Rent Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Conspiracy for PS3
view large frontback

Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Conspiracy

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.5

3351 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Make It Longer

posted by Deadpool3g (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 5, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

20 out of 22 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

The game was good and well planned but too short. The fighting system is simple, the shooting scenes are just as good, but the game was too short and there wasnt enough driving scenerios to go thru.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

and I loved the books and movies

posted by lokiranea (MAGNA, UT) Jul 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sorry to say this game just doesn't make it in the playable category. The items that you interact with have SUCH a small area of interaction that you have to spend time lining yourself up just to open a door or get some ammo. There's also the shooting, did you know that after taking a bullet, while you're moving in pain you're impervious to other bullets? Me either but apparently the baddies in this game are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Confusing.

posted by _ImMostDope (stone mountain, GA) Jun 28, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game is really good, the buttons are just confusing as heck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lame!!!

posted by GMONEY220 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jun 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is garbage!The actual control,graphics,and motion sucks!Will never measure up to 007!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow...

posted by Jackamania (ATLANTA, GA) Oct 31, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS THE BOMB! It looks like a TV show, and the picture on the cover explains it all, YOU NEED TO RENT OR BYE this game. I think it could of been longer,maybe some more guns, but hey ITS A GREAT GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The Bourne Emptiness

posted by Eman5805 (HARVEY, LA) Jun 10, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

I've read the books and seen the movies and and deeply saddened by the halfa$$ed attempt at recreating the feel of the character Jason Bourne. The game isn't all bad, the takedowns are brutal and the physics make them have a real weight to every punch, kick, and head slamming into the edge of a concrete wall, but the combat is too thin to justify the character.

Jason Bourne is a dynamic fighter and a person should feel like Bourne because they're fighting dynamically, however, fights are great early on as your discover new combos and see nice takedowns. But there isn't a lot of depth and you start doing the same couple comboes the entire game. Being Bourne you'd kind of expect far more variety in how you control the beatdown. In this game you really throw a few combos, press a button then let the game do the rest. Satisfying only for eye candy. Not a $60 game.

Next is the horrible shooting. Not merely the mechanics, but shooting in general. Unless you can find a way to line up those tough head shots, you'll find yourself unloading half a clip of an automatic weapon into a single enemy. Kevlar or not, if you shoot anyone more than 5 times they should be going down.

And last but not least the game is about a 6 level romp that can easily be finished in a single sitting for even a novice gamer. It isn't even nearly as long as it could be, and it's storyline doesn't even make sense in some instances with the stoic voice actor playing Bourne barely registering the slightest emotion even when Bourne is supposed to be angry.

The potential lost in this game is kinda depressing as it would've been so cool to do the crowded train station scene where you cover a hapless reporter, swiftly taking out enemy agents before they can kill him. Or even delving deeper into Bourne's pre-Treadstone past that only the books truly elaborated on.

All in all it's not a very bad game, it just isn't full enough to warrant more than a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great game if

posted by Silentme (O FALLON, MO) Jun 10, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

If you enjoy doing the same thing over and over through every mission. Good concept behind the game with great fighting however it falls very short kinda like assasins creed did, you just feel as if your doing the same thing over and over again.

Driving lacks in every way, you feel as if your driving a go kart and not a car. the graphic on the outlying buildings during this is horrible and as you race through the streets you get the feeling again that after this 10 minute drive through the city that you have been driving in a circle for the whole time.

Worth the rent but hardly worth much game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ONE OF THE BEST

posted by gamerkingG (PELHAM, NY) Jan 19, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

this game was one of the best games i ever played. The only bad thing was that there was only like 10 missions and the game was short. Even though every mission was filled with non-stop action the game was short and I felt like a part of it was missing. If you have rented this game and are through 5 missions and think you will buy it DON'T even though i loved this game it was only worth renting not buying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This game was a total disappointment for a fan of

posted by mikeny79 (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Aug 3, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game was a total dissapointment for a fan of the movie. It was a cheap drakes fortune's game play rip off. The hand to hand was lame with only a light and hard punch and kick. They tryed a aiming system like Max Pain it sucked. THe weopons were Ok this game is worth the rent just play on easy or normal not worth alot of time at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pretty Sketchy

posted by tloc3385 (BUTLER, PA) Sep 1, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game showed promise but was executed poorly. You will find yourself getting stuck on corners and doorways alot. The fight buttons are a little minimal and the combo system doesnt make you feel like jason bourne at all. Weapon aiming is slow and choppy. I wouldn't recommend this game to any of my friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Belongs on the Wii

posted by caseyj6206 (APO, AE) Aug 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is supposed to go along with the movie? Some areas of it do but most of it is walking around in areas that I have never seen in the movies. Also, the fighting is pretty good....For the first stage or two. After that, the moves get repetative. The graphics are not up to PS3 standards.... Looks like it belongs on the Wii or back on the PS2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If you liked "Uncharted: Drake's fortune"...

posted by snorkelbug (FRAMINGHAM, MA) Jun 8, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Great "man against the world" game in the spirit of Drake's fortune.
Cool, detailed hand to hand fight sequences, creative use of environment, and excellent 3rd person shooting make this my 2nd favorite PS3 game since "Uncharted."
I'm currently still working on this game so I can't comment on it's length, but even if it's short, I'd still recommend it---think you'll like what you see and do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the bourne conspiracy

posted by lilwoadi10 (NILES, MI) May 13, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game is not as good as i had hoped it would be, there is not a lot of interactive gameplay and the moves are so limited. for being released in the 21 st century i had expected alot, but was very dissapointed. i do not suggest this game to gamers out there!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

WEAK.... very WEAK..... TOO WEAK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by viper3400 (NAVARRE, FL) Aug 30, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

TOO SHORT. BOURING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WORSE THAN GTA 3 on PS2!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Repetitive

posted by Blade2382 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Game is horrendously repetitive, and next to impossible to get through at certain levels, unless reloading countless times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow!

posted by Grat2001 (OAKLEY, CA) Jun 9, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

About dang time someone did a great game based on a movie!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

game of the year

posted by THWKNS23 (HARVEST, AL) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST IF NOT THE BEST GAME I HAVE PLAYED WITH A GOOD MIX OF FIGHTING AND SHOOTING,WITH A GREAT STORY LINE. GOOD GRAPHICS AND DETAIL YOU OWE IT TO URSELF TO TRY....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hot

posted by DirtyDozen (NEW YORK, NY) Jun 5, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 13 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

This Game Is Hot, You Need To Get This One For Real.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just For The Fans

posted by Germaximus (GLENDALE, CA) Jun 7, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

The gameplay is cinematic and awesome looking but it's also bland.

There's far too much shooting going on in the game in my opinion. I mean it's good gameplay, good controls, but it doesn't fit what I think the Bourne series is. I would have expected a more stealth based game. It does have a lot of fun melee combat but the shooting takes up at least half of the combat.

On top of that, the melee combat itself is really basic. The one thing that saves it is the Take Down meter. This fills up rather quickly and allows you to take out one to three enemies in an awesome in game cinematic with ease.

I think it's worth a rent for anybody that's a big fan of the movies. But there is one thing you should know. It does not span over the trilogy. It's basically just the first movie. I have no idea why the description says it spans over the trilogy.
That was pretty disappointing.

Pretty nice graphics still, they're not impressive but they're solid and good looking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bourne conspiracy

posted by Winnie123 (BELLEVILLE, MI) Apr 18, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

Awesome game just like the movie

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Bourne Conspiracy (just finished playing)

posted by Billy1234744 (SAMSON, AL) Dec 30, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I had this game on my Game Q for quite awhile, shifting its position from time to time until things lined up right and Game-Fly sent it to me. After playing it I,m not quite sure why its availability was almost always low. I found the game good but not exceptional. I personally prefer shooter games overall, this game did have shooter play thrown in here and there. But by and large this game is a hand to hand combat game. As always I thank Game-Fly for being a business that allows me to play games without having to buy them. I,ve yet to find a reason to regret joining Game-Fly. Thank you Billy P.S. The T rating may account for its low availability status, since not everyone can get or wants to get the M rated games like I do, but on the availability issue I,m just guessing. See Ya!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not worth the time

posted by PM94 (BUFFALO, NY) Oct 31, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

I'm going to be critical with this, so if you like the game, just take into consideration why I'm saying the things I'm bringing forward in this review. After beating this title in a matter of 2 days (Could of been a few hours if I played straight through it without breaks), the game has potential (It could of been a great experience), BUT there's so many holes with it. The way the story is presented is so amateurish (kind of like a really stripped down Indigo Prophecy/Fahrenheit, the difference is that game presented their story well), the dialogue is so predictable, & the combat gets soooo boring & dragged out. I don't even feel challenged after awhile, every mission is exactly the same format. Find this thing/guy, kill the boss, & escape. That simple. The story also happens way too fast. It goes from one thing to the next, with little explanation as to why or down time. Before you can grasp what the last cut-scene showed, you're already put into the next part of the story. You're given the information you need in order to understand the basic plot of the game, but it can be very hard to interpret right away. One more thing, there's no trophies for the PS3 version. You get to unlock extras for accomplishing tasks as it says in the game, but it's not in a trophy format. For me, I like to level up with my PSN, so that was sort of a huge turn-off from the beginning. Overall, it's not worth the money or time, I just played it because I'm a big fan of the Bourne series. I gave it a 2 instead of the lowest possible rating of 1, only because the graphics are pretty good. I think that deserves a complimentary star.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Tolerable...Barely

posted by Shaide (TAFT, CA) Sep 27, 2012

Member since Dec 2003

The game wasn't bad, and was worth the que slot, however not much more than that. The game has poor graphics, that reminded me of PS2 graphics, which is not what I would expect for a title on the PS3.

Also, the game was short. Way too short! It seemed like there was something missing, and there was! 2 books/films worth! Despite the description this game does not span the trilogy and beyond. What it does span is the Bourne Identity and before. That's it!

The voice acting and music left a lot to be desired as well. I have heard better voice acting in old SEGA CD games, which is saying something!

Now, with that being said, I want to stress that the game isn't ALL bad! It does have some redeeming factors! Namely the gameplay! The gameplay is fun, entertaining and at times exciting! The flashback missions, which are the bulk of the game, were enjoyable, and often times reminded me of a slightly more trigger happy version of Splinter Cell.

Bottom line, if you like action spy stories, have a day or two to waste, and an empty spot on your queue, then you might want to look into adding it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Super fun game, but REALLY short

posted by errorcode689 (SNOW HILL, NC) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

As a fan of the movies and of third person shooters I absolutly loved this game, but the only problem I have with it is the overall length, its maybe 4hours long, I beat it in about 3.5 hours, and for such a fun game it deserves more. Anyway let me talk about the good, game play is really fun weather you are driving, shooting, or just felling like a complete badas durring the melee combat, its all fun. Graphics are really good as well, story follows the movie so I loved it, but heres another thing it's basiclly the 1st movie but its giving you all of the backstory, while it was good I wish they innovated a little bit with it. Over all this is a great game, though its short it will be some of the funnest 3.5-4hours of your life, its deffinately woth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very fun game

posted by shadmanscofield (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jul 9, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

If you haven't seen the bourne movies you should see them first before you play this game. This game is very cool all of bourne's take down moves are in the game. there's shooting and fighting the story does not follow completely to the movies but some parts you will remember from the movies.the graphics are not the best i've seen but very good. If you like the bourne movies you'll like the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse