Rent Rock Band for PS2
view large frontback

Rock Band

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
7.9

586 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game but one problem

posted by drummerboy (CARTER LAKE, IA) Dec 21, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

awesome game
If you love the guitar hero seris then this game suits you
But one little problem you dont get the drums and the mic if you have a guitar hero guitar then your set but if you want the drums or the microphone then thats to bad rock band for playstation 2 is coming out with the special edition bundle save you money and get that that comes with the game drums drum sticks(no stool)microphone(no mic stand) a wireless guitar and a usb hub

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

works fine

posted by hazmat (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Jan 5, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Works fine on my older ps2 system (not the slim type). I am using a ps2 guitar hero 1 controller with no problems yet. Although I would like to have the whole kit. I am holding out until I purchase a ps3. I think I will keep the old ps2 (that plays all the ps2 games) hooked up and purchase the ps3 40 GB version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very good but only works w/ the slim PS2

posted by robert37 (FLORHAM PARK, NJ) Dec 28, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

8 out of 17 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

this game has great gameplay but only works in slim ps2s
EA should change this or lose many customers

if this helped please press yes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Game, but I'd rather have PS3 version

posted by hi16161616 (NEW ALBANY, OH) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

good game
Get a PS3 or Xbox 360 and get it for those. You can download songs, which makes the game more fun. If your fine with the original songs (which can be found on Wikipedia), save yourself ten bucks and get it for PS2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Certainly a party game

posted by lazzzydude (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 20, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have to say that i love this soundtrack. It applies to a wider audience than guitar hero, and offers 4 instruments to play. You can go on your own tours, unlike guitar hero in which you can only do co-op. You can choose your place and city to play in; including making your own set list. The camera angles are improved, and crowd reactions are much more interactive. You can see your own fans doing stage dives. If you want a challenge, than get guitar hero. If you want something fun at a party; than get this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rock Band

posted by lmbill1 (TULSA, OK) Aug 13, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game didn't work. I had to send it back unplayed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great but...

posted by webbypete (SAN GABRIEL, CA) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is great if yoy havent upgraded to a ps3 or xbox 360 yet but you are blocked off from downloads(eg. songs, packs, ect.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ok i guess

posted by bozman (SHREVEPORT, LA) Dec 24, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I has mixed emotions when I got my copy of rock band....at least the PS2 version. I was led to believe that you could create your own rocker. On PS2, this is false. And to top that off, it's a different band for every song. I really didn't get the feeling of being in a band myself. The song list is great but WAY too many obscure bands and no where near enough common titles, at least for me. So, it seems that I will go back to guitar hero till I get that PS3 for Xmas!!!! Peace Out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

stupid

posted by jeromie (SYLACAUGA, AL) Mar 26, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

DOESN'T WORK

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but Easy

posted by dantarheel (TARRYTOWN, NY) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I liked this game a lot because the graphics were just awesome on the PS2. I also had fun using mic and the drums because it's just like the real thing. The only real problems were that you could'nt buy new guitars and the songs were too easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rock Band Rocks

posted by Avryle (ALBANY, NY) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I enjoy this game emensely. It's one of the few games out there (especially for PS2) that is condusive to social interaction and physical activity when playing a game. It's fun to play alone or with a group of friends. Additionally, the play list is pretty darn cool & extensive!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by ShinKazuya (SUGAR HILL, GA) Jan 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Its a great game, don't waste your time on GH:World tour, this is soooooooo much better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Rock band game ever

posted by Kevin128 (Round Rock, TX) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

This is the most awesome rock band game in history!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

sweet.

posted by anime3443 (NORTH STREET, MI) Jan 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

thise game is so fun and its evan funer with the drums. i am a littal made that you cant make a rocker (character), and you cant do band world tour, but its still a fun game to just baning on the drums, jam on the vocals and shred the guitar.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW

posted by Marcus163 (BRONX, NY) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

This Game was FREAKIN AWESOME!!!!!! I love this game! I can not what till part 2 comes out. I can NEVER get tired of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This sucked

posted by jaxdog (SPARKS, NV) Sep 11, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

This game sucked i didn't know what to do and I needed the instruments to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

You must play it!

posted by avomatic (HOUSTON, TX) Sep 7, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

awesome game, the selection of music is great, from the 70's to the MM's. it can be a bit tedious to have to beat some songs you don't like that much but its totally worth it once you beat the game. This is the ultimate party game, specially if you have the drums and microphone and a co-ed party, think of karaoke and "dance, dance revolution" mixed in a format that guys will be willing to let gals see them perform, ultra recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

dont get it

posted by chubbers (VISTA, CA) Aug 7, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

this is not a good game. The graphics are horrible!! The set list is o.k. Nothing to brag about. They are to easy. If you want a good guitar game, then you would want Guitar Hero 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Awesome Game Bad Review For gamefly

posted by brk1226 (PELAHATCHIE, MS) Aug 7, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

this is a great game played it at my friends house i love all the tracks. But i could not play it because gamefly sent it to us really scratched up. i tried to clean it but it still wouldn't work. my PS2 works fine plays every other game i play like need for speed or tony hawk games and even the guitar hero games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ROCK BAND REVIEW

posted by rocker101 (ORANGE, CT) May 27, 2008

Member since May 2008

this game is possibly the worst game ever yet the best game for xbox 360 or the ps3 but please promise me that you will never in your lifetime buy, rent or even look at this game unless it is on a system besides the ps2. Because truly graphics make the most difference in a game. I thought it would be like the xbox version were you rome the world in the search to become the ultimate rock band, but no its set up in a way very similar to guitar hero's 1 2 and 3. the graphics like I said
before are the worst i've pr ob ly seen in a while and i mean like mario on n64 was better graphitized than this game. Don't get me wrong the game has a wonderful. idea and soundtrack but all in all for the ps2 its just not the write thing and i'm sorry to all you RACK BAND fans but they have basically copied the original idea of guitar hero. so please don't get this game it is not even close to good and the graphics are horrible but if you have an xbox 360 or ps2 go ahead and go for it because on those systems i give it a ten

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Comparison Between This And Guitar Hero 3: LOR

posted by Spider (KANSAS CITY, MO) May 24, 2008

Member since May 2006

Alright, we all know that Rock Band is playable with drums and a mic, so that gives it an edge, but their are still better things about Guitar Hero.

Rock Band is, basically, Guitar Hero with a mic and drums. Lately around the time I'm writing this I've been checking on how a Guitar Hero 4 is going, and apparently they're working on their own drums. Anyway, the disappointment of Rock Band is that there's no customization. Each song has it's venue and band, AND the characters during the song do the EXACT SAME THING EVERY TIME YOU PLAY! Stinks, huh? The graphics in this aren't as cartoonish as Guitar Hero 3, but Guitar Hero 2 has graphics about as good as this. But, the song list, though, is great, even though it has a few like " Sabotage " by the Beastie Boys, but it still has great songs, like " Detroit Rock City " Kiss, " Blitzkrieg Bop " by the Ramones, and " In Bloom " by Nirvana ( I just wish it was " Smells Like Teen Spirit " instead ). So, this game gets 9 out of 10.

You might be mad at me for not liking " Sabotage " but here's why: IT AIN'T ROCK N' ROLL. It's called ROCK BAND, it needs ROCK N' ROLL, not RAP.

Guitar Hero 3: Legends of Rock is real great. It's not really better than Rock Band's song list, it still has that occasional RAP, but then it has songs like " Welcome to the Jungle " by Guns N' Roses and " Rock You Like a Hurricane" by the Scorpions. The thing that makes this better is the customization. This got 8 put of 10, but it got that because there are better Guitar Hero games, but I still pick this over Rock Band.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rockband for PS2

posted by JoMama (BATTLE GROUND, WA) May 7, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

I love this game!!! I have read that many of you are having problems with it playing on some of the fat PS2's. Mine played fine on my slim version but would not play on my grandsons slim version PS2. I fixed this problem by going into the browser menu (use the triangle). Choose console (use the triangle again) It will bring up the diagnosis screen. Change it to "on" by hitting X then move curser to on and hit x again. When you have it set, hit your O twice to go back to the beginning. Your system should begin the diagnosis and correct the problem allowing the game to play. I had to do this twice before it worked. I use my two Guitar Hero Guitars and Karoke mic to play. The whole family can play together. If you have kids that are still learning, they can play until they are "booed" out of the game and you can save them by using your super power. I can't wait for the next version to come out. It has mad Rock Stars out of the whole family. Note: (Rockband guitars will not play on Guitar Hero, but Guitar Hero guitars will play on both games. Also, Singstar mics will not work, you need to use a std. USB mic)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sweet game

posted by redwolf21 (MADISON, WI) May 2, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

This here is a sweet game and a sweet mix of songs to go along with it. If you have a chance to rent this, it is highly advised to do so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Code1990 (LIMA, OH) Apr 12, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I played this at a friends house and liked it alot.
Didn't run into any problems and the drums are amazing so this game is worth buying!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

As A Musician...

posted by eatdrums (SANTA CLARITA, CA) Apr 4, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

As a working Drummer, I absolutely love this game. Guitar Hero is a great game, but this is one of the most addictive games created.
The guitar play is a little more intuitive than even Hero, but the drumming is such a blast, it's just plain funny...in a really good way. I really thought the drumming would be a waste of time, especially if you really played, but they really nailed it in this game, without making it too difficult for my son to play as well.
This game is just ridiculously fun whether you have ever picked up a real instrument or not. It's the ultimate "Rock n Roll Fantasy."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse