Rent Rock of the Dead for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Rock of the Dead

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
2.8

509 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Achievement hunters

posted by Brent6923 (EASLEY, SC) Feb 3, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For my fellow achievement hunters I have a few tips. play on easy as there are less notes and you progress through the game quite easily. I found that using a controller is much easier than the guitar. The drums are a good choice too adding that you dont have to strum. The most annoying aspect is hitting the wrong note first only to be stuck targeting a different zombie striking the wrong note repeatedly. give the game a run through on easy and maybe try for the collectables. This can easily score you about 500 points or so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Falls dead at the starting line.

posted by Xzarius (ROCKVILLE, MD) Nov 23, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

If you're like me and have played several rhythm games in the past, the biggest and most obvious flaw becomes apparent immedately.

The notes scroll from left to right, and there's no option to change that.

Anyone who has been connected to the rhythm music genre at all is probably used to the background to foreground method of scrolling. This pointless change is more crippling than you might expect.

If you can get past that, all the better to you. For me, it was too much of a game breaker for me to continue beyond a few levels. That, and the game locked up on a glitch in the second level right before the big crab boss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Play PS2 games on your 360!!

posted by haggard (SAINT PAUL, MN) Nov 15, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Ever thought it'd be cool to play your old playstation 2 games on your xbox360?? Now you can have that same feeling with, "Rock of the Dead". Seriously... this game does not utilize the 360 consoles resources at all.

Kodus for trying something new -- and giving me another use of my Rock Band equipment.... but NO -- please not this. Immediate return. Thank God it was a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Is it even worth renting?

posted by Range13 (BOZEMAN, MT) Nov 12, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The answer is yes the game provides a good diversion from standard rhythm gaming fare, but that is also where it is weak , this is really just a mini game blown into a full born level after level boss after boss affair. The gameplay utilizes your instrument of choice, guitar, mic or drums, which a friend can also use for local co-op. Is this game worth your time? if you like steady easy achievements, Rob Zombie who is in the game but you have to dig for him. You might have fun but the voice cast is wasted as are the Zombie tunes. The gameplay works and the bosses are at least humorous but the experience adds up to a glass of watery Kool-Aid. If this had been a part of larger game I would have loved it, on its own however everything wears thin. I did enjoy playing through the good and evil endings however and I laughed, once or twice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

enjoyable

posted by kuroyama1 (CLEVELAND, OH) Nov 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Now im not gonna say i wasn't skeptical when i saw the title "really rock of the dead? seriously?" but when i saw voice talents of rob zombie AND Neil patrick harris i said "now i gotta see this thing" i got it yesterday and it IS fun very very difficult on expert mode but once you get down the notes it becomes easy enough. Replayable? maybe fun as heck at parties? definitely. don't buy it yet wait for it to drop in price by a LOT because its not worth the current price but it is OH SO worth it sort of a combo of witty lines ala postal 2 with graphics from house of the dead with the guitars from rock band
sounds like a badass drink to me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the worst ever

posted by tiltyard (DAYTON, VA) Nov 23, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is possibly the worst game ever. as a matter of fact, I don't know if you even need to play it - what I mean by that is that after just a few notes, we had decided that it was horrible and just randomly pushed all buttons. During that time we got perfect and great scores! thank heavens I didn't have to actually pay for this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

STAY AWAY FROM THIS GAME !!!

posted by Knarf5150 (PARKVILLE, MD) Nov 15, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Got this game today in the mail. Played for 10 mins. Took it right to the mailbox and sent it back. Dont even waste your time. Never had a game this bad !!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Rock is Dead!

posted by andyg316 (KENTON, OH) Nov 22, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

For so long now I have been waiting for a game to come along that would let me use my Guitar Hero controller to engage in an adventure that required me to play the guitar in order to progress. I dreamed that there would be a story engaging enough to make the dynamics of the game to make sense. Instead, they made Rock of the Dead! This game was so bad that I could only stand to play it for about 20 minutes before I literally screamed at my tv and told this game that it sucked! Good thing this was a rental, because I would have snapped the disc in half if I had paid cash for it. I wouldn't have even taken it back for a refund because something this terrible must be destroyed!

It is bad when I hate a game, because I am guilty of being an achievement hunter in games. But even thought most of them are easy to get, bad gameplay actually made me angry to the point of wanting to put my guitar controller through my television screen.

If you are thinking about playing this game, let me stop you. If you play this, you will never forgive yourself. I know I don't forgive myself for even putting it in the disc tray and pressing A!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKED!!!

posted by Samson02 (LA GRANGE, NC) Dec 11, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Rock of the Dead is the worst game I've ever played. I thought this game would be like guitar hero except killing zombies instead, and its not. The graphics on it are horrible, stupid story, and its just bad. So if your thinking about buying this game, dont. It's a major waste of money. If your thinking about renting this game, dont. It's a waste of time. Trust me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Rock of the Dead more like Dead of the dead...

posted by desolate23 (LAWTON, OK) Jan 7, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

This game finishs completely dead last in the best gamesever. There's no actual storyline to speak of and absolutely no fun in this glitchy mess of a game. The cords are always off and you never seem to hit the right notes without messing up. If you play this play it on easy and you won't be frustrated as I was trying to playthrough this game once through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wow...bad!

posted by okhorrific (CORTLANDT MANOR, NY) Aug 17, 2012

Member since Oct 2007

Generally I don't really listen to reviews because I have really enjoyed some games that got terrible reviews in the past. But wow, this game stinks. It was a waste of time. Don't even bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

YOU CALL THIS A GAME

posted by GayGuy14 (EXCELSIOR SPRINGS, MO) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

in rock of the dead it doesnt let you pick which zombie to kill and it is confusing since the original guitar hero had the notes going down not sideways plus who wants a game called rock of the dead if you kill the zombies and not be them and rob zombie has only made/helped with one thing EVER and it is rock of the dead so now you know why this game sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

quick 500g

posted by wlanedbz (HATTIESBURG, MS) May 18, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

The trick to rushing through this game is to spam X+Y+B (pressing all at the same time) about 100,000 times. If you press all 3 buttons together, the game will register whichever one is the correct button to push. You can kill 100 zombies this way in like 15-20 seconds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i would rather play pong

posted by bbsholt (YORK, PA) May 7, 2011

Member since May 2011

The game play and graphics are insanely horrible. You would have more fun rebuilding a motor in a truck, then play this garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

rock of the dead is rite a dead waist of time

posted by ALTEREDSAINTS (JACKSON, GA) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

poor graphics....the plot sucks...would have been a good game 10 years ago....need I say more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A good game if you can get used to it.

posted by Rikoraru (KEANSBURG, NJ) Mar 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Being a fan of the House of the dead games, playing them when I was only a kid, this game took that and added my favorite part of games like rock band and guitar hero. They mashed it up into a game that I wouldn't call a "super game" but a game worth a rent. This game has some problems, like in my opinion, some of the "pick-up challenges" or "rescue challenges" go by way too quickly. It may end without you even having the chance to finish it or even press a button.

The only other thing that bothered me (aside from the repetitive and cheesy lines) was the fact that the highway was scrolling sideways. If you play guitar hero or rock band as much as I do, this change may seem minor but it isn't. I can play expert guitar on rock band very successfully, but I tried hardcore on this game and got my butt handed to me several times. Even easy is a challenge.

Overall, if you can get over these minor annoyances, this game is fun to play and worth it. Whether you enjoy it or just want to add more achievements to your list, rent it while you still have your gamefly subscription!

-Rikoraru

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A Child's Game

posted by SJK5150 (MERRICK, NY) Mar 4, 2011

Member since May 2010

Not that entertaining for anyone over the age of 13 or so. Nice concept though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not even good for achievements

posted by pluckgrit (TUSCALOOSA, AL) Feb 28, 2011

Member since Feb 2009

I am an achievement farmer. I couldn't even play this game long enough to get any. It is that bad. I have played Avatar, Deadliest Catch, and Cars with cheat codes and this I could not make myself do, and I love achievements. It might be worse than the Olympic type games that they have put out for the XBOX 360 that are all horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

simmer down

posted by myselfelletti (AURORA, CO) Feb 18, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

everyone is all mad at this game because they cant handle notes going from right to left instead of straight at them so they whine about it but if your able to adjust which isn't too difficult its a pretty fun game i gave it thew low rating because i completed it in one day but if you want a game that isn't all serious and such this could work for you so don't automatically believe all the people who hate it because its different

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THE WORST

posted by ChrisIvie (TUCKERMAN, AR) Feb 11, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This has got to be the worst game ever made.... I can't believe that someone would endorse this peice of doodoo, better yet I can't believe anyone would spend the money to create it. If doodoo could be put onto a CD and sold in stores this would be it. Warning to anyone thinking about renting this game, it was a waste of a rental for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible Game

posted by nbyrne66 (LUDLOW, MA) Jan 31, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I added this game even though it looks really dumb. I thought I'd give it a try. I used my guitar hero guitar and started to play. The notes you have to play are oddly placed. Each zombie you have to kill has 3 notes to it. Easy to play once you get used to it but it took so long for me to get used to it that I didn't want to play it anymore. I beat the second 'boss' and quit after that. it was one achievement in. It's a really boring game. Slow paced. The screen has you walking around and you have to play notes while the background is bobbing around. sicking in my opinion. The talking during the gameplay is slightly funny. Best part of the game and that's not saying alot. All in all, This was a good idea. And they were on the right path to making a good game. But at some point, they took a wrong turn and ended up with a game that wasn't worth the effort to put the disk in your console.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BAD

posted by STONEYLOVE (VISTA, CA) Jan 13, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

THIS GAME SUCKS I LAME GAME PLAY AND VERY BOREING FROM THE START I COULD NOT EVEN FINISH THE FIRST LEVEL ITS THAT BAD OF A GAME I RANK IT 0 BUT HAVE TO PUT 1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not a really music game

posted by frgclan93 (CHICAGO, IL) Dec 21, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

ok at 1st I love music games. very big fan of Guitar Hero and Rock Band. If your a fan like me and you want to buy or rent this game for those reasons then Dont. This is not a Music Game that has a highway of notes that you play. Its more of a hit this 5 random notes that dont if snyc with the music. If you dont mind that part and you love Zombie games then rent before buyiing. I also found the game to be very cheesey to say the least. Game looks like it was made for PS1. Its really a game that should had been on Xbox Live Arcade not a xbiox game with a $65 sticker price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

rock of the dead

posted by argon2467 (WINTER HAVEN, FL) Dec 21, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

not a bad game. it has cheesy moments and the game was not built the best. the game however very funny, and has some good boss battles. the music could have been better then just throwing in rob zombie songs. the idea was very unique, and different its own way. the game is funny and different for a music game. also it does support a guitar to play the game as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont waste your time

posted by HotGarbage (PLAINFIELD, IL) Dec 6, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

this game sucks.id would be really ticked if i was one of those people who actually bought this game.this should have been a game you download thru xbox live.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse