Rent Rockstar Games Presents Table Tennis for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Rockstar Games Presents Table Tennis

Not Rentable
Also on:Wii
GF Rating
6.2

3377 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not the greatest, still top of the line

posted by Shlomotion (TEMPE, AZ) May 31, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

21 out of 26 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

You've already heard how "weird" it is to play a Rockstar game without making someone bleed or courting women for extra health. So I'm going to put that aside and pretend this is made by a no-name company. Even with this strech of the imagination, it's still very obvious that this is a very polished, very addicting, very user friendly game.

It's Ping Pong and it is as complicated and simple as you would think. It's kind of hard to get in deep about ping pong but I'll try.

The controls are very easy to learn and master. You can use the X, A, B, Y buttons to hit the ball or move the right joystick in directions to hit the ball. It's basically the Fight Night mechanics, only you don't punch people in the face. Instead, you hit a ping pong, your opponent hits it back, and an ongoing battle of wits ensues.

Rockstar made it fun to play against opponents. Skill is a major factor, but luck also comes into play fairly often. There are counter moves to try and stear the ping pong ball off course and get you a point. Basically, if a player hits a backhand at you, you follow up with a backhand. It's simple and color coded so it's pretty easy to follow the basics.

The controls are all tight tight TIGHT. It's hard to say when the last time a ping pong game had such tight controls. Possibly PONG but I don't know I never played that game.

The music is outstanding as most Rockstar games share this boast. It's especially great when you get into an intense back and forth match with an opponent. For instance, I was online (which is amazing and incredibly fun) my opponent and I had a rally of 40+ hits. Back and forth and no end in sight. The court suddenly darkened and a spotlight was shining on us. The music changed to a more intense beat and every hit felt like life or death.

It's tough to describe in words, but this game does everything right to draw you in to it's fun and not let go. And it's a cheap buy as well.

Prognosis: Give it a rent and then buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

AWSOME GRAPHICS AWSOME GAME REALLY ADICTIVE

posted by HAYDEN91 (MATTHEWS, NC) May 24, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

35 out of 46 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Being rockstar's first non "shoot em up" tipe game, it is actually a blast playing it. Once i got the hang of the buttons i couldn't put it down. The characters in the game are some of the most realistic i've seen. You can see their sweat, their facial expressions, and their realistic reflexis. There is no real campaign no real story, but this is an awsome game to play with your freinds online or at home.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Play Ping Pong err Table Tennis like a Rockstar!

posted by Funfactor (Cypress, CA) May 25, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

49 out of 67 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Just got my hands on Rockstar Games: Table Tennis. I jumped right into online play and won my first match! This game rocks! (no pun intended). It features Tournament, Exhibition, and Online play. The Tournament mode is deep. You play through amatuer levels leading up to all-star trying ultimately to dominate the entire circuit. Online play is standard with regular player matches and ranked as well. There are also plenty of extras to unlock from new clothes to secret characters. This game is solid and don't let the fact that it's ping pong keep you away because Rockstar has brought everything cool and fun in the sport and made it even better. Get it now and have a blast!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

fun but not for long

posted by johnka07 (COLUMBIA, MO) Jun 12, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

the game was decent. i had some fun when i first got it, then it was all the same. the game is child's play at any other level besides very hard. u can basically stand in one spot and hold down the topspin button and beat every player until the last tourney. i love ping pong, but this game had absolutely no desire to be fun. i would pass on this game if u have not rented it yet. trust me, u will be bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

lipstick on a pig

posted by DoktorNein (PORTLAND, OR) Jun 5, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

this game is beauitful. it looks fantastic and the controls are in the vein of easy to learn and hard to master. however the AI above the first tournament doesnt see it that way. it seems you're expected to have it down to a T by the end of the first one. the training helps a little, but for sure not enough. this doesnt stop the game from being fun, and maybe even worth the keep it price, but it makes it more than slightly frustrating.

the multiplayer is a smashfest which some people might like but im not overly excited about it.

all in all its fun, but it can make you want to break something every now and then.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

So-So Game

posted by ThaGreat (DALHART, TX) Jun 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Well after waiting on the mailman to come to my door with this game, and seeing him today i was happy. After sticking the game into my xbox it wasn't the same story. Yeah the game is "so-so", I say this because its a bunch of button mashing, boringness. On the flip side Visuals were great and the game is addicting because for me i wanted the achievement points. I know alot people will like this game because its their style. For me nah, im more of a Madden, Hitman, Halo type of guy. So hey rent it and if on your Q it says short wait, mayb you'll get mine cause im shippin it back tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Addictive multiplayer but reppetative singleplayer

posted by TheEatIsOn (WYOMING, MI) Jul 27, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I thought the game was great. A fresh new type of game for the 360. Great gameplay, graphics, sound, and controls.
The single player was good and a lot of things to unlock was addictive at first but got very old after a while. Playing against a friend or over Xbox Live is probably the best thing about this game.
The could have been better with a Create A Player mode. Overall I give this a seven. Great multiplayer but there could have more single player fetures.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rockstar's First Next-Gen Game!!!

posted by gamerater (KATY, TX) Jun 5, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Story- Table Tennis Sport

Graphics- Great! They Look Amazing! Mostly because How the players look... (Rating 9.0)

Gameplay- Its Simple! If you have played a tennis game ever then it should be a simple walk in the park... (Rating 7.0)

Overall Review- 8.0
Not rockstar's Best, But Its Not Their Worst!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Frustration on a whole new level

posted by Undead (PASADENA, CA) Jun 17, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I really like this game. The controls are very simple and easy to learn and the graphics are excellent. The online play is also very good and lag free most of the time. It's also the only table tennis game on the market.

The reason I gave it a five is because of the A.I. It's very strange sometimes. If you are doing the medium circuit and are fairly good at the game, it's way too easy for the first 4 matches. Then, suddenly, the game gets a mind of its own and it completely kills you. Randomly on some matches the A.I. takes steroids and it becomes a demonic ping pong machine.

Matches like these, to say the least, are extremely frustrating and near impossible if you aren't some sort of expert at the game. Several times I wanted to snap the disc in half. Anyway, I would reccomend you get this. It's the only table tennis game for the 360 and it's great if you can ignore the frustrating A.I.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Most Addictive Game I've Played In Years!

posted by Doctrey (WYLIE, TX) May 26, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is very addictive and entertaining, even though the overall game itself is pretty simple. It doesn't take very long to get the gist of the gameplay, but as you progress, you'll start to see the different types of shots and volleys that are thrown at you. I played this game for 4 or 5 hours when I first got it, and I can't wait to get home to play again. The only addition to this game, in my opinion, that would complete this title would be some sort of character creation/career mode to enhance your desire to play this game over, and over, and over again. Overall, I give this game a 9, and if it had the career mode, maybe I would give it a 10. I LOVE THIS GAME!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rockstar's table tennis

posted by Studly (LITTLETON, CO) May 30, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Table tennis for the 360 is a pretty game but that's about all it has going for it. There is a tutorial on how to play the game which is helpfull. the game play is pretty basic, using a,b,x, or y to swing at the ball and the left thumbstick to place the ball on the other side of the table. there is a meter you can build up to do "focus" moves but they are not anything spectacular that one would expect from a Rock Star game. you do the same thing over and over.Not a game I found really worth my time though I didn't play on Live.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game, but could have easily been a Great Game

posted by PantyDropr (HILO, HI) May 28, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not expecting much from a $40 dollar game I rented it and I now see why it is priced so cheap. The game is great at first, but soon gets repetitive with a limited amount of characters and a simple tournament mode. They could've easily made a "Create A Character" and a more in depth career mode, but for some reason chose the easy way out and played it safe. Maybe it's because they didn't know how the average gamer would respond to this game. Hopefully the next one will be a lot better because this just seems like an appetizer to the main course.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Another Original Concept from Rockstar

posted by smackie777 (SPRING GROVE, PA) Jun 17, 2006

Member since Sep 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well first off I must say that this game will not make its way to my top 10, regardless it's a fun play. Utilizing the different types of hits and the serving system is a breeze. Finding "your" character is a must as the game can tend to be difficult for beginners, don't choose your player based on their stats and your usual style in games like this, try them all out and see which fits. After you choose your avatar and get the controls down this game can be a blast, for about 5 hours. And that is exactly why I only gave it a 6. Rockstar has done a fine job with making a fun game out of such little material and like they did with Grand Theft Auto III the poster-child for sandbox/free-roaming gameplay, they've made an original. I'm sure the main game developers were sitting around their table and one said "Hey I wonder what Pong would be like on Xbox 360" and that's exactly what they've done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Simple, addicting throwback

posted by philip (Henderson, NV) Jun 15, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I see this game as a throwback to gaming circa 1995. When you pick your character, it's just a bunch of stereotyped, canned characters, and their stats are not upgradeable. The game modes are exhibition, training, and tournament, that's it. And even the control is simple.

The game excels at drawing you in with the easy to learn, hard to master gameplay. You've got four spin buttons: fore, back, left, and right. You move with the left analog, and you can hold the left bumper for a soft shot, or the right bumper for a "focus" (power) shot. That's it. A beginner will have no problem banging balls back and forth against a forgiving opponent. The depth comes with reading what type of spin to is on the ball coming at you, how to apply counter spin, and when to use your focus shots. These skills are essential in besting the computer opponents in the Hard and Master levels, not to mention in keeping up with human adversaries.

The graphics look great. Again, a simplistic look was applied, but it's table tennis, so it works just fine. From a far view, the players look real, with their clothes moving in real time and their fluid movements when celebrating or lamenting. The camera angles on the replays are interesting, and it's fun to slow things down and watch the Rockstar logo spin in accordance with what type of spin was put on the ball.

Gamers that do not play online (such as myself) will find the single player offerings a little skimpy. There's either exhibition or tournament, and once you've beaten the tournaments, there's not much else to do. The static characters provide incentive to play through multiple times with different characters, but that will wear thin.

Overall, this is a rent-first game. Some may feel totally satisfied after spending a week with it, as the replay value is a bit low. Try it online, though, and that replay value may increase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

REPETITIVE

posted by JSpartan (IOWA CITY, IA) May 30, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is so repetitive, and actually playing the game using all the special moves it gives you, makes it harder and you do worse. Most of the hits are luck, sometimes you'll make it and sometimes you dont.

The Good-Great Table Tennis Game, Good character models
The Bad-Its a table tennis game, there is no career or much to do outside of tournement, it gets boring really fast, complicated to use what the game wants you to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Huge FUN sleeper hit~!

posted by Weeble (TACOMA, WA) Sep 4, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have been very reluctant to call any game perfect 10. Only Oblivion comes close but with it's bugs it fall just short. This Rockstar San Diego release of Table Tennis is perfect! It is simple fun accessible for anyone to play and enjoy. Although the controls are intuitive and simple to learn, with some practice and not too much time you can develop in to a great player (at least it feels that way) quickly. Subtle finesse moves, power spin shots, butterfly, anything from the real world of Ping Pong is available to learn and swing for.
It is truly a sight to behold, the graphics are stunning, realistic, and highly detailed. Beads of sweat, arm hairs, the straining of muscles are captured in movements. With absolutely dead on physics you can almost feel your player moving, and you will be moving with him or her on your couch. I found myself standing up and swinging with my controller during a rather heated volley.
The sound is subtle with non intrusive music that kind of feels like elevator music, but it works and fits the style of play. The ambient sound effects in each location vary, but you can here the cheers and the crowd get more and more excited, pushing your adrenaline even higher. During down moments I heard a celphone ring from the auditorium, thanks to a full surround set up it left me really feeling enveloped inside the game world.
Table Tennis is a huge sleeper hit. It's very fun, easy to play, with plenty to offer for the wannabe masters, and truly addicting. I could not find anything technically wrong with this game, loads are quick, and so are saves, no chug, very smooth.
Overall this game delivers video game fun with a very old concept brought to life in a whole new way. Anyone who wants something familiar but innovative to play, and have a blast should pick this gem up. It is a big surprise and excellent candidate for game of the year, and the first real 10 unflawed game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rockstar Table Tennis

posted by ViciousIX (PIEDMONT, AL) May 28, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is like next-gen pong, but with awesome graphics and character models. Rockstar really delivers with this title. I was quite surprised that Rockstar would even put out a game based on ping pong, but they did a great job with it. Check this game out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Annoying.

posted by mrsand (UKIAH, CA) May 27, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 14 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I thought this game would be good but it is extremely frustrating- the difficulty curve is way off and the medium setting drove me crazy because it was so difficult, as did the poor online lagging, the frustrating controls and a confusing menu system that led to my championship save game getting accidently erased. The whole game just felt rushed to me and several times i was left speechless in annoyance at this stupid ping pong game. Yes the graphics are good, but Fight Night 3 is better and has a way better control, menu and difficulty curve.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Impecible

posted by Insickure (SANTA CRUZ, CA) May 25, 2006

Member since Jul 2004

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This game seems pointless and dumb, but Rockstar did an excellent job, the graphics are flawless, the controls are perfectly place. Game play is good but it is better when you are playing a tournament with your friends. I give this game an instant 10, You MUST PLAY THIS GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Beautiful and Pointless

posted by HandSolo (FAIRDALE, KY) May 27, 2006

Member since May 2006

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong, this game is near a graphical masterpiece but from a gameplay standpoint it is EXTREMELY pointless and repetitive. There is no career mode only small tournaments, Single players BEWARE! Unless you are a huge table tennis enthusiast for some reason, or Forrest Gump I would stay away from this game and invest your money in some other hobby like a WNBA game. Enjoy if you rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rockstar Games Presents Table Tennis

posted by dar938 (AUSTELL, GA) Jul 4, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game rules if you have someone to play with. If not... it's okay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Price proves true: Cheap price = Bad Game

posted by Inbred (EDMONTON, KY) Jun 2, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Everything that I read was that you could pick this up and it would be so addictive that you would not be able to put it down. well let me tell you not only have I put it down but it only took me five hours to do it. Unless you are addicted to hitting the same buttong over and over and waiting for the laws of avreages to go your way and the computer miss then skip this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

...

posted by NoExcape (SPANAWAY, WA) May 25, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 33 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

its tabel tennis come on that would you expect it to be fun or exciteing why whould you play this its one of the stupidiest ideas for a videogame ever its along the lines of a paddleball game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game, limited fun

posted by marx41 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Let's be honest, you can only have so much fun playing ping pong, let alone as a video game. The game itself is very well made. Different hits and spins allow you to control the ball very well, though this can sometimes be extremely difficult. When I tried to play online, there was only 1 player, and was extremely good at the game. If you are determined to beat the game, you will definitely need some practice and time to master your skills. Enjoyable at first, but I lost interest very quickly. But like I said, the game is still of good quality. Its Rockstar.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

less than decent

posted by uunash007 (FALMOUTH, ME) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

this game is very easy to pick up but does not offer anything but ping pong. all you can play are tutorials and ping pong matches. also many achievements are hard to get. if the game had differant modes it would be much better. I got bored of it after around 3 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse