Rent Rise of the Argonauts for PS3
view large frontback

Rise of the Argonauts

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.8

1544 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

An overdone story... who would of thought.

posted by KyleLogan (PALM HARBOR, FL) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The story engulfs this game. And not in a good way. Its as if they put the fighting system aside and focused on the story too much. I spend the better part of 70% of this game walking to my destination, and talking. I dont need alot of action in a game, but an economic system and leveling based on kills is more appropriate. Before you rent this game, bear in mind there is a leveling system. However its more based on the "deeds" you do than actual experience fighting. A good way to sum it up, you level up based on Achievements/Trophies. Which is awful. The quests in this game is more like World of Warcraft. Go here, talk to person, return to original person. Get a 'deed' done for leveling up moves. This is an interactive movie. Not a video game. Awesome story though! If you like Grecko-Roman mythology, then this will be fun. Just expect a lot of walking and talking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth the time

posted by clhillard (NORTH LEWISBURG, OH) Jun 19, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I decided to rent this because of the few good reviews saying this game was a hidden gem. Man was I wrong. This game feels like a horrible god of war spin off. Graphics do not do the ps3 justice. Played the game for about and hour then it went back in the envelope and back in the mail box. Another thing I did not like is that the game has to install approx. 2.5 gigabytes of data for 5 year old graphics. So in the end save yourself the time and don't rent this let down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

So underrated

posted by Hongo999 (DENVER, CO) Oct 2, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am primarily an RPG consumer, though I occasionally play other games as well. The fact is, if a game has a great story, I'm sold, so long as the graphics are not as God awful as Two Worlds. I passed this game up because of all the negative reviews that were out. Point blank, if you are even considering the idea of trying it and really enjoy a game for its ability to tell a story, get this game! I am so happy that there was a dry spell of good RPGs that forced me to go back and reconsider my biases.

Story: 9
Graphics: 8
Gameplay: 7
Value as an RPG: 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Next gen gaming

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Aug 3, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game from start to finish. There were a few glitches such as the sound volume and the map access could have been better but the story and voice acting was excellent. The graphics are what you would expect from your next gen system. The game took maybe 12 hours to complete. The gameplay is kind of like a first person real time rpg where you control Jason and interact with the game by answering questions and passing judgement on people. Jason has a choice of 3 weapons and armor which are upgraded throughout the game. I especially liket the ability to interact with the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fantastic Game

posted by pdporter (CORTLANDT MANOR, NY) Jun 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Best game I have played in a long time. The storyline is captivating, and the gameplay is very clean and well done.

The only negitave I can think of for this game is that you kinda know what is going to happen in the end. Otherwise the difficaulty levels allow for casual or hardcore gamers to enjoy a challenge that is still doable.

Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth the rental time

posted by Scubasam21 (PALMYRA, IN) Dec 29, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game has some epic moments. I enjoyed the story and I am a huge Greek mythology buff anyways.

Pros: Great Graphics, good story, and decent controls.

Cons: Camera is somewhat troublesome, some slowdown in certain points for no reason, PS3 version needs at least 3gb of data installed. Once the game is installed, you still have loading screens??
You will do a lot of backtracking to advance to the next area.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Greek Legend....

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Dec 21, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

39 out of 48 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

If you liked games Viking: Battle of Asgard by Sega or Conan by THQ. This title might interest you. Rise of The Argonauts, has a lot more intent of the player following a well written story, goal objective, and interaction with the game's world that really brings Rise of The Argonauts' story to life.

You would really enjoy Rise of The Argonauts, if you are into staying in tune with the game story and scenarios. The interactions of this game gives a role playing game feel, but only having a one set story is what sets it into the action category.

Rise of the Argonauts is truly a well composed game, which is set upon one of many legends of the Greek Gods of Zeus.
You play as, King Jason, who feels he has been abandon by his God, Zeus. Jason sets off into uncharted parts of the world to undo the Greek God, Zeus' will. In Jason's quest he is aided by Hercules, and with several other companions that is met threw out the quest.

Code Masters' Rise of The Argonauts was a well developed game. Using the Unreal Technology's graphic engine, Code Masters kept a amazing depth of detail for the game based scenario set in the Greek era, which also gives the player several High-Def detailed maps to explore in.

The sword play is all so very fun, but not really recommended for younger audiences. There is tons of power of the gods, weapons, armors, and moves the player learns to mangle the enemy in many different ways, literally. The motion is very fluent, the graphics are superb, and the controls are very easily mastered. You also get to decide on how to answer a conversation each time you interact with a character.

You dont always have to be a great King ya know.

The really only downfall of the game is that you spend a good deal of time searching, and talking to characters in the game to find out what you have to do next. You only play as king Jason also.

To bad it wasn't 4 player co-op game.

Rise of The Argonauts is a great game for those who enjoy old Greek legends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

RISE Of A Great Mythology Story....

posted by PRFAN1013 (NEW YORK, NY) Dec 18, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

31 out of 39 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

First of all, the story of Jason and the Argo are very well documented and it is in fact one of the greatest stories in greek mythology. This game although not perfect, entangles you in a great story making everything that is interesting come out to you in a way unimaginable. The graphics are superb, controls are great and voice overs amazing. I am so not disappointment that this game got delayed. It was well worth the wait...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The bad points.......and some good.

posted by Paladin76 (MALAKOFF, TX) Jan 6, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I have not completed the game yet but I have played enough to list a few points about the game.

First off the graphics are average at best, the funny thing is while in a cut scene the graphics actually get worse. Normally this is the other way around, but in this game the graphics downgrade a ton and the cinematics look like something that should have been on the last generation of consoles.

Second, the character animations while in dialog are all but non existent. There is NO emotion what so ever on the characters faces. They look like nothing more then cardboard cut outs of a lifeless drawing. This kills the immersion a bit.

Third the camera is a bit jumpy at times and tends to go where it wants to go. You really have to stay on top of that right stick to keep it where it is best for you.

Forth, the game has way to much loading and loading screens. This wouldn't be so bad if that wasn't coupled with extreme stuttering. This is one of those games that you need to install to the hard drive due to performance issues.

Other then that the voice acting is pretty good (not great) Some voices do not fit the characters at all cough Hercules cough hint hint.

The story is interesting and draws you in a bit and a majority of the characters are likable.

Combat is pretty fun and there is room for customization. You get three different fighting styles and four Gods to chose from to distribute skill points to.

Dialog options are neat being that you can go with how you would play or pick the option that best fits the God (build) that you are going for.

I'd say it is worth a rent but it is far from anything spectacular.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not good

posted by DOUGIESTYL (VISTA, CA) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was really looking forward to this game, ONE WORD! BUST! lets talk to people the whole time, little action, map was garbage

ect, ect, ect...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rise of Argonauts

posted by nando7 (PLANO, TX) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

From the start you get action, it reminds me of god of war with all the Greek Mythology but its a very well put together game and you will not want to stop playing it until it is beat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

THE GOOD, THE BAD AND THE UGLY

posted by Chessfu (PORTAGE, IN) Jan 2, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The good; graphics are okay, combat is okay.

The bad; plays like a PS2 game, too many load scenes, can't jump, map is ineffective,

The ugly; the kill shots are horrible to view.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Warning: Bad game Alert!!!!!!!!!

posted by Adventgmer (GREENE, ME) Mar 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you have nothing to play, i mean you really don't have a game you are playing at all, then pick up this game. For a next-gen game, the developers do a horrible job creating a next-gen action RPG. In fact, unless you read reviews online, you dont even know that this game is an action RPG. Here are a list of reasons why this game is horrible.
1. Bad, clunky graphics. Even when the game switches to CGI cinematic, the CGI looks PS1ish and i know of PS1 games that have better graphics then this title.
2. Does no justice for Greek mythology at all. the whole journey was inaccurate, and to say Delphi is not on any map is like committing heresy to the church. the location of Delphi was well known in ancient Greece because all war decisions had to go through her. (pick up a textbook codemasters.)
3. The fighting is horrific. Three basic buttons is all you hit, and the combos felt looked nothing other than just swinging your weapon. the power ups you gain really dont add to the game because as you power up, the enemies get harder basically canceling out everything you just spent 5 hours doing.

The only good thing i believed this game had was the leveling system. You need to commit deeds in order to get points in order to fill your "sphere grid." You had a level up grid for each of the games four gods. (Ares, Hermes, Apollo, and Athena)

Some have described this game as a God of Warish kind of game. Kratos would take this game and wipe his butt with it. So folks, if you really like bad games, this is your game, but if you dont you would have more fun playing the Harry Potter games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Precious gaming time that I'll never get back

posted by vlc1379 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Dec 29, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It took 7 days of hoping to realize that... lots of walking + lots of dialogue + poor voice acting and animation + lots of frame rate problems + button mashing combat = don't waste your precious gaming time (that you'll never get back) on this game.

I gave it a 5 because I think the story is pretty good and some of the ideas.
I think the developers either needed a better gaming engine or more money or better direction or maybe... a different developer altogether.

Check out the GameSpot review on there web site for a really good review of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Very Buggy

posted by Starcaster (VALENCIA, CA) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Game is not very fun and very buggy. There are better options out there if you need some hack and slash action. Try God of War 1&2 (Yes they are PS2 games, but they still have better graphics than this game.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rise of the Argonauts

posted by cancercure (LEVITTOWN, NY) Feb 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This was a top notch game! I am more the greek or other region mythology type game guy, and this game left nothing wanting. There are way to many things to compliment here, but a quick overview is this: every decision you get, and there are many of them, determines the outcome of the game. The graphic are very realistic, the fight scenes fun, and weapons great. Not to impressed with the god powers, but hey you cant have everything right? This is an easy, but not to easy game, and i only needed an online guide for the method to defeat the last boss. I definitely reccomend this game to anyone who liked god of war!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lame

posted by Asulen (ALTOONA, PA) Dec 30, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 14 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Lame, attempted rip-off of God of War. Controls are sketchy, slow motion going on almost everytime you kill something, really killing interest in the game, and train of thought. Very hard to get into.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What is Good About this Game?

posted by angryarmytony (FAIR OAKS, CA) Dec 16, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

Nothing, I mean nothing is good about this game. I found absolutely nothing good about this garbage. Immediately the graphics reminded me of an original xbox game. I normally never care about graphics but I expected something a little better for a PS3 game. Combat is incredibly boring, I was shocked to realize how terrible it is. You are given a sword, spear, and club with a giant shield while fighting against enemies that use the exact same attack routine every time. Choices at times feel childish and unappealing making results by them unsatisfying as well as boring dialogue that will put you to sleep if the combat did not already put you to sleep. Along with no leveling up system or upgrade system, I felt no need to play this game after 5 minutes however I played it for another 2 hours getting myself completely lost since there is no map of any kind. I would not even recommend this game to my mortal enemy for that person would die too horrible a death from playing this garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

rise of the argonauts

posted by hotbetty (BEDFORD, MA) May 15, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

the game has a great story however the game would have been easier and a lot more fun with stuff like potions or something that could bring you back to life when you die

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ever!!!!!!

posted by Achilles2324 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Don't let the video fool you!!! The only fighting in this game is what you saw and did't last long at all. The entire game was walking around and talking. But not just cut-scenes talking, but you making the conversations. This was 90 percent of the game, walking and talking.....SUCK!!!!!! It has cool characters but that is it. The only reason I give this a 1 is because it has Achilles in it!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste Of Time!

posted by vid (PORT ORCHARD, WA) Jan 25, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

How someone can put so much energy and creativity into a game that does NOTHING! Is beyond me. They had a great story, and there was Nothing to do! The characters were flat, and BORING! I am So glad I was able to play this with GameFly! If I had bought this piece of junk, I would be So angry!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Really?

posted by NickSixxx (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jun 28, 2011

Member since Feb 2005

My boyfriend was mad at me that I wasted a whole weekend on a game with a(n) (expletive) story, no trophies and (expletive) game play. I thought Hercules was the best thing visually about the game. He's Hunk-a-Licious!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

OK Game

posted by Squeegie (BELLINGHAM, WA) Apr 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2008

This game didn't have much to it; there's no searching for hidden treasure or anything, it was all fighting. The boss battles were OK. As far as graphics go, there is a little jerkiness to it, it doesn't flow like some of the other games I've played. There is a scene where Jason is talking and the lower part of his mouth was cut off by his shield from time to time so it was kind of funny there. But all in all the game was OK as far as the fighting & storyline goes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Rise of the (YYYAAAAAWWWWNN) Argonauts

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Feb 28, 2011

Member since May 2010

The good elements are:
1. good story!
2. meaty battles!
3. cool looking weapons
4. the cheap price
The bad elements are:
1. strict pathing with lots and lots of back-tracking
2. tacked-on combat system
3.(sorry, I have to mention this I'm a diablo fan)No loot at all!
4.no real experience system!
5. invisible barriers!
6. no means to customize equipment!
7. THIS IS A MOVIE GAME!(which are famous for story, and infamous for gameplay problems!)
8.Graphic degrade on CG scenes!
9.dialog on occasion tends to repeat lines(a herm in the palace at the start of the game!)
10.Tweedle-dee(jason) runs through the palace and get lost! (no mini-map)
11. while tweedle-dum(hercules) plods along and gets stuck on the stairs!
12. combative camera
13. rpg without leveling????? Action game posing as an rpg!
14.Started to get boring at points!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Buggy!

posted by JohnUt (OTTUMWA, IA) Nov 21, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Buggy as h#ll. Poor controls, looks like a original xbox game. Avoid!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse