Rent Rhythm Thief & the Emperor's Treasure for 3DS
view large frontback

Rhythm Thief & the Emperor's Treasure

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.0

187 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better grab this delightful title!

posted by LemmyKoopa (MADISON, WI) Dec 2, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Rhythm Thief delighted me as much as any game lately, with gameplay that is generally challenging and fair as well as varied, an overall strong score, and a healthy dose of whatever is the gaming equivalent of charisma.

The game has its flaws. Some of the rhythm games will take practice just to figure out how to use the controls or what timing you are aiming for; the targets are not all as clear as in other rhythm games I've seen. The story leaves way too much unresolved. It took me about 10 hours to beat the game and improve some of my scores, but if you cared only about passing through you'd probably find this way too short and way too easy. Walking around town and solving minor puzzles could easily be considered wasteful filler. Perhaps the biggest problem for completionists- a rating of A on each song is required to unlock the last song. As hard as that can be to begin with (and some motion-controlled games really don't help), there's another catch. The game only obviously saves your highest score, which is calculated differently from your grade. If you get a high score but not an A to go with it, you could have a hard time bettering it to save your A. Maybe your As count even if they're not saved in the final list. I didn't want to try to ace all the games and find out otherwise.

The list of flaws looks long, but most are ultimately minor or are easy to overlook in view of the original and exciting gameplay on offer. This is my favorite rhythm game I've played, I'd recommend it to fans of the genre as well as to sidescroller fans as the two genres secretly have similar qualities. I'm hoping there will be a sequel. I also have visions of a "we steal cuz we can" crossover between Phantom R, Sly Cooper, and Carmen Sandiego. They can be investigated by Professor Layton and Phoenix Wright after they complete their own, real crossover. But now I'm just getting silly.

Have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game

posted by puppysd (NEWTON FALLS, OH) Nov 11, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the most fun I have had years

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not for me, maybe for you.

posted by Ninjalord (BIDWELL, OH) Sep 26, 2012

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, do not get me wrong I love games with QTE, puzzles and what not. However with this I found it a little to easy as I was able to on most parts merely button mash and go through the motions. I found it to easy to be honest especially for the medals on the various little maps. The story is generic but it does it well (the french accents are just ermergerd though) and the cutscenes are beautiful. Just not my slice of cake..worth a rent for sure but not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Decent story, Good graphics, Repetitive gameplay.

posted by Syco1316 (ANNISTON, AL) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game looks beautiful, The music choice is excellent sometimes (Reminds me of the first De Blob) the story is interesting enough to keep going through MANY repetitive moments in the game and "Sound fetch" quests. Many things for OCD players. This is a good original game from SEGA and if you have a 3DS and are in the mood for a rhythm game this is definitely worth a RENT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun fun fun

posted by yoshinetzero (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 25, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

its fun normal-length game. the in game cutscenes are beautiful. the rhythm games are great and the story is pretty cool too. Don't let theartrhythm keep you from trying this other rhythm game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A fun rhythm game with puzzle elements

posted by Silabus (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 12, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Warning: Possible spoilers ahead, read with discretion. Rhythm Thief at it's core is a rhythm game, but SEGA went above and beyond. The cute story of a heroic thief searching for his father meets a girl who is later revealed to be royalty, the game has many enjoyable rhythm mini games that become very challenging later in the game. The game also has some Professor Layton-esque puzzles thrown in the mix for story progression. One might think that when the story ends it's time to send it back, but by completing every game with an A rank and finding other secrets you can unlock additional chapters. Overall the game does have a few minor annoyances, but the quirky story and fun yet challenging game play more than make up for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rhythm Thief is a great game overall

posted by pikirbyio (TOMS RIVER, NJ) Sep 18, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you liked Proffeser Layton, you'll love this game. Rhythm Thief and the Emperor's Treasure is a game about Raphael, aka Phantom R, who steals famous art only to return it a few days later. On the run from Inspecter Vergier, he meets a girl named Marie who has a violin which bears the same symbol as a coin his Father left him when he dissapered three years ago. Joining up with Marie, who is looking for her mother who gave her the violin whe she left her at an orhanege, they meet a man who claims to be Napoleon Bonapparte. Raphael must find out the mystery of the Braclet of Timat and find his father at the same time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could not buy into it

posted by HippyVock (SEATTLE, WA) Jan 10, 2013

Member since May 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I play a lot of games on many different systems and sometimes a game comes along that seems like it should be just what I was looking for, but instead I send it back faster then I can get out of a bad date. I played a few scant boards, didn't like anything I was looking at or listening to and when I failed a jumping section within the first five button presses a couple dozen times without ever having the tiniest of clues as to the why or how of it all, I remember how much I appreciate Gamefly.

To say it all a different way: I didn't like the music. I didn't like how the game in no way utilized 3D - it is there, but your character always moves along a predetermined 2D route. I didn't like the non-music still scenes where you have to tap every where to find hidden medals and then have a static conversation to move the plot along. I didn't like how the game told you exactly where to go but made you do it as if there was a choice involved. I did not like this game, but I give it points for working (up until it didn't for me, but I have to assume others got past that part leaving me an exception for that problem, not the rule is my guess) and that is about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game made me want to dance

posted by Nirvanasflame (KENNETH CITY, FL) Sep 5, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

This game was a fun romp through an enchanting rendition of Paris, the music, atmosphere, and even the story all came together into a beautiful masterpiece that was just as much fun to watch as it was to play.

I was tapping my foot to the ground my entire play through feeling like I could burst into dance at any given moment, the experience just swept me up and pulled me along for the ride till I'd finished it

So in closing taking into account the factors of Story, Characters, Sound/Animation, and my own personal enjoyment which after shamelessly ripping it off from a reviewer I admire and then using it to accurately describe my feelings, (Which is a fairly complicated process) finds me awarding this game a 9/10 and a recommendation to rent it and if you like it and have the funds to do so, add it to your library permanently via the very lovely keep it function which is thankfully provided by this lovely site.

If your a fan of rhythm games and games that test your quick thinking and sharp reflexes you would be doing yourself a disservice by not picking this game up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I think you should try this.

posted by copperman7 (RAMONA, CA) Mar 8, 2013

Member since Jan 2008

This game is really neat in its puzzles and gameplay. The game really makes you think outside of the box to get past areas, and I found the mini games to be challenging, but fair. Also the cutscenes and overall presentation is stellar. The 3D works great and the music is very fitting to the mood. While it did become frustrating at times, I can tell you you will probably like it. Usually these games aren't my cup of tea, but you really need to at least try it.

+Story
+Mini games
+Puzzles
+Presentation
+Looks Great!
-Difficulty Spike in Minigames

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »