Rent Rock Band for PS3
view large frontback

Rock Band

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS2, Xbox 360
GF Rating
8.1

1241 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Karaoke....a thing of the past???!!!

posted by RobinSage (KILLEEN, TX) Nov 26, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

16 out of 16 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After 10 straight hours of Rock Band I was thinking that this game marks the end of Karaoke. If we could download any song, this game will rule every Karaoke Bar in the country. Okay seriously though, Rock Band nails this new genre of game. The only game you can compare this to is obviously the GH series. And having played every game in that series I can tell you that Rock Band is better in almost every way.

First Rock Band hits its mark on letting you play up to 4 different instruments at once, bass guitar, vocals (or taborine when appropriate in the song), rhythm guitar, and the drums. I honestly like the new guitar style better than in other games, or for other consoles. It was easier for me to play. However the drums can be tricky, as some drum sets have been known to ship with one of the drum pads being disfunctional (it was the red one on our set). This problem is being addressed, but if you don't slam on them, and you hit the pads lightly with the sticks you shouldn't have any trouble.

Aside from that the vocals follow very smoothly, much better than I expected them to. As a vocalist in a band myself, I was a bit skeptical, however you really do have to sing. As long as you keep the pitch right, and hit the lyrics on the right time you shouldn't have much trouble.

All in all Rock Band is a blast to play. If you have friends, encourage them to come over. The more the merrier with this one. And although I would say that the graphics aren't as up to speed as say...GHIII, the interface and the overall fun is much better. There's nothing like making your own band with your friends and going to gigs, just waiting to see which song you unlock. By the way, the last song is over 3000 notes...good luck, and make sure you stretch first.

I gave Rock Band a perfect score because it is so far the best game in its genre. Don't miss it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rock out with your...

posted by OnStageOne (SILVER SPRING, MD) Jan 17, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

yada yada yada.

Like many GH fans I couldn't wait to get ahold of this game. After looking like one of those idiots who plays a game in the store because you only wish you could get it or you actually do own it and you just like taunting other people with your game playing prowess. Well, after a couple weeks of game play I am ready to ramble about it.

Honestly there isn't really anything bad to say about this game. The graphics are slick, the interface is easy regardless of which controller you're using and the music library or "set lists" is quite refreshing. I'm a fan of hearing and learning new music from indie bands...but c'mon, it's so much more fun jamming to a tune you actually know and may have actually played in a legit cover band. Which that last statement leads me to my only complaint...the drums. I'm a drummer.

Now, I know that unless they give out a full blown synth pad kit and scroll a note track that takes up half the screen there is no way to fully recreate playing the true drum track on 4 pads and a kick pedal. That being said I think the interpretation of the drum tracks could have been a bit truer to irl. Such as with simple kick notes on a down beat. When clearly hearing the drum track of a song such as Dani California which is in 2/2, you hear the kick playing in 2 as "ba ba ..." or count wise "one and ..." with the snare on 2. Yet, following the track on the screen just gives you the kick say on the one...OR will skip measures at a time just for changing it up. From the game play perspective I understand why they do this because obviously not everyone playing this game let alone the drums when they do play has actually ever played drums irl. So, myself (and I'm sure others) who have played drums irl and maybe many of the songs that are in this game find themselves frustrated when drifting off into the "I know this song, I've played it" and we fail miserably. LOL

Anyway, thats my only peeve...small that it may be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rock Band is a HOOT!

posted by BareFeats (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 20, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm 63 years old and my youngest grandson is 5. One of our favorite things to do is to play video games together. I ordered the Special Edition of Rock Band with the wireless Stratocaster guitar, drum set, and microphone.

The guitar is much nicer than any other guitars we tried including those released for Guitar Hero II and III. The drum set is great fun. My grandson plays two drums and I play the other two and the foot pedal. (We need another set of sticks.)

The software is well designed. It's an improvement over Guitar Hero III. Very slick graphics. Sounds great when we connected our PS3 to the Bose 3-2-1 system and select Dolby option.

The only thing I would change is make the singing mike a headset so you can sing and play at the same time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rock On!!

posted by Leger13 (DALLAS, GA) Dec 17, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I just got this game yesterday and it is really fun! I am a big fan of Guitar Hero III and this game has exceeded my expectations. I haven't tried the singing part yet but the drums are REALLY fun and seem very realistic. The guitar is okay. I like the strumer button on the Guitar Hero game better but it's still a great guitar and has features that the Guitar Hero guitar dosent. I love the solo buttons and the sound effects switch. The game play is super easy and the different venues in the different countries is great. The graphics also beat out Guitar Hero. You can make your own band mate and when you are playing a song the characters look more realistic. MTV Games did an excellent job in my opinion. VERY worth the $$$!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't Rent this game, BUY it!

posted by Edwin20er (MORGANTOWN, WV) Dec 16, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, so you like Guitar Hero, only reason to check out this game on Gamefly in all likelyhood. The problems with Guitar Hero, especially to musicians was the manufactured difficulty, "How can playing those notes make that sound?" was a question I heard a great deal from guitarists especially. Rock Band accurately transfers a guitar track much better than Guitar Hero ever did, and that's before you even take the other instruments into consideration.
(See the end of this review for info concerning the compatibility of GH3's controller)

The drums are the hardest instrument to play. They seem unresponsive, but they will pick up every note played as long as you remove the drumstick from the drum and let it bounce back into a natural state.

The vocals run along the same lines as the Singstar games, and can be tricky, especially if you don't know the songs. But then again, why are you trying to sing a song you don't know and expect to perform it well :)?

Ok, so the Guitar and Vocals are better than anything we've seen from the music game industry and the drums are completely new to rythym games at home. That being said the track list is simply stunning, with the original artists in most cases, covering hits from the 60s to today's greatest. Now there are a few choices I'd have made differently (The Electric Version comes to mind immediately) but as far as the track list on the game itself goes, I can't think of many better, with new songs being released on both XBox Live and the Playstation Store this will be an investment that will make your home the party spot of choice for yourself and your "bandmates" that just gets more fun as you and your band get better at playing specific instruments, or just playing musical musical instruments :P.

GH3's controller was intended to be patched into Rock Band's software for the PS3, but Activision threatened to sue if the patch was released.
More info can be found online as well as an online petition to Activision.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing fun for everyone!

posted by VaidTalon (HARVEST, AL) Dec 11, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm loving this game, it's equal to Guitar Hero for playing solo (though with more variations of gameplay), but it really shines when you have a group to play with! They really nailed it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rock Band

posted by Bobby1970 (TOLEDO, OH) Oct 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this for my family and they really enjoyed the music and kept telling me the graphics are great. We have Rock Band 2 and they wanted the first Rock Band so we can save all the Rock Band song to the hard drive sense we bought the Rock Band key from the Playstation Network.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game

posted by videogame1 (NEW MARKET, MD) Jan 18, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Rockband is fun. you can create your own characters, create your own guitar, pick difficulty and city. the song list is good. It's more metal So if your a metal head this game is great. I don't like the guitar controller though i think it's annoying. I think if you want a good music game go with guitar hero.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Why all the bad reviews? This game does its job!

posted by Danoramma (PEABODY, MA) Feb 8, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, so I've read alot of the reviews and I would like to clarify 2 things.

1) The only reason I got this is because I owe Rock Band 2 and wanted all the songs from Rock Band 1 too. So I absolutely recommend going to the large electronics retailer than just went bankrupt (C.C. - liquidation sale), buying Rock Band 2 for $48 or less... and then getting this from GameFly and paying $5 to get another 60 songs or so. It's just a great deal and I'm surprised they actually let people do this. Anyways, for this purpose alone, this game gets a 10. I don't really love the song list, but there are definitely enough good songs to justify $5.

2) Even if you don't have Rock Band 2 or plan on getting Rock Band 2, both games (RB1 and RB2) can be played on the PS3 with the Guitar Hero: World Tour guitar. So, for all those people saying it's a complete waste of a rental because they don't ship the guitars too, all your whining isn't entirely true. Yes, it may not work with the GH3 guitar, but if you either have RB2 or the GH:WT guitar, this rental is definitely worthwhile.

(Note: I didn't actually test them out, but I assume the GH:WT drums and mic would work with RB1 too)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wonderful way to kill time

posted by Chad5773 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Dec 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game!!! The constant add-ons are great. The game is great just to kill time and to entertain friends/family.

At first I was overwhelmed with the medium/hard modes, however the very addicting game soon seemed like second nature when playing.

The song list caters to every music lover, there are several great classics as well as many newer titles available to play.

The guitar was my favorite instrument, the drums are fun but does not keep my interest. The microphone I didn't even attempt.

The online game play is also great if a friend can play along with you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Alternative to Guitar Hero

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Nov 24, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First let me start off by saying that if you don't have this game, you must get it. I love getting my friends and family together and forming a band. It is really realistic, how you form your band you start at clubs, but work your way up until you are at the biggest place you've ever seen, with your name in the background. Me and my brother started a band and named it High Voltage, and we got to this place, where there was a huge stadium with your name in the back with electricity striking it. That is what I call realism. There are, sadly, a few cons to this game that keep it from being perfect.

Pros: Great graphics and realism, character creation is awesome and so is the selection of things you can buy, playing with friends and family is the best, and even single-player is good.

Cons: On band world tour, once you get too many stars on one difficulty, you have to switch to a harder difficulty, I was on world tour with my brother, we were both on medium, but now we have to play on hard, which neither of us can do, thus not allowing us to finish world tour, and some times the instruments don't hit notes that you should've hit, and the guitar that the game comes with just sucks, I recommend buying another guitar.
This an awesome game and I recommend it to anybody who ever liked Guitar Hero.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game!!

posted by funsized (NEW YORK, NY) Oct 11, 2008

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a must buy if you have the money to buy the special edition bundle. Although the instruments are plastic, they are pretty well made, except for the bass pedal, and make this game extremely fun. Especially when friends come over, it's a blast. Before this game, I used to listen to a lot of hip hop and rap, but it opened my eyes to rock and metal which are also great genres of music. If you can afford DLC, (downloadable content), i strongly suggest it because it will affect your gameplay certainly a lot. So get read to rock and roll

P.S: I suggest getting Rockband 2 instead since it's almost coming out. That game is going to be great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun for the whole family!

posted by ZooKeeper (LA CROSSE, KS) Sep 20, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My whole family loves this game. From my 7 year old daughter to my 35 year old husband we all enjoy this game. We play this game more then any of our other games, and every one has a blast! The rock video type graphics are fun, customizing your own band and posting them on line is also great. Most of the songs are great and if you do not like the ones that came with the game just go on line and purchase some tracks you like better! If I could rate a game above a 10 I would.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rockband

posted by coltjones (BISMARCK, MO) Aug 18, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Rockband is ok, but it's not near as good as Guitar Hero. The controller is hard to get used to when your used to the Guitar Hero controller. Your timing also has to be right on the dot, which makes the solos a pain sometimes. It also cool that you can download songs which takes the game from a 7 to an 8 in my book. All in all its a great game, but not near as good as its predecessor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent!

posted by Daedleus (FARIBAULT, MN) Jul 31, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sure, it started with Guitar Hero and continued with that games various incarnations. But Rock Bands introduction of a whole band set truly carries music games forward in strides.

The game really does deliver, with an excellent song choice, wonderful availability of downloadable content, and replay-ability which is spurred on by the ability to practice and play four different instruments, very little goes wrong here.

The whole packages hardware set of drums, microphone, etc, is relatively durable with only the guitar lacking in that arena. The only really negative to Rock Band is having to continuously up the difficulty the deeper one gets in the game to fully expose the various challenges. That and the matter that one MUST be in a multiplayer setting to really enjoy the game.

Though I'll admit to my families aural displeasure I had alot of fun sitting down with a guitar on my lap and the microphone on a mic stand (not included) playing and singing at the same time.

I truly can't think of any honest negatives. Beyond the pair of minor issues noted above this really is an awesome implementation to an awesome idea. Or at least it was for me, a fan of music games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Doesn't work with the PS3 Guitar Hero 3 Controller

posted by Retsopmi (VANCOUVER, WA) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As the title says. This doesn't work with the PS3 Guitar hero 3 controller. It does for the xbox360 and PS2 but Activision decided to be butt heads and not let it work on the PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The online play is fantastic!

posted by verEYEzon (NASHVILLE, TN) Jul 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Other than I wasn't really impressed w/ the song list....the ability to get online and download so much more and play live with others from around the world make this game numbero uno, along w/ the other GH series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Buy, don't Rent

posted by Tickelbur (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't know why you're looking at Rock Band on GameFly, nor do I know exactly what you're hoping to get from it because they aren't going to send you the peripherals you need to play if you decide to rent from them, but you definitely need to get a copy of this game somehow. Even if you have to steal it (NOTE: Tickelbur does not condone stealing.)

While the price seems lofty, Rock Band is a definite purchase for anyone who was even slightly entertained by the first two Guitar Hero installments. Lesser educated gamers may think Rock Band steals its idea from the Guitar Hero series, but those who have done their research will realize that the two are actually originated by the same developer: Harmonix. The formerly Activision owned company severed its ties after the second Guitar Hero game to join EA and create this incredible advancement to the rhythm genre.

Feel the power of a true rocker as you wield your drumsticks, microphone, or classic plastic guitar and rock out to some great songs from the 70's through today. And with new downloadable content available on a weekly basis, you're bound to find songs you love to play.

There are two drawbacks to this game: the first is it is a sink hole in your wallet. It's a big price to pay for a game to begin with, and with downloaded songs clocking in at $2 a pop, the price keeps going up. The second is the controllers. To put it nicely, they suck. If you haven't bought this game yet, do yourself a favor and wait for MadCatz's licenesed third party peripherals to hit stores this winter, then buy the game without controllers and pick up the aforementioned MadCatz versions. Otherwise, you're in for a lot of sitting around waiting for EA to ship you more faulty equipment to replace the junk that broke on you after a month or less of gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rock Band

posted by austinjb (CARLSBAD, CA) Jun 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

PROS: Rock Band is one of the best ideas for a game. If all the instruments are being played you really feel like you are in a band. It's got really good songs that are fun to play.

CONS: The guitar isn't as Guitar Hero 3's. The strummer doesn't work that good and can't be clicked that fast making it hard to play fast notes. The fret buttons aren't that responsive (but that's probably just mine). The drums are loud. The foot thumper thing is tyring and makes sitting on a chair uncomfortable

OVERALL: Good. They could have made the instruments better. They are making Guitar Hero 4. It is going to be a full band game and will probably be a better game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ps2 version???what happened???

posted by maddybrook (ANDERSON, SC) Apr 19, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i own the ps2 version with all the equip. and was very disappointed by the fact that there was NO DLC!!! thats why i wanted this game, i just didn't have a ps3 at the time...and i was told by my local video game store that the ps2 equip. would not work with the ps3...imagine how heart broken i was thinking i was gonna have to shell out nearly 200$ again to really enjoy this game...so i rented the ps3 version from gamestop and they were wrong, while i didn't keep it long enough to really enjoy what it had to offer, i am now gonna trade in the ps2 version and buy the ps3 version...and by the way, the equip works perfectly with the ps3 if anyone is wondering...i give all guitar hero games, and rock band a perfect 10 because i am a musician, and i just think that the whole concept of it all is awesome...i would recommend them all to any and everyone!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not really a review but a story.

posted by ConeHead (LOGAN, UT) Apr 16, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well, I got mad because I was exited to play a game I wanted to play for months because I THOUHT that it was compatible with G.H.3 guitar remote,to my disappointment, it wasn't. So 3 minutes after I got it, I sent it back. I'm not giving it a bad rating because I played it at my friends house and was entertained.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

rockband

posted by dracer11 (HEBRON, OH) Mar 27, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is a great game but if you like to play drums a lot i would recomend going to get a metal kick pedal becuz if the plastic hasnt allready broken it will soon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game even if you don't like music.

posted by Cooooled24 (KERNERSVILLE, NC) Mar 24, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Awesome game even if you don't like music.!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

High Expectations

posted by muffybunny (ANKENY, IA) Mar 20, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had really high expectations with this game because I'm such a fan of all of the Guitar Hero games. Well, guess again... THE GUITAR CONTROLLER SUCKKKKKKKKS!!! Worse yet, you can't just go buy a different guitar (yet anyway). Currently, no other guitar controllers work with Rock Band except the one that comes with it. So, not only does that limit you if you don't like the action on the guitar, but it also raises a bigger issue. If you and your friends/family want to do full band mode with more than one guitar, you have to go buy another entire setup. This game's only saving grace is that there are some good songs, a ton of add-on songs available in the PS Store, and the drumming is a blast! If you're in it for the strumming though, stick with GH games until there's a better controller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

If you want to waste $ rock band is the game for u

posted by regguy43 (BARRINGTON, RI) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Awful. So diapointing. The graphics bite. The equitment like the drums, guitar, microphone bites..Bottom line: Awful

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse