Rent Rise of Nightmares for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Rise of Nightmares

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

GF Rating
5.5

1054 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not as bad as they make it seem

posted by BookofEve (WIMBERLEY, TX) Oct 29, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

13 out of 13 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was apprehensive when I started reading reviews on the game and it (the game) was being put down left and right. I was excited when I saw the preview for this game as it looked twisted and it was for kinect. After playing through the campaign and comparing what was said about the game and what I had actually experienced, I almost totally disagree with the reviews that Rise of Nightmares received. The pace of the game is pretty slow but it works well with what is going on and the motion controls were responsive as could be. One thing that i do agree with the review was that the campaign was rather short but that doesn't really take away from the fact that you have a different kind of game here. This game is worth a rent and if you are looking for something a little different from the norm, here it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A fun Kinect Game!

posted by MrCrypt (FARMINGVILLE, NY) Feb 15, 2012

Member since Nov 2005

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Critics sometimes can be harsh. The game did have a poor score reviews from most major gaming sites however I wanted to play a Kinect game, not a game full of mini-games. Was this finally a good kinect game? Yes! You see, this is an early kinect game, so it does has a bit of awkwardness to it however it has two great things. One, that is indeed a fun game. The controls are really not that bad, the moving is overall pretty good and the fighting is a lot of fun. Two, it shows what the kinect can really do and to be excited for future titles such as this one. I would really rent this game and try it out. I was laughing and have a pretty fun time with the game. It is only one of a handful of games that is full game and not just doing a bunch of mini stuff. I think you will enjoy it. Give it a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good for what it is!

posted by whoops1883 (UNION, NJ) Feb 5, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is fun im hoping this is the begining of better games to follow , though i wouldnt buy this game im glad i got it from gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Could be good but ruined..

posted by infinator (WEST YARMOUTH, MA) Jul 28, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Has the potential to be a great game but the movement engine ruins it, often as you try to move forward it moves you backwards instead, including times when you're already going the right direction, It's bad enough trying to navigate thru the game but when you're in battle it's atrocious, and even worse there are many sections that you are required to attempt to move through moving blades which take many, many tries... When you're targeting an enemy you can't cycle thru them but stay focused on the one even if there are several more that are close to or attacking you. It's sad to because this could be a really good game if they made it so the kinect wouldn't be so confused when you were trying to move... I doubt they're going to patch it to make it better but if they did this would probably be a 6 star game instead of a 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Meh

posted by Tympst (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Feb 24, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was not expecting much from the game based off of reviews and word of mouth. The opening to the game was amusing though. I enjoyed the story line from what I played. However the opening on the train was overly repetitive when it came to opening doors. The game play its self was interesting but exceptionally frustrating. The motion sensing was awkward at best. My movements did not seem to be registered unless my motions were exaggerated which drew an abundance of laughter from my boyfriend. I was the proper distance form the kinect and the view was unobstructed so there should not have been interference. I really wanted to like the game but sadly the game play was disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Probably a little harsh.

posted by ktryna917 (PHOENIX, AZ) Feb 15, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The atmosphere in this game was creepy. The creatures came out of nowhere causing some shock value. Weapons were readily available to smack down w/e came my way, and there was quite a bit of gore. On the downside, the Kinect was a pain in my rear end. They have a great concept and need to build on it. There is a point right in the beginning of the game where you have to run to progress. I live in the 3rd story of our apartment complex and am a big guy. Trying to be quiet and run in my room caused me to die some 20 times before I was finally able to get there. That was a pain. The next problem didn't make itself apparent until I had been playing for another hour or 2. Every ladder you come across required a climbing motion up and down. This got old very quick. Especially if your the kind of person who likes to explore, check out every nook and cranny, and swing your confiscated enemy arm at every box and crate looking for breakables/valuables. Most of the objects you needed to investigate have an interact option that pops up if you have the right angle facing that target, but stand just enough to the left or right and you'll never know. To move you place a foot in-front of you and your character will walk (though they trick you and tell you that "The further you step in front of you the faster you will move." but doing a split will only get you to walk not run.) I also had a problem with bugs (yes I bath... I'm talking in game) jumping on you when you open up some containers, and the game tells you to swat them away (maybe I'm a little stupid to Kinect controls but the only way I could get them off was to flail around like a madman.) In summary I gave this game a 5/10 Graphics 6/10 (compared with skyrim graphics look weak) Sound 8/10 (the enemy music played for a minute after I killed them making me panic) Gameplay 3/10 (it felt like a story-less hack and slash.) New features 9/10 (the Kinect really added a sense of realism and irritation.) Worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good kinect game

posted by ryan321321 (ALBANY, LA) Nov 29, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought the game was't all that bad. It does make good use of the kinect, but dosn't really give you the feeling that you are a person trapped in a zombie world. I wouldn't recommend you buy this game, but I would rent it. It does show what the kinect can do for games other then dancing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mature Kinect Goodness

posted by zoro1226 (GAINESVILLE, FL) Oct 19, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off, most Kinect games are childish, stupid games that no teen my age should have fun playing, but Rise of Nightmares makes Kinect a little more enjoyable.

So basically we got our hero Josh who has a little of a drinking problem, which in every good horror story you know causes marriage problems with his wife. His wife leaves him be on the train, then you try to catch up to her so you can say you're sorry, when randomly an undead giant steals her and makes your train crash. After that you struggle to survive with a group of misfits you meet on the train. You get to the graveyard of this mansion, and start fighting some zombies.

Yeah, great story right? No. Now story wise this game kinda sucks, but gameplay is pretty smooth for a Kinect title. Now the walking system can be pretty glitchy, but the people over at Sega said, "hey, the kinect is kinda bad so let's put an auto walk so they don't have to deal with the glitches." And they did.

Combat is kinda slow reactions, but the zombies are pretty easy to mash down, so its no problem.

For a mature, not kid gamer. Not a great title, but not terrible. Just... eh

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great... for kinect

posted by Rooket6 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 22, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Kinect is a new controller and the start of a new gaming generation. That being said, it has glitches. This is the first rated M game for Kinect, and a good one at that, as long as you don't compare to a joystick game, like Gears 3.

Pros
Fun, scary, and thrilling
Awesome movement sensing
Game play is excellent, I love cutting both of their arms off and watch the arm stubs swing at me
Puzzling at times

Cons
Some glitches, to be expected
Takes a while to get used to
A self-learning experience for controls

Overall, a new gaming generation, and a great start. Minor glitches, and a fun and scary gaming experience. I can't wait until games like COD can be played by sitting down and pulling an invisible trigger.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect Kinect Game!

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Sep 18, 2011

Member since Nov 2007

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

If you don't enjoy this game, sell your Kinect RIGHT NOW, because this is THE BEST THE KINECT CAN DO!

This game is great, and the best Kinect title for an adult, so far. Great interactive controls, great scary theme, good story, and definitely hours of playable fun.

Like all Kinect titles it takes some time to get the movements perfect, and even then walking forward (putting your foot forward) doesn't always work. Solution = put a small box in front of you to rest your foot on.

If you play on a nice 70+ inch tv, this is the closest to VR immersion you can do right now, so enjoy and stop complaining.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Rise of Nightmares review (xbox 360)

posted by GeezIGotSteez (MARICOPA, AZ) Sep 18, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Going into this game having already read the poor reviews I still had hope for this unique kinect/horror genre game. Once I started playing, I was locked in and determined to slash through the whole story. And I did. 5 hours later with some food and soda breaks, I finished it. From the beginning I was enjoying the kinect sensor gameplay except for when I started to face a handful of enemies at a time. I found that the game would confuse my fighting position (arms up) with the hand icon ready to search and interact with items. This then occurred throughout the rest of the game. Also the moving method of turning your shoulders toward where you want to go with one foot out was difficult when under pressure. The story was different and kept changing to help move you along. But all in all I enjoyed the game. Although I would probably not want to play it again. It is worth one good play through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Was ok, Ending wasn't great

posted by redeem34 (MAULDIN, SC) Sep 8, 2011

Member since Dec 2007

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

The overall feel for a Kinetics's game it Really great but like any game it has a Few downfalls that just Fall even more apart as the game go on

Pros
Read Movements like a boss even for the small area I have
great feel with combat, weapons have there pros and cons so a knife feels weak but fast but a hammer feels strong but slow

Cons
Some hair pulling puzzles
Somewhat of a trial and error game
game Just toss you in without telling what movements it wants

It's about 6/10 Rent it don't buy it till it drops in price

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Delightful, bloody, Good Time!

posted by tidusguy99 (SHOW LOW, AZ) Sep 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is far one of my favorite games ever!. Out of my kinect games, this one is the most intriguing, and the controls are solid and always work for me. The story is fun, it is house of the dead meets deadly premonition. It's silly raunchy fun, and even can be scary, bizarre, and just weird. I completed the game in 3 days on the easiest difficulty. There is 3 more difficulties after that. There are collectibles to find as well, tarot cards, and tapes. The tapes are a side story, a guy narrates his time through out the haunted mansion. After you beat the main game, there is an extra act you unlock. You have to escape within the allotted time, and it tells you how many calories you have lost, which is great for those tracking their calorie intake. My whole family played the game at several interval, and we all had a blast. The way you interact with the world, side stepping from enemies, opening doors, searching bloody toilets, shooting azoth, out of your hands, it feels so imerrisive than any other game I've played. This game requires alot of energy, as you will be kicking punching, and pushing away zombies. This is one of my favorite games ever, it is reminiscent of Alice Madness Returns, Deadly Premonition, House of the Dead, and Clock Tower, it was worth 50$ and it was a fun time playing it, and will be in the future!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This is the best Kinect game out

posted by G1ovonn1 (ACWORTH, GA) Sep 11, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Sega has nailed it and I hope this becomes the blue print for Kinect games. The controls do take a little time to get used too, but once learned you will have a blast.

The Pros, fluid movment that keeps you on your toes responsive attacks, and a great sense of horror with a decent story

Cons, bland enviorments and not alot of interactions with in them

all together Sega has created a believeable blue print that every developer should take notice. I give it a 7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

YES!

posted by Th3GriM (LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 7, 2011

Member since May 2010

14 out of 19 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

Guys the game is fantastic. It is the most interactive kinect game yet. Its scary at moments, and it really keeps you aware with all the killing. This game is great, and the gameplay is smooth. Probably the best kinect game out. It reads your body movements great as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not sure why all the high reviews

posted by G5Xeon (WOODLAND, CA) Sep 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2004

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I'm confused to the reviews that rate this game highly. The graphics are substandard, the control can get frustrating quickly even using the auto option to move forward.

Maybe I'm just not a Kinect happy consumer as I don't feel there is much out there yet to be excited over, and this title just confirmed that to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Absolute garbage.

posted by linedoc (TOPEKA, KS) Aug 31, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm a completionist, and only spent 20 minutes playing this rubbish before I made a special trip to the Post Office to send it back. I seriously contemplated burning it; I still feel it would have done GameFly customers a great service.

The controls were obviously designed by a drunken epileptic. Let's talk about these 'controls':

Walking: Right. Either keep one foot out in front, or just hold up your right arm. Guess which is easier.

Running: Not happening.

Crouching: Sure, but you have to hold out your hand to 'interact' for some stupid reason.

Fighting: Good luck. You WILL take damage; even with perfect timing, it's wonky at best.

Turning: Turn normally, and you will quickly find yourself facing backward; turn just a tiny bit, however, and the controls are unresponsive.

If they fixed the controls...yeah, I still wouldn't play it. I shall forever lament the loss of 20 minutes of my life, wasted in this garbage entitled Rise of Nightmares.

The only nightmare here is the game itself. If I could rate it lower, I would.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

pretty freakin awesome

posted by mosgroveld (CANTON, OH) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

blew my mind away to b able to walk, turn, and fight without a controller! loved it! kinnect jus keeps getting better n better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I would rather play a board game.

posted by mamajama72 (PLAINFIELD, IL) Oct 29, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Kinect still needs to work out some kinks with the smoothness of the game. It is very difficult to move around quickly in the direction you want to go....I used the auto mode a lot. It was hard to stay engagaed on the target when fighting also....story line was okay and violence was good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sounds like fun

posted by cyborgeek (BILLINGS, MO) Dec 29, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I rented this hoping to finally have fun with
Kinect and kill zombies. Game play is lamo
I played 30min and sent the game back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible game

posted by novatilt (ENDICOTT, NY) Sep 29, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

So I rented this game figuring it was going to be really good right? Wrong all the controls for the connect are wonky at best. When you try to have the guy move forward he is at a crawl and turning, forget it they just spins around, also picking up weapons while you keep walking is just hard and to wrap this up the combat system is all off you have to keep moving and turning to each opponent and sometimes your guy just does a 90 degree turn to face no one and your hits seem to just fail around the screen. I was hoping for so much more from this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrifing Game

posted by matthew13 (CHESWICK, PA) Nov 11, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is not for kids at all do not let your kids play this game at all alright....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

coool game. headache to control

posted by gyro112888 (TIFTON, GA) Sep 9, 2011

Member since May 2006

5 out of 25 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game is like a super cheap wii resident evil.lame nintendo 64 graphics. Try walking straight and u will start to go left and get stuck on wall and then yell bcuz u just died bcuz of lame controls. Slide one foot forward to go forward....but sometime it thinks u moved other foot back and u walk into spike wall ugh why r u going back ugh!!!! Have to stand sideways to go forward reflicted thing. And yes my kinect is set up right and works fine with other games. Although kinect is glitchy and laggy a lot. Pizzd off at bciz it get stuck sometimes and walks by itself! U can lift right hand up to auto walk but hand gets tired and cant use that n fights. Fights r hard when u cant turn towards zombies ugh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Uhm...

posted by Faerie_Knight (DUBUQUE, IA) Aug 14, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

Only played the demo so far, but it didn't look good. Combat was flawless and fun. The concept is interesting. The game ads were amusing. But the movement controls... Ugh. Maybe it's cause my kinect sensor was too far back initially. But it the game has trouble telling "I'm moving forwards" from "I'm moving backwards". Even in just the demo this proved to be a major stumbling block. Maneuver through a set of buzz saws by timing when to go forwards? Sure, no problem.

Turn around and fight a group of zombies first, then go through the traps? Big problem because instead of letting you move away from the traps, you move backwards into the trap. Over. And over. And over. And over...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I Liked It!!

posted by Shaylafaye1 (STROUDSBURG, PA) Feb 9, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I think this game was better than expected! I'm really hoping for more of this kind of thing to be available. Fighting the zombies was really fun and all the movements were pretty accurate once you got the hang of it. It's definitely worth the rent and I hope to see more up and coming games like this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse