Rent Rock Band 2 for PS2
view large frontback

Rock Band 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
7.9

429 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Possibly The Best Music Game I've Ever Played

posted by Spider (KANSAS CITY, MO) Mar 1, 2009

Member since May 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is awesome. While Guitar Hero seems to be getting too cartoonish and stupid, Rock Band 2 keeps it real. I will compare this to the original Rock Band.

Before I get on to the review, I will explain the series. It's all about rocking modern songs like El Scorcho by Weezer and old classics like T.N.T. by AC/DC. This requires one of the special controllers ( drums, guitar, mic ) to play, you hit a series of colored notes as they pass you by.

Rock Band 2 is great. Maybe the greatest setlist of any music game, including old songs like Let There Be Rock by AC/DC and Hello There by Cheap Trick, and more modern tracks like Shackler's Revenge by Guns N' Roses and Everlong by the Foo Fighters. This setlist really won me over. While sometimes music games confuse bass and guitar parts, this game does very little of that. The graphics are exactly like Rock Band, though. I recommend this to everyone. Yes, really. EVERYONE. I give it 9 out of 10.

Rock Band is, basically, Guitar Hero with a mic and drums. The disappointment of Rock Band is that there's no customization, I forgot to mention that on the review above. Each song has it's venue and band, AND the characters during the song do the EXACT SAME THING EVERY TIME YOU PLAY! Stinks, huh? The graphics in this aren't as cartoonish as Guitar Hero 3, but Guitar Hero 2 has graphics about as good as this. But, the song list, though, is great, even though it has a few like Sabotage by the Beastie Boys, it still has great songs, like Detroit Rock City by Kiss, Blitzkrieg Bop by the Ramones, and In Bloom by Nirvana ( I just wish it was All Apologies instead ). I recommend this to any fan of the Guitar Hero series. So, this game gets 9 out of 10.

Even though I gave both of these games the same rating, I do recommend Rock Band 2 over the original Rock Band.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rock Band 2

posted by noscratch (BISMARCK, AR) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

i got this game and finally hoped i would have some fun, well i didn't because the game was scratched worse than I've ever seen, if i was anyone else i wouldn't rent it. BEWARE!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rock Band 2

posted by Bobby70 (TOLEDO, OH) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

My kids love this game we have it over a week and they are stilling it every night. I told them I could send it back and get a different game but they keep begging to keep it longer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rock Band 2

posted by SnoFlake (PALMETTO, FL) Sep 21, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

I played this game at my cuzins house and it awas an awsome game! I rented it from GAMEFLY and i put it in the playstation but i didnt read! =(. ha. but thats ok i still like that game and as soon as i get a new system i will buy the game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

rock band 2

posted by shadow91 (HEARNE, TX) Jul 20, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

i just got rock band 2 moments ago and i very disappointed that it don't not work so i give it a one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I have one problem with this game

posted by bb5495 (INTERNATIONAL FALLS, MN) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

they used a new double layered disk and some of the older ps2s like the thick ones and some of the older thin ones even have problems reading it. I'm not saying the game was bat it was awesome but the disc error will be a problem for people with older ps2s

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

rock band 2 rocks

posted by adney1 (BRONX, NY) Jul 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

this game is the best.my favorite song is eye of the tiger on vocals

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

weak

posted by gamerman43 (WOODSTOCK, GA) Jun 17, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

This game doesn't even compare to Guitar Hero. The first Rock Band is better than this. No offense to the game but it sucks. The songs are like playing on medium when you choose to play on expert. I would not reccommend this game for someone who wants a challenge like what you get in the Guitar Hero games. The setup for the game is good but the songs...........don't rent this game. Trust Me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rock Band 2

posted by samantha1 (VANCOUVER, WA) Jun 12, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

She didnot like it that much, so we have sent it back to get the next on the list. Thx

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A good continuation

posted by lamoxlamae (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) May 27, 2009

Member since May 2009

Rock band 2 is a good continuation of the rock band series.

The setlist has music from almost any rock genre you can think of, the graphics are nice and clean and the controls are nice and responsive. To make it even sweeter, as always, there are no cover bands here- just original artists! They didn't stop there, though!

Harmonix didn't stop there, though! They added a clever alternate way to play: instead of being forced to play each song on a level, you instead must gain a certain number of points by beating songs on any level you please! You can also add and drop band members mid-game in World Tour mode, choose difficulty by song and not by "game mode", and view all songs by difficulty in the Leaderboard.

My only gripe? There are very few unlocks. In fact, the biggest challenge seems to have no reward except for a "you won" picture. That's the only flaw I could find in this game!

So, if you've been thinking of getting this game but holding off, and liked Guitar Hero or Rock Band, get Rock Band 2 and you won't be dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rockband2

posted by rockguy10 (Oak Grove, MO) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

My review of rockband 2 is it's fun and entertaing with the setlist and all i mean in all fairness the game is a little rough when you come to certain songs and it's a little dule when you have no one to play with but I like and would certainly say others would to and this why i give it a eight out of ten

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

....

posted by froggy0321 (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 23, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

songs just reek...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

so real

posted by bfxmas (FREDERICK, MD) Mar 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I have rock band 1 and I wasn't sure what to think when i rented this. but believe me, this game is awesome. everything is so real except for the fact the drums don't have symbols. but the game rules, it has awesome songs as well

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good game, boring songs

posted by brutusbuck (COLUMBUS, OH) Mar 1, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

too many songs from gh world tour

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rock Band 2

posted by tferentz66 (THONOTOSASSA, FL) Feb 28, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Better than the first. Truly Rocks and great way to decide whether to buy the game or not. Graphics and music are awesome.

Can't wait for the next one!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good but frustratiing

posted by craigonatr (ENCINO, CA) Feb 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I thought the improvements over the original game for the PS2 were worthwhile. I did have technical difficulties however... freezes at the most inopportune moment were aggravation. This might be an issue with my older PS2 but I don't experience any of those issues on the original game. The freezes were very random. Still a fun game, though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Very Good At All

posted by Gamers101 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jan 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

This is an alright game but the song choices are wackkk.

Rock Band Track packs arebetter than this.
If you want a real band game buy Rock Band 1 or Guitar Hero World Tour.

DO NOT BUY.
this game sucks do doubt

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game...and has alot of choices

posted by Ayodeji (DIX HILLS, NY) Jan 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

Very good game...ALOT of things to do but, cant create band or people....and the game screwed up like in 3 days...coundt read it so watever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Do NOT rent/purchase for PS2

posted by Rezzie (RENTON, WA) Jan 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

Unless you have a brand new PS2, Do NOT expect this to work in your system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Looks Promising...

posted by j2cool2008 (KEY WEST, FL) Dec 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

Although I have yet to receive this game from Gamefly, I have played demos of it, and it looks pretty awesome. The graphics are clean and semi-realistic, the gameplay is the same as the first, and the new soundtrack is mind-bogglingly AWESOME! I cannot wait to have the full version in my house.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »