Rent Ridge Racer Unbounded for PS3
view large frontback

Ridge Racer Unbounded

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.0

365 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Good Arcade Racer

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 13, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overview
====================
I don't think many of the reviews are fair that are below 5-6. They are either complaining that it is an arcade racer or that it isn't like old Ridge Racer games. All you had to do is read a preview or review and you wouldn't be suprised. Neither of those are good reasons to rate a game as a 1... A 1 should be received for a horrific game (worst you've ever played). This game would not fit that description for any rational person.

The bottom-line is that this is an arcade racer that is a mix of Burnout and Split Second (ie. crashing other racers and environment destruction). The game is quite fun at what it is. My single gripe would be like other reviewers that the drifting is hard to adjust to.

Another thing of note is that this game doesn't allow customization of your car. This doesn't bother me, but I'm sure others will complain since they didn't read a preview or review.

Pros
=================
1) fun arcade style racer with environment destruction
2) nice graphics (not too dim on my tv - see other reviews complaints)
3) track builder

Cons
==================
1) drifting is little hard to adjust to

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

i hated the last nfs so this is great

posted by prettiegrl (BEACON, NY) Apr 5, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i'm usually a big fan of racing games but lattley they have fallen off. Split/second was a step in the right direction and i feel this game is too. one problem no story but i guess if i had to choose between no story and a story that is cheesy and repetitive i would choose no story. The game play is awsome once you get the drifting down it is pretty nice you move from corner to corner so fast (i like fast) lots of stuff to destroy. one of the best things is almost all walls and polls you can drive right through so there is none of that annoying, getting caught on a little fence like in need for speed. great game definetly try

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ridge Racer Unbounded

posted by ProGamer_17 (GRACEVILLE, FL) Apr 14, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Do not let the low ratings discourage you from playing a great racing game. The graphics are great, racing action is fast and furious. Mastering the drifting is the key to playing this game to its fullest potential. Some of the best racing in any game that I have ever played!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Arcade Racer

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Apr 12, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Very fun and easy to play racing game... Ridgeracer: Unbound has the traditional arcade racing style very well polished but limits the driver to only using non-customizable cars.

The Story is pretty retro and common for racing titles. You are a rookie driver that is to merge to being the top driver in every racing class and own the World at racing.

The game is very easy to play and fun. The arcade style of gameplay is not that bad and the over all game dynamics are pretty cool. There is basically 4 types of racing... Drifting, time trials, elimination, Racing, and a few different sorting of variants of those racing types.
The coolest aspect that makes the title brilliant is the ability to create your own WORLD of racing areas. While you can't build a free-roam stage. You CAN create numerous types of maps with your own course layout. Share and challenge the maps you create with your friends or take them to the online world and show your style.
I only wish they would have allowed the cars to be more customizable, but never-the-less it is a clever, easy to use, and unique game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun for a bit!

posted by SkinnyWhiteBoy2 (NEWNAN, GA) Apr 9, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is fun, dont get me wrong!
The first three cities you race in are fun and look great.
Then once you start unlocking the other 6 cities things change!
It becomes so hard to win even win you wreck people and you dont... its pisses you off.
So Im sending it back about 45% complete... I hate leaving games unfinished but this game takes a really good racing gamer to beat it!
8/10 First three cities, 3/10 whatever is left!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

worth tyring

posted by jaredkolb (FORT PIERRE, SD) Apr 15, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i liked the first ridge racer for playstation, so i tried this. not completely disappointed, its pretty enjoyable. arcade racer like other reviews have been saying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RIDGE RACER UNBOUNDED

posted by halloween84 (SMITHFIELD, PA) Apr 3, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I REALLY THINK THIS IS A COOL GAME!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Isn't Ridge Racer

posted by SnowOkami (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Apr 4, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 15 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I don't know why they would name this game this. Seems like a cheap ploy to use the IP to get more sales.

The game is nothing like 2000 onwards Ridge Racer. The soundtrack is very bland ( What happened to all those classic up-beat songs by Namco producers we love so much - 'Rotterdam Nation '94, 'Rare Hero 2', 'Discoball'?) , the cars are all modeled after real vehicles rather than the fictional Ridge Raer universe ( Where is the White Angel and Devil car?!) , and the gameplay is nothing like it was (simple fun, classic).

-Plays like MotorStorm Apocolypse mixed with Split Second - All based around using boosts to frag your opponents and blow up objects to earn bonuses - the scenery is nothing like it was - based around Shatter City (MotorStorm Apocolypse) which looks very industrial unlike cruising the beautiful beach and mountain scapes
-Drifting is very heavy handed and not simplistic like the past Ridge Racer games completely taking the fun out of this type of racing game
-Game difficulty is dangerously frustrating for the non-serious racing gamer who wants a fun racing game to pick up and play for an hour or two

Overall - I played the game for about an hour and quit. I am not good at racing games in general and I do not enjoy them, but Ridge Racer has always been a 'fun' racing series that doesn't require you to be competitive or thinking on your feet at every bend and curve. It was a racing game that was very casual and fun that made racing easy and drifting a piece of cake. This is the complete opposite with this game. It plays handles and looks nothing like any Ridge Racer I have ever played and I have played them all every since they were sit-in cabinents at the local arcades. I highly recommend unless you are looking for a medium-to-steep learning curve racer with a very competitive racing atmosphere that you don't get this game. It just isn't Ridge Racer.

My rating is based on the series of games that came before. As a general racing game it's decent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Feels more like Split/Second 2 than Ridge Racer

posted by Vsonic (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Nov 10, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

Everything that claims to be an arcadey racer these days is merely a pretender. Unbounded here continues the trend; these cars belong more in Need for Speed than a game with "Ridge Racer" on the box. Remember how you could spin it the whole way around a corner? Yeah; they don't do that here. They don't drift like Burnout either. These cars are heavy and obey real world physics. You tap brake, and your back swings out wildly – you lose control of your front if you try to drift too long. It's not very fun.

But once you get through that, this game is pretty neat. Like Split/Second or Burnout, it has an emphasis on destruction. Driving well fills your boost meter, after which you can use it to smash opponents or walls to find shortcuts. The checking feels good and looks great. It's not quite as good as in Burnout though, and blowing up the track isn't nearly as good as in Split/Second, but it's a fine mix between the two. The amount of race types is great, and the visual variety in Shatter Bay is nice. The soundtrack is... okay. Too much Euro-style techno for me, but classic Ridge Racer tracks are in there. The difficulty is too high for my taste; there seems to be rubber banding going on. So if you're easily frustrated, you should probably skip this one.

The biggest problem is visual. There's no personality. Because of the focus on destruction, it causes problems. A ton of objects, including walls and columns, are destroyable. It wants you to bust through them to fill up your boost meter, but the game doesn't do enough to communicate what is safe to drive through and what will stop you cold. They could have desaturated invincible elements, used different materials, lit them differently, put graffitti on them – they could've done a TON to differentiate the two, but didn't. It's a pretty glaring flaw on the part of the aesthetic design. It somehow doesn't completely derail the experience, but it's less than ideal.

RRU isn't perfect, but it's fun. Give it a sho

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Limited

posted by djthaiboxe (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Sep 1, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

No backstory at all to go with this game. Its plug and play racing, plus online options.

I have to HEAVILY suggest playing SPLIT SECOND instead of ridge racer, as the idea's in ridge racer make Split Second even better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just stay away

posted by twobar2door (JUSTICE, IL) Aug 13, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Horrific. The gameplay is terrible, the music seclection is awful, and the "story" is non-existant.

I'm a big fan of the Ridge Racer series and thought it was cool they were trying to do this whole "take the racing outside the track" theme, but it wasn't worth it. It isn't Ridge Racer, it's almost some kind of twisted hybrid of RR and the Burnout series.

Just advising that if you're a fan of the RR series, stay away. It's not what you think.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

So Lame

posted by vlace11 (CEDAR HILL, TX) Jun 13, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

This game feels nothing like the ridge racer i know its more like a split second clone so disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sweet change of pace from NFS

posted by bITEmE (NEWVILLE, PA) Apr 27, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

Like it better than split second.

Although my four year old cousin can race in RRU and make it to the finish line, this game is challenging. Easy to controll, hard to win. I've played it for a few hours and only won about 10/12 races. But itis great fun.

My Beef with reviewers:

People complainig and rating it 1 prob just suck at it and are frustrated or havent played enough to get the feel. Drifting is not hard like some are saying. youre supposed to hit stuff going in and coming out of corners, it gives you points and boost so these other reviewers havent played it enough to figure it out.

Also, stop whinning that new games arent like the older games... you want to play a game like the old one you have, then play the old one. from NFS reviews to TW & RR:U, UC3 ... so sick of hearing "Unleashed sucks, its not like Most Wanted, I'll rate it a 1." "GT5 sucks cause its hard and nothing like Motorstorm"... DUH!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best arcade racing game ive played in a while !

posted by mark9087 (PALM COAST, FL) Apr 24, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

this is a good ARCADE game so if people are looking for simulation style racing with real world physics this is not the game for you. this is just for pure fun ! it is amazingly challenging and the graphics of the game are perfect, not to real but not too fake. i love how the cars are based on real cars but they put their own flavor in them. overall one of the best arcade racing games out there !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Disappointing

posted by Ichiban (SAN JOSE, CA) Apr 16, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

I love me some Ridge Racer. In fact RR7 was the first game I got when I got my PS3. This however is not Ridge Racer. But also, that is not why I scored it as I did.

The game feels like a fairly tired NFS game, and at that, any of the NFS games would fill the same driving cravings that this does. This is also rock hard. I think, after almost two weeks of playing it, that my fingers still don't understand how to drift and so I find myself grinding repeat plays to get enough XP for a slightly faster car, and this is on the earliest of levels.

Sorry, but Split/Second still owns the PS3 Arcade Racer crown for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

booooooo

posted by StupyInZeBox (OGDEN, UT) Apr 12, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

I've had this game for 2 hours. I'm sending it back. It just didn't work. If you want to drift, you have to actually get into a fist fight with the car. By the time you've got it loose, it's already too late and your crashing into something. even if you manage to get it to slide around a corner, getting it back under control is almost impossible. There was also what I like to call "Burnout Syndrome". When you "Frag" (I thought having that term in a racing game was odd) a rival, you get to watch them crash in slow motion while the AI takes over your car and immediately drives into something stupid. The soundtrack had too much Skrillex (I despise Skrillex) and the rest of the other 4 artists they had weren't exactly to my taste either. Despite all this complete and utter suckage, there were some very interesting concepts that I would like to see carried over into another, better executed game. Driving through an exploding building never got old, being able to crash throught certain elements of the track that other games would have made unbreakable was pretty sweet, and showing things like your position, the split, and your points in the enviroment, basicly eliminating the need for a hud was pretty cool. Overall this game had potential in spades, but all of it was mired in wonky controls and a horribad soundtrack. I wouldn't recomend this game to anyone ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste of waiting time

posted by lexman (CRANFORD, NJ) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

I really hate waiting for a release on something that in pictures looks amazing...then you get it and SURPRISE! another stupid arcade game! C'mon, the thing is so dark you have to pause it,crank the brightness all the way up so you don't keep driving into walls!..which in some cases will break away,and some wont..just plain dumb! One reviewer here was correct on the drifting,almost impossible to master and keep the car off the outer wall. All you men out there who used to play hours of GRID online!...(those were the freekin days,huh?),leave this garbage to your little brother,or sister. Oh, and when you do go head on into a wall..the graphics go black and white slow-mo overhead shot with some smoke and sparklers going off around it..the worst I've ever seen,left me shaking my head in total disbelief on how cheap it looked..really Namco ?? Its almost like the designers were being held at gunpoint to get this one on the shelves! Totally not worth the wait would be a gross understatement on this one! Rent it, you'll see...and for Gods sake DON'T BUY IT! p.s., the engines DO sound good,but that's it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A knockoff of Need for Speed

posted by shooterjunkie56 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Apr 4, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

I was excited when I first heard about RR unbounded. It was going to try something different with the series and try to be more of an action racing game than a traditional arcade racer. Sadly while a good attempt the execution was quite poor.
Ridge Racer unbounded is without a doubt a knockoff of games such as Need for Speed Hot Pursuit and NFS the Run. There's nothing wrong with trying to be better than those games but with this game it just falls on its face. The driving is very bad. It's very stiff meaning the cars don't turn very well. Drifting is also terrible. Most of the time you end up running into objects along the way when you try to correct the drift. The graphics aren't the good either. The cars look ok but the environments lack detail and can look a bit pixelated at times.
Nothing about RR Unbounded is any good. I'd say this is one of the worst racers I've played since Jimmie Johnson's Anything with an engine. Just stay away from this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad

posted by CE5k21 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Apr 3, 2012

Member since May 2011

Everytime you drift you go flying into the wall, the game is extremely dim, game flashes way too much, and it's impossible to win. This is like if Need For Speed was really bad. I recommend not getting this game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »