Rent Rise of the Guardians for Wii U
view large frontback

Rise of the Guardians

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, DS, Wii, 3DS, PS3
GF Rating
4.2

53 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by biagionimario (WENTWORTH, MO) Apr 29, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

I like the game because you get to be different characters and you can fight new enemies in different realms. The graphic was really good and the characters had different and unique powers.
It a great game and you can play up to 4 players at the time and up to 5 different characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

my kids enjoy it!

posted by danih1607 (NORTH CHARLESTON, SC) Apr 26, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Easy for kids to understand, little difficult to beat pitch, but they enjoy the challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

the game was bad

posted by sweetlew (CEDAR CITY, UT) Mar 16, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I play the game it was to easy it was not hard at all a five year old could beat that game you should of made that game hard then that made it more changelings you get the point.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just an average beat ‘em up game

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 17, 2012

Member since Jan 2008

The rule is still in effect: Whenever there is a kids’ movie coming out to theaters, there must be a tie in game made for that movie. This time around, we get Rise of the Guardians (this review is for the WiiU version)
This game takes place over five realms – for the five heroes that make up the Guardians (Jack Frost, Easter Bunny, Santa Claus, Sandman and Tooth Fairy)
In each realm there are five areas, and in each area there’s lots of things to discover.
First off, you can beat up a few big creatures in each realm. You can also get treasures or odd creatures laid out over each realm. There’s a creature you have to protect from the hoards of darkness, and you can free you “captive friends” from cages found in every realm.
But you don’t have to look very hard to find these creatures or treasures – they are shown on a map on the Wii U Game Pad.
As you make your way through every area in every realm, you can increase a Guardian’s attack, faith (that’s their health), defense or speed. The RPG aspect is a nice touch for this game.
And you get up to three powerful attacks that are different for each Guardian. Attacks like use a whip to take out enemies, create a whirlwind that does vast damage, and so on.
And once in a while you get to fight off the main villain, Pitch Black, in some sort of boss battle. But this is one game where the final boss fight occurs far before every level can be explored – something that I found odd.
But the biggest problem this game has is that the action is really repetitive. After you level up a few times, the Guardians are so strong that all you really need to do is mash the attack button and that will take care of almost all the bad guys (including Pitch). The other bad guys can be taken out with the powerful attacks.
Rise of the Guardians is great for those of us looking for a simple beat ‘em up game, but I found it got too bland, too fast for me to hand out money for. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stay away.

posted by HotInEER (FREDERICK, MD) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

This is one of the worst games I have ever played. No imagination and the same thing over and over. I thought my daughter and I would have a good time playing this. I was wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »