Rent Risen 2: Dark Waters for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Risen 2: Dark Waters

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
4.9

636 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Take a Swig or Back Away From the Bar

posted by hisownsidekick (GLENCOE, MO) Feb 1, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Risen 2 is exactly like the rum so popular with its pirate characters: bitter, strong, sweet, and unrefined. Do not go into this game expecting a Mass Effect or a Skyrim. Don't even go into it expecting an Amalur. This is a different beast, as anyone familiar with Piranha Bytes, the developer, can tell you. Ever since 2001's Gothic, this German team has been making hardcore, open-world, Western-style rpgs. And yes, every word in that sentence is necessary, doubly so the word "hardcore."

This is one of those rpgs where you begin the game getting shamed by weak enemies. You can easily wander into an area far beyond your current strength. If you want to gain new skills and level up certain abilities, you don't go into a menu and press a button; you seek out a trainer and pay them to instruct you. You start out shoeless and in rags. You have to put a good 10-20 hours into the game before you get your pirate ship and even then, you sail it with a skeleton crew until you can recruit more.

In addition, the game has nowhere near the budget or team size of a Bioware or Bethesda hit. It has bugs and you're going to want to save often and keep multiple save files. Combat is fun but janky. Some things aren't explained well; some aren't explained at all (Google is your friend). Graphically, it looks nice but a bit rough and overall it's fairly unimpressive.

So if you've been paying attention, you know I've covered the "bitter," "strong," and "unrefined" parts. What are the "sweet," then? Combat has a lot of interesting options from voodoo to sabres to dirty tricks to muskets with bayonets. Objectives have multiple approaches as well; thief around, use magic, or browbeat and duel to get what you want. The soundtrack is beautiful, the story is decent, the voice acting is great, the exploration is rewarding, and come on... you get your own pirate ship and crew.

If this sounds like a fun time to you, have some patience and you'll be right. If not, better look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok game but remember to save atleast every few min

posted by sandman441 (ANCHORAGE, AK) Aug 4, 2012

Member since May 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

so this game is ok, a few bugs and it shoulda been beta tested a bit more but I liked the story and it was atleast interesting though it wasn't piratey enough. I'm only sending the game back because the autosave sucks and didn't feel like replaying the 2 hours of game that I lost by not saving when I should have. Also when loading a game for the first time or if you die and reload a save, the game takes like 2 minutes to load it's pretty annoying.

I'm still waiting for a open world pirate game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lightyears ahead of the first one!

posted by DigitalSky (OAK PARK, IL) Sep 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2006

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

People will ache and moan about these kinds of games (action RPGs from small developers) but the simple fact is that this game is good if you're willing to deal with only a few minor issues.

WHAT'S GOOD?

- The leveling system from the first game has been tossed out in favor of a much simpler and more effective XP system. It's WAY better.

- The graphics are noticeably better. The player models may not blow you away, but they've definitely improved the world you move in. From beaches to caves to towns, the graphics are more refined and pleasant to look at.

- Gameplay is more focused. They've narrowed down melee to two types, slashing and stabbing. This makes things magnificently simpler, and IMO, better. It lets you decide more easily whether to focus on melee or ranged.

- Companions. You could have temporary help in the first game, but in this game, there's an entire companion system. Choose who you like from who you've recruited, and let them help you wherever you go. No more getting nailed in the back by a gang of enemies!

WHAT'S BAD

- In my 30 hour journey to the end of the game, I experienced about half a dozen crashes. It can be a real bummer :( The game autosaves pretty frequently, but it was still really annoying.

- It's old school. They build the game, then let you loose in it. If you don't pull yourself together, it will kill you. Don't expect any hand-holding. It's not truly a hard game, it just doesn't do a lot of the modern game, "assistance," that many gamers have become used to. You may need to check out some FAQs to advance at a few stages.

SO!!!

I'd recommend a play through. It's a good game with a fun story and fun game play. It reminds me a lot of the huge improvements made from the 1st and 2nd games in the Two Worlds franchise. Don't let the soft-skinned haters turn you away from it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Risen 2: Sunk Again

posted by Ravynheart (LOUISVILLE, KY) Nov 13, 2012

Member since Oct 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game had the potential to be an awesome game that push all boundaries; graphics, gameplay, story...everything. Sadly, this games chance to shine died when the Playstation ONE went away.

Yes, this game is that bad. The graphics are sad. The character models are squared off. Whenever you fast travel, you get a good 15-20 seconds of watching the surround pieces snap into existence. Buildings, stairs, benches, stools, everything not part of the base texture, will load AFTER you have made it to your destination and the screen has loaded. Obviously they forgot to tell the system to load these things while your in the loading screen. Its why loading screens exist. Duh!

The gameplay. You start off knowing how to swing a sword, like a five year old. As you progress you have the ability to learn more tricks, but swinging a sword like a five year old ends up doing most of the work. Your character can jump...but they shouldn't have bothered putting it in. Put a line at the top of his boot and jump. You will not reach that line. Literally, its that bad. Hit detection versus enemies is lacking. You can SHOOT an enemy at point blank, and miss. The enemy can swing a sword, or bite at you in the case of animals, and hit you, even if the hit lands five feet from your person.

The missions are mostly fetch this, go get that, type of missions. Even when you get party members, they randomly decide to walk away and leave you with the big difficult missions by yourself. For no real apparent reason.

There is a logbook to keep track of your missions for you. But this was obviously poorly thought out. It tells a general description of your mission, and might show you where your next objective is, or show you that it has something to do with a random location and give no specifics otherwise. That's fine if you play the game from start to finish without pausing. The rest of us have to just guess. Or just send it back and play something GOOD.

Overall, 4/10, Weak at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Piles of potential.. no payoff

posted by brokenhead (MURPHY, TX) Sep 14, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I liked this game for about an hour then it fell flat. I don't like the character development system. Attaining skills was near impossible as getting gold was near impossible.
The combat system was clunky with no ability to safely control the camera AND focus on an enemy. I wanted to like this game but I just couldn't get past the deficiencies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

If you've got patience...

posted by Jahardo (AURORA, CO) Aug 2, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

...then maybe this is the game for you. If you are expecting Elder Scrolls level of polish then you'll want to pass on this one. The first 3 hours of this were so bad it made me put it right back in the sleeve and send it back. If you have the patience to deal with the terrible ps2/original xbox style graphics, wonky combat, utterly confusing quest system and other annoyances then this might be a good game.

If you have better things to do with your time, like play well made games, save this one for a rainy week when no other games are available.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

could have been great

posted by beast_mode (JACKSON, CA) Sep 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game has so much going for it (pirates) and then it just fails. the graphics look like original xbox, the voice over is terrible, and overall polish is just not there. But all that aside there is one thing the game could have done and all that would have been overlooked. That one thing being.......A MINI MAP WITH QUEST LOCATION. but NOOOOOOOO the only way to look at the map is to pause the game, scroll through bearly legible menus and find it. simply put this game just is not done. its like they decided to release a beta as final product.

In a market were everyone puts everything into a game to try and make me spend my hard earned cash on it, this just doesnt cut it. Needless to say i will NEVER play another game put out by this developer (is they survive this terrible terrible game lauch) ever again. just go play KOA:R or skyrim and save yourself the time you will never get back....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Painful

posted by EDPgamer (SACRAMENTO, CA) Sep 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I tried playing this game, it very painful to play and abit disrespectful to gamers. I waited for this game so wasn't worth it. Xbox Original graphics, wonky controls, dumb objectives and lagging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible

posted by mattr25 (PHOENIX, AZ) Aug 2, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

11 out of 27 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

I'll go into more details though the only other review basically says it all. Voice acting they sound rather bored, though the animations to go with make it look like they are excited.

Course that isn't a big deal, can simply mute anyway. The rest of it though. Graphically this game doesn't look very good, there's really little in the way of detail. A cannon looks like a cannon but there's no grain to it. Same with the boats, and buildings, people especially.

Promising story, gods get help making the world from titans who are then locked away because they are warring. Titans escape and are killing off people. So far so good right, well it goes way downhill. Instead of people versus titans, it's Inquisition versus pirates, and titans. Then it really goes downhill, every conversaton is voice acted, the problem with that is above. There is another problem, they keep talking.

Right at the beginning get told to go see the commander, for three minutes. There's no way to speed it up. Doesn't matter if you just want to say get up and go see the commander, you just listen and your character talks back a little.

Combat is rather basic and not really working. Pull the sword and attack with the same button, that's combat. Putting the sword away happens for you after combat. There doesn't seem to be a lock on feature, or I missed it since there's no this button does this feature on first combat.

Honestly, this game could be really good even with the hoinky story if it was finished and they bothered to do voice acting right. I'm calling this released well before they actually finished. Makes me think it is an EA game and it isn't. Avoid like the plague it's not worth anything, I'll call the latest NCAA football better but not by much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

YARGGG

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Aug 2, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

8 out of 20 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I'm a Pirate!

First off, this is another RPG -- That is rather difficult, but highly expansive. I been enjoying these technical games, I missed needing strategy guides and been getting tired of these titles that are just EASY.

The story goes -- You assume the role of a Captian.
Apart of the govern power, you are a lieutenant. The Titans are plaguing the world with destruction. Unsure of how or why the titans are destroying the world. You head off to join a band of pirates... Making your own crew... You gather a crew together on your journey and head off onto uncharted Islands to find the cause and reason of the Titans encumbering the world with destruction. All in attempt to end their rein.

I tried playing some, before giving a list of things you can do, but I found that there is far too much to really say.

I wish you didn't start off at not being great at fighting, but as you obtain Glory(leveling system mechanic) you can boast your stats and moves. You can also, talk to others and they can teach you skills. Doing that same instance of talking to AI, you can learn how to: make guns, use guns better, make lockpicks, sneak, intimidate, and a whole bunch of other things. LOTS of stuff you can do in this title.

Another thing, you will spend a good amount of time doing this, but calibrate the video contrast, brightness, and gamma settings in the game options. Doing so will give you a more vivid graphics.

Various types of weapons, skills, and other abilities to obtain. Harsh enemies, whom lay traps, and even do some voodoo. This title is top knotch. Spend some time in the first area -- Just to get the fighting controls down or you will be more frustrated. There is technique to it and the more you get the idea of it... The better idea you get when fighting enemies.

The game is originally for the PC, but it is still good on the consoles. If you like pirates, try this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

KKrap Graphics!!!

posted by PhatDaddy (THE VILLAGES, FL) Oct 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Don't bother! I have a 65 inch HD TV and I still can't read the instructions on the screen. Serif typefaces and TV/Computer monitors are not suitable for the style and size of "fonts" used.

Whew; extremely poor choices! I played two minutes and returned disk. "Nuff said.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very fun game that could of been really special

posted by GBTemplar (DESTIN, FL) Sep 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I myself enjoyed Risen 2 quite a bit actually and would recommend this game to anybody that likes open word game-play type games. If Risen 2 had graphics like Skyrim, more islands/secret places to explore, more treasure to find, more people to talk to, had the option of buying property and to build homes or maybe even start a city, allow the player to bury his own treasures where ever he pleases and so on and so forth. Risen 2 could of been the best game to ever come out period. Hopefully one of these days somebody makes another open world pirate game and includes everything i just said and more into it. It be super cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Risen 2 trash on disk

posted by jasonpelliott24 (HALTOM CITY, TX) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

8 out of 31 gamers (26%) found this review helpful

This is the worst RPG ever Ive only had it 6 hours and its already back in my mailbox please do not put ths game in your Q YOU'VE BEEN WARNED

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

retro???

posted by humper (WESTERVILLE, OH) Aug 4, 2012

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This would have been a good game if it came out 6 + years ago. It seems like the makers put in very little work into this game. The controls suck the graphics suck the story sucks... I have not found any positives to this title. But good luck if you want to waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!!!!

posted by MonkeyDLuffy (SUN VALLEY, NV) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

It takes a little time to get used but great game love the pirate theme and crew jaffar rocks f## k yes!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Quite underrated

posted by Nosson (SAINT PAUL, MN) Aug 11, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

I played the original Risen for a few hours and wasn't a fan of the poor port that was done for it. And after seeing how bad this one had done, I decided to give it a try. To start off, you can't go into this game expecting some high end RPG like the Elder Scrolls series, or Borderlands. So, I am going to do a pros and cons list for anyone interested in checking this game out.

PROS:
It has pretty decent graphics. For a smaller developer, the game certainly looks quite well. Definitely an improvement to the engine from the previous Risen installment.
The game has strong voice acting throughout the entire experience.

Now for the cons.

CONS:
The game is quite difficult. Even with the game set on Easy, it can be quite challenging and that seems to be a throw off for most people who have tried to get into it.
It has several character models that are reused over and over, which isn't always bad, but can be repetitive to some.
It's also very buggy. Whoever ports the game to console doesn't do a very good job, considering there are no control schemes.

OVERALL:
The game is not bad. It's certainly an improvement over the last game, but still has some flaws that could be worked out in a next installment. For now though, we'll just have to wait and see what Piranha Bytes has in store for the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Underrated

posted by Yayoa1 (INVERNESS, FL) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

All right, this game is pretty tight. Doesn't make you feel like a powerhouse cuz you aren't supposed to be a powerhouse. You learn to fight through teachings and get better through experience. Tough at first, but all you gotta do is man up and quest away with caution. Act like it's your real life at stake man. Pick your battles. Didn't like the last fight though. Too easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Risen 2 Rude

posted by brentkdyer (AUGUSTA, ME) Mar 26, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Im not sure why I even tried this game. I didnt finish the first Risen due to an overly complicated story line infintesmal side quest and abusive AI's. I'm sure many people would consider this an exciting challenge and I realize the trend for games of this type to follow in the foot steps of the Elder Scrolls series... But getting verbally abused, slapped, shot, beaten and stabbed by every character in the game and not being able to do anything about it because 1. the rest will gang up on you and kick the stuffing out of you or 2. if you do fight back you may offend them or kill them and adversly effect the story line. Realism is the new trend sure. But I prefer to play in a world less rotten. just sayin...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not worth your time

posted by lezBreal (FREMONT, CA) Nov 27, 2012

Member since May 2012

this game is really poorly made. the sharacters are stiff and it makes you wannuh go to sleep rather than play...NEXT!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

almost perfectly terrible

posted by danguano (PORTLAND, OR) Nov 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

i'm impressed by how close this game comes to "so bad it's good" status, but it still misses by a hair. the load screen jarringly pops up abruptly at odd moments. dialog scenes are pretty well read, but edited like a two dollar porno. scenery and textures are pretty good, though details will show up late, even in cut scenes. text is comically unreadable. the wide-legged six-inches-off-the-ground jump button is HILLARIOUS. cracks me up every time.
if i had nothing better to do with my life, i would play this through and probably enjoy it. but for now- back in the envelope you go...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Risen 2

posted by wavesrsnow (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 24, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

This game is SOO much better on the PC

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too racially charged and combat is weak.

posted by Nergle (SPRING VALLEY, CA) Nov 14, 2012

Member since Jun 2007

This game was on it's way to getting a 6 or 7 rating from me. The crafting and character development was decent, despite having a little bit of a weak combat system. However, on the second island I ran into some of the white NPCs that referred to the black native NPCs as "Spearchuckers" along with other familiar sounding epithets. I love a game that isn't afraid to get gritty and add extra realism to their environment, but they couldn't find a better way of doing that? After a few minutes of thinking it annoyed me enough to put the game right back in it's sleeve and dump it in the mail. Being a voodoo pirate is pretty useless too, despite how cool the skill descriptions made it sound. All in all, you can definitely find better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Some developers should NOT!

posted by TGP1000 (INGLESIDE, IL) Sep 3, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

Plan and simple... Worse then the first!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »