Rent Ridge Racer Unbounded for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Ridge Racer Unbounded

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
5.3

435 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ridge Racer Needs a Rebound

posted by Chevy2ner (MACON, GA) Apr 15, 2012

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ridge Racer has always been a fun game of its own. I've played ridge racer 6 and i was thoroughly impressed with the game. Now this game is a different story, ive tried and tried and tried to get into this game but its really not all that entertaining. The graphics are pretty good but the gameplay was just not there also, the skill level of the ai can sometimes be a pain. As a racer i tried to give this game a good chance but honestly there was no story and the online is super dead so what is good about this game?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Flatout meets Split/Second.

posted by burntice61 (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Apr 2, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Being a pretty big Ridge Racer fan back in the day, i was very skeptical of this one. But as it turns out it ain't bad, but it ain't Ridge Racer. Lemme break it down:

The Good:
-Track Editor: Its become the norm in GOOD racing games nowadays and this one is no different, with the tile style Basic Editor to the item heavy Advanced Editor, you can make the city based track of your dreams.
-Destruction: Since this game is made by the car destruction geniuses Bugbear(of FlatOut fame), you know you're gonna get some carnage, plus the Split/Second style environmental destruction makes for an awesome experience.
-Multiplayer, Lots of modes, most of them EXTREMELY competitive.

The Meh:
-The Driving Mechanics, Its arcadey and tough to master.
-The Graphics, the environments look great but cars(post carnage) look terrible.

The BAD:
-Soundtrack, besides the good ol RR music, there's dubstep, not a big fan.
-Lack of Campaign, all you get is a silly story in an intro cinematic and thats it, the rest is just a list of races and you earn points to unlock Cars, Tiles for the editor and even more races to do.

Overall, It ain't RR but its a pretty good racing game, good features, decent racing mechanics, fun multiplayer. Though i do think Bugbear and Namco shoulda teamed up for a new FlatOut, this will do for now, its a RENT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

its got it all

posted by JXC2010 (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

destruction mayhem drifting oh and racing at its finest who hates wraping their car around some bridge support and losing the race... everybody thats who well to heck with it just go right through the darn thing and taking out your opponent at the same time is just icing on the cake the latest ridge racer. been playing all the ridge racer games for a long time and i must say this one has it all. if you only played the demo than you are missing out on the rest of the fun. drift races time trials stunt races and stright up frag races. and they still have the good old straight up racing skill beats all so buckle up and take'm out in this rockin game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprised,

posted by gamewiz1JLG (FOLEY, AL) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let's start out by making one thing very clear, this is definitely not your old Ridge racer. This game is completely fresh, and has no ties with the older Ridge racers. The cars handle well, but they are definitely not on a rail as before. You must learn to drift, this is crucial. Without this skill, you are going to be eating dirt often, so get used to using the little red button:) The graphics are pretty good, not the best I've seen, but very good nonetheless. There are tons of different ways you can race, and some of those are directly ripped off from other popular racing games. You get to crash into cars, via Burnout, you get to do some wacky obstacle races like Beatle adventure racing on the N64, and you can blow up buildings as well as other obstacles when your boost meter is full. Overall I would say that this game is definitely worth a rental, if not a purchase. I am already wondering if I should just use the keep it feature, since it's exactly the type of racing game I have been wanting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It didn't suck.

posted by jlyman71 (OWATONNA, MN) May 18, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've never been a huge fan of Namco or the previous Ridge Racer series, but I am however a huge fan of the Flatout series. Truth be told, the only reason I tried this game was because Bugbear had a hand in its making. The driving mechanics were solid but rely too heavily on drifting. Nothing against drifting, I feel it has its place, I just dont believe that drifting around a corner is the fastest way around it. That being said it was a very fun, challenging game. I really liked the track editor. Making my own world was a blast. Of all the race modes the Frag Attack was my favorite. I will definitley play this one again. PS Bugbear if you're listening.....Please make another Flatout!!! Or something comparable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hold On Tight!!!!!!!

posted by fantasy_boy (NEWPORT, TN) Apr 13, 2012

Member since May 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Going to be a short review.
FUN that is all I got to say.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game , addictive

posted by Robavan (PANORAMA CITY, CA) Apr 28, 2012

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great game, rent it I u like racing through walls and things!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

ridge racer unbounded

posted by Wintercorn (GALESBURG, IL) Apr 28, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game sucks, i liked the first ridgeracer game a lot better. not worth the price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's no Split/Second, but it's ok.....

posted by HTownBalla (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 30, 2012

Member since May 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ever since Black Rock studios was dismantled and the future of the Split/Second franchise has been put in jeopardy, I have been on the hunt for anything remotely as good as that game to latch onto (if you recognize my name on this review than chances are you've seen me the past 2 years dusting you online on S/S as it's similar to my tag ;) ).

The description of this gam makes it sound similar and it kind of is I guess. While the graphics, sound and handling as well as car design and drifting fall short of S/S, it does have a destructable environment you can gain power through drifting and destroy and seems to have a healthy amount of cars to unlock.

I realize my review is tainted as I am comparing it to S/S but that is the Platinum standard for me, so I can't help but measure games against it.

The game is fun and I will play it for a bit, but after an hour or so it just makes me want to pop in S/S and dominate for a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ridge Racer Unbounded

posted by travelboy1 (BRANDAMORE, PA) Apr 5, 2012

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

I did not like the game becasue it was to hard

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not very entertaining

posted by RoadKing (MIAMI, FL) Jan 28, 2013

Member since Dec 2008

not very entertaining

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ridge racer unbound

posted by rise12 (EDISON, NJ) Oct 24, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

this game is absolutely horrible.....the gameplay is weak.....the cars are not cool......i highly dont recommend this game,and i am a huge fan of racing games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hard to Drift This Difficulty Curve!

posted by chodathecat (PHOENIX, AZ) Jul 23, 2012

Member since May 2011

Having never played any other Ridge Racer game, I cannot compare Unbounded to its predecessors, however, I can go as far to say that it was "Above Average".

Pros:

-Track Editor allows for some interesting creations, including tracks designed for boosting achievements.

-Graphics were run of the mill, but still bearable, lots track interactivity.

-Blowing stuff up and crashing through buildings.

Cons:

-Difficulty curve is ridiculous, perhaps designed for twitch arcade racers who spend their days at Gameworks?

-Besides the few known Skrillex tracks, the soundtrack is all obscure Japanese techno, had me turning the volume down.

-Bad translations in some of the loading screen on-screen tips.

-Did I mention the difficulty curve? I ended up returning the game with a couple districts where I had 3 stars in every track but still couldn't progress due to point differentials.

Overall:

Rent this, and check out the user created tracks for achievement-boosting tracks. Was able to get 500 GS before the difficulty and frustration got the better of me.

6 for effort.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointed

posted by lonewolfconman (MAYSVILLE, KY) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I wanted to like this game, I love games like the Burnout series, Blur etc...but this game just wouldnt let me like it. At times it was fun, but more often I found it not fun and very aggrivating and frustrating instead. If the actual Ridge Racer drifting mechanics were in place in this game from the previouos Ridge Racer games, it could have helped keep up the fast pace flow for the game. Instead, the drifts more times than not were spinouts, wall smahes, and complete turn-arounds in the wrong direction to only sometimes be fragged by Ai drivers. This problem put the brakes on the fun to be had here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A step in the right direction

posted by DanNaruto1 (CHANNAHON, IL) May 10, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

Its about time Ridge Racer turned a new leaf and went in a new direction. For a while now Ridge Racer went through the same old path for years while every racing game evolved around it. And just racing around on a track was just getting old and outdated, so I applaud Ridger Racer Unbounded for breaking the old Ridger Racer formula. The game to me is like a Burnout, Flatout, Split/Second combined into one. The game doesnt have a story, which is good, because racing games don't need a storyline, its racing, it speaks for itself. The game difficulty at times can be unfair and cheap, making you retry a race over 5 times just to make it into the top 3. The game has this type of point total system where you get points for finishing 3rd, 2nd and 1st, but the thing is the game in the later stages forces you to win every race and get very high point total just to unlock the next race which is fine, but if the AI didn't cheat so much it would be a much funner experience. The modes in Unbounded include, Domination, Frag Attack, Time Attack, Drift, and Shindo Race. Frag Attack is the best by far and Drift is probably the least best one. The best part of this game though is the Track Editor, where you can create a city which tracks and modes of your choice, you can practically do anything with as many exploding barrells and mega jumps as you want, and when your done you can publish your track online where people can try out the tracks in your city. As far as the game value goes, this game is worth a rent, not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not a good game.

posted by Diskey4 (DECATUR, IL) Apr 12, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

I have not had experience with the Ridge Racer franchise, but often enjoy racing games. I assumed the game would be similar to Split/Second, and in concept it is but in everything else it is not.

The "story" section is a grouping of races that tally points and open more races and cars. The drift system is difficult to work with in all the cars. The drifting is what gives you power to perform speed boosts that destroy environment and other racers. I raced fifty races and finished one first place, in a non standard race. You can unlock better cars but the difficulty stays and the game becomes very frustrating.

This game made me furious, I walked away with a small amount of achievements and wasted time. If you want a good game like this play Split/Second. If you know the makers of this game, slap them for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »