Rent Ride to Hell: Retribution for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Ride to Hell: Retribution

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
2.3

278 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't Bother

posted by kirbstomp80 (LOLO, MT) Jul 3, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

14 out of 14 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Worst game i've ever played!! The story jumps from scene to scene and you never get a sense of the story. The graphics are no good and you spend more time in loading screens than actual gameplay. Rival bikers will appear out of thin air to battle while you ride and if you wreck into something....you just hit it, stop, and rewind to try it again. lame....i could go on and on but the bottom line is done waste your time. It's a great idea for a game but whoever put this one together sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wow just bad!!!

posted by EdgyDragon6261 (STOCKTON SPRINGS, ME) Jul 1, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Loading times , shooting is bad. I just received it and i am putting (postoffice)it back in the mail today...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not even worth a free rental

posted by Legendkiller42 (ANACORTES, WA) Jul 16, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well let's see here, the contols suck, the storyline does not make sense, and the graphics make it look like the game came out in the 80's. All in all, this is probably the worst game I've played in a very very long time.

If you have a coupon for a free game rental from your local video store, don't use it on this one. You'll get ripped off!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Step right up and waste your time !!!

posted by vivadsanch (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Aug 8, 2013

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Any time a game is tanked by everybody I feel left out of the loop of expierence . So I rent every low rated game to have my own opinion .
We have a real gem of broken unfinished garbage here you have to play to believe . The graphics arent horrible I can forgive that , its the lack of story gameplay and overall buggy game that kills me .
It feels rushed to put something on the shelves . I wont tell you not to play it because I believe its fun give every title a chance . So play it as soon as you get it and have the return envelope handy so you can have it back in the mailbox for pick up ASAP :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Ride is horrible ride

posted by Jsun4hees (PORTLAND, OR) Aug 7, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Once went to a party where there were doughnuts. I was excited because I love doughnuts, but as I bit into the glazed confection my taste buds were assaulted by the flavor of raw dough. That is what playing Ride is like, it just wasn't fully baked.

I was excited for this game, the trailer looked like a giant pile of awesome badassery, the articles I read about it (all from 2010, I might add) said it would be a sandbox style smorgasbord of 1960s motorcycle mayhem where you could take over different territories by pushing drugs and beating the grease out of other bikers.

Ride is none of that.

The cut scenes are a jagged mess of poor story telling, the music is as if someone took Buddy Holly's guitar and put it in a garbage disposal, the graphics are like staring at a beautiful desert landscape through a piece of burnt toast.

Even simple things like falling off your bike are..oh wait, you can't fall off your bike, if you do something like go careening headlong into a hippie bus all that happens is your bike bounces off and keeps going for a second until the screen fades to black and you are warped back to where you were.

The fighting system is complete bunk. Unless you are nailing headshot after headshot, your gun is about as useful as fighting a rabid badger with a box of bottlecaps and occasionally even with headshots your gun is worthless (18 shots to the head and chest should be enough to kill a henchman, this may have been a glitch.)

What really kills me is that this could have been a good game if the time had been put in, the bones are there, the schematics, the blue print for a good game is buried in there somewhere and it is depressing that no one found it.

Rent this game, just to see how freaking bad it is, seriously.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WoW!!!! This takes bad to a new level.

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Jul 18, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My first gripe with this game is the loading times. don't expect it to load right 9 times out of 10. i have had to dashboard more times than the game would actually load. yeah, its that bad. as for the game, it is a broken mess.

I installed the game and had worse problems than without like falling through the ground into nothingness and having to load my checkpoint. i don't know i keep playing but i am almost done. i can only take it little at a time though because this game is one huge rage quitting machine. i swear i think they made the game this bad on purpose. i actually say rent it to see how bad it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

100 % awful....

posted by Tommy062870 (VERSAILLES, KY) Jul 15, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This so called " game " may be one of the worst games I have ever played.the story line ( if that's what you want to call it ) is lame.the graphics are sub-par pretty much everything about this title is a Epic Fail....walk away from this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

How do games like these still get created?

posted by King4day (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jul 8, 2013

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Cons:

1. Controls. I feel like, with hack and Slash type games, I should be able to just button mash and something good will happen. That's not the case. The controls are slow, albeit, easy to learn.

2. Vision while riding the bike. The scenery makes it tough to see what's coming next and I find myself running into too many things.

3. No radar. Outside of a little yellow marker when you press the left joystick in, there's really no radar to tell you what's around or where to go next. Sometimes when you explore different areas, the screen turns you around (basically indicating that this area is off limits).

4. The intimate scenes. As a guy, it's really not that big of a deal, but apparently every woman in the game is a prostitute....and boy are they repetitive.

Pros:

1. The music. That's really it for me. If you like metal, every song I heard in this game was extremely catchy.

In closing:

I sense that, like Duke Nukem from a couple of years ago, this game was intended for the original Xbox. Maybe it never found a developer to take off with it, but it should have stayed in the vault.

If you have some time between games you plan on renting, go ahead and give it a try. It's an unusual experience to see a game like this come out and I think most hardcore games should be aware that it can happen from time to time and what a really bad game is.

I gave this a 3 due to the music and the music alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HOW?

posted by MrNuff (ARLINGTON, VA) Jun 30, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

How in 2013 could a developer/company put out a product as bad as this? You jump from scene to scene with no precise segway to speak of. More load time then play time, and that's just the beginning. Please people, don't waste your time with this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Worst Game Ever Developed!!

posted by mbiphoto (DONALSONVILLE, GA) Jul 7, 2013

Member since Oct 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying I am deeply disappointed with Deep Silver for having anything to do with this game. Ladies and gentlemen, I give you possibly the worst game in the history of gaming, Ride To H: Retribution.

If it’s a meaningless story line and horrible combat and vehicle physics you are looking for, Ride To H: Retribution is the game for you. Ride To H: Retribution is full of cut scenes that jump from one situation to another without you knowing what’s going on. The intro to the game should have been a sign that this was going to be a complete headache.

You start Ride To H: Retribution by riding down the road on your motorcycle; then, you are instantly on a chain gun mowing down other bikers. After that, immediately back on your bike; then, you are quickly in a fist of cuffs with another biker. Then, yup, you guessed it, back on your motorcycle riding. Sounds cool? Heck, no. Don’t be fooled.

I’m here to save you guys the trouble of renting, buying, or even thinking of ever picking this up and tainting your hand of such filth that Deep Silver deems gaming.

Let me see if I can list the problems I witnessed in only an hour of play:

–Bad dialogue
–Horrible Voice Actors
–The main character’s hair moving when he walked, but his dog tags remained motionless
–God awful control with aiming weapons
–Vehicle issues (running into rocks, other vehicles, fences….and never slowing you down)
–Tanker trucks sliding sideways in the road for no apparent reason
–graphics were from the PS2 age
–loading issues

I did, however, have a few laughs with the fully clothed love making scenes. The female mechanic had on coveralls and, while she was in a reverse cowgirl position, they featured a view from her top half with the coveralls still on. Just freaking hilarious!!

I’ll be honest though….I got to the first boss and quit. I simply couldn't take it anymore. Just garbage. Gamefly wants me to edit the "H" word even though it's in the game title. O_o

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by pauldigiant890 (HOLTSVILLE, NY) Jul 1, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

this is by far the worst game I have ever played don't rent ......waste of time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Oh my GOSH!

posted by Weissach (CORVALLIS, OR) Dec 16, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

This is the best game I have ever played! The graphics are incredible and the controls are super intuitive! The load screens are also wonderful, and very abundant. I could literally spend hours just watching them; in fact, I do! I have never played a game that excites me as much as this one. I can't wait for a sequel and I hope to see this ported to my next-gen console of choice: the Wii U. I would love to play this in 1080p at 60 fps with my pet potato!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

:)

posted by WolfAttack96 (TOWNSEND, DE) Jun 5, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

10/10 No game is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Deep Silver trolled us all

posted by CHRISP33KR33M (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Jun 2, 2014

Member since May 2014

When I first heard about this game I didn't think it could be as bad as people were making it out to be, but it was.

The controls (driving and aiming most notably) are abysmal, as if you were trying to move on a patch of ice, although mostly while riding the bike. The story makes little to no sense, which makes it hard to want to even bother watching the cut scenes. Collectibles are a big issue as well, since to get them all you need to play the game twice (if you can even finish it once) to get them all, so stay away if you're achievement hunting. I will say however that a lot of people complained about load times although I didn't have much of a problem with that. The most disappointing part of this game is that if even a speck of dedication was given to making this game playable it may ave been pretty good. The concept is (sorta) there, the music is alright until it loops for 5 minutes then decides to stop altogether, and it had potential for good multiplayer racing.

Deep Silver is known for a few glitched games, most notably Dead Island, but at least they're enjoyable. This is a different story. I wouldn't recommend this game, not even as a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

How this this piece of crapp get evented?

posted by Dawnslayer13 (UNIONTOWN, OH) Apr 29, 2014

Member since Feb 2013

I love the idea of this type of game but it was executed PAST HORRIBLY. Don't even try to rent this game. On second thought just give it a score of 1 then move on to other games. Want some good games? Alright rent Tomb Raider, Metal Gear Solid 4, Metro Last Light, Bioshock infinite, The Last of Us, Halo 4, The Walking Dead or atleast something else. Just keep moving on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste

posted by sly21 (SWANTON, OH) Mar 29, 2014

Member since Sep 2011

This game is a waste. Bad graphics, bad story line, and bad gameplay. Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Should have stuck with the initial release trailer

posted by Balance (FORT MYERS, FL) Sep 9, 2013

Member since Jul 2007

I don't normally write a review, but I was looking forward to this game finally being released. The original trailer for the game with story details looked promising. Then the game falls off the radar for a couple, maybe three years.

Unfortunately, this was already being shipped when I found an advance video review online that covered the first 30 minutes of gameplay. Being entirely serious, I watched the entire 30 minutes based on the entertainment value in comments - sort of like Mystery Science Theater.

The next day, the game arrived and less than five minutes of gameplay, was back in the envelope to be shipped back. No entertainment value on your own game system.

Every aspect of this game is terrible. When you have the option to buy this at $5.00 with a Gamefly coupon, you are wasting your time and money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game reflecting Bikers in any way EVER

posted by huvy7681 (TUPPER LAKE, NY) Sep 7, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

Who designed and wrote this game? A 6 year old? No they'd make a better game, this is pityful. I thought maybe something like The Lost from GTA, but even that (for as poor as that was) is still 1000% better than this game. Talk about taking steps backwords.....Excite Bike had more action on the Nintendo!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Worst Contender of 2013? DEFINITELY.

posted by UltramanMatthew (HUDSON FALLS, NY) Sep 4, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

Wow....wowie...that's all I have to really say after playing RTH: Redemption.

RTH: Retribution started off development five years ago in 2009; where the game's premise was actually pretty cool, a sandbox style open world RPG reveling in during the Dawn of the Biker Age in the 60's.

THIS sounds pretty cool.

Is RTH: Retribution ANY of that?

NO.

You know a game is bad when you start off in a forced turret section with no reason for why it's happening.

You play as Jake Conway; a soldier whose come home from the Vietnam War and just wants to live normally again. Unfortunately he just happens to reside in east bumfrack nowhere where a rival motorcycle gang lives to make everyone's lives crud.

-Character Models: Dreadful. Early PS2 Models are better then this.
-Fighting Gameplay: Atrocious. Fighting segments are dull and repetitive with no opening for combos. Your guns have all the effectiveness of thrown milkduds with anything that isn't a headshot; and sometimes as headshot isn't even possible when you face down the army of Jason Voorhees clones the rival gang has in it's pocket.
-Biking Gameplay: Even worse. Your bike acts like a sponge whenever it hits something, there's no impact whatsoever. And even when you do something right the game apparently can't read it right and teleports you back ten paces multiple times.
-Plot: Horrid. There's essentially none other then killing Generic Henchmen A to B to C to then work your way up to the Generic Mustache Twirling Big Bad.
-Voice Acting: THE WORST. Even MINDJACK had more believable acting then this; and the dialogue just makes it even worse.
-"S" Scenes: The most demeaning, nonsensical, stupid, contrived material you'll ever see in a game PERIOD. It is downright INSULTING to women; feminists often ride video games for objectifying women, and this game is their absolute best example of that. Even I feel insulted.

The 1% in this title refers to how much work was put into it!

ABSOLUTE GARBAGE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SO BAD

posted by spititoutxd (LA HABRA HEIGHTS, CA) Aug 19, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

Don't waste your time, it's not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Ride

posted by olenadayspay1 (WINNSBORO, TX) Aug 16, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

I recieved it in the mail and returned it shortly after playing it. The graphics are horrible. It was a complete waste of my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Very Hard To Play

posted by Firedogg34 (SUMMERDALE, AL) Jul 15, 2013

Member since Apr 2011

This game is ve Ryan hard to play it's frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »