Rent Rock Revolution for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Rock Revolution

Not Rentable
Also on:PS3, DS
GF Rating
3.4

843 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Theres nothing REVOLUTION-ary about this game.

posted by LEGEND88 (TROY, TX) Nov 27, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Let me first start off by saying this is not the worst game I have ever played. As of matter of fact if this had came out 5 years ago or as an Arcade game, it would have a pretty good title. As a fully priced game, this game does not cut it.

Gameplay- The vertical scrolling of the notes, isnt awful but it tended to make me dizzy and I had trouble focusing on the notes, especially on Expert when it was going a little faster. RB and GH's scrolling is much better and easier to see. As for the note chart, I personally don't think it was done very well. The Career mode is pretty bad.
Gameplay- 3/10

Audio- Most of the songs are cover songs. They are hit or miss. Some sound decent while others are awful. There are only a few master recordings and they are the highlight of this game. I think "Paralyzer" and the Linkin Park song are master recordings.(I could be wrong)The tracklist is decent. Some songs are good but then they are a cover version and it just doesnt sound good.
Audio- 5/10

Graphics- The graphics may actually be the best part of this game. The character models for everyone in the band are suprisingly good. However, the crowds and environments suck.
Graphics-6/10

Replay Value- Almost none. If you want to come back and play some of the master recordings, I dont blame you but with the horrible note charts and the vertical scrolling, you may not want to come back and play this ever again.
Replay value-1/10

Overall 3/10- I would pass this game up. If you are looking for an alternate to RB or GH, I would look elsewhere. Not being compatible with RB or GH drums hurts. Not having vocals hurts. I rented this for the achievements and I couldnt make myself play this game even for the achievements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Rock Revolution

posted by LITTELHAWK (BELTON, MO) Dec 16, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game had some songs that I loved and wish were on guitar hero or rock band because the way that this game is set up the gameplay sucks. Thenotes come straight down from the top and are offcenter so its even worse on a bigscreen tv. Maybe future games will be better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not THAT bad of a game.

posted by Tahmer (Chanute, KS) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

13 out of 17 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

When you first take a look at this game you may see it as a ripoff of Guitar Hero or Rock Band. Well considering Konami basically invented rhythm gaming it would be ludicrous to say that. However I will agree it is a little too late for Konami to jump into the American plastic instrument market.

Let's talk about career mode, this is where you'll spend most of your time. It starts off where you do 6 "events" on a disc. You finish 3 and you move on to another disc, and then for a final thing you do a 3 song gig similar to if you were to make a setlist in Rock Band. Repeat this formula a few times and you have career mode.

If you finish 3 events on a disc it turns gold. If you finish all 6 it turns platinum. Events range from playing a song normally, to playing a section of the song perfectly, playing a section without a note chart from memory, playing with dodging false notes, or playing with the scroll speed randomly going fast and slow.

The songs. Here is where the controversy is. They are all covers. Except the Linkin Park and Finger Eleven songs. There are a few covers that are pretty good, mostly the female sang ones, then there are are plenty of average ones, then there is terrible ones. Chop Suey is a perfect example of terrible, look it up on Youtube, you'll cringe. That's just the vocal covers. For the instrument covers they aren't too bad, there are a couple that aren't perfect like All My Life but nothing terrible. Just remember even Guitar Hero started out with all covers.

The overall gameplay of the game is basically the same as Rock Band. For guitar you have your 5 colored lanes, and you hit notes. Drums are a little different. You can switch between 5 lanes and 7 lanes, depending on the set your using, the RB kit would use the 5 lane. The only difference here is that the bass pedal shows up as an orange note in the middle similar to drum mania.

Honestly if you can get past the fact that every song is a cover, it's a decent game. Rent it at least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why?

posted by BubbyLove (NEWARK, NJ) Feb 28, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is the worst music based game I've ever played. My 3 year old niece has a plug and play guitar game made by Disney, and even that was better than this. Don't waste your time or space in your Queue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It tries, but falls short

posted by washamur (ODESSA, TX) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

First, the few positives:

The Set List: Solid, with quite a few tracks that some of us has hoped for in Rock Band and/or Guitar Hero. Yes, they are "covers" - but a lot of them sound very good. Some you might even swear are the actual master tracks.

Create Your Own Solo: Not a bad concept at all ... and can make a song enjoyable for a brief moment. While playing a "gig", you are given the opportunity to have your own solo in the middle of a song. It's a great concept, but just falls somewhat short on what they were aiming for.

Studio Play: Obviously wanting to touch on the "play your own song" concept coming in the newest Guitar Hero installment. It's pretty good, and can entertain for a little while ... however, with the limitations in the mode - it will grown old quickly.

NEGATIVES: I'm not real sure where to start here ... but my roommate said it best: "It looks like they only had 5 dollars to make this game" -- and it really does. The presentation is pretty good, with the drummer looking authentic, and light shows moving nicely along with the music ... but what REALLY brings this game down is the fret board. The main ingredient to a successful rhythmic game ... and they missed it COMPLETELY. The fret board is small - downward scrolling - which makes actually playing a song a test even to the most seasoned RB/GH players.

All-in-all Konami should take a step back and look at what it is that works so well for the GH/RB franchises ... and try their best to duplicate that. If they did it right, and continued to provide as good a set list as in this game, I'm sure not too many people would complain. Besides ... all we want is great music, and an interface that does spur a migraine by the second song.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Soundtrack

posted by Brickhouse (SMITHS STATION, AL) Nov 11, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

The soundtrack in this game, covers they may be, some not to great of covers, is what I wish the other games could of put out. The songs are exactly what a Rock game should have in it. So you will enjoy playing them and not dread it, like I did in Rock Band (1 and 2).

This game is getting a lot of flak for being different. What some complain about is the different way it scrolls the notes on the screen. Instead of what you may be use to, the notes come down the screen from top to bottom on the left side of the screen. This is a learning curve, but after you get it down it's very simple to play. The "hammer-ons" and such are tricky, it seems the game wants you to not strum them, and if you do strum them, you better do it perfect or it won't play.

The career mode is cool. You have albums you can choose between 5 songs on each album (only have to beat 3). Once you beat 3 you go gold. If you complete all the challenges on that album (objectives like changing difficulties while playing & "don't play the bad notes") the album goes platinum. Not sure what happens then b/c I didn't bother with it. After you finish 2 albums, you play a special show where you pick 3 songs for your setlist. Each of those songs you pick you get an area in the song where you can play your own solo however you want. This is the area I enjoyed most. I had a blast strumming my own solo's.

The areas this game falls short, badly, is:
-graphics: very 3 years ago, nothing special here, however, the sets look badass.
-music: all songs are covers, some good, some bad. This shouldn't be the deciding factor b/c the instruments are still mostly the same and this is what I usually pay attention to in my music selection, not the singer.
-buggy: at points in the game my system would freeze. usually when loading sets. not sure if this was my system or the game.

Overall you should rent it at least and make your own opinion. You will still have fun playing these songs, this soundtrack owns.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible!

posted by jsilves (LOWELL, MA) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Konami really botched this one! This game has a terrible feeling to it from the moment you boot it up. I have a Roland TD6 drum kit with a hardware mod to play Rock Band, so I was excited about yet-another rhythm game. Sadly, this one is highly disappointing. I started out in Career mode, where you are forced to play on easy to start, despite my higher-level drumming skills. I immediately noticed that there were 7 rows of colors! Cool, I thought, until I realized that the bass drum was just a dot on the screen like all others - making the beat patterns to songs you didn't know impossible to figure out on the fly. In fact, I found that just trying to sight-read the music with the bass-drum dot was incredibly frustrating.

I immediately quit out and went to Quickplay and selected a song I'm very familiar with thanks to Rock Band -- All the Small Things, and it was here where I was allowed to choose Expert. The notation was largely the same, despite a few flawed tom mappings, but the game was heavily unforgiving, requiring ultra-precise timing and absolutely no forgiveness for missing a fill (it would pretty much fail me instantly).

I'll give this one another go to see if I can't squeeze an achievement or two out of it before sending it back to rot on a shelf somewhere.

This game is TERRIBLE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worst music game ever? Absolutely not!

posted by DanielEast (CEDAR, MN) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

While I can see how some hardcore Guitar Hero or Rock Band fans can't stomach this Konami counterpart, I feel this is no better than either of them, but not terrible either, just right. Please allow me to explain...

Despite the entire songlist consisting of covers of popular rock, metal, nu-metal, etc. hits (with the exception of "Given Up" and "Paralyzer"), I say it's pretty decent. Some of the covers aren't very good though, like the one for Pantera's "Walk" for example. The vocalist sounded like he needed some Milk of Magnesia if you get me.

The challenges for the career mode (i.e. Poison Note, In the Zone, Recording Studio, and Band Practice) are great, though they can be a pain to do. Like for the Poison Note Challenges, all you have to do is avoid hitting the black notes on the note chart. You can only goof up five times and you're gone. That will be really frustrating if you're getting to the higher tier songs on Expert.

One of my favorite features is the solo improvisation you can pull off during a gig in the career mode. However it is a little broken, most of the time it resets your combo for some reason.

Like Guitar Hero: World Tour, you can create your own music, but RR's feature isn't really worth it. You can only record them and play them back, you can't make them into in-game custom songs like GH:WT.

In conclusion, like I said before, there's nothing too grandiose about Rock Revolution, it's just a decent game. If you're going to buy this, I'd say wait until the price goes down if it does. If you think this is a terrible game, fine. That's your opinion. However, you probably haven't played "Alvin and the Chipmunks." Now, THAT game is terrible!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

No Room for a 3rd Entry in Rock

posted by EXARKAHN (BOLINGBROOK, IL) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

While I have not tried the instruments, I was not impressed one bit by this game. I am more partial to the RB line than the GH, this game has nothing more to offer than a few songs. The scrolling notes are much harder to follow, and the overall feel is just unimpressive. If you are into the vocals aspect of RB, forget it here, as it is Guitar Drums and Bass only. This is not a game that will take any time from my friends and I as we jam out to the 300 songs we have now to play on RB2 between RB1, RB2, and all cross compatible DL content.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A quick tip...

posted by Stewie (CANTON, OH) Oct 19, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 14 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

Actually play the game before you review it. Half of these people are just saying what everybody else says, but havent even played the game, and thats ignorant

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Give it a chance

posted by okhorrific (CORTLANDT MANOR, NY) Dec 2, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I don't think people are giving this game a fair shot. It's NOT guitar hero, doesn't look like it or feel like it. It is it's own game with it's own style. I think it's pretty fun and it's a little less forgiving than GH. Give it a fair shot, the set list is pretty good also. I'm keeping my copy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

copy of guitar hero and rock band

posted by cseymour (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Oct 16, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 44 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

its just a copy of guitar hero and rockband.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GAME REALLY SUCKS ALOT ALRIGHT!!!!!

posted by matthew13 (CHESWICK, PA) Feb 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

I PLAYED THE THEN I FOUND OUT THAT I NEEDED TO HAVE DRUMS & GUITAR ALSO SO THAT IS WHEN I SAID THAT THIS GAME BITES & I PLAYED THIS GAME ONCE THAT IS WHEN I OWNED IT AND DECIDED TO TRADE IT IN BECAUSE THE GAME SUCKED BIG TIME SO MY ANSWER IS THAT THIS GAME SUCKS BIG TIME AND YES I WOULD REALLY LIKE ANOTHER GAME PLEASE ALRIGHT GAMEFLY STAFF!! I WANT TO PICK IT THIS TIME NOT U GUYS CAUSE U GUYS PICK THE DUMB GAMES OUT OF MY GAMEQ ALRIGHT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good,the Bad...and the Jamming!

posted by Avenged7X (SANTA PAULA, CA) Aug 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I want to say,i did have hours of fun on this game....and i will say it was not because of the gameplay,infact i never really the game itself,but from what i did,it wasn't to bad,just sometimes can be tricky! but the Jam mode,and the Recording studio mode were my favorites! i loved playing the guitar and recording awsome songs of my own,and making them better,and it was great! it really is a great learning tool for any future musician,and its fun just to play if your not to serious about it! you can choose from many different sounds,and just play your heart out! this game was not all bad,but i really think if you have the equipment already from ROCKBAND or GUITAR HERO,then i think you should go buy this game,if you can find it for 5 bucks or less,it really is worth it! Rock Revolution gets a 5 out of 10 from me,and the freestyle modes get a full 10 out of 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

okay this game is horrible

posted by TIzusT (HOLLYWOOD, FL) Jun 9, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

im really good at guitar hero
so its not that i suck at the game
but the game sucks.
first and foremost every song in the game is a cover
that's just stupid
second
the timing window is horrible
worse then gh2 and RB1
the graphics are bad-mediocre.
i literally put this in my xbox
played 2 songs
and took it out and reshipped it
All you GH ans RB fans this game is bad please do not get it
guys if you want a good game, don't get this one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Gift Ever

posted by Malcolmcrc (IRVINE, KY) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Aug 2005

My girlfriend actually got me this game as a gift because she knew I loved Rock Band and Guitar Hero. When she handed it to me, I knew that this game sucks, but I couldn't tell her that. So I played it anyways just to make her feel better. There are only maybe 6 good songs on the game and the rest suck because all they are is college rock music, the scroll bar is up and down the screen and it goes too fast, the notes don't match the notes of the song especially if your playing on expert, and I hate it where every song is a cover. I recommend this NOT to be a gift idea or ever to be created. Rock Revolution can burn in h$#&!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

STAY AWAY....STAY FAR AWAY!!!

posted by JustinLH21 (OWENSBORO, KY) Sep 8, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

This game is so bad that the covers make Lil Wayne's music sound like a masterpiece, and everyone knows that he sucks...but not as hard as this game does. Some covers were just decent but I'd rather gouge my eyes out then ever play or see this game again. Everyone involved with this game should go hang themselves. But then again, what else could you expect from a game where IT'S OWN DEVELOPERS failed an incredibly simple song in "Blitzkrieg Bop" (E3 2008). So if you rent this and are considering the keep it now price for only $10...donate that money to charity because if you buy this...you just wasted your money. At least if you donate the money to a charity, you're doing some good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lame!!!

posted by FiskBlack (JEFFERSONVILLE, OH) Aug 2, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

So very very cruddy...but hey it booted up in the 360 so theirs that plus.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

is it so bad?

posted by yodathecat (SHORELINE, WA) Jul 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

i rented the game just to see differences of another music game franchise. it was pretty good, the strolling was comufing at first because it is backwards but you get used to it. i have played every music game and beaten most of them so this is kind of a refresher. i like how you can use the controller and the guitar, like in guitar hero 3. songs aren't the greatest but guitar hero has a few lame ones to (hey it can't have as bad as songs as guitar hero aerosmith) the game is an under dog of music games so you should give it a chance (at least rent it)

good:
graphics
achievements

ok:
gameplay
songs
setlist

bad:
a little confusing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not that bad

posted by cslayer23 (MIAMI, FL) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

ok this game might not be the best music game out there. but its actually pritty good the have good songs that if it were master recordings it would be a buy game but its not i personally like it so im proberaly going to buy it at gamestop.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Should be called Rock De-Evolution

posted by djman22681 (MUNCIE, IN) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

I'm a huge fan of the Rock Band-Guitar Hero style games. I figured this would be no different. I was horribly mistaken! I played for less than an hour, and already put it back in the mailbox to return to Gamefly. From what I could tell, the songs were ALL covers. And horrible ones at that in most cases. The note charts, or "lanes" as they're called in this game are really hard to see, due to the fact that the tiny little circle notes come straight down, instead of toward you like in Rock Band. It is also a very challenging game compared to the other 2 major games of this type due to the fact that the speed of the notes seems to be a lot faster and there are more chords, including split chords (green & yellow, red & blue etc.) even on medium difficulty. Your score multiplier only increases when you hit consecutive strings of "perfect" notes a la DDR style. And there is no overdrive or star power either. Just a "power meter" that when full increases your atmosphere meter (how well the virtual crowd likes you), or if that's already full, just gives you a certain amount of points. But not nearly enough in my opinion for the painstakingly awful covers you have to play through. Also career mode has special challenges that I'm guessing were supposed to make the game more fun. Konami obviously didn't test this very thoroughly though, because most of them are so challenging that they just become frustrating. Like the poison note challenges, where certain notes are blacked out and if you play too many of them, you fail. Yet you still have to achieve a certain point target to pass the song as well. Also no character creation is a poor decision. There are just a few basic characters you can choose from. To sum it up, unless you really feel like wasting an hour of your time, DO NOT play this game. Some of you may disagree and actually enjoy it though however. To each their own. I myself shall stick to Rock Band from now on though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A poor imitation

posted by Paul452 (PENSACOLA, FL) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

There was a time when Konami was THE name in music-based games. Their Japanese Bemani games were far ahead of the curve in instrument-based gameplay and Dance Dance Revolution speaks for itself.

Rock Revolution, however, shows how desparate Konami is to remain relevant in a field dominated by Activision Blizzard's Guitar Hero and EA/MTV Games' Rock Band franchises.

Rock Revolution uses the same basic gameplay as those franchises, but the highway is completely vertical unlike the curved GH and RB highways, creating an unfamiliar and unnatural sensation while playing.

The song selection is unimpressive as well, and in a time when both dominant franchises have gone to a policy of master recordings only, it's disappointing to see a new entry to the fray come forth with only cover songs available.

Music game completionists will want this game to add to their achievments, but for anybody looking for a great rock experience, there are two other far superior options out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I dont understand

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) May 15, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

You know how Guitar Hero and Rock Band games have the highway thingy where the notes are from the middle of the TV twards you right? Well if you like that, you wont like this game. For some really weird reason they though it would be a good idea to confuse everybody in the world and make it go vertically down. Which i mean you can get used to, but do you honestly want to? And just trust me it is really confusing to try to keep up with the notes coming down while also trying to hit them and do everything else. It has some songs from Guitar Hero and Rock Band, but there are two reasons the songs arent as good. Theres only like 20 or so songs and it really sounds like the bands that sang them are cover bands. And theyre BAD. This game has multiplayer, but who wants to play a game this screwed up. Theres downloadable content, but not as good as Rock Band. So overall this game is "tolerable", but who wants this much hassel? Try out Rock Band or Guitar Hero. Dont bother on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good, but only worth renting

posted by coldfusion (IRVINE, CA) May 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

After playing guitar hero games for a year and a half, I was morbidly curious to try this game out. At first it was frustrating with the top down approach, very similar to DDR, but after playing a few songs, you get used to the way the notes come at you. Once you get over the fact that the game looks like it was made in 1995, I found it to be pretty enjoyable.

One of the most interesting things in the game was the challenges they had outside of the 33 song setlist. The more challenging ones were the Poison notes (where you have to play around fake notes in the song and can only hit 5 of them total while still getting a target score) and a memory one (where you have to play the correct notes with the track all grayed out so you can't tell which color or position the note is in). The memory one sucked a lot, especially if you smoke a lot of... The last interesting one was where the note track sped up as your multiplier increased. By the time you got to 8x it was similar to playing on hyperspeed 5 in guitar hero during a boss battle... That made Chop Suey a blast to try and combo with it flying at you that fast.

Let me mention why I only gave this game a 6. It was fun... but after playing through it I never really want to play it again. If I can be playing GH:metallica's version of Am I Evil?, I'll definitely do that instead of putting back in the rock revolution disk. Also, while most of the covers were quite good, a few of them were terrible (look up "won't get fooled again rock revolution" on youtube to see what I mean).

If you have experience with guitar hero this game might provide a few days of fun, which is why renting it on gamefly is so great. I was able to finish all of the challenges and songs on Expert with my current skill level 5 starring GH2 and GH3. If you're really good at the guitar hero games, then by all means stick to them and try to FC Jordan, but if you're like me, then this game is at least worth checking out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucks.

posted by Xxng360xX (SUNNY ISLES BEACH, FL) May 1, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

This game really sucks, i only rented it cuz it had Walk - Pantera, anyway 98% of the songs are covers, and the gameplay SUCKS you get tired of looking at the screen after a while.

Played 1 song and returned it to gamefly, got 11 achievements BTW.

I do not recomend renting this just wastes your Gamefly membership.
GH: Metallica or Rock Band 2 are my recomendations, i preffer GH games but i respect the opinions of others...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse