Rent Rock Band 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Rock Band 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, DS, Wii
GF Rating
7.8

611 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not a big fan of the new set up

posted by Cincinnati (AMELIA, OH) Nov 7, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off i have to say that the new instruments are a big improvement and really increase the hours you will play this game learning the new instruments. The thing that kind of turned me off from this game as i started to play it was the way they changed touring, the shop, and the ways of obtaining fans. You start with 2 tours that are much longer then your normal set list on rock band 2 but must unlock fans to get your next two tours. It can be a bit challenging at parts trying to get fans when you finish your tours and all you have left to do is obtain a lot of fans. As for the shop you do not purchase items any more instead you just unlock an item every time you do the required goal for the item. The shop on the other hand now has a lot more stores and variety of clothing but you may not be able to access many of the clothes you like until you do some very difficult goals. The thing that really made this game worth playing to me though is the great set list of songs they included in this game. The graphics were also great which was a big plus. They also added a few features that really make the game a bit better such as, when you pause it rewinds a bit so you can hit the notes easier after pausing and keep those combos. The addition of spades was also a good idea to go with stars increasing the difficulty and play time you will put into this game if you are a perfectionist. In the end this game had its ups and downs to me because of how much i liked rock band 2 and the game was changed drastically in set up. I think it is a solid game though and deserves at least an 8 but a 9 if playing with the new pro guitar and keyboard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rock Band 3

posted by Gabe757 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Nov 1, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Ive been looking forward to this for a long time so i expected alot possibly to much. I like how rock band 1 and 2 career were set up. and i like the money system. another thing is i liked duels on rock band maybe i cant find it but me and my friend wanted to play pro drums aginst each other but couldnt find anything for it. and im upset thati actually need to go out and buy the pro guitar for some trophies. im a trophy hunter and wanted to plat this game but now i cant. Also i cant use double bass because the songs arnt charted for that
rock Band 3 is fun but not what i expected if your new to rock band then it will be great but if you loved rock band 1 and 2 then this might let ya down some.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game.

posted by AlienXXI (BRADENTON, FL) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is real fun for the family or for your own personal pleasure. The graphics are wonderful and the songs are great. The Pro-Modes is a good way to start learning how to play your favorite instrument. I recommend this to anyone who likes playing music games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Awesome graphics? I don't think so...

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Oct 26, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 19 gamers (16%) found this review helpful

Don't call me mean or picky, but i find the graphics on ALL the RockBand games to be a bit... what's the word? Oh yes, ANNOYING! I'm not saying Guitar Hero is any better, but since i'm here and i waited a week for this game to arrive in my mail, i'll write a review for you guys...

Gameplay: Not much to say really! Sticking to the old basics is fine by me, and adding Pro Mode really helps me soothe my Hardcore Gamer Itch (don't ask!)

Sound/Graphics: The Sound has improved by a lot since RB2, so that makes me happy... for now... The Graphics on the other hand, didn't please me much, as i absolutely HATE the Graphics for all RockBand games with a burning passion. But that might just be me, so continue reading this review.

Song/Music: The Songs are much better this time around; not only does RB3 include some good classics from previous games, but it brings us all up to speed with the new hip music that you can hear on your radio today (yes, i admit it, i listen to old music...).

Storyline: Storyline? What else did you want me to call it? You start out as a little band on the streets, barely getting any audience at all, and soon enough, within 2 or so hours, you rise up to be the best band that America has ever seen! If you ask me, it seemed a bit too easy (i guess that's why i had to switch to Pro Mode halfway through the game...)

Conclusion: All in all, RB3 rises above most of these stupid new music videogames, and gives me something to do after a long day (i found RB3 very calming after having fourteen stitches stuffed into the side of my nose!) So, rent it, but don't buy it, unless you found it a game you can play over and over and over again... :foodndrink:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rock Band 3

posted by adsmahn (LAKE WORTH, FL) May 7, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Although it is another music game, i feel that this sequal to the franchise is a good addition. it allows the player to go on line and to play with other fans of the game. my experiance haowever with music style video games are still limited to the guitar hero series, but i thought that i would give rock band a shot and i was not disapointed. there is a wonderful array of different music genras in game as well as the songs that you can down load for a price that is. i am not saying that you should not give it a try because you may surprise yourself with how good you are. also i recommend this and any music associated game to the music lover. i give this game a rating of 9, because of its music quality, and the fun that the individual gamer (and non-gamer) has with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Playlist

posted by delosreyes (HEBRON, KY) Jan 29, 2012

Member since May 2011

Love all the songs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Can't Top RB2

posted by Darkfang114 (JONESBORO, AR) Aug 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I'm a really big fan of music games like Rock Band. I get almost every one that comes out. I rented this and the first thing I looked for was the career section to get started. I looked for probably 20 minutes trying to figure out where to start the first gig, but low and behold the title was misleading, and the actual career is in quickplay. Waste of time there.. but anyway! The song list has some awesome songs on it that I could play for days! And then it has some on it that makes me want to vomit. A handful of them are horrendous songs that nobody wants to play let alone listen to it for 4 minutes. Why do they put songs from bands on here that no one has heard of? YOU WILL NOT get the platinum for this game unless you borrow pro instruments from a friend , or if by chance you happen to have them already.. which I don't know why you would if you are renting this.. 30% of the trophies are pro instrument related. The Endless Setlist one is also a pain to get surprisingly. You can pause it now but there are things you can do to glitch it and you not get the trophy. I played 5 hours and realized I screwed it up after reading a FAQ. Then I tried again for another hour and accidentally did it again. It was fun for awhile but it seemed like a chore getting through the set. Decent game, not great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

but not all bad

posted by BobCheeks (DECATUR, IL) Jul 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Kinda po'd that they tease you with songs on the tracklist that you can't play unless you buy them online. Was a great game up until I realized that. Steer me back to the guitar hero games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

RB3 BLOWS

posted by bluntman17 (PAHOA, HI) Jun 30, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

RB3 really sucks, its just like any other RB except that the MUSIC IS HORRIBLE. They have NO GOOD MUSIC! Dio, Ozzy, and Rammstein is all they have worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

RockBand 2 was better

posted by captainmack (HAMPTON, GA) Mar 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

While I really enjoyed the addition of Pro mode, the rest of the game seemed a step backwards. The concept of "achieving Goals" in tour mode was often confusing and detracted from the main mission of rockin out. The animations were the same for every song and during navigating (cut scenes). The much new music didnt appeal to me personally. Perhaps the biggest let down is that I cant import all the songs I've collected in RB2. I would love to play RB2 content in pro mode. Oh well, guess I'll just stick with RB2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

rock band 3

posted by romeo5422 (LOVELAND, OH) Jan 27, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

this game sucks the setup sucks and there are no good songs on it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Rock Band To date!!!

posted by RebelTaz (SOUTH BEND, IN) Nov 19, 2010

Member since May 2009

The Song List in game is the best to date and single player mode seems to be better than playing than with friends.Can't go wrong either way the game rock all the way around so get your rock star on folks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

RockBand at its Finest

posted by SpeCtR (CHARLOTTE, NC) Nov 3, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

I must say.. this has everything the old games were lacking and more. They def. made a lot of major improvements this time around everywhere from the PRO mode to switching the difficulty while your playing the song... joing in and out of a band in the middle of the song.. as far as the career mode they integrated you picking it up and playing a song in quickplay to helping out your career... you dont have to spend countless hrs on setlists just to get your career and points up. of course having a new instrument is always a plus.. and adding the harmonies from the beatles RB... i actually think the tracklist couldve had more to it..but thats just me, personal opinion.. the sound of the drums(what i play) is much better and customizes depending on what type of song your playing..all in all.. this is a must have if you are any kind of rockband groupie!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »