Rent Ridge Racer 7 for PS3
view large frontback

Ridge Racer 7

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.2

1326 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

same old and thats not good

posted by templarkin (new york, NY) May 29, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As another reviewer stated, the RR series was my
first experience w/ racing. That being said, I
really wanted to like this game. And I prob would
have if I never owned a PS2 and/or a PS3. This
game is ancient in it's approach, The cars move like
they did years ago(A slight bump from another car
doesn't send you anywhere except to a crawl. And by
now the eurasian sexy voice in your head commenting
all through the race is completely weak and frayed.

We must commend them for the attempt at trying to
pull off a serious drift only racing game. But in
the age of BURNOUT PARADISE, and the NFS series. I
am left wanting for more, lots more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

so so

posted by slackr (GLENDORA, CA) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Im no hard core gamer, but maybe I'm spoiled with ridgeracer for the psp. I've played it on PS3 , the graphics are great, a little to good because the glare I got while driving thru tunnels is far from realistic. Other than that its ok, but not great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Good to the last Drop!

posted by Glockoma (BUFFALO GROVE, IL) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game has good visuals. Cars looks nice and clear. The courses have much details. But there are a lot of things wrong wit the game.
First, the career mode is bland. Race oppurtinities pop-up, but there isnt much detail on what happens when u win. It takes forever to upgrade ur cars.
Second, there should be car damage. None of these cars are real, so who cares if they get damaged. That would make the game more enjoyable to see ur car goin 200mph, and then flip after hitting the wall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

OUCH!

posted by Mulley007 (MEDFORD, NY) Aug 13, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is my first time trying a Ridge Racer game. And quite possibly my last. Compared to the Project Gotham Series, Gran Turismo Series, Forza Series, this is pretty lame. The controls remind me of a cheesy rendition of Rad Racer or Top Gear. The cars are all over the pace. What were the developers thinking? Even the average graphics couldn't help this title. Believe me, this one is for the birds and has little replay value. Game off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dissapointing end? to the Ridge Racer legacy.

posted by mrc131 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Aug 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was a huge Ridge Racer fan back in the day but this game somehow lost that greatness. It is very pretty, but thats about it. It has a strong arcade feel as cars can not really drift anything like they do in the game, nor be controlled as easily. I found this to be a non-racers racing game. yes it helps to hit the apex of the turn, but not too much as long as your drifting. There are lots of cars, but they are all pretty much the same split into 3 diff categories based on how they drift. BOTTOMLINE: I wouldn't bother unless you are just a hardcore Ridge Racer fan. Download the demo on PS store and try it out before renting, you may be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Eh not that great

posted by regulate42 (PORTER RANCH, CA) Jul 30, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

graphics are pretty cool and crisp but a little fake... gameplay sucks i think... drifting is way to easy to start and to hard to stop gets kinda annoying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ridge racer 7

posted by fredc3 (JACKSONVILLE, NC) Apr 26, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

well in ridge racer 7 the graphics,steering,and just overall gameplay was horrible.i would not reccomend this to people who like race games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Very Arcadey!!

posted by MIGamer1 (MACOMB, MI) Apr 18, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is ok, it had the name that people love, but mostly only if you like arcade style racer's this game is way to Arcadey for me, there is too much fake feeling to it, its definitely not my racing game, it is ok, but not worth the $60 its probably worth a rental though, its got potential, but they should have added some simulation to it, and not strictly arcade, that would have made the game a lot better, but the cars are sweet and the customization is good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring

posted by Talonj (ANTIOCH, CA) Mar 3, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was fun for about 30 minutes. After that it was sooo boring, just the same thing over, and over again. The graphics where not anywhere as god as other PS3 games i have played, no where near as good. The drifting was very unrealistic. This just was a boring game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun for the first time...

posted by SmileyDude (MOUNTAIN VIEW, CA) Jan 10, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is very fun and crisp...the first time you play it. After that, you realize how bad the graphics are for a PS3 game, and how repetitive teh gameplay is. At best, it looks like a bad PS2 game. The gameplay is always the same. Hold X, tap Square on corners to drift, and ocassionally press R2 for nitrous. Very boring unless you like bad looking and repetitive racing games.

SmileyDude O-U-T OUT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game is the worst

posted by BASILA (MARLBOROUGH, MA) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i waited in line for 2 1/2 days in the cold and rain in a leaky tent to buy my ps3 the day they first came out. i brought my ps3 home and played this game and wanted to smash my brand new ps3 because i couldnt believe i wasted so much time to play such a horrrrrible game. but then i played madden and all was right in the world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What Drifting?

posted by lbz999 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 14, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Maybe I hated this game because I am not a huge drifting fan. I started working my through the game, got about 20 races in and hit the wall. I couldnt buy another win. So I thought I'd play online, very cool and smooth when not 14 people in the room. I raced 30 times, and the best I ever got was 2nd out of 5 people.

I'm a pretty decent driver in all other games, but something about this game put it in the toilet. The physics are so off its frustrating. The best thing about the game is the arcade game when it first starts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Even Worth Renting

posted by gary720 (OAKVILLE, CT) Feb 5, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

usps delv. this game to me today from gamefly and i played it for about a half hour before i put it in envelope and mailed it back.the people who made this game do they drive like this? all over the road hoping to make every corner just spinning around and if you dont (drift) you hit almost every corner slow you down or crash mean while the game is telling you how bad your doing in the race or do you like a real racing game like need for speed you can actually play and win with driving skill not sliding skill not realistic at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not that great

posted by JasonWrigh (SEATTLE, WA) Feb 3, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Good graphics, easy to use. I just did not really enjoy the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not another ridge racer

posted by einismydog (OSWEGO, NY) Jan 20, 2007

Member since Aug 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

if you have played any of the ridge racer series you have played this game. if you like the previous ones you will love this game. I do not, the control is just to loose. If you like your racing games less realistic and more like a video game by all means rent this game. It looks good its full of fictional cans with unrealistic handling, like every ridge racer before it. If you never player a ridge racer game before you might want to check it out, i loved the first ridge racer i played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Ridge Racer 7

posted by hobojoe (NEW YORK, NY) Jan 29, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I tried my best to start this game with an open mind, despite hearing some bad things about the previous installments. During the first minute of game play my worst fears were realized, this might be the worst racing game I have ever played (although I'm sure the last six ridge racers were even more abysmal). The driving controls are outright silly, at no point was there even an iota of realism, which was very disappointing to me. I feel that a good racing game should have a balance of silliness and realism, although I generally prefer sim type racing games. This game was so far toward the silly side I could hardly take it. To top it all off, the graphics were really less than impressive. I suppose that If you are into drift racing this game might be for you. But otherwise I wouldn't recommend renting this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Incredibly Dissappointing

posted by NYyanks13 (YORKVILLE, IL) Jan 26, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've played countless different racing titles in my life, and I can honestly say that Ridge Racer 7 is one of the worst. For starters, the graphics arent even that impressive. Second, the controls and the way the cars react to your movements seems so unrealistic. Third, the races are incredibly boring and easy. I played 4 races and won each of them by a longshot. I have had this game for 1 day and I will be sending it back to gamefly immediately.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

RR7

posted by slingblade (PINSON, AL) Dec 19, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

RR7 is very visually appealing and the Ridge State racing "career mode" looks very promising. Picked up the game and won the first manufacturers race and got a new ride. Controls were tight and should provide hours of great PS3 game play. For those that have been playing RR from the beginning, no surprises here. This is RR next gen and what a sight to behold.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprise

posted by sonicflood (COOLIDGE, TX) Jan 6, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this was the first Ridge Racer game i played and at first i was pretty much ready to stop playing the game and play a different one becasue of the crazy 90 degree angle turns i was like TOTALLY FAKE......but eventually this game was pretty fun i mean 1080P at a solid 60 Framerate per second this game is one of the better launch titles if you like racing games or arcade racing check this game out you might be in for a surprise

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A proper review

posted by kn1ves24 (NANTY GLO, PA) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

People here should maybe research or look into what a game is like before they actually rent it. Everybody here who rented this game expecting a racing sim should not review this game and rate it a 1. Ridge Racer as a series has never been a racing sim. It is an arcade racer to the core. It started as out in an arcade for crying out loud, and then was ported to the original playstation. This is the reason for the ridiculous 90 degree drifts and the way the cars bounce off of walls or one another, its an arcade game.

Anyways about RR7 itself, i thought it was a pretty good game. The graphics are clean and crisp, with virtually no slow down, and everything runs at a smooth frame rate. The graphics aren't going to win any awards but its definitely not a bad looking game. The music is standard Ridge Racer stuff, either you like it or you don't. I thought it all was pretty good to listen to while racing around. The gameplay is the standard ridge racer stuff. If you've played any of the earlier games in the series not much has changed. You basically have to work your way up through series of races with each series requiring better and better cars. The game provides a decent challenge in some of the later races but not overly difficult.

Theres a fair amount of races to complete and online leader boards for time trials. If you want to unlock all the cars theres a fair amount of time that will need to be invested in the game's career mode, but its all pretty enjoyable.

To those expecting a racing sim or something along the lines of NFS Underground this game really isn't for you. I'm not saying don't try it but don't expect this game to be like them because its not.

A solid 7.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sorta Distant

posted by Chlfoffre (DORTON, KY) Apr 11, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm sorry, but this just wasn't the ridge racer I remember. Some of the tracks were familiar but the drifting system needs some fine tuning.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

too easy

posted by jmcfish (MISSISSIPPI STATE, MS) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was way to easy. it didnt take any skill at all to play. it was to easy to turn and you almost never had to hit the brakes. it is great for kids to play but experienced gamers will not like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ridge Racer 7

posted by HerofTIme (HILLSBOROUGH, NJ) Aug 7, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ridge Racer 7 is not a bad game. My biggest and really only complaint is in the controls. Drifting is a huge part of the Ridge Racer. For those who dont know what drifting is, it is when you lean into the turn, release the gas, and then slam back on the gas. This causes a skidding, sliding effect that is very much needed to navigate sharp turns at high speeds. Most racing games have you press or hold a button to initiate a drift. Ridge Racer chooses to use a most akward procedure. You must steer into the turn with the control pad or analog stick, release the gas (X button), stay in to the turn and then hold the X button back down. It doesnt sound very hard, but when you have 7 or 11 other cars around you, you can not think how to do this. This is very important because there is no training mode. The tutorials are all text based on the Main Menu. Also, when you are in the heat of a race, it is almost impossible to catch up if you fall behind. I have restarted Ridge Racer 7 more than any other racing game. While racing games are not my forte, i do believe that a training mode and maybe a beginner drift setting would help this game achieve what it should. It has everything it needs to become a good, if not great game. The cars are sleek and just as shiny as when they rolled off the virtual European assemply line, the tracks are beautiful, the music has the same feel as the speed of the cars, and the voice over work is not too bad. In a game where drifting is everything, and it is so easy to spin out, you need to be able to actually drift. When you can not pull off the most important action needed to win in this game, why play it? Ridge Racer 7 is nice on the outside, its very pretty, just dont expect anything too deep, or with a shallow learning curve.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by ReDPiLL (SPOTSYLVANIA, VA) Apr 28, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is arguably the worst driving game Ive EVER played. The isnt ANY customization and only 10 colors to choose from. In short, this game isn't even a rent. Stay as far from it as possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Hi-Def & Unrealistic

posted by HoustDark (SADDLE BROOK, NJ) Jan 5, 2008

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is such a disappointment. I'm a BIG fan of NFS & Juiced Games, this game is un-realistic in almost every aspect.

you car can obtaian no damage, nor can the envoirment, the drifting controls align to teh track, not the car, which makes no sence, and the idea is horible. I don't know why they made Ridge Racer 2.... how did they hold off to 7?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse