Rent Rock Band 2 for Wii
view large frontback

Rock Band 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3, PS2
GF Rating
8.1

808 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

The way to rock out on the wii

posted by jdsampson (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Jan 2, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2007

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game! I have played both world tour and Rock Band 2 and I have to say that Rock Band 2 wins out. Both games have an excellent song selection that will keep you entertained for hours. Were Rock Band sets itself apart from Guitar hero is in the tour mode that allows you to build fans which makes you feel more immersed in the game. I also like how the singing is read better and also drum play. The online store is not available as of yet but you are still going to be able to play the songs off of the SD card. Also, once the Rock Band store goes live you will be able to download all the first rock bands down loadable songs plus the new songs for rock band 2. Also if you have Guitar Hero Peripherals will work on Rock Band 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This one feels like the actual Rock Band

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Dec 30, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wii owners were probably disappointed with Rock Band's first installment and limitations. Perhaps this is because of the Wii's limited capacity for DLC, or Harmonix wasn't confident enough to deliver the same RB that the other consoles got. Whatever the case, they did right to Wii owners and Rock Band fans with Rock Band 2. Offering DLC in early 2009, great online play, and improved instruments all around.

The gameplay remains identical to the previous versions, which is a good thing. A change in sensitivity for the new instruments accordingly on how had you hit the pad has been added, but this is pretty minor when it actually comes to playing the game. World Tour mode is better than ever with the ability to create your own band, play alone, or grab a substitute from online or locally extremely easily. Unlike Guitar Hero World Tour where the online mode was a separate component all together, RB2 has integrated it into the World Tour mode seamlessly allowing for a great online and offline experience. Also, you can grab 3 different players from a number of different Wii's, it's not limited to just one other Wii as with GH.

The song bank is big, and with the promise of DLC coming in 2009 with all the previous songs ever released from Rock Band catalog, Wii owners have will have plenty to play along with. Although since it hasn't been released yet, only time will tell how well the DLC will work.

Everything is wireless except the mic this time around, and all of the Rock Band 1 equipment works if you'd only want to buy the game. Also, all of the instruments from Guitar Hero World Tour for Wii work as well (I can confirm this as I've used it all). The drums are tricky if you use GHWT's, but it's doable, and a reasonable choice for people with GHWT to just buy the game.

It's a great game, and by far the best music game one Wii. It's a must own for anyone into the Rock Band/Guitar Hero rhythm games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS IS MORE LIKE IT !

posted by 1454ood (EAST NORTHPORT, NY) Feb 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is muck better than rock band for the wii. The reason why its so good is the fact that theres
CHARACTER CUSTOMIZATION
DLC
COMPATIBLE GUITAR
BAND TOUR
basiclly this game is just the lower resolution of rock band 2 for the 360 and ps3.
360 = king
ps3=queen
wii=prince

DISCLAIMER: the last thing i said about ps3 wii and 360 has nothing to do with the fact on which console is better. to me king and queen are equal in power and prince is just the younger version of the king. I do not want to start a fanboy war over gamefly. ROCK OUT PEOPLE !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best music game ever!

posted by espnfan13 (MONMOUTH, OR) Dec 28, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has it all. The songs, the characters, the instruments, I bought this as soon as it came out and it is pretty cool for a Wii game. I recommend buying this but its also nice to rent it but i would buy the special edition because they have all new improved instruments and it makes a difference.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

my review 4 rockband

posted by melondono (PLEASANTON, CA) Feb 1, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is AWSOME ........... it is like your a real rockstar...... it doesnt get any better than that

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Bad

posted by tucker666 (BROWNWOOD, TX) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I got Rock Band 2 because it sounded cool, but it's just not the kind of music we were expecting. GH World Tour had songs we'd heard of at least! The first Rock Band had more familiar songs too, and hopefully the classics and country packs will be more fun than RB2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

guitar hero and rockband are different

posted by walkerb (CHEYENNE, WY) Feb 14, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Beware: Rockband is not compatible with guitar hero. The controllers are not the same.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

suuucks

posted by Chloe16 (NORMAN PARK, GA) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

ok. so i have been playing this game for a good bit... the songs on it SUCKS. the only good song is "That's What You Get" by Paramore. Other than that, i suggest you don't waste your time playing it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Rock Band 2 Wii

posted by ClutchChick (MARQUETTE, MI) May 25, 2011

Member since May 2011

NO THANKS! Only about 12 songs worth even trying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wayyyyyyyyyyyyy beter then rock band 1

posted by griffin59 (SEATTLE, WA) Sep 12, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

yay finaly a game that fells like a rockband

create-a-rocker
online play
world tour
dlc

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RB2 rocks

posted by malboja (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 6, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

RB2 is my therd rock band game i still think TB:RB is better but its much better then lego rock band. ulike the first one it now it has a music store and online play its much then rock band 1 on any consol. over all its fun buy it and its cheeper on wii. i forgot it has band creater and now you can chose how you dude looks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rock Band 2

posted by jacob15k (KENT, OH) Mar 9, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This is a very fun game and only has a few bad songs and it has a very fun tour and great songs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ROCK BAND 2....2 THUMBS UP!

posted by TamBoog (HUNTINGTON, WV) Feb 4, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

Slightly easier than part one and has online play! Two thumbs up! AWESOME GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME!!

posted by nashcat (LOS ANGELES, CA) Sep 17, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

AWESOME!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i love this game

posted by cclark38 (ALTOONA, PA) Aug 3, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

this came is so sweet that soon we are going to keep it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rock Band 2, Better than Expected!

posted by Turbobuny (ANTIGO, WI) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

For Most People, this game would be just like the first. I had more fun and a greater challenge with this than playing GH Metalica. Even though this game does not posses the recording studio option, it does give a more realistic flavor for band progression. Actual gigs and choices of venue can keep a band playing for hours. The online option for finding additional band members was more than I could have expected, and my son and I enjoyed ROCKIN' with someone we just found wanting to play. I still have my personal pet peeve about the design of any current drum set-up, but I understand the limits put on cost. Overall, I would buy this game over GH Metalica.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best music game out for the wii

posted by wiiplayer2 (BATAVIA, IL) Apr 30, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

this is without a doubt the best music game that you can get for the wii right now. It can really bring you back, or get you into a new genre of music. It has lots of classic and pop rock. also if you have the drums mic. and guitar you can hook up with some friends and play with them. Also the game is realistic like there are concert venues and you lose fans if you fail a song, also you gain fans by getting stars and the performance of the song. And if you didn't get the original rock band for the wii and you have guitar hero:world tour or guitar hero 3 than you can use those guitars as a sub. if you are thinking about getting the original rock band for the wii, skip to this one because there are many more features. so overall this is the best music game that is out for the wii right now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Same songs as GH world tour?

posted by skleek (COOPER CITY, FL) Feb 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

What's up with that?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best instrument games on the Wii

posted by trockr (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Jan 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game has great songs, and amazing gameplay. Much better than Rock Band 1 on the Wii. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »