some people over maybe? I don't recommend buying it though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good but not great

posted by 3teDrummer (TOWSON, MD) Nov 18, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

Rockstar did a pretty good job on this one, my score doesn't really represent the game play. Playing a game against a friend is a blast. Not as fun as the real thing of course, but a nice substitute. Problem is, that's the only time it is fun. The single player game is really lacking in that department.

The characters are okay looking, but games like this really need to let you make you're own character, That would definitely help the fun factor. The game physics on the other hand are pretty sweet. The controls make using those easy as well. So all in all, if you have people who want to play ping pong on the wii, get it. Otherwise, get a better single player game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not what i was expecting

posted by mikcali (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Nov 13, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

i keep thinking that the wii sports games are going to be as interactive and easy to use as the wii sports that came with the unit. i have been relatively disappointed so far. this is no exception. you might like it if you are really into table tennis and you don't mind the.....for lack of a better term.....weird gameplay/graphics. i personally was looking for something that didn't take itself too seriously and may be was a little more user friendly. i didn't find it here. the sad thing is, as much as you might really try at this game, one of the earlier reviewers made a very valid point when he said that his kid found out that you can win pretty much every time just by waving the controller back and forth! a very weak attempt......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

bad

posted by punkemon80 (MOUNT SINAI, NY) Nov 3, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

i love ping pong but when you swing the guy does not swing, its not in real time, you cant curve it or move like you would in real ping pong....real dissapointed, and even if you use the nunchuck to move your guy, he shuffles and skips, doesnt move fluidly so you miss the ball...the wii messed another one up again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Weak port what was I thinking?

posted by djangojazz (BEAVERTON, OR) Oct 30, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

I played the demo on the xbox 360 but when I saw this I was like cool. No, it's not. Not even close. Very bad port, movement for shots is poor as is play control. You don't really need to move your hand in the correct way and the serve is literally programmed wrong in every instance I have seen. The Wii seems harder to program for it's special controller and this game is another in a long list of games that make very weak use of the Wimote. I got bored after about 2 hours, felt bad I played it that long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Easy to win!!!

posted by WiiBigsGr8 (PEORIA, AZ) Oct 30, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

Thought the game was pretty cool until my 10 year old figured out that all you basically need to do to win is keep shaking the Wii Remote back and forth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse