Rent Rock Band 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Rock Band 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
8.4

1559 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Band Stimulation Game!

posted by McFlurry (DOVER, DE) Feb 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are going to get any game like guitar hero, rock band, etc., you should definitely get Rock Band 2. It is best for PS3 because the graphics are better. This game is much better than any Guitar Hero game because the tour mode has a lot more to offer. There are the "Make A Set List" and you can travel to real places around the world. The gameplay in general is way better than guitar hero, except that guitar hero's songs are a bit better.
I got guitar hero world tour and I think I would have preferred to get the Rock Band 2 full band bundle rather then guitar hero.
You HAVE to try Rock Band 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than the first!!!!

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Jan 6, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

We got this game for Christmas and we all love it a lot!!!! You should totally get this game!!! The graphics are still awesome! Multi-Player is still the best!!!!! Song selection is awesome and there are some the sweetest ever!!! Character creation is way better than the first one because there are more choices to make your character a lot cooler!! There are some awesome cheats for it that can make more fun for Quick play!

Pros: Great graphics!!! Song selection is the best out there!!!! Multi-Player is amazing!!! Character creation is way better than the first!! Sweet cheats so you can expand your Quick play experience!!!

Cons: There isn't really any more single-player any more.

You should totally buy this game!!!! Do not even rent it! Just buy it right NOW!!!!!!!

Go and play this game now and you and your family and friends will have a blast!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Play This Game

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Oct 22, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you were a fan of Rock Band 1 there isn't any reason you should not pick up Rock Band 2. This game has made enough subtle changes to make it worth buying yet not drastic changes to point of where it feels like a new game. The ease of importing tracks and the automatic transfer of downloaded tracks is excellent. Now I just have to find time to rock out online!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rock Band 2 - Polished, New Features, Great Songs!

posted by iJaycool (PUNTA GORDA, FL) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Now you can't really do to much to a sequel that is for a game like Rock Band or Guitar Hero. Rock Band 2 has improved so much from the original Rock Band. The gameplay is pretty much exactly the same, which I was happy with that aspect of the game originally. What I mean by polished is, everything looks just nicer and less grainy, they added a few little things like better animations on loading screens, and the combo circle is now flat or 3D like. Little things like this you notice greatly improve the game. There are a few new features like trophies, battle of the bands, and a few new pairs of clothes and a few new instruments. Should you get Rock Band 2? If you bought the original Rock Band and already have the instruments, then definitely yes. The songs have improved so much. There are so many great new ones like Eye of the Tiger, anyways back to the should you buy this aspect. If you don't have the original, Rock Band 2 isn't a must have, it's really fun but can also be expensive. So if you have the extra money lying around, go ahead and buy it, that is if you already pre-ordered Little Big Planet, Resistance 2, Fallout 3, and all of the other games that are more anticipated that this one. LOL. Oh yeah I forgot about renting everything through Gamefly (I'm knew). I'm going to put a review up on YouTube soon so type in JNL Podcasts on the search bar and visit my channel if you want to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It just didnt quite do it for me as Guitar Hero

posted by dallasgirl (CENTREVILLE, VA) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I think this game is cool, i love the outfits, the fact that you can create your own rocker, give them their own distinct attitudes, etc. What i didnt like was how long it took for the diffuculty in the game to actually challenge you on medium, like guitar hero, and i also wasnt too crazy about the songs. Dont get me wrong, I love rock, but with the songs that were chosen, I just didnt get as much guitar play as you do with guitar hero, in which almost every song Im singing myself even after I've shut the game off. I love Legends of Rock. I know RockBand has good reviews, and im not saying its a bad game, but it just didnt challenge me enough. It was more visual than it was actual gameplay. So this game was just 'good' to me. But i changed my mind from originally wanting to purchase it. I guess everybody has their own preferences.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

First review

posted by LouisIV (LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 18, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Rock band 2 has grown a whole lot from the original. More songs is awesome but one of my favorite features of the game is the ability to listen to your music without having to play it. Because sometimes I want to listen to the classic music in it and my fingers might be sore or something. If you want to have some fun with friends (or yourself) this is a game that should defiantly be rented, and most likely buy. THIS GAME ROCKS!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

whats with the set list?!!

posted by Scaaat (FONTANA, CA) Nov 10, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Emo-central.... great game, bad set list. Theres a lot of junk and only a few good songs. Looking forward to GH World Tour, I hear they actually have rock on that game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Rock Band 2

posted by joselino_09 (NEW YORK, NY) Aug 11, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Great Game if you have the instrument's if not don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Songs are pretty good but...

posted by rathamon (LOUISVILLE, KY) Oct 13, 2011

Member since Mar 2007

The songs and game play are pretty good but cannot understand why they have girl singers singing with male voices or males singing with girl voices on songs.

I notice alot of times the game would pick a guy to sing a girl song and use a girl voice and the other way around. Why didn't the developers catch this?? I would give it a 8+ if they had fixed it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LET'S ROCK!!!

posted by kingkong10 (LYNNWOOD, WA) Feb 5, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Let's just say that this is heck alot better than gaitar hero. It is a whole knew expirance with new songs and new clothing and new bodys to customize. You can make a band that can be better then the one you made in rock band. like for exampel I have a band called scool at 9:20 that have people that are based on my freinds inshool. You can also download songs from the rock shop like another one bites the dust or run the the hills. All great new songs. And when you play this have drink nerby.and Begin to ROCK!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

unacceptable

posted by banks88 (NIAGARA FALLS, NY) Dec 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

the game is great but the fact that in order to enter cheat codes for the ps3 version u have to enter them in using the drums, which means u have to buy them, even if u only wanted the game for the guitar you got to dish out extra when the guitar or controller should be enough to enter the cheats. dont get me wrong game play gets a 10 but since the try to jip you they automatically get a 1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Promise Breaker

posted by MarineBio (SANTEE, CA) Nov 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

I vowed never to touch a guitar when Guitar Hero came out. Then came Rock Band, and I held out. Then a friend asked me to just try it out... the obsession began. Within a week I had RB2, an extra guitar, and Rock Band for the extra music. This title is easy to pick up and great fun for the family and friends. Starting with this title will help out if you buy it in a pack (wireless drums) and add to your enjoyment if you already have the first volume.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game to waste time

posted by chitowndub (BERWYN, IL) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

I love rock band 2 its a great social game , it has a good mix of modern day rock classic rock and oldies. This game is so addicting and fun that it makes time fly its a must play and no mater how many times you play it the fun never dies

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent Game for Excellent People

posted by hazefan08 (SLIDELL, LA) May 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2008

People, you have to realize that if you dont know a song you have to get more familiar with it. For example, "Alabama Getaway" by the Grateful Dead, when I first played it, I thought this is such a pathetic song why is it on here. But after playing a lot more often, I said it was one of the best songs on here. Heck, I can do it on expert on guitar now. That's happened with a lot of other songs, too. You see the creators did a great stradegy by using awkward and unfamiliar songs. They want you to get to know those songs and like them. Plus, I'm sure you have to at least like one of the 85 songs on there, and if you dont you must like guitar hero (I dont though). Plus, try out different instruments, dont focus on one particular instrument. I say buy it or get it from gamefly because its a fun game with a great setlist and great downloadable content.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tons of fun

posted by cnuttin (BROOKLYN, NY) May 4, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

Excellent party game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Totally Awesome Party Game !!!

posted by RokkBndFan (BAKERSFIELD, CA) May 2, 2009

Member since May 2009

I'm putting it a little lower, but i think its a 9.5 or 9.8, those numbers werent avaliable and I'm getting the Ion Drum set for my B-day! The only thing I don't like is that the mic is about half or a quarter of a second off when you tap it, but no biggie. Total Awesomeness!

9.5-8 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ultimate karoke game

posted by joeturbo (TURLOCK, CA) May 1, 2009

Member since Oct 2003

I purchased Guitar Hero World Tour first and since Rock Band 2 offered a patch to use the GH instruments, i decided to rent it out. Despite the lack of use of one GH drum cymbal, its still a blast to play. What makes this game leaps and bounds better than GH [although its not a bad game]is the following:
-better online matchmaking
-better band customization
-import capabilities of past rock band
-robust library online (GH still has little to offer)
-band mechanics [u can save members in band]
-large rockband community
-weekly online competitions

I recommend the GH instruments, so u get the best of both worlds

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ALL RIGHT BUT NOT AS GOOD AS GUITAR HERO

posted by porkchop92 (ONTARIO, CA) Mar 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

ALTHOUGH THE GAME IS BETTER THAN THE FIRST ROCK BAND, BY INCLUDING MORE CLASSIC SONGS, I PERSONALLY PREFER GUITAR HEROS MUSIC LINEUP.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rock!!

posted by Arcalen (CALAIS, ME) Feb 26, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

Overall this is a really good addon to the 1st rock band, alot of really good songs and some new really good features. Now all they need to is add the ability to have to extra guitar player for the songs that have 2 and a bass, then add maybe a tournatment mode and band vs band play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

not as good as guitar hero world tour

posted by tat2edfree (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

First off, I like the fact that the guitar hero controllers are compatible with this version of rock band(finally), very cool. Game play is similar to the first Rock Band game. It has a good selection of songs, but there is overlapping of songs between the competitors. You have to make sure to set the lag as Rock Band doesn't automatically set for 1080P like G.H.W.T.(at least mine did). The biggest error made by the Rock Band crew was just the overall production; what drove it home for me was the lame character creator. G.H.W.T. was a lot better. Oh and don't plan on using G.H.W.T. drums on here......its atrocious. Overall this is a good game(just like the original with different songs). If confronted with the choice, G.H.W.T. is the better buy though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing entertainment

posted by chawhee (WALLA WALLA, WA) Jan 27, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

My little brother got Guitar Hero 1 & 2 for Christmas, and it turned out to be a lot of fun. So I looked online and found a relatively inexpensive Rock Band setup. Phew... What a great game. I have started 4 different "bands" with some of my friends and family, and everybody loves it.

The song list in this game is fantastic. There is a great balance of newer songs and older songs. Many are familiar, many are not, but I find myself enjoying almost all of them. Each instrument is intuitive and works like a charm. The vocal's are fun... as long as you're not playing with somebody that can sing... then you just hate them. The drums and guitars are both fun as well. Everything functions perfectly and that makes me smile consistently.

The game is amazing, but I do have one gripe. Purchasing new songs from the Rock Band store uses... well, real money. If the $100+ price tag isn't enough, if you want to play more songs you have to spend more money to play them...? I mean, I suppose it's good business, but I was hoping for some sort of alternative. However, that being said the amount of new music in the Rock Band store is impressive.

Great game. Well justified purchase in my eyes. Try it and have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Rockband 2 Just isn't Guitar Hero

posted by BigVito (WINSTON, OR) Jan 26, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I rented this game and I Bought world tour. After doing this I realized I made the right decision. Guitar Hero took the full band thing only done by Rock band and in my opinion Rock band has nothing on guitar hero world tour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by steelerbro (MANASSAS, VA) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

Great songs and graphics....excellent game for the family to enjoy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

its the same

posted by 666Cole (MANHATTAN, IL) Jan 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

its the same as the first and its ether to hard or easy, the only good thing about the game really is the few good tracks it has, and its still trying to be guitar hero and it never will.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Some flaws, but still fantastic!

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Jan 10, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

The most obvious game to compare RB2 to is Guitar Hero World Tour. Of the two I'd have to say GHWT is better,but RB2 is still worth a rent at the least.First off, not much has changed from RB1. There is barely any new content other than the new setlist but thats a given. The single player is now just a tour like you could do in RB1 but you can play it by yourself now.This means that you will be playing alot of the same songs over and over again which is pretty annoying sometimes. There are alot of great songs on the game, but most of the beginner easier songs are mostly trash. Also, there are some improvments to the online modes. Band Quickplay is now more user friendly and people take turns choosing songs so its not just one person choosing all the songs he/she wants. You can also use a mic this time when you play so you can talk to people.The score duel is still messed up. The fret board moves so slow, but thank GOD that they added some "mods" to the game, the best of which is Breakneck speed which increases the speed at which the fretboard moves at you. Thats the only way I cpuld see playing Score duel, especailly If you play on only expert like me. One other good feature is the Drum Options in trainer. There is a freestyle mode, Fill Trainer and Beat Trainer to help you hone your skills on drums. The freedtyle mode lets you change the sounds of the drums, but compared to GHWT's music creator, this little drum gizmo doesnt pale in comparison. So basically RB2 is just a small expasion to RB1. A few new guitars, a new clothing section and other accessories, but still its low on content and still not as good as GH in my opinion.
GRAPHICS:8/10
GAMEPLAY:9/10
DESIGN:7/10
ONLINE:8.7/10
SOUND (SETLIST): 9.5/10
OVERALL: 8.4/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse