Rent Rock Band for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Rock Band

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS3, PS2
GF Rating
8.4

4656 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome, but renters beware

posted by monlienNH3 (AUGUSTA, GA) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Jul 2003

57 out of 63 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

First the main reason for this review:

This game apparently ACTUALLY requires the use of the guitar, drum, and mic peripheral. Unlike Guitar Hero, you cannot play with the standard controller. Head the warning, do not rent it unless you have an Xplorer or Les Paul around.

But since I'm here, if you do have the instruments (and if you do, you probably won't be reading a Gamefly review), this game is freaking awesome! You can play single player career on drums, guitar, and mic. The single player career is slightly more bare bones than Guitar Hero, but it's still a lot of fun. The guitar parts seem easy to those who have mastered GH2 and GH3, but it will still pose a challenge to those who aren't masters of the series. However, the drums and vocals will be a true challenge to anyone who isn't a seasoned drummer or vocalist.

The heart of the game is in the Band World Tour mode - which unfortunately REQUIRES 2 or more local players, but if you've got a partner or you're willing to do double duty (guitar/vox or drum/vox), prepare to be addicted. It's a huge upgrade from the way we've been playing the Guitar Hero series. Instead of making your way down a list of songs, you play shows at small clubs and work your way up by gaining fans and money. You can create your own setlist (using the songs on the disc or with DLC), play random setlist, or play single songs. The way it's set up will definitely add to the life of the game - not that I ever got sick of GH.

All this money you make from single player and Band World Tour can be used to purchase clothing, tattoos, accessories, and instruments for your custom rocker. The initial customization doesn't seem that great, but once you start browsing through the huge selection of clothing, you'll end up with a truly unique rock legend. The only possible downside to the character system is each character is locked to one and only one instrument.

There's no reason for the hate. If you like GH, you should like Rock Band.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This....Game....Is....FRE- AKING AWESOME!

posted by ShOoTeR129 (GREENSBURG, PA) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

23 out of 27 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

The title says it all, this is the best music game today. Look, i'm writing a review for the special edition. Just the game itself and the regular control is basically worthless. I'd give it a 4/10. Now, if you have a guitar from one of the previous Guitar Heros (any of the guitars will work as long as it's for the xbox360) you've got something. With a guitar you can play either Bass guitar or regular guitar. Rock Band with a guitar is a solid 8/10. I have to highly recommend you get the full Rock Band set. It comes with a microphone, guitar, drum set, Rock Band game, USB HUB with four slots to plug all these instruments in, and headset adapters for people who have wired headsets. The microphone is the most realistic. You have to get the tone of the words right. It's really fun. Once I saw the guitar, I was blown away by how realistic it was. I myself have a black Fender Stratocaster with a white pick guard, and the game's guitar is the exact same thing except without the strings and the pickups. Playing guitar is different than Guitar Hero. The guitar has 5 buttons on the top part of the neck, and 5 more smaller buttons closer to the neck that are for solos. Another change in the guitar is that when you strum the guitar, you don't hear that clicking sound like that of Guitar Hero. You can barely hear the guitar when you strum it in Rock Band. The drums are great. They require about 5 minutes of assembly, but it isn't that bad. I actually think this game is better than Halo 3. I don't care what anyone says, every one with a PS3 or Xbox 360 should have this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

More Acessable And More Fun Than Guitar Hero

posted by SILENTEVIL (MERCED, CA) Jan 19, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

For the record, this review only covers the guitar portion of the game, simply because I don't have access, yet, to a drum set or microphone. It is impossible to not compare this game to Guitar Hero III. After all, they are both very similar (at least when comparing the guitar mechanics of the two). Rock Band is a little easier, and will therefore appeal to more of an audience. I personally think that Guitar Hero III, while being an extremely fun and entertaining game, is more catered to the hardcore guitar players out there. In fact, I've found that I can play Rock Band for long periods of time without my hands hurting, where as while playing Guitar Hero III, after a couple of hours, my fingers are absolutely killing me.

Another aspect of Rock Band that I enjoy is all of the customization. Instead of having certain character to choose from, you completely customize your rocker. This isn't as robust a system as you'd find in Oblivion, but it does allow for quite a bit of tweaking. For example, you and pick different hair styles, piercing, and even tat your character up however you see fit. Who doesn't like having you own unique character to play with? And, as you progress further in the game, you can use the money you make to buy to clothes, guitars, hats, etc. for you character.

Although I think that graphics in this style of game are not all that important, I do think that this is a better looking game than Guitar Hero. Maybe it's just the visual style, but the graphics just seem to have a higher level of detail, and also have a cleaner, more polished look. Like a said, I'm not entirely sure of that matters to this type of game, but I do love games that look pretty and play well. Overall, I'd definitely say that Rock Band is a must play for anyone who loves music. After all, there is simply no better way to be able to pretend that you are a rock star your shelf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

"Fore, We have Rock!"

posted by Elpablo (OCEANSIDE, CA) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Lets get this out right away this game is entirely different from Guitar Hero, so please keep that in this review. This game was created from the makers of Guitar Hero, yet it has been taken to the next level. The Character customization gets you more attached to your character, the music is pure and classic, and the group play is like none other. The game takes the entire band feel; it’s an experience of a lifetime and Harmonx they truly have succeeded with what they were trying for. The game is amazing in simple words the drumming is hard and takes time to get used to but it leaves you wanting for more. The guitar is a bit like Guitar hero some say easy, and yes it is. Med is as if Easy on Guitar Hero. You need to hit the notes dead on in order to get the points. Yet it’s still amazing and the singing is strange but yet still really fun. The graphics are set and made for a bit more realistic look and they pull it off with your characters looks and band color and even logos. The sound is amazing and it’s like the real albums. Almost every song has a different feel to it. I can’t tell you how good this game really is until you try it, the reason some people might pass this up is b/s the price, but its so worth it. One the best holiday games this year (2007).
9.5/10.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good for the majority

posted by ZPdrummer (BATON ROUGE, LA) Nov 21, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This truly is a great game. For those fans of guitar hero looking to play more guitar, this might not be the game for you. For the others looking for a good social experience and wanting to play other instruments than the guitar, this is a must-buy. The game does seem to cater to the musicians in the higher difficulties. Being a drummer myself, the drumming on expert is pretty easy. For anyone who has almost no experience playing the drums... good luck! As I stated before, guitar hero lovers might not want this game, but for us that like the others parts of a band... buy this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best group game

posted by greenzen (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Jan 9, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

A lot of people have been comparing this game with other music/rhythm games to determine which one is best, and most detractors of this game seem to focus on how much more challenging Guitar Hero III is than this game. If GHIII is more difficult, I have no idea because since playing this game, the only game I play anymore is Rock Band. Since when is difficulty the only thing that mattered in a game? RB is the funnest game I have ever played. And there is one huge difference between RB and GH that makes them incomparable. RB is the music/rhythm game for people who actually have friends. There is nothing like getting together with a bunch of your buddies and playing a fun game, socializing, eating and drinking between sets, trading jibes, helping each other, and filling an integral role in a group. It also helps that the whole thing is backed up by a killer soundtrack that isn't pigeonholed into only heavy metal music. I would recommend purchasing this game though, over renting it. The best way to experience RB in to play with four people and all the instruments. You will also want to browse the downloadable content and probably won't want to pay for extra songs unless you've bought the game. Overall, the game sets itself apart from other games of the genre by combining them all into a single package where each part is important and fun to play. It isn't hard to understand the difference between GH and RB by just thinking about what the titles imply: A guitar hero is one person; a rock band is a group of people. Playing a music game with one guitar is certainly fun, but four people playing together is more than four times the fun of one person playing alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever

posted by moneyg (KENT, WA) Aug 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome but the sing is hard but drums and the guitar are so sweet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What you would expect

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Feb 5, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I recently just got Rock Band 2 which by the way is awesome, so i wanted the songs on this rock band too since you can transfer them over. Let me say that this game is a bit different than Rock Band 2 like the menu and tour mode but its still practically the same. For the this game was made its really quite good. Thats why i gave it a 9. Some things on Rock Band 2 are much better like the tour mode and online which is awesome. About what i said when you can transfer them over i mean basically how it sounds, you can pay 400 Microsoft points or something like that and you can play them in Rock Band 2. So you really need to rent this game because EA really did a nice job on it. And if you got enough in your wallet, try out Rock Band 2, AC/DC Rock Band, and the Rock Band Track Pack Volume 2. Theyre all really good. Also dont forget that EA has A LOT of really good downloadable songs, including albums, track packs, and single downloads. FYI AC/DC Rock Band is only available at Walmart, but after you buy it you can transfer them to your Rock Band 1 or 2. And trust me, its worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rental=good / Purchase at $160= think hard

posted by Slipstream (GOODYEAR, AZ) Jan 3, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Rock band is an alright game. After playing the Guitar hero series, i can't help but feel that it's better than rock band. RB doesn't have the solo excitment that GH does. The note layout is dull and boring. While GH has notes spread out differently and requires a lot of fret work, RB just makes you hit the same not many many time in a row. On Medium, the only real challenge is just hitting the same notes that come at you real fast. Imagin hitting say a green and red note consecutively really quickly about 15 times, then hiting maybe a blue and yellow then going back to that 15 count green and red. Thats pretty much what rock band is. The drums is the only real reason in my opinion to purchase this game. But even then, $160 is alot to pay for a drum game.

As for the singing. Well, on easy, you can do fine. On anything higher and you'd better know the song and dedicate a lot of time to getting your tone right or you'll fail quite quickly. You can plug your headset into your regular controller and sing while you play guitar, but like i said, if you don't remember the words by heart, it's gonna be tough...and unenjoyable.

Online, it's pretty much the same as GH 3 online minus the drums. Can't find to many people taking up the singing position for reasons above.

This game is probably good for a party game. Then again, it's still kinda boring playing the dull parts.

The only thing i REALLY like about RB is the character customization. You have so many shirts, pants, shoes, hair styles and accessories to modify them with that it's unlikly to find another with the exact same character. Now if only they could put that level of customization in GH.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rock Band

posted by zenubio (FARMINGTON, MN) Nov 25, 2007

Member since Aug 2003

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Greatest game I have ever played! My only complaint is song choice. There's so many songs where the vocals are hard because the solo is just crazy. Drums are easily the best part and surprisingly difficult. If you like guitar the best, then get Guitar Hero, because those songs are categored more for that. The songs here are group oriented but most have drum and guitar solos.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Guitar Hero who?

posted by IamtheStig (PORT RICHEY, FL) Dec 9, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Great game, fun, looks good, plays good, great DLC support so far, although a little pricey for my tastes. Top notch game.

That being said:

This game was touted as a "band simulation" of sorts. We were told we would be able to start a band and take it online, well you can and you can't. If you buy the whole shebang, and get three other people over to your house, you can make a band and take it online. You can't make a band with friends online and play against others online. That is why we have a friends list and subscribe to xbox live so we can play with friends online. The exclusion of this is ignorant, rumours have it though that it will be fixed sometime soon.

Overall a great game and a great experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rock On.

posted by Zman008 (AVELLA, PA) Feb 2, 2008

Member since May 2004

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Yes, yes, and yes. Rock Band is nothing but a yes. The guitar, Mic., and Drums are great. The songs on the game are really well chosen songs for the game as well. Now i like it on how u can buy stuff for your character but I dont like the limited info they want on your chracter. Also when they ask for your name it turns out being the name for the band. So my band name had to be Zack lol. Now the Multiplayer is so good i cant even describe it. Making the band making the band motto and sign, naming it, where you are from, ask the audience, and making set lists it is just great.

Double Positive:
-Multiplayer!!!

Positive:
-Songs
-Rock shop
-Interaction w/ band mates on Solo (going back to back with them and singing in the mic is really cool.
-Solo buttons on guitar
-Make solos for Drums

Negative:
-Throughout solo you dont keep the same bandmates
-Naming of band on solo
-The game is so good you just want there to be more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sssssssssssssssssssssssss- ssssswwwwwwwwwwweeeeeeeet

posted by jonthegrea (FOREST CITY, PA) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

4 out of 14 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

this game is a must buy u have to get this game this game is better that guitar hero u must get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not for Guitar Hero vets.

posted by zMDude (SOUTHFIELD, MI) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2003

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

With Harmonix splitting ways with R. Octane, they've decided to eschew the simplicity of a Guitar and embrance the full experience of playing in a rock band. Soloists beware; this is not the game you are looking for.

Harmonix proves that when it comes to general interface design, they are still the leaders while Neversoft is just a pretender. With the simple and clean interface, the added gameplay of the solo sections and additional 5 frets, the ability to create your own character, the ability to get add star power while you're using it and the band tour mode, Rock Band crushes Guitar Hero 3 and its pathetic guitar battles.

However, where it counts: the songs, Guitar Hero 3 wins out. To the expert Guitar Hero player, Rock Band's selection will be dull. Clearly the songs were picked to give everybody equal play, but this just results in most songs being uninteresting. Towards the end of the setlist, you will find a handfull of songs that are devoid of gaping dead spaces, repetitive notes and slow playing, but they will feel out of place against the rest of the lineup.

You can take the game online, but only in quick play modes. Band tour is locked off to online players, meaning if you want to get the most of the experience you have no choice but to have three available friends when you fire up the game.

If these games were racers, Guitar Hero 3 would be Gran Turismo, and Rock Band would be Mario Kart. There's nothing wrong with either game; they just target different audiences.

People who want involved and technical play should get Guitar Hero 3.

People who just want a (expensive) party game to drag out of the closet when the friends come over will be fine with Rock Band.

The score I give is based on myself, a Guitar Hero vet who rented this instead of taking the $170 dollar dive. For groups of friends who are together often, this is a ten. Everybody else? Not so much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

God awful!

posted by catinabox (SOSO, MS) Apr 3, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

The Harmonix team had the right idea about making Rock Band but, it seems that they didn't follow through with the songs. Comparing Rock Band to Guitar Hero is like comparing Paramore-Rock Band to Slipknot-Guitar Hero and Dragonforce-Guitar Hero, Slipknot and Dragonforce blows Paramore away in every respect. Sorry if the references bother some people but that's just the way I feel about Rock Band. I won't even recommend renting this because it sucks so much. The song selection is horrible even with 52 songs (or something like that) it still sucks! The only thing I liked about this game was that it came from Gamefly and it saved me 60$ from actually buying this game. THANK YOU GAMEFLY!! Try it and see for yourself that the songs suck, and I couldn't even find someone to play mic when I searched for a match online, that has to tell you something about how bad this game is. PLEASE DON'T RENT THIS!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rock Band is awful

posted by Homegrown (GALVESTON, IN) Jun 14, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

The songs are amazing, but the game itself lacks in every way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not for Gamefly.

posted by Armour (LEWISBURG, TN) Nov 25, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

First of all, I'd like to say this game is incredible. I've played every Guitar Hero but was never really interested in music based gaming until hearing about Rock Band a few months ago.

The idea in itself is genius, Much like the game. It has beautiful graphics and the gameplay is unparalleled. Sounds like a good game huh? You would be right but you forgot the part where you just rented it from Gamefly and you don't have any of the needed instruments. "That's fine, I'll just buy the instruments myself." Again great idea, except the instruments won't even be for sale from any stores until February '08.

I would recommend removing this game from your GameQ and buying the Special Edition(which is already being sold for around $170) as an early Christmas present.

As a game I would rate Rock Band 10/10 but for Gamefly it's 6/10 and that's only if you feel like getting drunk and singing Blitzkrieg Bop to your friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Make Sure you Read the note!

posted by XGURU1 (HARVEST, AL) Nov 26, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 28 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

I wasted a rental on this game because I did not read the note attached to this game. I loved playing Guitar hero 3 with the controller (even though having the guitar would be cool). I assumed that Rock Band would be the same. Wrong, you CANNOT play this game without buying the Microphone, Guitar or Drumset. Sorry guy's, I wont go out and buy all that stuff on top of your 60.00 game. Heck I could dang near buy a new 360 for what it would cost me. So you get a 1 for being stupid and not allowing the controller to work.

FYI, heres the note:

NOTE: Gameplay requires a drum, microphone, or guitar controller. Rock Band is compatible with most music game controllers. Game does not include drum, microphone, or guitar controller with rental or purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

hooorrriiibbllleee

posted by steveo5607 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 49 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

this is the worst game in video game history...guitar hero kills this peice of junk

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

came with no guitars

posted by matthew333 (WARRENTON, OR) Dec 29, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 24 gamers (4%) found this review helpful

it came with no guitars or drums cant play the game right how stupid of game fly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Nowhere near as good as GH.

posted by KNoley (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Apr 19, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

Pros: Song selection is pretty good.

Cons: Career gets very boring after a short while, gameplay very unforgiving where I have literally been banging on my guitar exactly in tempo yet still missing the notes (drums are the same way), no star power like in GH, singing is annoying and no matter what you do to calibrate there is always a delay which makes it impossible to enjoy playing.

This could be an ok rental to just play through some decent songs, but don't waste a penny buying this thing. Hopefully the newer versions of the franchise are better, but I won't be wasting my GameQ slots or money on them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rock band

posted by cody2ofmudd (VERONA, NJ) Sep 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This is the best rock band made.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Trash

posted by blindfurey (NEW YORK, NY) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

This game is trash compared to Guitar Hero! I had lot of people tell me that they like Rock Band better than GH so I decided to try it out. The game play is sooooo easy that its boring. thats why many people like Rock Band better, its not a challenge! On top of it being too easy, most of the songs aren't that exciting. They are mostly lame songs. GH rules!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Would have been perfect but...

posted by Skinny (THEODORE, AL) Sep 13, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

The new color scheme makes it harder to see precisely when to hit notes during the 'dreamscape' levels.

I'm no beginner to the drums on Rock Band, but for some reason I was having random notes just not register a hit. I've never had the problem on RB 1 & 2. And yes, I did calibrate my drum set.

Also, the Dreamscapes look great.... a little too great. They become very distracting and it ends up being a chore to focus on the highway (Which seems a bit shorter).

None of those gripes prevented me from 5 staring every song and challenge, but it was a bit irritating having my multiplier knocked down to 0/x2 just because it didn't register.

There's good fun to be had with this game, also the photos and videos you unlock are nice little trophies. But the game is SHORT. It's only around 40 - 45 songs.

So my advice to you is that if you have to play it now, just rent it. Otherwise wait until it drops in price. It's a great game, but not worth the $60 price tag. If you see this game for $30 then I say go for it, otherwise it's well over priced.

I'm a heavy Beatles fan, but at times I got tired of hearing them. Too much of a good thing can ruin you. So after I played this game for 2 hours, I ended up popping in RB2 just to get some variety.

Also, the songs aren't exportable which is a big disappointment for me. I would rather have them be playable in RB2 even though it doesn't have the harmony mechanic.

Unless you're coo coo for The Beatles, this game will get old quickly. I don't mean that as an insult to the group, I grew up listening to them. Maybe it's simply because the game lacked a lot of my favorite tracks like "Maxwell's Silver Hammer" or "Strawberry Fields" It's just something about this game makes it go stale after your initial playthrough, unless you're coo coo for achievements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!!!!!!!

posted by Jared26 (WEST COVINA, CA) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

All of those other haters on rock band are just mad cause they cant play any kind of instrument or even sing. this is the best game ever, dont listen to them

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse