Rent Rock Band 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Rock Band 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PS3, Wii
GF Rating
8.4

5394 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Buy It

posted by SRVfan1 (O FALLON, IL) Sep 24, 2008

Member since Apr 2003

22 out of 22 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the best party game in my opinion. I loved Rock Band 1 and now they have even made it better. The new instruments are a huge improvement from the 1st bundle everything about them is better. Almost all the songs from RB1 are able to be played on RB2, no it is not a free upgrade but it only cost like 5 bucks and it is well worth it. They release songs every week for download and the list of songs from RB1 & RB2 with the downloadable ones makes for endless fun and hrs of entertainment.
As for as changes go they have a lot more online stuff now like online band world tour, they have online duels, battle of the bands and more. It is like they really listened to the fans and everything you wanted or wish they had in RB1 is in RB2. I think the only thing missing is the making your own music like GH World Tour is going to have. They even added a no fail mode that is super cool to turn on at parties and stuff for those who want to get involved but suck at video games. lol
This game is loads of fun and if you like Guitar Hero and RB1 get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Relax, it still rocks!

posted by OneWheeled (ELK GROVE, CA) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Everybody's whining about how they didn't change a thing in the game and just put in more songs. Well, what did you expect? The original formula was pure genius, and if it ain't broke, don't fix it! What could they have done to make it "different" but still Rock Band?

Anyway, this game, in my opinion, has the strongest setlist in just about any music game. Avenged Sevenfold, Fleetwood Mac, Ratt, Jimmy Eat World, etc. are just some of the bands that go through the many, many genres of rock covered in this game. There's always gonna be a few songs you particularly don't like, but you can't change that. To counter those, you can have up to 100 songs without buying a single cent's worth of downloadable content with the 20 free songs. These free songs tend to be hit (I Wanna Be Your Man) or miss (Magnetic Baby). However, you can only get these if you buy the game with the manual, and if someone else already put in that code, you're screwed.

Online multiplayer is practically flawless, with my only gripe being that if someone quits or their connection fails in the middle of a song, it counts as them failing and you'll slowly fail the song. The no-fail mode is a big help too, for people who are just getting into the genre and would usually fail every song they attempt. Overall, this game is excellent. The songlist is diverse and great all around, the gameplay is still great, and the presentation is top-notch, as expected.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dont forget your lighter for this encore.

posted by denny417 (GLEN ELLYN, IL) Sep 13, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

40 out of 48 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

If you thought Rock Band was just the perfect game, Rock Band 2 adds just more icing to that cake.

The Positive:
84 new songs. All master tracks, these 84 songs represent the single greatest collection of songs in a game to date.You can turn on your xbox and put in Rock Band 2 for the first time and have over 300 songs to start.

The new feature of Battle of the Bands will keep people occupied for months to come.Battle of the Bands is a series of challenges where your score is compared against those of your friends and the rest of the online gaming world. The challenges change regularly and with the producers promising a new challenge every day.

The Negative:

World Tour is almost completely identical to last year's. The world map uses the same art and the challenges are set up the same way as in the original.

Also a let-down is the character creator. A few new faces, a new clothing store and some new tattoos do little to improve upon what was offered last year. You still can't modify faces or create many body types. The tattoo creator has such great depth and variety it's a wonder why the character creator is so simple.

Final Say:

Rock Band 2 improves in several areas over the original. The track list is better, the difficulty has been bumped up, and with brilliant online mode, makes up for the very identical World Tour mode.

Buy It and have a great deal on a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not much to say that hasnt been said already.. BUT

posted by MidXIII (SPRINGFIELD, PA) Sep 16, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

What I will say is that what HAS been done is they made the single player experience more solid.

Rock Band was a great party/group game. What the game lacked was easy to "pick up and play" menus and certain single player accessibility. Rock Band 2 fixed that.

Here is basically all of it (if you haven't read it somewhere else already.):

Group mode allows players to jump in anytime without having to set up characters.

Tour mode, is now able to be played single player.

There are also challenges for both single and group play. Finish the challenge to unlock more challenges.

Battle of the Bands, is not just for bands, there are many online "battle" challenges for single or group. Like, "get the highest streak (in a certain challenge song) without missing a note. It will list your competition and then rank you when you're done.

The drum trainer mode is great for people who had trouble the first time around, and really does help you get better and your coordination with the foot petal and the drumming (my personal downfall on RB1... keeping me on medium the whole time!)

Overall:
There are comments/reviews about not having much new in the sense of character creation, graphics, etc. and its true there isn't much different.
But honestly when a company actually LISTENS to its fan base, changing the problems of the first one, adding a better variety of songs to play AND sing too, and improving the game modes to incorporate so much for truly EVERYONE to have fun, why nit-pick? This game really is a great sequel, and if you liked the first one, you wont be disappointed by this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Harmonix Does It Again

posted by iPwn21 (FAYETTEVILLE, AR) Sep 30, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Harmonix's popularity has skyrocketed since the release of it's ever so popular Guitar Hero. They started off trying to teach people to play music through video games, but that wasn't working. So, Harmonix decided to get rid of the teaching part of their video games and went straight to the fun part. Rock Band 2 offers several new and exciting features including challenges, battle of the bands, online world tour, and a refined solo world tour. Lets start with the new solo world tour. This new version of world tour doesn't make you scroll down a screen and play every single song in the game. Now, solo tour allows you to do everything you can do in the band tour. Including naming your band, traveling the world, hiring staff (we'll get to the staff later), and picking your venue, song and set list. There are a few new cities including:Shanghai, Sydney, and many others. Now, lets get to Battle of The Bands and Challenges. Many people think this feature means two different bands battling at the same time, but it doesn't. One band simply plays a set list or song, and posts their score on the leaderboards. Then, another band tries to beat this score. The brand-spankin' new challenges mode works the same way. Harmonix simply posts challenges like best note streak on a certain song or highest score on a particular song. Your score is then posted on leaderboards. The online world tour allows you to invite friends or random players to play world tour on one of your bands. I enjoy the new Drum Trainer Mode. In this mode, you can practice drum beats, drum fills, or you can simply annoy anyone around with Freestyle mode. I still felt like the game was missing something. Yes, it had the greatest accumulation of songs in a game to date. Yes, it offers tons of features never before seen in other games. However, it lacks advancement in the character creation mode. The game still has the same basic creation. It would be a 10 if they updated graphics and character creation, I gave it 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Step Forward

posted by tiki18 (EVERETT, WA) Sep 15, 2008

Member since Feb 2005

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

This game is a huge step up from the original Rock Band. The fact the you can play your tour with only one person is totally awesome. The challenges add a new perk to the tour. I also like the fact that you get 20 free downloads.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

kills rock band one

posted by sword86200 (BROOKSVILLE, KY) May 26, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

this game is so much better than the first the songs are alot better alo the old downloads you got on one are also on rock band 2 i suggest playing this its great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rock Band 2 - Another one...

posted by james72032 (CONWAY, AR) Nov 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I only started playing the "band" type games when Guitar Hero World Tour came out. Never played anything else up until R.B., then decided to get R.B.2 just because it was a recent release, and I expected much more modern songs.

I was disappointed, probably because my expectations were higher than they should have been. The song selection was very much like any other music game, very limited. You have to UNLOCK a ton of stuff so don't plan on just going in and jamming with your friends. If you don't want to play through the career, and you want to just jam around, i would suggest another title. LOTS of downloadable content of course, but if your renting... why would you pay for all those better songs than are on the disc?

Overall, it's a fun game... character selection is fun, but lacking... songs were fun, but was lacking the modern edge... so it's just another one of those music games.... nothing special, play it if you like these games just for the experience, but don't get your expectations too high :P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rock out with you....

posted by DrWisdom (BOONE, NC) May 7, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Guitar out! Awesome game and a clear party favorite. If you have the whole collection of instruments you are in for a treat and a total blast.

Some great tracks are waiting to be unlocked....and they do have to be unlocked. It took some time to reveal these tunes as the ones you begin with are pretty unknown to me.

Either way, the game is awesome. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great just great.

posted by Jahosafat3 (CAMERON, NC) Sep 13, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I have Rock Band 1 and loved that game so much i bought about half the downloadable content for the game.Rock Band 2 is very fun with having band tour mode online and battle of the bands this game cant be boring. plus all downloaded content from the first game works on RB2 with the 84 song on the disc you will have many songs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rock Band 2

posted by zenubio (FARMINGTON, MN) Sep 28, 2008

Member since Aug 2003

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After playing this game I was tempted to go back and change my rating for Rock Band 1, but then I realized at the time when the game came out it was perfect.

Rock Band 2 is excellent and improves upon Rock Band 1 in every way. It is more of a 1.5, but buying the game is truly worth it.

Yes you can import your songs from Rock Band 1 and I highly recommend you do it (costs $5). There are set lists that will grab songs from that game which gives you that much more variety.

The single biggest improvement is that in tour mode you can play any instrument on any difficulty before playing a song.

The mystery set lists are my only complaint about this game. I don't mind songs being selected at random, but not knowing the songs ahead of time makes you play conservatively on the difficulty and ultimately bores you on the songs that are way to easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tracks

posted by xDeadpoolx (GERMANTOWN, MD) Jun 8, 2009

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

By FAR the best tracks to play. Every five minutes i found myself getting excited when I saw what song I was playing next. New songs as well as late 90s classics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rock Band 1.5

posted by gaming83 (BRUNSWICK, GA) Sep 25, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

8 out of 20 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Let me start out by saying I love the original Rock Band. So, what's not to like about Rock Band 2? Well, it's the same game. Sure, it's a great deal for all of the new songs; but, there is no real change to the main game-- in fact, they took out an entire solo function of the game.

World tour mode is cool in the sense that it is slightly more involved than in the past with the solo career. But do me a favor, look at the song list-- it's a lot of fun music to listen to, but not a lot of it is fun to play. Eye of the Tiger for instance is a legendary song, but when you think about it, for the guitar part, most of the song is the same notes over and over. Well, a lot of the songs included in this game are very similar.

My gripe with taking away the solo career mode is in world tour you are usually forced to play some of the same songs over and over, and if it's a song you don't like in the first place, it's frustrating to have to keep playing it, or get punished and lose fans for quitting on a song.

The character creation mode is essentially untouched except for maybe a few additional pieces for customization.

The Learn to drum section is pretty nice, but that's really the only major addition to the entire game except for Battle of the Bands, but that's just one multiplayer mode. This is something that should have been on the original Rock Band, as before playing over Xbox Live was kind of pointless.

All in all, I'm really disappointed with what they could have done with Rock Band 2, really anything, it's still a fun game, but calling it a sequel is a flat out lie. If they had called it Rock Band : Song Pack, that would have been much more appropriate. There is less changed to this game than Madden Games that come out year to year, how sad is that? Although, both games are property of EA, so we will probably see sequels of this game every year, that never really seem to grow or take any chances.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

rock band

posted by sk8ter (GALT, CA) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

rock band was one of my first games.I wold rcomend this to poeple who love rock!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's Awesome; Except for 1 thing.

posted by Gak129 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The notes on this game are kind of hard to hit. You should be able to hit the note a little bit before or after it passes the hitting line. Guitar Hero does this sort of thing. It's almost like precision mode in Guitar Hero. Plus the hammer-ons are even harder to hit. That's the reason why I fail most of the hard songs on Rock Band. This isn't suppose to be a bad review, I'm just telling people that it'll be a challenge and maybe for the next Rock Band you can hit the notes easier. Overall I think it's a great game that all music lovers should enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This Game...

posted by Flint879 (ALTOONA, PA) Dec 27, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is very good...personally im a fan of guitar hero over rock band any day but i still like to play it...the only thing that turned me off so hardcore from this game was the career mode...its not like the first rock band game that has a section of songs for a single instrument to complete and move onto next section till all songs are done...this time you have to go through the hugely ungodly tiring process of the band career for just a single instrument...which means playing the same songs over and over and over till they are permanently stuck in your brain...its a very tiring process that gets old very quickly...thanks harmonix for making this game more boring and bland than the first one was

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Same old RockBand...songs are a miss

posted by AmerginCC (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Dec 24, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

What can I say? It is pretty much the same RockBand we have come to love right from the start. A few new features were added, notably drum solos, challenge modes, and band battles. It is a welcome change as well that the single player mode now looks, feels, and works like the band world tour mode from the original RockBand. Also, your character that you create stays with you no matter what instrument you play, no more having to switch characters when you switch from guitar to drums. The drum trainer is VERY helpful for practicing drum beats, but the drum fill trainer still introduces major lag, which makes no sense to me. If you are teaching us a specific drum fill pattern, why would you turn the sound over to the drums? Why not just play the drum track so that everything is still on beat?

The major problem with the game, in my opinion, is the track list. I literally almost fell asleep playing guitar during the first 2-3 hours of game play, which has NEVER happened to me while playing RockBand, not even in the early hours of the original. I know that the boring, easy songs are supposed to be first, but I think that they set a new precedence on what "boring" really means. Even after advancing to later tracks in the list, I still was not too amazed.

Overall, RockBand 2 is what RockBand SHOULD have been as far as game play goes. But the song list looks like something out of a bargain basement rock rummage sale. I could only muster giving it a 6 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

none to good

posted by epicgamer (YREKA, CA) Jun 4, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

i was not impressed with this game it does not have a good song list although they did put in some cooler cloths for ur character but they did take out my favorite artist for face paint and tattoos. but it was pretty cool that they brought out the new parts to the drums and put the controls on the microphone but overall i did not like this game not worth $130 dollars

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

More Songs, More features and Drum Trainer

posted by Schwab17 (CINCINNATI, OH) Sep 23, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

get me away from this game i play it too much with my friends :} it is packed with over 80 songs to rock out to from Ac/Dc to Panic at the Disco. The new features are pretty sweet too if u have friend that suck u can put on no fail mode and they have hyper speed like on guitar hero were u can play really freaking fast. the achievements list looks easier as well compared to the first one and for all u drummers out there such as my self there is a new drum trainer mode to improve Ur skills to play expert a lot easier. Over all this game is just plain fun for everyone who cant start a band in real life.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rock Band without ROCK

posted by Brickhouse (SMITHS STATION, AL) Oct 18, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Other than some minor tweaks to the game, there really is nothing new here. Other than the soundtrack and some new clothes. The songs, minus some rare good ones, are just terrible, who in there right mind thinks Panic at the Disco is rock? Just a small example of the crapy music in this game. Please look at the soundtrack before you rent/buy this.

The game is very repetitive... so if you find a song you hate, AND YOU WILL, you will end up playing it about 5-8 times before finding those rare good ones. I'm very disapointed and I felt like I needed to move to San Fran after playing these songs. I feel dirty. I need a beer now.

I'd wait for Rock Revolution, that soundtrack looks mean!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

SAME GENERATION

posted by guanako (LOS ANGELES, CA) Sep 13, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 24 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

The game is great to who ever is new to the rock band series but its the same thing and nothing new about it different song but still very enjoyable but if you bought rock band 1 its going to feel the same so either rent it or just buy the disc but not the whole game and it has some good songs but the biggest downfall in songs is that they added a song call (were the kids in America ) by the muffs whole heck are they ...well anyways off that topic it great so ya :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

garbage

posted by 360ruless (WINDERMERE, FL) Jun 5, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

two words for ya:

WORST SONGS EVER

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

it's a rockband

posted by drave55 (SHERMAN, TX) Mar 31, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

the only thing i hate about this game is you gotta keep playing the same songs over and over until you get to the good songs..i got tired playing beck and the donna's and that paramore song.but you got to get to the songs you really want to play... i gave an 8 out of 10 cause of this and i wish they had more metal songs in there buts it fun to play.if you need something to play rent this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not working

posted by brennensmith (FOND DU LAC, WI) Mar 25, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

my xbox was unable to read this disc. it was scratched like crazy. not recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Something Not to Like

posted by XenoPhray (NORFOLK, VA) May 5, 2011

Member since May 2011

I'm a fan of the music games. The fact that your forced to use an instrament that you don't like put me off on this game. Trying to play one player in the game results in you being forced to do volcals, you can not chose to play drums or guitar. So in conclusion if your looking for versitility this game isn't for you. 2/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse