Rent Rock Band 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Rock Band 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS3, Wii
GF Rating
8.0

1393 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rock Band 3

posted by RawKing (BROOMFIELD, CO) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

21 out of 23 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

This game is truly a step above the previous Rock Band titles. While historically, most music game iterations are merely a new setlist and a few minor UI tweaks, Rock Band 3 feels like a whole new game.

With many new modes, including Pro Modes and Keyboards, as well as parts for the plastic instruments we've all come to love Rock Band 3 brings everything to the table. The Pro Guitar (at launch, only the "Mustang" guitar is available) is a real working guitar, and at the expert level you will be playing the song exactly as the artist played it. This concept carries over into Pro Bass, Keys, and Drums. Pro Drums are essentially the same as standard, except you play cymbals and toms as charted. Pro Keys is limited to right hand only, but plays exactly what the song plays.

Training mode is improved for drums, giving more guidance than just a bunch of beats and fills to practice. Training mode is also expanded to help keyboardists and pro instruments learn these new instruments.

Rock Band 3 also delivers a varied, yet challenging, setlist that is sure to please everyone. If none of the 83 on-disc songs tickle your fancy, you can delve into the over 2000 songs already available - ranging all the way from death metal to classic rock to pop.

The tour mode has been replaced by "Road Challenges" which let you play songs with a certain goal in mind (Accuracy, number of Star power activations, combo, etc.) that can help shake things up a little if you get bored of just playing songs.

Overall, Rock Band 3 is a great game that all music lovers can enjoy. That is, if you can afford the peripherals and downloaded songs. Rock Band is a major investment, but I have put in more time into these games than any other, and I'll surely be playing even more with all the new features Rock Band 3 delivers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Let There Be Rock!

posted by Anonymous19 (STREETSBORO, OH) Jan 24, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well here we are. The third installment to the Rock Band series. I have played Rock Band's 1 and 2 and now that i have given 3 a try, im not what you would call, "impressed." Like the other Rock Band games, they had good music and good band roles to assume, extensive character and band creator, and good graphics. I went into Rock Band assuming that it would be good just like Rock Band 2. But while i was impressed by the challenges, cool band progress and so on. I knew that this Rock Band would be just like others before it. The problem i have with Rock Band games (Except Green Day Rock Band) is that playing the songs on a different look that it dismantles my playing and causes me to get 4 stars on songs i wouldent normally get 4 stars on. This is also causes my solos to be as sloppy as your one fat, weird cousin at Thanksgiving dinner. At first i forgave these faults and tried to overcome them but the problem didnt seem to get fixed. I then turned to the games answer and tried calibrating but these efforts did little to combat the issue. I started my first song assuming to hear an awsome guitar riff with a rock tone but i was sadly mistaken like a nerd thinking he has a change of taking his braces off on his own. It seems that now Rock Band has caved and taken the same route as Guitar Hero and focused their song choices on more mainstream music which doesent make for a good expert mode experiance. As i progressed through the game i noticed more songs that i knew. But i wasent prepared for the hard guitar riffs and solos that were thrown at me. But with the playing problem i was having made the songs less enjoyable to master. Rock Band is a game series that gave Guitar Hero a run for its money. But with this new installment, i felt that the game lacked in what made the other Rock Band's a good game to have at a party when everyone is drunk and thinks they can sing like Getty Lee. They say that your own good as your last show. All in all, Rock Band 2 was better. 6/10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

3rd Times The Charm

posted by lljjbj07 (SHINGLETON, MI) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

What more could a person want in a music game? Rock Band 3 literity has it all
1. Thousands of songs
2. Awesome new game modes (most notable being pro mode)
3. Reamped Graphics

The only bad thing I could find (depending on how you look at it) were the game's setlist. There are (more than I expected) quite a few weak songs on the disc. I mean come on, Amy Winehouse? Though there are some sorry songs, most are decent and overall okay (if you don't like them, there's thousands of others to download). Which reminds me, all the songs you previously purchased work with RB3.

But the main thing everyone cares about in this game is the infamous "Pro Mode". Basically it allows the player to play some songs like an actual musician would. For example, on the drums, you can use up to 3 expansion cymbals to play, well, those actual notes in the game. Though it can be confusing (being that there's going to be so many different notes on screen branching off of 3 different colors), but you will get used to it after a while. And now for the first time ever, you can use a REAL guitar in a music game. Though that is impressive, if your willing to invest enough money to buy it, you might as well go a bit further and buy an actual guitar. Oh and did I mention the brand new keyboard? Yeah, they got that now too. Guitar Hero might as well pack it up, it's pretty much over for them.

But I digress, I highly recommend this game, it's a blast to play, from 2000+ songs to "Pro Mode", there's something here for everyone. Deffinitly with a rental, if not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow! will be hard to play other music games now

posted by Destroy (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2004

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

It's awesome. Playing with keytar is tight. Also, it's really taking all my concentration to play on easy or medium of Pro Keys. Really awesome. Brain expanding. Like when Beatles Rockband challenged me to sing while playing instruments..

Also, this has taken music games up another notch. Just like when Rockband 1 came out and noone else supported full bands with mic, guitar, bass and drums. Now we have the keytar and harmonies. AND PRO MODE. Take yourself to the next level.

Get a keytar or pro guitar and play closer to the real thing!

It'll be hard to get interested in Guitar Hero (2010) without these features.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rockband 3

posted by irratebass (MOORESVILLE, IN) Oct 28, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

One of my all time favorite games is Rockband 2 and reason is because it is sooo deep and it was the 1st game to include Bass!!!!

Now onto my review, Rockband 3 starts where Rockband 2 takes off, except is much deeper than is predecessor. In career mode you have to do Goals and these consist of not missing any notes in a measure or perfect solo or keeping as much overdrive in a song as you can.

Now the setlist: Def Leppard has FINALLY made it into a rhythm game!!!! Swingin' Utters, Huey Lewis to name a few, I won't ruin it for you, and these songs are fun. Yes they are more keyboard friendly since the new plastic "instrument" to clutter your home is a keyboard for $80!!!! Seriously?

There is also a Promode guitar you can buy for $150 and actually be able to play the songs on your acoustic if you have one, but I don't have that kind of $ to shell out yet, but is it supposed to be challenging and requires practice...so if anyone has used it comment...sorry.

Another feature I really liked, me and wife sat down and played last night and I was on my profile and she was on hers and we were both getting different achievements....this in my opinion was much needed, and really adds to the competitiveness between you and your friends or spouse heh.

All in all I will give Rockband 3 a 10 out of 10 or a 5 out of 5 if you want to go that route.

This game is WELL WORTH your $60

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Should be band hero 2

posted by jacksonran (BEDFORD, IN) May 3, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was half tempted to send this game back after beating the first 2 setlists. The songs were horrible. There were a few good ones.... but not many. I had to keep going to see what was coming up. Id say only 25% of the songs were great. It was like playing band hero again.
The tours and things were pretty neat it the sense of how they were set up. If you are thinking of buying either RB3 or GH: WoR.... Go with GH. Yes... it has a worse theme... but the songs are ALOT better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rock Band 3

posted by Dumasio (BROOKINGS, SD) Nov 23, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Overall, this is an excellent game. Def Leppard and Whitesnake are awesome! I really wish they would involve more Hairbands in Rockband, and get rid of all the 'junk' or 'filler' songs as I like to call them, there are lots on this setlist that REALLY suck! Downloadable content continues to be supported, which is awesome. Biggest thing I do NOT like is that the Stage Kit is NO LONGER SUPPORTED by this game, which kind of sucks as it is a lot of fun! If that would be added back, I'd rate it 10 of 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect in so many ways.

posted by HippieKid (EAST DUBLIN, GA) Nov 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Even though I don't have 90% of the instruments, I would have to say this game generated a great overall experience for me. The songs were creative. The songs were more challenging. Everything was great. They even threw in some stuff I didn't expect. Great game. Should buy if you ever have the chance.

Rock band > Guitar Hero

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

set list suck

posted by kimypooh (SPARTANBURG, SC) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i love rock band and rock band 2 was ok... the setlist on this one feels like the set list from band hero 2..i mean where are the rock songs?? the only good thing about this one is being able to rock out to QUEEN. so it is a good rental if u like band hero then u will love this. but if u are a fan of rock band and kinda like rock band 2 u will be upset like i am.. lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What happened?

posted by GameFire (BRONX, NY) Dec 24, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Rock band 3 was a game I had extremely high expectations for. The set list was nice and it also included a new feature called pro mode, which you can actually learn to play the instruments in real like. It was OK, but still pretty disappointing. There were various songs that would literally just freeze and take me to the main menu. It made me extremely frustrated. That itself takes away points. It would've also been better if they would add more songs to the store that aren't just hardcore rock or rock at all. I mean, I know it is called ROCK band, but it is OK to play something else like slow songs and add more artists. It was also very disappointing for those who bought it to play the keyboard. THERE WERE MANY SONGS WITH NO KEYBOARD NOTES. You would just have to sit there and stare at the beautiful graphics. This CAN get boring. Overall, I think this game deserves a 7/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If you like playing musical games, steer clear.

posted by kennnny1 (DANVILLE, CA) Nov 29, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

Absolutely horrid. By far the single worst music related game I have ever played. I tried, I really did. I've been playing since guitar hero 1 was released and I pride myself in being good at the games. I play on expert and I always play every song, and I have to say Rockband 3 was absolutely unplayable. Even on the easiest song in the game, playing nothing but green quarter notes the game would register missed notes. I tried calibrating, multiple times. And it's not just my guitar - every guitar hero game I have still works great and plays fine. It's just Rockband 3. So good riddance Rockband, you've lost a customer for good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Music Game ever made

posted by AlphaOmega22 (ALBANY, GA) Nov 6, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

when you couple rockband 3 with rockbands ever growing library of dlc's and throw in the new keyboard it all adds up to the greatest music game ever created period. it also makes for one heck of a party game, so call over some friends and get to jamming

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good and bad

posted by Mr_Grimm (RANDLETT, OK) Dec 21, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

This game had some really cool effects and graphics for one thing. The only reason i really had it though were becuase of my own downloads i already had and for the fun challenges in this game... Plus i wanted to a freakin plane.. But anyways besides all that too much of the songs on this game are way too pop and just total garbage. If i ever ever ever have to play whip it by devo again i will cut the earth in half with a chainsaw. I give this game an 8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dead beat repeat

posted by demonoid_dan (HONEA PATH, SC) Jun 29, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

The songs line up is ok on this game but is too repetitive right along with the previous game. Nobody wants to play the same song 20 times in the same level of the career. It's plain old boring.There are also issues with calibration to the point that you have to recalibrate after every little gig you perform. All in all, maybe the GH brand should step it up some more and knock this title down the hill again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A triumphant return

posted by GhenryPerez (CLIFTON, NJ) May 7, 2011

Member since May 2011

Harmonix really stayed out of the spotlight for some time, with the exception of the Beatles title. Personally, I felt a 3rd title was long overdue, although I understand the company waiting so long for this.

The concept and new features blew my mind. New Keyboard peripheral and Harmony Vocals first featured in Beatles RB? Yes please, these features did justice to songs like Bohemian Rhapsody.

Along with that, there was the brand new Pro Guitar peripheral, in which its intentions are to help people learn how to play a real guitar and give them a feel of how to play the charting of the song they chose to play on Pro Guitar. This is revolutionary, it is truly a good step forward to rub out the line between playing a rhythm video game and using a real instrument. Along with that, all songs that include Keyboard also have Pro charting.

Harmony vocals can be a huge hit with friends who want to sing songs together and songs that feature more than one unique pitch line/set of lyrics.

Soundtrack, the most important part of any rhythm game, is very varied and tasteful in both difficulty and enjoyment. You have your big hits, such as Freebird, I Love Rock & Roll, and Smoke on the Water. Then you have your songs that you've probably never heard of, such as Antibodies, Roundabout, and Llama. Of course, that is NEVER a bad thing. It's part of expanding one person's horizon and taste.

Although there a few flaws in the title. People felt there should have been a deeper career mode, which I agree. The animation of the characters' performances seem somewhat choppy and lackluster as well. Still, these can be overlooked over time, the core gameplay has improved almost all flaws the previous games contained with new features such as the song rewinding a few seconds back when you un-pause, and easily dropping in/out instruments and players.

All this together made quite the experience for the avid rhythm player I am. Although it had low sales, RB3 could redeem the rhythm game genre

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

rb3

posted by xpart123 (KANSAS CITY, MO) May 3, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

this game is alright not the best it should have been it was over hyped
as all games are now to get people sucked in to thinking its gonna be the next biggest thing when its the same game but newer things added.they should have called it rock band 2.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Game

posted by xRehversee (BRONX, NY) Feb 2, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

It's a good game, the only down-side for me was the fact that I have an HD TV and there's some-what of a delay, but all you have to do is calibrate it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Worst game if your not a pro

posted by Strained (FOOTHILL RANCH, CA) Jan 28, 2011

Member since May 2010

I still play on regular difficulty with my kids and this is by far the worse at matching the music. It really feels like they just randomly threw notes out with no thought behind them.
I have played pretty much all RB and GH game and this was the least fun of all of them.
I would also add like someone else mentioned the timing is horrible where I miss notes all the time no mater how much I calibrate.
I truly do not see how RB has such a huge following other than their song list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

where is the challenge in this game?

posted by Jeremy1 (GRIFFIN, GA) Jan 17, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

I have always liked guitar hero better than rockband because rockband has no challenge to there songs or for the career mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rock Band 3 shocks!

posted by mistgamer (TINLEY PARK, IL) Jan 2, 2011

Member since May 2009

I'm usually a person who doesn't think much of sequels, I was SHOCKED! This was a giant improvement of the Rock Band series! As a fan of the series, this game sticks to me like glue! After completing the endless setlist 3, I am still attached to the game! Even though the ingame rewards were bad, I had a blast doing it! A definite buy of music game lovers! My favorite game of the music game genre! I'm just sad that there's no icon changes after ESIII. Oh well! Amazing game in every aspect!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

As good as it gets

posted by Vektuz (IRVINE, CA) Dec 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

Just as the Guitar Hero franchise goes down in flames and mediocrity, the Rock Band crew seems to know just how to keep the genre alive.

Every change they've made seems to be a positive one - for example, the slight tweaks to the track background makes the visuals clearer - for example, the limiting of the overdrive effect to the sides of the track, to prevent it from getting in the way - for example, highlights over the track edges to indicate solos and other events to prevent it from distracting - and of course the usual Rock Band choice of using clear square shapes with distinct fills to indicate hammered-on notes... all of it designed to be fun and fast to read.

Combine this with the addition of a keyboard instrument, which basically means that all those awesome songs with crazy keyboard in it are now open for business...

Combine this with an incredible music store with literally thousands of songs of every conceivable type... combine this with new easy drop in / out modes for party play, easy options to calibrate perfectly, a story mode that's interesting but still sticks to the rockband theme, new visuals, and upcoming real instrument/pro modes, and it's the best music game you can currently get.

Unless you like beatles, in which case... get that one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More of the same

posted by IamtheStig (PORT RICHEY, FL) Nov 29, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

Great game overall. Looks great, Plays great, sounds great. The new songs are fun. The new "menu system was weird at first, but after figuring out what the devs were going for, it made much more sense than the old system.

I wish I could review the keyboard or the Pro mode, but I am not shelling out major cash to get the peripherals just yet. First adopters always get taken, so in 6 months or a year when the price of the new instruments are reasonable I'll rent it again and probably buy it.

GREAT rental....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Impress!

posted by jordyp08 (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 20, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

The Title tells it all
Not Impress with the song selections!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »