Rent Rock Band for Wii
view large frontback

Rock Band

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PS2, Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.6

459 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hey Just so You Know...

posted by lginese (WORCESTER, MA) Jan 7, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I have the game at home, so here are a couple things you should know.
If you HAVE the instruments, like the Mic, if you want to play with a band but don't want to use the Mic, plug it in anyway. Once you get your song picked out, it'll have you pick out your instruments. DON"T USE THE MIC!! Just keep going on, it should work.
RENT IT ONLY IF YOU HAVE THE INSTRUMENTS! It should say that it doesn't work with GH guitars...
Other than that, check out the tutorials. They should help.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wait for Guitar Hero World Tour

posted by sean794 (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 30, 2008

Member since May 2008

17 out of 24 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

For the past 7 months or so, Xbox 360 and PS3 owners were sitting pretty with their versions of Rock Band, complete with character creator, download content, co-op via Xbox Live/PlayStation Network and the works. The PS2 version, however, just sat in the corner eating the scraps of whatever the other two dropped, only retaining the core gameplay elements and not putting on the extra bells and whistles that the other two had. Now it's Harmonix's turn to make a Wii version of the game. If you thought that the Wii version was going to be like the 360/PS3 versions, you should really stop eating those paint chips. The game is almost exactly the same as the PS2 version, with only one bonus whistle and maybe an extra bell or two.

Rock Band (for Wii) features 5 extra bonus songs originally released as download content on the 360/PS3 versions. But that's where the extra bells and bonus whistles end. Now I said you should stop eating those paint chips because if you own a Wii and have any knowledge of other systems whatsoever, you'd know that the Wii is significantly less powerful than the 360/PS3, and thus can't pull off the same duties.

If you thought about actually RENTING this game from GameFly, I would suggest you should really move away from those power lines. The game does NOT come with the instruments, rented or kept. So overall, it's just best to wait for Guitar Hero World Tour, coming this November. It will have a song creator, a more realistic drum set, compatibility with a Guitar Hero III controller, a new beginner difficulty setting, character creator on ALL versions etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun Game

posted by Navydave (DAHLGREN, VA) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Great game and easy to use. You can't rate the game a 1 if you did not have sense enough to use the proper tools. No it does not work with Guitar Hero but it works great with the Rock Band controllers. I prefer the Rock band guitar because it more true to life than the buttons on the guitar hero.
Rent this game if you want to have fun and enjoy music.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It is an awesome game!

posted by Marcoror (CASPER, WY) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I own this game and it is just as good as Guitar Hero World Tour. (I own that game too) It reads very well and has a lot of fun songs. Is it not oveas they don't send the instruments because it would cost a fortune to ship those things. Also it says that they don't ship them. It is by far one of my favorite games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not compatible with GH3 guitar

posted by lady33 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jun 29, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

13 out of 19 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

Rented this thinking it was compatible with my Guitar Hero guitar but it wasn't. I have the mic already so I was able to have a one person band. Guess I have to buy the bundle with drum and guitar.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Probably fun but

posted by Paablo (BREMERTON, WA) Aug 14, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Does not work with out rock band purchased peripherals. can not use Guitar Hero Guitars. would have been nice to know ahead of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A little overpriced, but that's all.

posted by tomsk84evr (BARKER, NY) Jun 29, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Rock Band for Wii does lack some of the features of the 360 and PS3 versions. The main problem that i saw with this is that there is no DLC. Instead they have track packs which compensates that. All of the instruments were working perfectly when i started to play and they continue to do so. 5/5 for peripherals

All though you can't customize your own "Rocker" and travel from different show places, the career mode is still fun. You can have a solo career or a full band career. Another important factor that the Wii version lacks is, online play. 3/5 Campaign

The main point of the game is to have lots of fun, and that i did while playing. I could play with my friends and family and have a great time. The bundle may be a little overpriced but it still is a good deal. I would recommend getting the 360 or PS3 versions if you own one of those systems. But if you own a Wii and can't spit out the money for the bundle, you should rent the game from Gamefly and buy a instrument one at a time. Eventually if you enjoy the game you can buy it from Gamefly and be a psychotic rocker til the end of days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Description is False

posted by vica101 (GEORGETOWN, TX) Aug 1, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

16 out of 24 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The description says it is compatible with most guitars, however we have the guitar hero guitar and on Wii it does not matter! You have to have the rock band instruments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

You don't know you need the Instruments to play???

posted by TheChief (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 3, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

How lame do you have to be to not realize that if you are playing a MUSIC game, you MIGHT just need to get the instruments????
This game is very easy to learn, but not easy to master. I would like to have had on line play, but it is a great deal of fun for me and my family. I rate this a 10. I got the instrument bundle (guitar, drums, microphone, + the game) for the WII for $140.00, not to bad. Either way this is great fun for all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Game for the family!

posted by Jillaggie (SPRING, TX) Jul 7, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Wonderful game. My 3 kids enjoy playing together, and I can also sing the songs! Easy to set up, easy to operate. Hours of fun, seriously!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Playabe

posted by Jeremy1648 (PORTLAND, OR) Aug 20, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Do Not Rent if you don't have the accessories. Can't Play it without them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

here is the thing

posted by monstar55 (ENGLEWOOD, CO) Aug 15, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

to play this game on wii you have to use rock band's instruments unlike xbox 360 were you can use guitar hero's guitar

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Mic??

posted by kaos211 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Aug 3, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Woulda been nice to know for the beginners that you need a MIC to play this game. Gamefly should supply that too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

It's an Over-priced PS2 version

posted by Kyllinge (CROYDON, PA) Jun 26, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

The game is basically a carbon copy of the PS2's version of Rock Band. (it has a couple extra songs)
I don't know about other people, but the instruments seemed out of sync even after calibrating for a CRT.
There's no downloaded content like the 360/PS3 has. You even gotta buy the separate game for them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Useless

posted by 07gamer (SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

5 out of 18 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

Rock Band has a huge rep and when you get it from game fly you dont get any of the instruments you need to be able to use it properly. Game fly should definitely give you at least 1 instrument.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

its roooooooooooooooooooooooo- ooooooooooooooookkkks

posted by seeeee (MOULTRIE, GA) Sep 6, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

it is a 3d musical game. it has lots of good songs on it. my nephew makes lots of them music games he has the wii i got the xbox 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

do not rent unless you have the rock band 1 guitar

posted by penguinpaw (WHITTIER, CA) Jun 20, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

do not rent unless you have the rock band 1 guitar controller big waste of your time and money you cant rent buy or barrow one so this game could be mind blowing awesome but like 95 percent of the people running into it for the fun of it now you will be just let way way way down

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Compatible

posted by retems2000 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This game is not compatible with any of the Guitar Hero, Warriors of Rock instruments...Unable to use at all...was a waste of time to even rent it. Unfortunately this is one of the 3 Rock Band games ( the other two are Aerosmith and AC/DC) that is not compatible with our equipment. I am just grateful that we didn't buy the Rock Band instruments because then we would be VERY limited as far as compatibility goes...If you have Warriors of Rock instruments do not bother renting this! I was very disappointed but like I said it could be worse because there are so many more games that are compatible...Hence the class action suit against Rock Band.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

no drums or guitar or bass

posted by dobbsben36 (AUSTIN, TX) Nov 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

this game only lets me play mic nothing else! help me! this game is just a big waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

rip-off

posted by griffin59 (SEATTLE, WA) Sep 10, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I played this game with my friend who has a 360 so I bought this in a store and these are roses and weeds

roses-great gameplay-awesome songs-and 5 bonus songs
weeds-no create-a-rocker and no online

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not compatable

posted by cook4games (POTTSBORO, TX) Jun 28, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Unfortunately this is the only rock band title I've tried to play so far that is not compatable with a guitar hero brand guitar. If you only own a guitar hero guitar do not waste your time renting this one in particular, all other rock band titles have worked just fine and are quite enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

stop complaneing!!!!

posted by malboja (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 20, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

so what if it doesnt have a chereter creater or dlc this is a awesome game its not perfict but its fun. great songs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Need Rock Band Guitar

posted by tucker666 (BROWNWOOD, TX) Jul 15, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Aww, I should have read the reviews first. It doesn't work with the Guitar Hero guitar!

Good thing I didn't have the track pack coming on the same day or I would have been angry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Didnt work

posted by nanacm1999 (NORWALK, CT) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

I have the setup for World Tour...the drums, bass, microphone...I figured it would be the same for the Rock Band game but i guess not.

I had everything plugged in..the bass, the guitar, the drums the microphone but nothing worked at all. I made sure everything was calibrated and in synch but as soon as you went to go play the songs..nothing...even the power on the remoted turned off..But then when I started up World Tour...everything worked fine....odd huh??

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Do not work with guitar hero guitar!!!

posted by biglou (STERLING, VA) Feb 21, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

Do not work with guitar hero guitar!!! Don't rent!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse