Rent Risen 2: Dark Waters for PS3
view large frontback

Risen 2: Dark Waters

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
4.4

444 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

a decent game :(

posted by xrgamer (INDIO, CA) Jan 31, 2013

Member since May 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

by far this was a decent game iunfortunately thats about it for this game which unfortunately actually has a correct way of responding if you dont respond a specific way quest will lock so beforewarned. on my first save i wandered around and spent what little gold i had onry there upgrades and measly clothes to my unfortunate discovery i h that you have to prioritize certain updates. now on my second playthrough of the island i discovered that this was a pirate themed adventure game. where you get to play pirate dress up. so after learning and exceping that this is just an adventure game i liked it alittle more the alchol brewing was an intresting feature among the rather intresting crafting menu unfortunatel i never had enough skill. overall this was a fun game i recomend it as a rent not a keep.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

look past the bad graphics

posted by XxToboexX (MIDLAND, TX) Aug 4, 2012

Member since May 2010

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Don't let the games bad graphics make you give it a low rating . its really a good game there's lots to do in it and lots to level up. i always base a game off of the game play not its looks sure looks are great but its not great when game play cant back it up. This game excels on game play although the combat is a bit clunky its still fun. also the game is a bit dark so be sure to fix up the settings a bit. You also can get legendary items that permanently improve your stats. basically let me give you rundown on the pros and cons.
Pros:
1:lots to do
2:lots to level up
3:lots to learn, it is pretty cool to be able to make your own guns an weapons and such
4:combat has strategy
5:i don't want to give to much away but you get your own ship and crew

Cons:
1:clunky combat
2:bad graphics
3:bad lighting
4:some sound problems (but you can always try installing it)

basically its good don't let everyone's bad ratings fool you. you would have to try it for yourself to see the rest of it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Glitches/Freeze Ups/Fail'ness

posted by cpt4500 (LAGUNA HILLS, CA) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I am very disappointed in this games performance visually/graphically, story lore wise, & the sound is all off from what the characters are actually doing. IGN noted a while back that the previous game had numerous issues with release and this sequel looked to be going down that same route. Well it did ....

In the first two hours I had the story freeze up on me a few times what only seemed due to the auto save feature that seems to happen about every few minutes.

Right out the gate after talking to the commander I was walking down towards the ship after the "beach" quest to only find my self walking in mid-air because I walked off the downward stairway off to the right side. How was this not caught during game testing?

The combat is button smashing but no depth to it.
Games like these I tend to only put 6-8 hrs into and they go right back in the mail box. Thank god for gamefly, amiright?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Developer should be made to walk the plank

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Aug 1, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

This could've been a good game. After all, there aren't many pirate-themed RPGs on consoles, and it would be nice to get a good one to play. Sadly, "Risen 2: Dark Waters" is not that game. From the moment the opening menus pop up, you know things aren't going to be good. The text is extremely difficult to read, and in some cases impossible to read. So forget being able to navigate the poorly put together menus. Graphically, this resembles more an early PS2 game instead of a latter stage PS3 game. Character animations are awkward and never synch up with their voices or even with combat. Not that it matters, since the voice acting is fairly weak and not that compelling to listen to. There may be a decent story here, but most will never see it to its conclusion, as the game's flaws will have you quitting long before the end. Combat feels empty and is merely button mashing on one button. You can learn other abilities, but only if you have the gold to do so. And you will need an exorbitant amount of said gold, and no real way to get what you need without a lot of ridiculous grinding by doing menial tasks. This just pads the game cheaply, instead of letting you progress at a nice pace and move things along. The controls aren't that great either, save for moving. Get into heavy combat and you're liable to throw yourself into the menus instead of fighting enemies. Frame rate drops often, and I had one freeze up very early on. This was poorly executed for all the decent ideas in the game, which makes this seem to be a rushed product, even though I believe it was delayed initially. Developer Piranha Byte should be made to walk the plank for this shipwreck of a game. I feel sorry for any who actually bought this. At least with Gamefly we can send it back the next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh

posted by Karat76 (WELLSTON, OH) Dec 2, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the story line and could tolerate the graphics and voice acting. The combat was sluggish and it was not nearly as open world as it had the potential of being it was very much a game on rails with an illusion of world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Another, technical RPG!

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Aug 3, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

But instead of magical stuff, you have a pirate's storyline and aspect. If you enjoyed, Two Worlds II, Dark Souls, and enjoy those type of games you have to really... Pay attention to what goes on... You would like this game.

You play as a captain
The world is at the Age of Destruction. Titans that were once sealed away inside the Earth are now, on land and sea destroying. You have to join with a crew of pirates and try to find a means to end their rein of destruction.

Ten minutes into the game, and you forget the essential story -- Like most RPGs. You should stay in the first area for a while and get the idea of the game's mechanics... Such as, the lock-on feature L2(holding it) . Get to know the game menu and leveling up mechanics. Talking to AI will put you with teachers, those teachers teach you additional moves so that you can be a better, fighter, shooter, thief, etc ...

Deep Silver made a great pirate game... You can even get a pet monkey to train. Had I known that I probably wouldn't have killed them all for points to level up... From building your own guns, weapons, lockpicks, and to a variety of minigames... Such as, drinking, shooting, and other things... This game is awesome.
You should also take a minute to adjust the brightness, contrast, and gamma settings in the game options so you can see a more vivid surroundings. Deep Silver did a amazing job, making the structures and wild life look very detailed, but some of the foliage should just have been cut out. Great storyline, humorous acting, interesting plots... PIRATES!!
I'm still finding new things you can do and level up in. From searching for treasures to teaching a monkey to steal(don't kill all the monkeys) ... Its a great game.

If you want a game to run through in one day -- THIS AINT FOR YOU. Requiring a good amount of time to learn and understand the game's entire elements is one of the challenges this title offers.

Check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Well, this stinks

posted by Locar (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Oct 5, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's not very often that you see a game come out in 2012 that is as terrible as this game. At first you think how many pirate games are out there so why not play it; some would even say once you look past the bad graphics that it's not a bad game. Unfortunately if a game is unplayable due to terrible camera angles, terrible controls, and overall terrible game play there is no way to tell how good of a game it is.
Playing this game makes me see why companies go under. I understand you have an ip that made a bit of money before so why not make another one, but my god, spend a little bit of time playing your own game. If you think its bad it may not be worth putting out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad game!!

posted by Bnep (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Games this bad should not even be able to be released anymore in this day and age!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why??

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Aug 1, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Worst game i played in Years!! Looks like a old PS2 Game should be a Free game- They should pay me for my wasted Time!!! Combat is boring voice acting is awful music is bad - Game s graphics are washed out!! Could it be any worse? I have a Headach playing this Game. Dont Waste a Rent Never buy at any any Price!!! Sorry it is Awful!!! Thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fail!!!

posted by tike0vitz (SEATTLE, WA) Jul 31, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

I was super excited for this game. On paper it reads like a great "play pirate" RPG which is what it should have been, and there are a bunch of great ideas and features here. Unfortunately, it is all executed amateurly. I admit i only played for about 3 hours, but that was all i could take. From the title screen I already got the feeling that this was a PS2 game that was rereleased for PS3. The in game animations are laughable, the dialogue is disjointed, and the fighting system is one note button mashing. There are however abilities to learn to improve combat but they cost seemingly outrageous amounts of money. I was able to learn one new ability in three hours... that is not flowing gameplay. This is why I have gamefly, if i had spent $60 on what sounded like a good game only to play this joke of an open-world rpg I would have broken something.(and pretended it was the game developers necks)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game but

posted by darkwolf99 (ANCHORAGE, AK) Aug 22, 2014

Member since Jan 2009

I enjoyed this game except for the glitch type errors that kept popping up. Game play was good, but I was just disappointed in the other things. sometimes the voice acting would vanish completely on some characters, and once it wouldn't stop freezing on me when i was trying to do some quests. Honestly its a good game, but its like they didn't get all of the kinks out of it before they put it on market. if they worked out ALL of kinks this game could easily be a 10 out of 10 in my opinion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This could have been so epic.

posted by Joshua3886 (ARCADIA, CA) Jul 30, 2014

Member since Oct 2009

I'll say the ONE thing that makes this game so bad: bugs. Freezing, glitching and frame skips happen on a consistent basis.
However, if their is a possibility for updates to solve these problems then WOW what a game. Think Assassins Creed Black Flag, but with more RPG and historical accuracy. I actually find myself learning about things during the pirate era. This game could have been tough competition for Skyrim, the amount of space you can explore, the endless items and quests make this game epic. If any of you can put up with the glitches, then realize that this game is only about 5$. Just use your gamefly coupon to buy it, give it a second chance and pray for an update.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game was terrible!!!!!!!!

posted by durango95 (DECATUR, AL) Jun 9, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

bad cut scenes,bad graphics,bad playing style ,pirates of the carribean meets skyrim, should have been good was not ,,,it sucks ,,sucks sucks some more and sucked..play this game or stare at the wall give me the wall

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

jeramy reviews risen 2 dark waters

posted by battlemage (PLEASANT GROVE, AL) Apr 13, 2013

Member since Feb 2011

"Okay lets get this going risen two dark water is a roleplaying pirate theamed adventure which to me shouts cool pirates! but this game is for the faint of gurt heck it took me forever to get past a few sidequests because gameplay is annoying first off everything looks the same in risen two i got lost going from place to place trying find where iam supposed to go and there is a ton a ton! of backtracking the backtracking in this game made me feel like i was in a roleplaying nightmare that never seemed it wanted to end the story something to do with titans gods stolen weapons. That steelbeards crew took which awoke the kraken which means the end or does it the main character is called the hero cause you know i felt like this game needed a choose your on adventure element name your character make your choices dress him up make you like ahem jack sparrow. but you cant and the team AI in this game could of been better foir example while running threw the woods i steped on a trap which killed me to which my team member said stupid

seriously your going to stand there the games story is what saves the game even though the combat is a bore and needs improvement and like i said up in the begnning of this written review you will get lost alot end result. Yeah its ok if you like the hardcore old school rpg like neverwinter nights which this kinda reminded me of alot actually."

overcall grade C+

why

+ storys great and interesting

+combats okay needs improvement

- backtracking alot of backtracking

- everything looks the same which will get you lost alot

-party members could help more ionstead of looking at her dead corpose and telling you how you suck at this game

thank you for reading - jeramy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If I wanted bugs

posted by rob465 (SANTA FE, NM) Jan 19, 2013

Member since May 2006

I'd go to a hoarders house...My god what a sad game...Got through the first part of, but when I got to Porta Sucko everytime I tried to buy ANYTHING there the game would freeze...This THE glitchiest game I've ever played...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too bad

posted by blackyori (BELLE FOURCHE, SD) Jan 9, 2013

Member since Feb 2010

This game had so much potential. At times felt like I was on PS2 because of quality. With the story and current graphics capability this game could have been awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Very Impressed

posted by lkorbal (NIXA, MO) Jan 4, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I was hesitant to rent this game because of the reviews on it but I went ahead and rented it anyways....not a great decision. When I first started the game I was very intrigued and liked it, but as the story progressed I kept dying because I could not find a lot of gold to buy weapons and armor. It became VERY frustrating and at points I could not figure out where my next mission was because the maps are terrible. After about three hours of gameplay I ejected the disc and sent it away in the mail.

Also, the graphics were not what I expected. Very glitchy and the text was so small I would have to squint to read it (and I play on a 55' TV). Other reviewers said they felt loading took forever and I will have to agree with them. Every time I turned a corner I worried that the loading screen would pop again.

Overall, if you are like me and don't have patience for a mediocre game about pirates, I would avoid renting this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Descending 2 the abysmal

posted by SethAtkins (DALLAS, TX) Dec 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

The reviews seem to be clearly divided into two camps, those that love it and those that think it is absolutely horrible. How to know which camp you will fall in before you try it? That is my goal here. Disclaimer: I hated it. Second, games like this justify a Gamefly membership, as you must rent it before deciding whether to own this title. The risk is high that you will hate it, as you can see the "hate it" significantly outnumber the high rankings.

How to be fair in this review, both to the game and to those who love it, when I think this is such an awful title? Tricky. Let me sum up by saying that I disliked it for many of the same reasons I stopped watching Tom Cruise movies in the 80s/90s...basically after you watched one, you watched them all, regardless of whether they put him in a race car driver outfit instead of a fighter pilot outfit. Same plot, same "twists", same theme, same everything, just different appearance. You knew within the first five minutes you saw it already. Same with Risen 2. If you have played any generic RPG, you've already played Risen 2, though with a piratey skin on everything, and little that felt truly innovative.

I was drawn to what sounded like an open world pirate game, but what I found was a shallow, linear RPG that had the "appearance" of depth. Put aside the horrible PS2-era graphics and awkward controls and camera angles that almost everyone can agree on being bad with Risen 2, because those things are tolerable if gameplay makes up for it. Sadly, it doesn't. And yes, I put in enough hours on this to give it a fair shot.

Things I found hopelessly irritating:
1) Seemingly endless grinding to improve stats and items
2) The game is almost entirely "on land". (Really???)
3) Featureless skills. For example, "pickpocketing" is enabled by thieving skills, and is simply a DIALOG choice with characters, and success is automatic based on the numerical skill being better than a certain level needed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Yawwwwn

posted by thelambchops (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Dec 3, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I wanted to like it I really did. Seemed like they concentrated on how to work swearing into the dialog more than gameplay. sad really Pirate game sounded fun, nope disappointed. What happened to games that didn't suck???? Think I'm gonna break out my PS2 and play champions of norrath. at least thats fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT PLAY THIS GAME: GLITCHED BEYOND DESCRIPTION

posted by War0979 (PICKERINGTON, OH) Oct 8, 2012

Member since Jan 2005

I was enjoying this game, I really was. I was playing thinking "I don't know what people are complaining about." THEN...I get to the second island. Got a few missions done, built up my thief ability to pickpocket and pick locks. Found a chest in the woods, went to unlock as I have a 50 ability and only need 30. Then it happened "I NEED A LOCKPICK" ...that's strange, I have a lockpick. Try again...nope the game bugged and erased my lockpick. Well no worries because I'll just buy a new one....NOPE, there is only one lockpick you get in the beginning island and that is it. Now I know why this game was so horribly reviewed. ONE LOCKPICK!!! Plus they did an update and didn't address that MAJOR ISSUE!?! I put hours into this game and for nothing. Wish Gamefly added an option under BUY, entitled "SNAP DISC IN HALF" or "LAUNCH GLITCHED USELESS GAME INTO GAME MAKERS FACE" I would so pay for those options right now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good but bad

posted by zavier09 (ENFIELD, CT) Sep 29, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

i was completely hooked ha ha until the end i defeated the kracken when the game froze i cleaned the disk ten times but nothing happend the game still froze i had control of my PS3 the hole time so my system did not freeze cause i quit each time through the PS button so that made me very disappointed with game fly and the disk is 100% clean of smudges and scratches so idk but it sucks i can't beat the game knowing i have am very capable of doing so if i could

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Risen? More like Sunken

posted by jjenkins1 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Sep 27, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Imagine a famous chef preparing a spectacular feast. He uses all the elements necessary to create an awesome meal, and even adds style to give the dish great visual appeal. Then just before the meal is served, he decides to defecate all over it. This is exactly the feeling i got from Risen 2. The game has many components of a great game- interesting chracter development and strategically deep combat (once you get a feel for it), but you have to dig through the poor graphics, constant freeze ups, lame voice acting and many other issues that I'm too lazy to type. I wasn't even able to complete the game because it froze every time I finished fighting the kraken. There were many points when I was actually starting to enjoy the game, only to have it freeze or suddenly time warp back to a point earlier in the game without warning. This really could have been a good game, but I'm very disappointed in the finished product. If I were to produce work of this quality at my job, I'd be fired, maybe some heads need to roll at this games design headquarters. Thank you Gamefly for preventing me from buying this....game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Well worth it!

posted by agjerde (BOTHELL, WA) Sep 17, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

I played throught the first one (on Xbox) and I'm now about 20 hours into this one. Not sure why it is rated so low. I found it to be quite rich and engaging, and better than the first one. The story is good and the game mechanics develop as you level up and train. Fighting might seem like just button mashing at first, but becomes deeper and more rewarding over time.

You might rate this game low if:
- You played it for an hour, wasn't instantly gratified, and decided to rage about it.
- You played it before major bug fixes. Yes, it had some problems at first, but we could all anticipate that, this being a cross-company PC port and all (Piranha Bytes made the PC version, Wizarbox the console versions).

You might rate this game higher if:
- You like pirates, treasure, a ship and a crew (Guybrush?), voodoo (oh yes!) and a monkey to steal stuff for you...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Risen 2 review

posted by mythoughtsonit (BALTIMORE, OH) Sep 17, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I almost sent this back after the first two hours. But after reading other reviews, I decided to keep going. Overall, I ended up liking it to a degree.

First off, it really does seem like a ps2 game. This game lacks the look of modern games, and even the gestures your character and the npc's make during conversation remind you of the ps2 era of games. Also, the combat system will tick you off. I never became completely comfortable with it, but you can "learn" skills to help you not throw your controller during a fight in game.

-IF- you can make it past that, the game ends up being pretty fun. The story is decent, not great by any means, but keeps you interested enough.

I would have liked to seen more varience in the special weapons you find throughout the game, as well as perhaps voodoo enchantments on weapons. All-in-all it will take some dedication to get past the flaws in the game but I did end up playing in through to the end and enjoyed it. But I can't promise everyone will..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

You can make rum? I might need some.

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Sep 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2006

Risen 2 is a game with a great concept and terrible execution. Basically, it's a pirate RPG that seems intent on making itself walk the plank.
Everything about this game should be great. You play a pirate with a sword and a tri-corner hat dueling skeletons and giant crabs. You shoot a pistol from the hip and sail to seedy ports of call, collecting legendary artifacts and battling a powerful sea queen. This game should be terrific... but it's not.
Unfortunately, at a certain point you have to start playing the game. And it's the time you spend playing the game that's the real problem. The combat is broken, the voice-acting sad, the graphics from a previous console cycle and the story generic at best. The interface tries as hard as possible to make itself inaccessible and even on my big screen TV, the text is so small I couldn't read most of it. There are several skill sets in the game that you will never use. There's a skill set for muskets, but I never came across a musket or got the option to buy one for the entire game. There's several skills under voodoo, but the only time I used any of them were to make voodoo dolls, which are necessary quest items. In combat, you can't really block or dodge, so you just keep mashing the attack button hoping you aren't the first one to get stun locked for 10 seconds. The game will frequently crash or slow to a crawl, usually just after you've gotten through a difficult section, but before the game autosaves. Sometimes technical glitches will keep you from completing quests.
The sad thing, though, is the monotony of much of the game. You never care about your character or your crew, you rarely understand your motivation and everyone around you has a 10-second memory of everything you've done, so it holds no weight on the experience.
The game still manages to be fun and lengthy. I still played to the end, at which point I found you can't do anything after defeating Mara, even start a New Game+. Too bad, I almost liked it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse