Rent Ridge Racer 6 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Ridge Racer 6

Not Rentable
GF Rating
4.7

1381 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ridge Racer 6

posted by xpart123 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jul 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is perfect for those who want to play gran turismo 3 but want a more up to date version of it.

the graphics are really awesome on the xbox 360

they gameplay is a little bit different than most driving games
insted of the right trigger being the gas button its the a button for
gas. and for drifting holding b and a a at the same time.
but otherwise its a pretty fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love the simple racing games

posted by mulehog (RAYMOND, NE) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Seems like most racing games you can't pick them up without having to modify every setting on a car these days to win the challenges. I don't dislike that but sometimes you just want to load up the game, hit the gas pedal, and fire nitrous. This game is that, it's simple and fun to play.

I played the first and second versions of this game on the original Playstation as a kid and loved them. If you enjoyed them, then give this one a try. This game is a typical arcade racer but as you go through all the races you better bring your skills because towards the end you will need them.

One tip, turn down voice audio. Otherwise every race you'll constantly here, "Look out someone hit their nitrious"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

hate it or love it

posted by mdsfx23 (Chicago, IL) May 31, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This is just one of those games. You'll either love it or hate it. The arcade style racer has some crazy cars and even crazier tracks. It's high speed drifting for boost and one of the most challenging games I have ever beaten. It really takes some work to get through this seemingly-endless game of very competitive races. If you like arcade racers, check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Weakest Racing Game OUT!

posted by sNakel337 (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 27, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

20 out of 30 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Gamertag: snakel337

I’ve had my share of racing games for all the systems, but I must say this is probably one of the worse games I’ve ever played, hands down. I will go into detail into describing why I feel this way; perhaps it is biased, or perhaps the game just didn’t present itself in a way that I, or any other gamer for that matter, would want to play it.

The GOOD: The music was very good, at least in my opinion. Most racing games usually have voices in the songs, this one was strictly beats. The graphics were OK, perhaps not bad for a lauch title but it could use some work.

THE BAD: Lets start with graphics. Ok, I know I said above that the graphics are OK for a launch title, and they are…my problem is with the sense of speed that you get from this game…..there is NONE. For some reason it just looks the same even if you’re sliding around a turn at 100 MPH. The only time you get to really see some speed is when you hit the NOS button. The online play is horrible, I’ve played about 5 to 6 games online and every single one of them lagged – it was ridiculous!(for those thinking it’s my connection, it can’t be. I’ve hosted games on GRAW with 16 players and it was lag free). I just have a problem with the whole setup of the game, and how the whole thing works. Perhaps it’s because I’ve never played a Ridge Racer before… This game just doesn’t have any replay factor, or any play factor for that matter. After a while you just don’t want to play it because it gets really boring. What’s the sense of playing a racing game that feels like it’s running at 2 FPS(frames per second).

In any event, I think the overall score from gamefly really reflects the overall performance of the game. If you are thinking of what racing games to rent you have much better choices – choose PGR3, or Burnout, or NFSMW…anything except this one. I give this game a 5 for effort.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ridge Racer 6....Yawn.

posted by whospink (MARLTON, NJ) May 11, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like this game. Maybe if I hadn't already played NFS: Most Wanted or Burnout Revenge, my comments would be more favorable. To be honest, I didn't spend a great deal of time with RR6. That's because I couldn't get past the two things that annoyed me the most about this game--the highly unrealistic (and often frustrating) physics, and the extremely annoying announcer.

To be fair, games such as Burnout Revenge don't offer real-life cars and the controls aren't very realistic (as is the case with RR6), but that game has so many other things going for it. RR6 simply didn't offer anything in terms of sheer excitement or fun. Sure, the graphics are pretty but that alone does not make for a great game. There has to be something more substantial. Unfortunately, I couldn't find it in RR6.

I've played some of the previous versions of Ridge Racer on other platforms, so I had some idea of what to expect. I was never a huge fan of the series but I love racing games in general. To its credit, RR6 does carry on the tradition of the Ridge Racer series--which is to say, everything you loved or hated about the game is carried forward into this version.

I had some difficulty mastering the drift in this game. It seemed more exaggerated than I remember. Also, the other opponents are very unforgiving and this just adds to the frustration for a beginner. And all the while, the in-game announcements will grate on your nerves VERY quickly. I didn't stick around long enough to see if there was an option to turn it off (other than muting the sound on my TV).

Overall, I was rather disappointed in RR6. If you're a diehard fan of the series, it's worth a rental. Otherwise, I'd pass on RR6--there are several other far superior racing games for the Xbox 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Crazy Drifting

posted by type1fan (PETERSBURG, VA) Jul 31, 2006

Member since May 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Normally, I hate racing games. I don't consider the Burnout Series racers even though they are fun to play, the physics are just too unbelievable. NFS was ,to me, boring and too difficult to control. RR6 on, the other hand, is a great racing game. The controls are tight, the drifting(once you get the hang of it)is dead on and the sense of speed is fantastic. Because of this game, I will be more willing to give true racers a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worst selling 360 game for a reason

posted by notxboxfan (FLOWERY BRANCH, GA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

After winning about 60 races I have found it impossible to advance any further in the game. I always finish 2nd now no matter which race I try. This is a great game on PSP but not on the 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ever

posted by roll4evr3 (MERRICK, NY) Apr 23, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

this game is so bad. there is no point of renting it. the controls suck and the levels are terrible too. i do not recommend this game at all and the physics are horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Adorable little racing game.

posted by ArcadeGuy (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 27, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ridge Racer 6 does not offer realistic driving physics, nor does it have machine guns, police chases, or crashes. But it's a very stylish, focused, and accesible arcade racer than runs at 60 frames per second. Unlike many games, Ridge Racer 6 meets the criteria for THE LEAST A VIDEOGAME CAN DO TO BE GOOD.

By untapping the gas or braking while cornering, your car would magically slide along the track like soap on ice, even through sharp corners, until you regain control. Unrealistic? Of course. But doesn't it sound like fun? For better or worse, the Ridge Racer series never changed the premise of its signature drifting even after a decade, only recently adding nitros for a surprsingly effective dose of depth and fun. Ridge Racer 6 is a worthwhile, excellent, heartwarming all-american sequel and update to a classic racer.

The 15 courses in the game are gorgeous. One of my favorites is Sunseight Heights. The course takes place during a sunset, and from the left of the starting line, you can see daylight on the sea horizon. As you drive up and around into the canyons on the opposite side, you'll find yourself in the dead of night. Coooool.

The graphics are clean, sharp, and colorful, even without a high definition TV (I use a normal TV with S-Video) ... The only graphical flaw, just as with most racing games before it, is the the embarassingly weak 2D crowds, cardboard cut-out style. But I don't even mind that, since the game isn't trying to be realistic in the first place. And thankfully, the crowds only appear in the stands which are at the starting/finish line.

Ridge Racer 6 supports Xbox Live. (as well as worldwide time attack rankings) The handicap setting allows for closer races, making the races more fun and social.

The gameplay is somewhat shallow and the single player mode is repetitive but it's FUN and anyone can play it. The game is only $20 new and it's at least worth a rent. Oh yea and the soundtrack is pretty psychadelic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Its not that bad.....

posted by Groucho (MESA, AZ) Jul 1, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was pretty good. By no means great, but good. If your not familiar to the loose controlling, much like every other Ridge Racer games, then you wont be impressed with this game. The steering is real sloppy, although controllable, it does take some getting used to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Racing Game of All Time

posted by 200016 (NASHVILLE, TN) Aug 14, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

To be honest with you, I usually enjoy most racing games. Growing up with Rad Racer and Pole Position (I know most of you have no idea what I'm talking about), I have seen games progress greatly into very realistic, and challenging games (Ex. GT3).

However, Ridge Racer is a series that should never be allowed to come to the console gaming systems. It is an arcade style game, and it should stay that way.

Controls - Very sloppy, unrealistic, you have no control of the car, and it takes no skill whatsoever to drive.

Graphics - The only great part of the game, I have a HDTV running 1080i and the game looks great, but all just eye candy.

Challenge - I played for a few days trying to get into the Ridge Racer theme and couldn't do it. The first few tracks were very easy, then it got to the point where you couldn't win. Extremely frustrating. After playing GT3 and PGR 2&3, you have to be able to brake, turn, and accelerate to be able to pass at the later stages of the game. Where in this game, you fly through the corners at "stupid" speeds only to saved with the horrible power slides, and just as you get ready to pass, they hit the nitrous! And don't even make me get started on the announcer...

Overall - Terrible, wouldn't recommend to anyone. Just one more reason why great arcade series shouldn't be brought to the console market. They wanted to make their mark on the xbox360, and they did. However a very bad one that will not come out in the wash.

PLEASE STOP MAKING THIS SERIES!!! They are only getting worse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Explains Ridge Racer 6

posted by gamerater (KATY, TX) May 24, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

Story- Racing

Graphics- They Look Like A Psone Game Graphics
(Rating 1.0)

Gameplay- Horrible Especially For A Famous Return Of The Popular Racing Series. (Rating 1.0)

Overall Review- 1.0
"Bomb This Game To Your Nearest Garbage Can"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

For Ridge Racer Fans ONLY

posted by DanNaruto1 (CHANNAHON, IL) Aug 26, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

Ah the good old days, I remember going to Chuckie Chesses when I was young and not a care in the world and my favorite aracade racing game other then Crusin USA was Ridge Racer. This game brings back all those good memories whether they be good or bad. The game lets you race in 1st person or 3rd, but I have to say, even though is mostly all other racing game I like to race in 3rd person, but for Ridge Racer, 1st person is the better choice to race in. The game has pretty good selection of cares and tracks, wish they would have included the old original tracks from the arcade Ridge Racer, but we can't get everything we want. I'm not sure about the new gimicky nitro addition, its ok, but I think the game would be better without it. The game starts out easy, but trust me, later in game in the faster car classes, racing perfectly for 3 laps may be the only way to narrowly win a race against the brutal AI. I know Ridge Racer announcers haven't been what we would call "passable" but in this game this guy named DJ is a total annoying douch, and you might want to tell him to take a hike and turn his sound off completely. This game is great for Ridge Racer fans, but ONLY for Ridge Racer fans, anyone else might not like it that much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad GaMe

posted by uifghfdjg (AMBLER, PA) Dec 18, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

This game is not good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

F

posted by emptyeyes (VANCOUVER, WA) May 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

I hate racing games that decide to not focus on car control physics. Why would I want to play a racing game who's idea of physics is cars literally sliding all over the road. What a waste of time and money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

So/So and could have been really good

posted by rmazel (HERMOSA BEACH, CA) Sep 6, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

I am a casual gamer that was looking for a relatively easy racing game to use with my xbox 360 racing wheel. (I can't understand the majority of driving games out there that somehow make driving harder than driving in real life) This game seems to fit the casual gamers need but steering with the expensive add-on wheel was like driving a boat.

Disappointing but for those looking for an easier game and perhaps don't mind using the normal hand controls, than maybe this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good game (not for children)

posted by stickman (SANTA ROSA, CA) Jan 30, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

ridge racer 6 is good for playing alone or little children its to complicated on the turns and you just use nitro.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This game is a little on the odd side

posted by BowserUSC (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jan 10, 2007

Member since May 2005

This game is a little on the odd side, meaning it really is not like any racing game you've played. Not necessarily bad, but not good either. This game is all about drifting around corner and how fast your going, it runs on a system where you have basically unlimited NOS as long as you can drift properly around the turns. The races themselves are pretty basic. You can tell whether or not your going to be able to beat the particular level by the time your half way through the first lap.

The main objective of the game is to complete regions on a map. There are numerous diffuclty races within each series of cars, if you unlock an entire region you usually unlock another car.

There are 3 different styles of cars, loose, normal , and tight steering. They all are exactly what they sound like. If you play with the tight steering car, throughout the race you feel like its just too tight, if you play with the loose style you'll be swerving all over the place. Normal just seems normal. The steering isn't the only difference. The tight driving style seems to be the easiest, so they have the slowest cars, the normal cars are second slowest and the loose cars are the fastest.

I wouldn't recommend buying this game, unfortunately the ridge racing series isn't as good as it used to be. Nonetheless it's easy enough to throw on the bottom of your Q so you can try it out for yourself and see if it suits you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worth about 10 bucks

posted by Turek26 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jan 8, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

I bought this game for about $10 and for that price it was worth it. It takes a while to get used to the handling of the cars, but once you do it is rather fun to play. The track selection is too limited and some of the races become unreasonably difficult. (I have won about 200 of the world explorer races but am finding it impossible to move on.) If you like achievement points, don't bother with this game. I have played this game for 68 hours and have 283 points. Play the demo and if you like it, rent the game or buy it cheaply.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

international

posted by macc49ers (SYLMAR, CA) Dec 14, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

This game is best when played against international gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

i cant believe you guys suck

posted by rr6winner (LAKE ARIEL, PA) Oct 1, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

rr6 is not the best racing game i've ever played for the 360 i cant believe all the crying and moaning about this games difficulty it seems to me that most of the people writing reviews r mad because they cant beat the game well thats a shame cause i thought the game was easy just seems to me that u guys r scoring this game on how u cant beat it wut r u guys six yrs old?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by Camaro1994 (GOODVIEW, VA) Oct 1, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

First of all if you are looking for a car or racing game DO NOT GET RIDGE RACER 6. This game has the worst graphics i've ever seen its like PS2 graphics. And the drifting looks and feels so fake. Bottom line THIS GAME SUCKS!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great addition to the Ridge Racer Universe

posted by prime8six8 (CUMMING, GA) Sep 30, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

I loved RR4 and even have a shirt I wear to this day from back when it was released on the PS1. RR 6 is now my new favorite in the franchise.(RR5 was horrible and you should avoid it)
Ridge Racer is one of the longest running racing game franchises around and keeps going strong to this day because of it's unique style of gameplay.
Some people just don't get what this game is all about. It's not a simulation like PGR, Forza or GT. It's not about blazing through races and smashing your opponent like Burnout. (although the speed can get about as fast) This game is all about the Drift, the fantasy cars and creative tracks.
Kind of like when you were a kid and you slid your toy car through an imaginary corner making tire screeching sounds. That's what I think RR try's to accomplish. And it does it well.
With the addition of nitrous this year there is an added element of depth that was really needed to push the series into the next generation of Ridge Racer gaming. I wonder how I ever played RR before without it.
The faster you are going when you enter a drift the faster the boost fills up, the longer the drift the longer it fills up. This really adds some strategy to the game. Just go online and see how the best in the world have figured out how and when to use this to get the best times on all the tracks.
Overall the Graphics are Very Good and run at a smooth Frame Rate. Sure they could have been a little better but for a launch game they get the job done. The lighting, car designs, sound, music and environments are good. I have no complaints.
The tracks are well designed and there are alot of them to race on. They have nice added touches like Planes, Helicopters and Balloons flying overhead, Day, Dusk and Nightime events, Giant Video screens, Cheering crowds, Waterfalls, Detailed Grasslands with Cows and more. There's alot of challenges to complete and this will keep you racing for a long time.
Overall RR6 is Great and for $20 a must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too Repetitive!!

posted by Anderson78 (NATIONAL CITY, CA) Jun 29, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

The game was nice, but got too repetitive quickly. Wish there was a way to actually modify the cars that you won and the cars that you do win were sometimes nice. The tracks were the same, who really wants to do this even if they let you race the track backwards. Developers should take these ideas into consideration for the next installment of Ridge Racer! I would just rent this one and not buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GameFly Saved Me Money

posted by xxHDBxx (RIVERSIDE, CA) May 7, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

This game is not worth renting. I'm glad I only rented it, rather than buying it. I'm shocked that Namco released this poorly designed game. It has a good look, but nothing else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse