Rent Rock Revolution for PS3
view large frontback

Rock Revolution

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, DS
GF Rating
3.4

137 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

no

posted by ilnewsome (BEAVER FALLS, PA) Nov 25, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So I rented this thinking - The reviewers are just tough on something new and different.

WRONG! Don't rent this game... It's not worth you checking your mail for it. And I'm the type of guy that enjoys everything.

Good:
Graphics are OK and the menus are easy to navigate.

Bad:
This game is horrible! I have an LCD HDTV, couldn't seem to get the calibration right with the primitive calibration method. The songs are horrible (as they're all cover except for 2). There's no support for vocals. There's no support for Guitar Hero Drum Kit (you have to take away the orange cymbal. The bass for the drum is a note in the middle. Where are the artists' names? Note charting for drums is WAY off. Note charting for guitar isn't good. No one to play with online!
And many others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The Revolution is Over

posted by Roboyd01 (COLTON, CA) Oct 18, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

First off the good.

The setlist: With the exception of Sk8tr Boi, I liked all the songs. Even though there was only 41 tracks, they were all good. I've been looking forward to Pull Me Under and Spirit of the Radio for a long time now, and Walk was incredible. The fact that they were covers doesn't distract me. So was GH 1 and I loved that game.

The Graphics: The venues looked good and the characters that existed were well rendered. And that's all I have to say about that.

The Studio: It wasn't great but was able to play a couple songs on guitar regardless of how fake sounding and artificial it felt. The chords are alright and the different types of instruments make for a few minutes of fun. The ability to record your own music is a good feature. I definitely feel that I would enjoy Studio more if I had any musical talent at all... sadly, I'm just a gamer who knows a few guitar chords.

Now the bad.

EVERYTHING ELSE. I quickly found out that the 2D method of the showing the fretbar really sucks. The charting of the song is terrible and inaccurate but at the same time there is less of a window for error than any other music game out there. Te HO/PO system is awful and the songs feel stilted and forced. Whereas in RB and GH games you play because it feels almost like your really playing the rock and you can get into it. There is none of that in RR. You are very aware that at all types it is a game and you're not into the music.

There are other bad things... the interface, the lack of any character or instrument customization... but the fact is that the bad gameplay breaks any game... and that's what happened here. Konami has failed and the revolution was over before it started.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ehhhh

posted by 010101 (PRESCOTT, AZ) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

its that kind of game that it's fun when your really bord.good thing is recording ur own music.that feature is awsome with friends but sadly thats the only good part read the other reviews 4 other info but if ur creativity is starving rent it if u buy it its a wast of money

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste your time or money!

posted by pumpedRN (PITTSBURGH, PA) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

You have been warned. I LOVE the GH and RB series.This game is awful.All of it.The graphcs,note chart and covers all stink!I want a refund.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Too little, Too late... actually, just too late...

posted by JakDax101 (O FALLON, MO) Feb 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

In America, we have Guitar Hero and Rock Band. In Japan, they have GuitarFreaks and DrumMania. Rock Revolution is basically GuitarFreaks and DrumMania, with a similar graphical style of Guitar Hero or Rock Band. In America, Guitar Hero and Rock Band are Hits. In Japan, GuitarFreaks and DrumMania are hits. Despite the fact that RR's gameplay is practically identical, people don't like Rock Revolution. Personally, I think if GuitarFreaks and/or DrumMania came over to the states earlier, the game would probably be a hit, or just not exist at all. My point is, that if a music game isn't Guitar Hero or Rock Band, people don't like it. The game is actually pretty good. But who's to say it has no flaws; for starters, the highway is in 2D. This makes it really hard to anticipate tough sections of a tough song. Also, the On-screen layout for drums takes some getting used to; instead of showing up as a great big stripe, bass pedal notes show up in the middle of the highway, just like the pads. It can make the game really confusing most of the time.
Either way, this game is seriously worth checking out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pretty cool game

posted by MATTROCKS (SOUTHGATE, MI) Jun 17, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

its a cool game its has some good gameplay good soundtrack but the only proplem with this game is that only 2 songs are the real ones the rest are covers.... even the downloads are covers and in a interview with one of the employees, the guy said 'we have 40 licensed titles...WRONG!!! so 38 songs are covers... so that ruinds the game for you. you can rent it or but it for 20 bucks at best but... i would rather have guitar hero or rock band then this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HAAAAA

posted by Spideyman2 (EASTLAKE WEIR, FL) May 15, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

This game was HORRIFIC! DO NOT! I REPEAT DO NOT RENT THIS GAME! Please!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Crock Revolution

posted by GimAllon (MOORESVILLE, NC) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Oct 2003

This game is just a cheap knock off of Rock Band and Guitar Hero. None of the tracks are original artists, although the choice of tracks earns the game 2 of the 4 ratings points i gave it. If Rock Band and Guitar Hero start getting the masters of some of these songs there will be no need for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This Game surpised me...and not in a good way

posted by Kaeglin (FLORENCE, MS) Feb 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I must say I was disappointed by this game. Though this game really isn't in the same league as the RockBands and Guitar Heroes out there; the song list had alot of the songs my friends and I wished were on those games. When I saw such songs as "We're Not Gonna Take It", "Falling Away from Me" and "Come on Feel the Noise", my jaw dropped and my fingers were itching to try them out. The character selection is almost an exact copy of Guitar Heroes, but that’s not a big deal. Once I picked my first song, I was asked to choose from a stable of what have become rehashed venues, complete with Konami’s personal homage to American Idol fans everywhere. So I pick my venue and prepare to give one of the songs of my youth a go.

The gameplay is where this title fails. The notes are presented to players in a style highly reminiscent of Dance Dance Revolution (Which I think was the prevailing influence for the name of this title), and for those who are used to rocking out on RockBand and its sequel, it may take some getting used to, before you feel comfortable moving up in difficulty. The hammer-ons and pull-offs are presented in a way that is so close to whole notes that determining which move to perform can get quite confusing. The whole experience left me wondering why they would present the notes in this way, because this left me quite disappointed.

On the whole the only original thing about this game is the song list, though there are some song on that players can enjoy on this genre’s top dogs. The character selection and venues leave a lot to be desired. So in the end, I cannot in all honesty recommend this game for anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Ever!!!!!

posted by ps3fan1 (NOGALES, AZ) Feb 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

This game is way better than Guitar Hero and Rock band.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »