Rent Rio for PS3
view large frontback

Rio

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, Wii, Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.1

318 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

Too Childish

posted by Floman_of_Games (ANAHEIM, CA) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought the game would be more adventurous, but instead it was a lot of various activities too easy to achieve. I completed this game in one day. Definately not for the advanced gamer or teens and above. Keep it for the younger kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What's with the low ratings?

posted by Animator22 (SAN JOSE, CA) Apr 25, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is actually a great party game! What do you want when the cover says "Party Game!" This is a huge collection of mini games all themed from the movie Rio of course.

The character models, animations and scenery look very nice and clean. The gameplay is also very clean. All the controls for the minigames are very easy to understand so anyone can play this game!

This game has 40 if not more different mini games which are all different. Its true that a few are very easy but most are a lot of fun to play. You can play by yourself with the AI but this game is a lot more fun with more users. Unless you have friends to play with this game can get old a little quick. But it will have its fun for the first few passes.

There are a few game modes like Story which follow the events of the story but it just changes the location for the games. There's a few other modes too like Carnival Wheel which spins a wheel to see what game you'll be playing then spin again for the points. There's a lot of variety to keep you busy for a little while!

There's no online multiplayer but then again if they added it then the game wouldn't have been as polished as it is. Most party games like this are local multiplayer only but I think they should start getting off that boat.

Overall I think they did a great job making the mini games around the movie. This is certainly a rent if your into party games or if you liked if not loved the movie and wanted to play the game like me and see how they matched. But then again a $30 price tag for a new copy isn't bad either!

If your not into these types of games then don't play it! If your a hardcore gamer that plays certain genre then you probbaly wont like this. But if your an all around gamer and have seen the the movie then I think you'll have fun with this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

DONT WASTE YOUR KIDS TIME

posted by VINCE47 (Terrell, TX) May 31, 2011

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i rented this game because of the other review above,,, and its just plain terrible... a bore fest in HD... I just rented to pick up some easy trophies but this game got put back in the envelope within say 8 minutes..... rent your kid RANGO ,,,that was a fun game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

party time

posted by shinvegeta (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Jun 24, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game is pretty fun especially with other players it is a party game so grab somes friends and have a good time a very easy platinum trophy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by PANdemon47 (SAN LEANDRO, CA) May 24, 2013

Member since May 2013

Gotta agree with Vince47. My 4 yr-old was flat out disgusted how boring this game was. I figured it would be an easy and fun time with my son until I realized this is a trophy-grind game only.

Even as far as party games go, this is a game unfit for anything but the Wii, being a party game-type console with simple buttons. Four buttons are needed to play the entire game, so do NOT look for complexity or uniqueness. May as well buy Mario Party and save the yourself frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great party / family game night type of game!

posted by cubana62376 (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 30, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

Like the preview says this game is geared as a party game & for kids. Of Course if your thing is Forza & such then this isn't going to be your cup of tea. BUT if you have young kids & want to spend time w/ them having a great time, say on Family Fun/Game Night then this game is the one. (You can put Forza down for about an hour or 2 for the little ones, right?!) I even played it 1 night w/ a few girlfriends that came over for a few drinks & had fun competing! Doesn't quite follow a specific story line, has about 35-40 plus mini games. Great for the small ones to follow & easy enough for the youngest to not get frustrated. My 3 & 5 year old have a blast playing each other. It took my 3 year old about 3 times to get the hang of it & then he loved it. I don't let them play too much video games so that probably also helped the 5 yr old to keep wanting to play it because she didn't play all the mini games in a week & had a long while before she got to almost all of them.
Like I said - it's a great party, multi person, young kids, family time type of game! Please don't give it low points because you are comparing it to other games geared towards teens & older!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

My son loved it!!!!

posted by Regent14 (INDIAN TRAIL, NC) Jun 19, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Ok, I got this for my 4 year old son to play becasue he fell in love with the movie...he loves the game even more and now his best friend comes over to play the game. It's not a game for me to play by myself but when my wife or I want to play a game with him then this is the game for us

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »