Rent Rise of the Guardians for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Rise of the Guardians

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS3, 3DS, DS, Wii U
GF Rating
5.8

151 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Easy Playing

posted by DungForever (WESTMINSTER, CA) Feb 21, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I beat this game in literally 12 hours. It's really great if you want an easy gamer score, although I just played it because I like the story. The graphics and locations are beautifully done. It's a really great game for family night since you can play with three other people. This was the one game in my Q that I really wanted and anticipated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Easy Achievements/Trophies

posted by MerlinDekar (COLUMBUS, OH) Dec 31, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Very Easy.... Beat it in Under a Day.

Very Pretty.... Realms look Great, Characters and Cut Scenes are Decent.

Very Repetitive....Same Controls, Same Buttons, Same Missions. Again and Again. In Every Realm.

An Time Killer/Filler game. Can be fun at times. Follows the Movie. Defiantly a Rental!

A MUST for any Achievement/Trophy Junkie. Easy 1000GS/Platinum Trophy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

rise of the guardians

posted by bigjim (ORANGE, CA) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

childish, dont waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TOO MUCH GOING ON AT ONCE

posted by niterose42276 (RUSSELLVILLE, KY) Apr 4, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

Tried to play with my 7 yr old but ther is way too much going on. 4 characters running around at the same time, screen wants to follow 1 character the other will get killed or hit by not being able to c the bad guys. I love playing kiddy games but this 1 needs a lot of work to make it better. Great movie loved it, but once again game didn't live up to the greatness at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible

posted by Feeble (NORRISTOWN, PA) Mar 18, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Extremly boring uninteresting game.My children and I both thought it to be VERY VERY boring!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

1000 Gamerscore if you can handle the repetition.

posted by JenniferF456 (SHORELINE, WA) Feb 20, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

In 2 days I finished the game with full 1000 gamerscore. You will not have to work for any achievements, but it's 'end of game heavy' because a lot of the achievements are completion related and you'll get the final items at the end of the game. There are realms that are all different, but that is the only variety. There is no variety in the challenges, there are quests, the game will even auto apply your upgrade points. If you're looking for a mindless game to play between the ones that make you think and a game that will reward you with 1000 gamerscore for mashing the buttons - rent this one. It's at least playable and not frustrating (just a little boring).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh.

posted by JustChase3663 (PHOENIX, AZ) Feb 18, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

I thought that I'd be able to prove the reviews wrong for myself, but the game feels like a long repetitive grind. There are no real challenges which is expected from a game like this, but the gameplay consists of repeatedly tapping the a button. Some of the missions, especially the timed ones, have you protecting a little npc that you find, sometimes holding out for 5-10 minutes. It starts to wear on you and get boring. It was fun for a little, but I quickly grew tired of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pre-teens/Teens and Older

posted by Kuromizu (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Nov 28, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

5/10

The storyline and movie are magnificently brilliant. But the game isn't.

Firstly, I wasn't for the art style portrayed in the cutscenes, but that was mainly because I was looking forward to seeing gloriously 3D animated clips from the movie. After considering, the cutscene art itself was just what I would expect for a child themed story like this, but seemed like it failed in lifting the game up to all it's dreamy wonder. But again, that's simply my tastes.

Secondly, the gameplay itself was complicated and messy.
The instructions aren't very detailed in telling the player how to make use of all the nu ts and bolts the game has to offer, which lead me to crawling in circles as I tinkered with it all. I eventually became bored of attempting to unravel the interfaces many available options.

Actions seemed delayed, or 'heavy'. I didn't receive the action-fast reflexes from the action-packed gang like I was expecting.

I love the characters - and I'm not sure if it's because there are so many of them in one place, or what - but during battles, it was crazy. I couldn't tell anything apart because of all the pixels flying across the screen. Too much happening at once, the game becoming a tad bit overwhelming.

I couldn't play the game for more than a couple of hours. I was hoping to be tossed into the magical realm of childhood dreams while embracing the traditional good vs evil showdown. Instead I was trudging through the mud while performing redundant tasks that merely left me bored out of my mind by the end of it.

In the end, there is flawless character design, amazing creativity, and adventure awaiting those who have the patience and willingness to embrace it.

I do recommend this game for teens or above, depending on maturity for younger. Pre-teens may not have the patience to work their way into understanding the system themselves, but this game is everything a parent should be expecting with an E rating.

This game just wasn't for me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »