Rent Rise of the Argonauts for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Rise of the Argonauts

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.2

3693 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Game, Some Minor Flaws

posted by Oldrin187 (PALM HARBOR, FL) May 9, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

14 out of 14 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

TIPS
after you stick someone completely with the long spear, by pressing Y and they are standing their in shock that you skewed them you can immediatly press A to decapiate them with you shield, or X to kick them off of the edge of your spear in a hurry, or Y again to throw them over your head.

THE GOOD

Let me start out by saying I enjoy this style of game, 3rd person adventure/action and I am big fan of mythology. I really enjoyed the dialogue throughout the game the characters you encounter were unique and I thought it was overall a very fun game. The fighting and gameplay was fun for me, you can diversify how you kill enemies because you have 3 different weapons, the long 1handed spear, short sword, or powerful mace, every weapon is one handed so you can use your huge shield for defense to block incoming attacks and projectiles. Each weapon is good for certain battles and foes. You also are granted tons of cool god powers and abilities depending on which diety you dedicate your deeds to.

I beat the game on all 3 difficulties and really enjoyed it

THE BAD

all of the bad have nothing really to do with the game itself, they are just mechanically flaws.

First off, there is no minimap you must pause the game to check the map anytime you want to see it.

Second you can only save at checkpoints (it autosaves) and even if you manually save it will do so at the closest checkpoint SOMETIMES causing you to have to re-do some parts of the game.

Third, Jason has to run everywhere on foot, Its not THAT bad but it can be tedious.

Fourth, the mythology in the game isn't 100% accurate with the "real" mythology you might know before playing the game.

Overall I found it to be an enjoyable game with good sidequests, fun combat, and excellent diaolgue. I thought it was interesting instead of lvling up you dedicate your deeds to different dieties to gain power.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Like Mass Effect, just without the emotional bond

posted by ScottP (NOTTINGHAM, MD) Apr 29, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

63 out of 68 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Rise of the Argonauts isn't a bad game. In fact, I had a blast playing it! It's just not a great game. If you like games with a large story and flowing characters with some awesome voice work, you will love this game. But if you prefer gameplay over story and get peeved at the smallest gameplay imperfection, be forewarned, this game may dissapoint.

You play Jason, king of a Greek nation. Your wife is killed on your wedding night and you embark of a task to get the Golden Fleece. With the Golden Fleece, the dead can be brought back to life. With the god's favor, you take off to the distant lands of Greece in search of the fabled device.

The combat in the game is so so. You can use three weapons, a sword, a mace, and a spear (my favorite), and you also carry a shield. These weapons can be upgraded by finding new ones, but besides that not much. Instead, you are presented with an MMO type power up system (kind of like Mass Effect) that lets you spend points with each individual god. Athena's talent tree focuses on the spear, while Apollo is more focused on health and your shield. Every task you complete adds favor that can be assigned to a god. Even choices of what you say to people affects which god you are aligned to.

The game took me 2 days to play during a few days off I had. I put in about 8-10 hours or so. If you like achievements, you can pick up about half the achievements in one playthrough, maybe more if you do everything in the game, but I only got about 1/3 to 1/2.

Overall, the game is good. I give it an 8/10. I thoroughly enjoyed playing Rise of the Argonauts, but can't see buying it. It's the perfect rent game. You can beat it in a few days and have it back to gamefly in order to play another game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent game

posted by cbayne3 (DOUGLAS, WY) May 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't know what it was about Rise of the Argonauts that was so fun for me, but I loved it. It is a great game. I think, for me, it was the Greek Mythology and seeing it all intertwined, whether it was true or not, that made it so fun for me.

The only things that kept this game from being exceptional were the slow camera, and the ending. I know that sounds like a lot, but considering how good the game was for me, I feel that I can be a little more picky in its review. There are times during the game that the camera is slow to catch up around a corner, or if you're surrounded by enemies and you want to see which way they're coming from, the camera doesn't whip around very fast for quick scanning. And the ending, it happens rather suddenly. Maybe that's a good thing, that I got through the game and was so involved that all of a sudden I was fighting and the next I wasn't, but for me, I like a little more of a let down from the ending climax, a kind of final wrap up, instead of a "okay you won, here's what happens to the main character, the end." I like to know the whole story.

Speaking of story, Rise of the Argonauts had a great story. Yes it was very predictable in the game format, much like Mass Effect or the KOTOR series, where there was the main intro level, three "building" levels, with the final run to the end. But the story, seeing which mythical character was going to appear next, how I was going to beat the level, who I was going to take on my voyage, was all very worth it. Also the creative portrayal of certain characters, like Hercules, Daedalus, and Medusa was interesting and entertaining.

Overall, a great game. Extremely entertaining, very fun. A couple of hitches and flaws to keep it from being epic like Halo, or the above mentioned games, but definitely one I will add to my collection of games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The bad points...........and some good.

posted by Paladin76 (MALAKOFF, TX) Jan 6, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have not completed the game yet but I have played enough to list a few points about the game.

First off the graphics are average at best, the funny thing is while in a cut scene the graphics actually get worse. Normally this is the other way around, but in this game the graphics downgrade a ton and the cinematics look like something that should have been on the last generation of consoles.

Second, the character animations while in dialog are all but non existent. There is NO emotion what so ever on the characters faces. They look like nothing more then cardboard cut outs of a lifeless drawing. This kills the immersion a bit.

Third the camera is a bit jumpy at times and tends to go where it wants to go. You really have to stay on top of that right stick to keep it where it is best for you.

Forth, the game has way to much loading and loading screens. This wouldn't be so bad if that wasn't coupled with extreme stuttering. This is one of those games that you need to install to the hard drive due to performance issues.

Other then that the voice acting is pretty good (not great) Some voices do not fit the characters at all cough Hercules cough hint hint.

The story is interesting and draws you in a bit and a majority of the characters are likable.

Combat is pretty fun and there is room for customization. You get three different fighting styles and four Gods to chose from to distribute skill points to.

Dialog options are neat being that you can go with how you would play or pick the option that best fits the God (build) that you are going for.

I'd say it is worth a rent but it is far from anything spectacular.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Like Nothing ever done before

posted by Ryimus (NEW YORK, NY) Apr 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Since the beginning I have always divided games into two categories: straightforward fighting and violence, and games that require thought (battle strategies, puzzles, riddles, etc.). from the cover and description on back I though this was just another Violent game. I first played played it because I was tired of China. and wanted to fight Roman Legionnaire style.

Never before have I encountered a game that challenges my virtues, my heart, my emotions and feelings. everything I chose Jason to say or do is almost exactly what I would say or do if I were in his place. It picked me to a tee. never before have I been in a game that encourages you and begs you only to fight when it's necessary, to be diplomatic and to do the right thing at every turn. it makes me rethink things. I also wonder if Jason and I were once the same man. The gods, who are historically known for their cruelty are acting like my best friends (and I don't really have any). The violence does complement perfectly with the story and the situations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A game worth trying...

posted by Grimshade (LEWISVILLE, TX) Mar 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

While this is a flawed game, it is entertaining. Most reviewers that have knocked this game cite the fact that there is no way to determine health and its hard to get to the map. To the health point, that is a valid one (I do get annoyed when I can't tell how much health either my enemy or myself have in the fight), however, to me, at least, the map is fairly simple: press start and choose the map option. I believe this was done to give the game a more cinematic feel to it. The game in its entirety is set up to be very cinematic and I think they achieved that for the most part. It just would have been nice to have been given that option. To the rest of the game's fairly mediocre reputation I say its one person's opinion and that one I disagree with. I found the game largely fun and a bit different than the vast array of Diablo-style clones. You can't go hacking away at everything you see. Most boss fights take at least some thought. Just try not to listen to those that would rip the game and try it yourself. Most of us have enjoyed games that are slammed by popular opinion and I believe this is one of those. Try it for yourself and you might just like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent story, decent combat, but flawed

posted by Supercow (SPRINGFIELD, MA) Mar 20, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It has been said many times that the art of conversation has been lost over the past 7000 years since civilization has emerged. In many way Rise of the Argonauts is a game in which conversation is not almost an art, but ritualistically required in order to uncover the entire story & flesh it out as you, the player, sees fit.
To be fair, the game is has its flaws; it is not for those without the patience. The story is played out through many, many scenes of the main character Jason, simply conversing with the unique characters throughout the game. Even this however is hampered by the odd shortage of character models, with seem to be frequently recycled, & the unfortunate lack of facial expressions which often misrepresent the true scope or emotional complexity of the voice actors' dialogue. The oddly small maps which comprise the game's levels are not only small, but are also mostly not interactable; there not being an inventory system however, this design choice makes sense, albeit regretable.
The game has an average combat system, 3 weapons, a sword, a mace & a spear, make the combat diverse. The combat, even on the hardest difficulty is never particually difficult save for a few boss fights, & you are free to your weapons based upon play style. The game features a unique talent system of powers derived from 4 of the patron gods from Greek Mythology, Ares, Athena, Hermes, & Apollo. The powers from each are based upon one of the three weapons, (Apollo's are more designed on powering up Jason himself) enhancing them & giving a few other tricks to pull off in combat.
The combat, oddly enough for an action game, is not the focus of RotA. Its story & dialogue choices are the main attraction here. Those looking for a well written story with the ability to change it based upon your choices will find an excellent game in their hands here. However purist action fans may not like the myriad of dialogue which hampers the already scarce, albeit good, combat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rise of the Argonauts

posted by bigbadbear (BESSEMER, AL) Mar 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have to say i enjoyed this game really well. The only glitches of this one is a few camera ones and maybe some movement ones and really not that bad. I found you have to fight in some scenes that get you close to walls or trees or what ever and you find you or your enemy has well disappeared. Now i had no love for the fixed camera veiw especially in caves because having your other characters run in scene and block your veiw really stinks. This would have been a truly awsome game if it had a room or a stage to practice on and get down with ya moves. Now i cheated and played it first on human and it took a straight 16 hours to get back to my dead princess but hey it was worth it. The final scene was a little hard to figure out but only because i didnt realize i could throw my spear and by acident i got that but hey for those who rush through you deserve what i got. The special moves with all your weapons is pretty cool try them as you fight through each scene. So you know hold your right trigger hit A,B,Y,X. You have some awsome moves that really help in the harder levels but all in all this games was great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I have to say that I loved this game

posted by mett1982 (ROME, NY) Feb 24, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So what every other reviewer has said about this game being slow is true. But with a storyline that it has there is going to be a lot of talking to get it's plot moving. You can't sum up greek mythology legends in just a couple of hours. It has to be an in depth story. Which I for one thought it made the game so much better. The whole game works like an interactive movie. Kind of like the game Indigio prophecy. The graphics are decent. The audio doesn't sync with the characters mouth often and there are some major glitches throughout the game but I still really really enjoyed it and loved learning about the legend of Jason and his argonaunts. So for anyone that is a fan of greek mythology I think that you would love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

real good

posted by j3st3r320 (SCOTT AIR FORCE BASE, IL) Feb 21, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I personally really enjoyed this game. the story background was real good and the cut scenes were pretty amazing. i liked how the dialog moved the story along. and my wife enjoyed watching the cut scenes too lol. great game. last level is the best by far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good game, not quite great

posted by lkcampbell (MUNCIE, IN) Feb 8, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game was pretty fun. it was nice to see all of the gods and goddesses and things in a video game. that made the history part of my brain spring awake. except for the fact that achilles was in it... that was just wierd. oh, and hercules was a mountain of a man too... and the story line was "ok". the game play was fun too, except for the mindless array of not interesting combos and two different finishing kills. and here is where it gets a little nasty. the graphics were some of the worst I have seen on the 360. even with the unreal engine powering this game, it still did not match up, even to some classic xbox games before it. that really threw me off. also, the gameplay itself was also lack luster. there sure was a ton of running around. the entire time i was thinking, I am a king, can't i get a horse or something?! and yeah, you can kind of customize the character. but only certain weapons he is given and armor too. if you are looking for a Baulder's Gate Dark Alliance kind of feel, you have come to the wrong place. But if you are looking for a button smashing game that takes a while, you are good to go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not just hack and slash

posted by timfads (HAMPTON, VA) Feb 2, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game and love interactive games. Running around and just hacking your way from one cut scene to the next ends up boring me. That's why I like games like Mass Effect and Argonauts, although Argonauts follows a main storyline and your interactions / dialog don't really impact the story. If you are a fan of pure shooters (killing your way from one cut scene to the next) this is not going to be the game for you.

Side note: if you know the story of Jason, you are in for a let down, because this is not the real story of Jason. It's not even close. There's no young Jason wondering into town with one saddle and there's no Hydra guarding the fleece. Consider this an alternative to the real myth.

The graphics are solid to good, but not all that next gen. The game play is easy and you don't really even need to focus on the God Powers (which is kind of a let down since that was suppose to be a perk). The storyline falls short of the true myth, but OK. The real perk in this game is that you actually have a dialog, similar to Mass Effect, except without the story altering impacts. It's more then just a hack and slasher, so it's worth the buy for me. I can understand most folk just renting it.

Tim

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Even "legend" difficulty is a bit too easy.

posted by IceNine (MCKINNEY, TX) Jan 30, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The one major problem with this game is that there is not enough action and too much walking around talking to people. It wouldn't be so bad doing all the walking if there was more combat to go along with it, but the game is lacking in this department.

The next point is that the game is too easy. I finished the game on the hardest difficulty in two days and never really had any problems with any of the enemies. All you have to do is set up your god powers and perks and everything is a little too easy. To be fair, I didn't get 1,000 gamerscore on this game (I actually got 620), so there were things that I didn't do. The big problem with the things I didn't do is that you can't go back and do them. If you leave a certain place you can never go back, so find all the herms and talk to all the people everywhere you go BEFORE you do whatever completes the level, or you won't get all the achievements.

Another thing... you won't be able to get 1,000 on this game without playing it multiple times, as you have to max out all the god powers/abilities for all gods for all the achievements and you cannot do that on one play.

The fighting system is fine, but it is sometimes hard to do weapon changes while doing combos. This didn't stop me from enjoying the game, but I did stop trying to do weapon swaps in combat. The god powers are a big help in combat; sometimes too helpful. It is easy to kill everything, even on the hardest difficulty.

The graphics on the game are good in places and extremely poor in others. The textures for grass, trees, weeds, etc. are some of the worst I have ever seen. You can walk beside a tree and see that it is just a flat object with no depth. It is like the trees and things were drawn on paper and then hung up as if they were trees. I thought it was pretty funny to see how little effort went into these things. The characters look fine, but there is nothing earth shattering there either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game with few cons

posted by BigKrazy54 (CHAPEL HILL, NC) Jan 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall this game was a lot of fun and quick to beat even on the hardest difficulty. Granted there is a lot of leg work in terms of running around like an errand boy. Once you beat it on Legend difficulty it wouldnt be so bad to go back and play it on the easiest setting to get the rest of the achievements.

Best story line ive seen and definitely a must rent. Its a great slash and burn game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Engaging and captivating storyline! Very easy game

posted by Muffin (BEAVERTON, OR) Jan 28, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has a killer storyline and conversation system that keeps your attention as you play. It also rewards the player with constant ACHIEVEMENT UNLOCKED points.

This game would have scored a lot higher if it wasn't so easy. I died 4 times during the entire game >.< twice on one boss and twice on the last boss.

Awesome story + easy game = Gamefly Rental

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rise of the Argonauts

posted by ZachdaJew (MILTON, FL) Jan 28, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was really excited when I heard this game was coming out. I was expecting a mix of God of War and Mass Effect. Sadly though it failed in many of the aspect in a good game. The graphics for the most part are pretty good. There are some few minor things here and there. An example is when Jason is talking his jaw will sometimes go threw his shoulder plate. There is another thing that hacked me off. When you run down a set of stairs or a steep hill Jason will skip down it. I was shock by the lack of focus of the developers of this game. It has a pretty good story line, but it has been done a few times though. The fighting is pretty good there are problems with the camera that would make the fighting easier and a lot more enjoyable. As i played the game I wondered if the developers thought "Oh I wonder if they would mind if we put the same people every where. Lets clone this one and use him 100 times" Yeah it is very annoying. It had a good reference to fall back on. Mass Effect is a great game and they tried to use the speech system but fell flat on their faces. If you want to play an semi pleasing game here it is. I just suggested you rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Game

posted by Jasonxg1 (KANSAS CITY, KS) Jan 9, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

RPG and action, with a great story.

The graphics are good in some places and ok in others.

The sound and soundtrack are realy good.

Controls are simple and very fluid, not to hard to learn.

The game is a bit short for an RPG, can finish this in just two game sessions.

I was suprised by the game, and I play my fair share of games. It's not Game of the Year but it's better than some of the over hyped duds that gets released. I love the story, it's like a movie. My only wish would be for the game to be a little longer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good interactive story

posted by Anewuser (FREDERICK, MD) Feb 4, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

24 out of 28 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game is not like your normal video game. It is more of an interactive story than anything else. There was more time spent watching cut scene's and listening to story background then anything else.

Personally I really liked that. It was a nice break from the usual run around and blow up all the bad guys that most games are these days. I could sit down each night, play a chapter of the game and get a good story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A flawed gem, but still a gem

posted by DharmaBum (LAGUNA HILLS, CA) Feb 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

The things you have read are true: There are more bugs in this game than in that hallway in Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom. And yes, the game doesn't look as good as other games of its day do, although it can occasionally surprise you. But if you enjoyed games like Dreamfall, Mass Effect, Jade Empire or Knights of the Old Republic for their stories, Rise of the Argonauts may be exactly what you're looking for.

The story is the same myth we've read in elementary school - Jason leads an expedition to find the golden fleece. A lot of liberties have been taken with the mythology, and parts of the story have been Disney-fied, i.e., with the character of Medea, who in the myth, goes mad and murders Jason's children. In the game, she's just a sexy, dangerous goth chick who is barely relevant to the plot. I don't mind this, as the story is still very entertaining, and the way the plot played out being different from how it is commonly depicted added some mystique as to how certain events would occur.

The abundance of dialogue, especially dialogue relevant either to characters or the plot, is fantastic. You are never drawn into a Metal Gear-esque bizarre monologue, and while the characters aren't necessarily as interesting as The Black Whirlwind or HK-47, they don't often sit silent as often as your companions do in other games, no matter who you bring along in your party. Be it Atalantea, Achilles, Hercules or Pan, your party members each have distinct personalities, and their interjections into dialogue make for a lot of mildly interesting situations. I'm also a sucker for the Mass Effect dialogue wheel, and they've cloned it in a really fun way in this game.

The brawling could be improved. It's more interesting than KotOR or Jade Empire, but definitely isn't as satisfying as God of War. The camera did a good job keeping out of difficult angles, and the leveling system is fairly satisfying.

RotA is a fun, competent game, and is definitely worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Epic tale

posted by cerealkell (EMPORIUM, PA) Aug 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

They called it an Epic tale and indeed it is. The story, derived from Greek mythology was legendary. There was in my opinion way too much dialogue to combat ratio. There, in the end, had actually been very little combat. But the fighting that you did was so much fun. If there had been a game made for the movie 300, it would be like this game. Right down to the music. The graphics were absolutely stunning for an X Box game. I would compare it to The Force Unleashed in visuals and maybe even Gears of War 2 in some areas. The boss fights were especially well done. This game has everything to offer anybody who has a interest in video games and greek mythology. For combat, you've got your armor, which you can pick of better armor as the game progresses. You've got 3 weapons, a mace, a sword and a spear as well as a shield. The shield is the only one that's not upgradable. You rely on powers called aspects that you get by devoting your deeds to one of 4 gods, Ares, Hermes, Apollo and Athena. Each one has there own distinct aspects that improve upon your weapons, armor, your buddies the argonauts, speed and god powers. Point is, the games pretty gorey. You can crush heads with your mace, chop guys in half with your sword or impale them on your spear. Definitely worth checking out. It's kind of like a real time action/ RPG, but really short for an RPG, maybe 10 hours max. Which was the most dissappointing part.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent but could have been much better

posted by dredknots (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2004

17 out of 21 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

The game starts off REALLY slow; I almost gave up on it. I liked how the interactions move the story, but I hated how you had to walk so much. Jason is a king, can he get a chariot or something?! Can someone else run those errands for me and report back? My companions don't do much else, make then useful at least. At the very least, a mini-map would suffice; I can't be the only that had to pause go to the menu a few times before I can tell if I'm going in the right direction.

The combat was cool, but the weapon switch didn't work as well as advertised. I really liked the slow mo kills, the sword and mace were effective depending on the enemy, but the spear was useless until the last couple of boss battles. Most of the time, the enemies could dodge thrown spears and you have to wait awhile until you throw another one. Even when leveled up, I had little use for it.

Speaking of leveling up, the Aspect system was pretty interesting. I like some of the upgrade powers got confusing; I couldn't tell if I was doing damage or getting hurt with all the lightning and flames on the screen. The "decoy" power was out of place and ineffective. I really didn't see the point of the stars until I realized how many achievements I missed out on for not completing the right constellations.

The story was good and the voice acting okay (Hercules was awful). I played because I was legitimately curious as to what would happen next, but towards the end, I just wanted to finish it, so I could return it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ZZzzzZZZ!!! Oh some action...ZZZzzzZZ......

posted by CaptainX79 (SCHENECTADY, NY) Dec 23, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

34 out of 44 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I must say that after I watched the trailer for this game I was quite excited for this game to come out. I love those old sinbad movies and anything that has to do with ancient greece. Although, when I finally put the game in to play, the snooze fest began I spent the first two hours pretty much just trying to stay awake between the lack of action after the first battle and the fact that I spent the next two hours going back and forth between NPCs sorting there personals lives out before I could finally get on the ship and begin my adventure. OK maybe I'm overexerting a little but seriously there was little to no fighting at all besides the opening battle and maybe two other tiny fetch quests before you leave for your real journey. Anyways once that happens the game begins to get better albeit slowly it does pick up the pace.
The graphics for the most part are good their are some minor hiccups but nothing to major. Almost all the games secondary characters( enemy's & NPCs ) are pretty generic, so be prepared to see familiar faces in different places abound.
The game controls pretty good and the hack n' slashing is fun and can be rewarding at times with brutal death scenes.
Over all this is a decent game worth a rent, only because the games life is only that of about 10 - 12 hours depending on what you do to make it last.
I hope that was helpful and if you do decide to play this game enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not deserving of such a low score.

posted by Blaxknight (KIRKLAND, WA) Jul 4, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game was great. Anyone looking for something along the lines of hack-n-slash, or just killing, shouldn't expect to find it here. I'd say this game is more of an adventure action game than an action adventure game. The story line is absolutely captivating, it has great graphics, great characters, great dialog, voice acting is quite good, and it is a lot of fun. Truth is you'll spend more time solving mysteries/doing small quests for others than just hacking and slashing. I personally enjoyed the story line because it is a great break from some games that have just stupid or over used story lines. Look point is the people who gave it a low rating because there are too many cut scenes are just stupid because this game is about the story more than anything else. Don't get me wrong though the combat system is great, the armors and weapons look absolutely phenomenal and are a lot of fun to play with.

Personally I recommend this game to anyone looking to enjoy a good story, a good adventure, and just an overall awesome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good but WRONG

posted by Variand (LARGO, FL) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

First off, let me say I am extremely fond of Greek mythology and history, so I may be a bit harsh on Story and Plot. That said:

Rise of the Argonauts is LOOSELY based on the Greek Epic of Jason and the Argonauts and is set in ancient Greece. You will play as Jason and are seeking to recover the Golden Fleece to revive your murdered Fiance, who was assassinated during your wedding. (Story is already incorrect) Along your travels you'll meet other legendary heroes, some of which that were not in the original Greek Epic, who will join you on your journey, and you'll perform acts within the world and dedicate them to one of 4 patron gods (Ares, Apollo, Hermes and Athena) in order to gain favor and Gifts (in the form of skills and buffs).

The Gameplay is a bit flawed, but overall solid. You will run into bugs, some of which are fatal to that session and will require you to restart the game (such as respawning dead with no ability to reload).

Combat is not the most balanced i've seen, and motions are usually cumbersomely slow. But this doesn't matter TOO much because the game is extremely easy. Case and point: The game's default difficulty is it's hardest level and you can only go down.

The game is short and progresses pretty linearly, only giving you a choice to what order you want to visit 3 zones, all of which must be visited before progressing. Also note that you can not backtrack to any past visited lands. (Jason does swear an oath never to return home unless with Fleece in hand)

Graphics have a high level of detail though some slightly choppy animation switch overs and a bit out of sync lip movement can throw the immersion off a bit.

Sound Quality is excellent with fitting background music and Voice acting is... believable. Sound effects do well to bring the world alive as well.

All in all, I did enjoy playing this game, but can really only recommend renting while waiting for other more anticipated games to release.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Could have been better!

posted by biblejunky (ASHLAND, KY) Dec 30, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game was interesting to play especially if you like Greek mythology. The fighting is fun but there isnt enough. There is too much talking and going from one place to the next to unlock achievements. The game starts off slow and then picks up pace. The landscape graphics are good in most spots and the graphics on the people could have used a little more detailing. Cool god powers can be obtained and nice weapons. Hercules looks like he is on steriods.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse