Rent Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Conspiracy for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Conspiracy

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.6

7801 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

You love action? Here it is!

posted by silentone8 (PLAINFIELD, NJ) Nov 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

22 out of 24 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Dive into the mind of Jason Bourne, a fearless mercenary who kills without question. If you've seen and love the movies, you'll love this game.

The action never stops! From start to finish you will never be saying "i'm bored". The game keeps moving quickly through the story. The game uses a takedown system which will keep you pumped as you play through the story. Takedowns are a single button press in which you enter a cinematic and brutally batter your opponent on anything in the environment; from tables, walls, books, book shelves, chairs, carts, the world is your weapon. The game use a cinematic button press system where you need to press a series of button to block your opponents takedowns or escape danger during cinematics.

The graphics really deliver. From the player and enemy models to the destructive environments. The shine of rain on bourne to the well detailed interior of a house, it all just looks "right".

The sound is good. The sound of fists thumping a guys bloody face never felt so good. The sound if smashing his head into a museum statue and watching all the stone pieces fly really makes you want to keep playing. The music is great, it works in continuity with the action to pump your adrenaline and keep you wanting more.

The guns will make you hate the game however. Often times I found myself sprinting up to an enemy in order to engage hand to hand combat. The guns sound awful and doesn't feel like part of the game as if they were thrown in last minute. There is no zoom, or even a shoulder aim. Your recticle is a tiny dot that remains the same, even when you fire. The Paris chase mission will leave you very disappointed. Makes you wonder what the developers were thinking.

Overall great game for hardcore action lovers. Great music in sync with the action. Great hand to hand combat and beautiful game play. I wouldn't recommend it to shooting fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A pretty decent game!

posted by demonslyr23 (RANTOUL, IL) May 15, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After playing and completing the Bourne Conspiracy, I must say that this was not a perfect game but still fun. For an older game the graphics are above average. The gameplay on the other hand, was awesome. The fighting mechanics make you truely feel like Jason Bourne. The shooting on the other hand, wasn't as great. I found myself running into a hand to hand fight when I easily should have just shot the enemy. The hand to hand combat is made that much better with the brutal takedowns. Bones break, walls and objects are crushed, making you feel that much more like a highly trained assassin. Story wise, I found myself confused. All in all, I give the Bourne Conspiracy a 7 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Bourne Conspiracy

posted by blkvkng79 (VACAVILLE, CA) Jun 9, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

19 out of 28 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

The Bourne Conspiracy has its ups n downs. I gave it an 8 overall b/c I feel there was room for improvement but I rather enjoyed the game for the most part. Pros: The interactivity w/ the game buttons. For Bourne to avoid some obstacles such as moving cars, punches or bullets. You have to push a certain button at the right time to avoid these obstacles. Just when you think its over & you miss pressing these buttons...you fail. Even during the cinematics you can not put down your control or you'll possibly be effected by the outcome. Fight scenes are fun b/c they use the same concept. You can also use the scenery to help attack your foe w/ special attacks using the buttons as well. If you successfully hit your button when called for it will block your opponents attack, but the same would go for your opponent. If you miss hitting your button or press the wrong one, you will be attacked more heavily. Cons: The gun play lacked in areas to me. I didn't like how the player maneuvered while holding or shooting the gun. I found it a little difficult to aim at your targets in some cases. I also didn't like the buttons used for shooting. The RB pulls & holsters the weapon, but the LT shoots. I felt they should have been the same type of button (i.e, both RB & LB or both RT & LT). Running w/ the character is a little difficult when using the sprint. You can't turn easily & this can affect you when trying to evade people. All n all it's interactivity & gameplay was fun but there was some area's that need help.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lets Break some bones folks!

posted by Boowhatty (BANGOR, ME) Jun 6, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

47 out of 74 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Man o Man this game is holy cow did i just smash him into a roomservice cart? kinda awesome. They are really starting to explore the unreal engine capabilities and im sold for sure. It took me about 20 minutes to learn how to fight without being pummeled to death but once you get that curve, this game will be a huge favorite i promise. Go ahead folks see if you can handle it cause its not for the slow minded or slow handed. Its like tomb raider with the interactive cutscenes but I WAS BLOWN AWAY AT THE FIGHTS sheesh i played the demo about 100 times cause its addictive so watch out.
and good luck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Did not like it

posted by HippyVock (SEATTLE, WA) Jun 8, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2006

32 out of 58 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I like the idea of fighting like Jason Bourne, yet this game did not convey that to me. I do not like the pre-rendered short scene every time you engage an enemy even if they did not know you where there. I do not like the button presses which occur frequently to make Bourne do something cool like slide underneath a closing security door except you have no real control as all you get to do is mash a button. I always hit the wrong one (which in this game results in immidiate failure and a long load) and what I really want is a God of War action puzzle, not random button presses. Finally, besides being really short, the gun play is atrocious and considering this is the Unreal engine there should be no excuse why none of the guns hit what you are aiming at with any sort of consistency.

I think people are being too kind with their scores on this game as they like the idea of kicking butt as Bourne and overlook the many glaring flaws this game has considering this is 2008 Xbox360, not the PS2 back in 2004.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really?

posted by Insight (RENTON, WA) Aug 19, 2009

Member since May 2009

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

This is one of the most redundant games I have ever played. Mini fight scene do a time quest/find something. Mini-fight scene do a quest to find something. Then the boss fights are just a longer version of the mini-fight scenes. Rinse and repeat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Conspiracy to buy

posted by Gorezilla1 (Albany, MO) Jul 14, 2008

Member since May 2008

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Truthfully, I did not very much like this game. I don't believe this ruins anything but all the same play the demo first. If you have played the demo at all, you might understand what I have to write. My favorite part of the game was the driving even though I hate racing games.I need to make a couple of things clear first. Number one, I am partial against shooters. Number two, I am still annoyed that this game is based on the first book as opposed to the entire three book series and the name lead me to believe. All that aside, I am pretty sure it might rock some peoples world but be warned that the likelyhood of you being in the very minute percentage of gamers is highly improbable. I got this game on it's release day and then got started. I was impressed by the surprising long first mission but no sooner had it really gotten into it had I realized that all of it's finer points were all revealed in the demo. You have adrenaline takedowns which make you so glad for the first fifty times but you can only the same takedown so many hundred times before you want to do a takedown on your console itself. It gets extremely repetitive. If you play Halo or gears of war, you know it is a shooter and you enjoy the adrenalin rush. The same goes for Ninja Gaiden and devil may cry. Those are slashers and if they have nothing else to their names, you know that you still get that satisfaction for the bloodlust you felt before playing. For bourne, it felt like home work. the only reason why I beat it was because of a bet. I would recommend it to everyone to rent. Definitely a rentable not not to be bought. I traded my copy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Typical Hollywood Trash

posted by bbeason (PHOENIX, AZ) Jul 5, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game is your normal run of the mill Hollywood Trash Video Game. I can't even force myself to get past the 3rd level...

Hand to hand fighting consists of 2 buttons... That's right folks Jason Bourne's awesome fighting techniques dumbed down to just 2 buttons, well 3 if you count the "block" button. I almost wanted to cry.

The shooter aspect of the game is not bad but also far from good. Just normal and boaring... and if I have a gun why can't I use it instated of having to fight 3/4 of the guys hand to hand when i could just shoot them?

And the attempt at sneering around is just a joke... Not much more I can say there. Normaly even a bad game is a good rental, you know, keep you busy for an afternoon or until you just can't take it anymore. This happened for me after about 30min. Just avoid this and any other game named after a movie...

You all know if we the customer stop buying Hollywood's Trash games they might stop making them... Wishful thinking on my part I know, but I'm getting tired of seeing great characters, plots and idea's turn out so bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good idea, Bad execution

posted by Mazlarky11 (ASHFORD, CT) Nov 23, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

At first this game feels fresh and new, something a little different then all the run and gun shooters out there. But after the first level or so you begin to realize something...the controls are horrible. And that is when you'll put down your controller and never come back. Its a shame because this could have been a great game, but the controls are just clumsy and the camera angle is horrible. Don't waste your time with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same old, same old...and a little depressing.

posted by PoolBoy (PACIFIC PALISADES, CA) Jun 12, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

After playing the first mission you've basically played all the rest of them – hunting down terrorists, henchmen, bosses, and foiling evil plots to do something horrible somewhere. With a variety of weapons you can dispatch your targets. Additionally, it couldn't be a game about Jason Bourne without a great deal of hand-to-hand action. This aspect of the game disappointed me the most because...well, frankly there's nothing to it. All those kickass moves are done for you, as you, the gamer have but to push three buttons to stomp someone's face in: A-block, X-Light Attack, and Y-Heavy Attack. Then all you have to do is learn catch the predictably patterned movements of your opponent, and then before you know it your an unstoppable force. I'll also say that I think there needed to be a few more checkpoints along the way, along with the option to save progress at will throughout the game, as opposed to being at the mercy of checkpoints. The graphics are good, I'll give it that much -- but at this point in time that should be a given with any game. I guess, for me, there was too much of a flat, linear, two-dimensional, rote arcade element/feel to the game that gave me a distractedly pointless existential feeling of dread the more I played -- as if this is all there is, and that this is as good/bad as it gets.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bourne Conspiracy

posted by seadog60 (WOODSTOCK, GA) Jun 8, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

My first review, and this game is pathetic. Mario bros. can move faster than bourne, platform for game leaves no chance for mistakes or exploration .
The weapon controls suck, and the fighting is'nt much better.
Sierra software needs to find another outlet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BOURNES BACK WORTHY OF ACITON GAME OF THE YEAR

posted by gamer519 (AKRON, OH) Jun 5, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

6 out of 31 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

and better then ever this game deserves nothing but high praise if people give it a low score then your not in bournes league and your not any good at games this game got me into the bourne world this game will grab by the seat and give you the the biggest shake yet people who know bourne best will enjoy this game i i strongly suggest you watch the movies before u play the game so you know what its about ign is dumb they gave a low score a good one but still low this game deserves the best reviews yet the action in th game will make you stayed to your seat your pants im not going to go in detail bout the game casue i want you to play it for your self so i will give nothing away but i will say its a game worth your time and money if it if rusthru it your get no real fun of the game so just sit back and enjoy bournes fist of fury

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Conspiracy

posted by jessi12 (NEWARK, OH) Jun 17, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

this game was ok but it was to short i beat it the second day i got it. It had some good fighting but it was short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Try something else

posted by VonScottX (WICHITA, KS) Nov 29, 2008

Member since May 2007

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Wow. Not good at all. The graphics are solid, but thats about it. Something about the movement gave me a headache within 20 minutes. Plus, there's one guy (a "boss") that seems impossible to get past on "trainee" mode. How sad is that?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Conspiracy

posted by killerb83 (EVANS, GA) Jul 4, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 15 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

Lets see when you can play the game its a agood game. The aiming and shooting could be alittle better. But the worst part of the game. Is the fact that every little while during game play it freezes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak story

posted by danbibbins (MONTEREY PARK, CA) Jun 8, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

The game itself was very good. the graphics and controls were good. The fight scenes were good but not challenging.
New rule, of you make a video game from a movie, do not make it exactly like the movie. I have watched the movie about one hundred times and with the exception of a few scenes, the game follows The Bourne Identity verbatim.
The game is fun, but I finished it in four hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good fun game

posted by Metallica0 (BEAVERTON, OR) Aug 18, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

Controls are excellent. QTE worked good. Really Enjoyed. 1000/1000 Achievements

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

UNDERRATED

posted by pretteboy25 (ELK GROVE, CA) Jul 25, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

nothing much to say other than the game is underrated I was expecting a 6.6 shooting game but man there was hand to hand combat that was pretty fun and challenging and the game is just really action-packed nonstop with pistol to physical looking executions. The game is great and definitely a buy. But to most gamers it might only be worth 1 play through, but I loved it cant wait til the movie is out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Avoid!!!

posted by jathamstrife (MESA, AZ) Feb 20, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Poor game mechanics. Poor fighting quality. ai is cheap and unfair even in the lowest difficulty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Broken!!!

posted by NewGameFlier (RALEIGH, NC) Dec 4, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Wasnt playable when i got it.....So disappointing :/.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

bourne not lol

posted by thomasthewolf (LOUISBURG, MO) Nov 9, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

well first off im not big on the open gun fights all out in the open i mean this is based on the book and movie im guessing however when ever has bourne ever got into an all out gun fight thru a bus station or the embassy or thru out the book i mean if he was a covert agent in this game there is nothing covert about it lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Was ok but room for improvement

posted by brett83501 (LEWISTON, ID) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

Like many others said the first person shooter part of this game kind of sucked. You could not zoom in with sights or anything, and basically had a little dot as your sight, that a red circle would appear when you had the guy in your sights.

The storyline, and gameplay was fun though. In some area's followed along with the movie, and others did not.

What I hated about the game, was when there was more than one bad guy and the one would rush you so you were forced to fist fight with him, and the other guy would just stand back and take pop shot's at you with his gun and there was no way to get cover, and basically just had to hope you could get the takedown move to hurry up and finish the guy before you got killed.

All and all I think the game was fun, but there was definatly some room for some improvements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the disc i got didnt work

posted by kinbuds (FARMINGTON, NM) Jul 27, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

the disc i received in the mail did not work it had little bits of paint on it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

jason bourne LIVES!!!!!

posted by bilbobagginzMgD (BRONX, NY) May 5, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

First of all this is my first review.... second off.....this game was awesome!!!
definitely enjoyed this game fully.

I mostly play shooters so this was a good change of pace especially considering the age of this game (2-3 yrs old)but i was on the edge of my seat waiting for the next cut-scene sequence.

also if your a fan of the movies than the movie tie-ins will definitely get you on the (so that's what happened) path...

all in all i give this game full marks!

long live jason bourne!!! and lets all pray for a 4th and 5th movie!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Bourne Conspiracy

posted by MrStarChat (LOS ANGELES, CA) Dec 5, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Well this game was fun played it over my sick days lots of power moves on agent it takes you through the journey of who Jason Bourne is and if you loved the Movies with Matt Damon you will get a kick out of this game took me five days to complete but you could beat it in three days

Graphics was B-
Game play B+
Story/plot B+

Overall Rating 7.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse