Rent Rez for PS2
view large frontback

Rez

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.0

349 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Video Game Art

posted by bigngamer (LAWTON, MI) May 16, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the few games i can actually say define video games as an art form. The enemies flying across the screen in beautiful colors and the backgrounds lined a like every thing was a dark form of neon lights and all these beautiful colors coming together with the awesome music your making by destroying the foes.

But after that is where the game lacks. sure the game is truly a sight to see and music to hear, but the graphics are a little outdated (well because its afew years old.) And the game is realy short, so you may not want to finish it more than 2 or 3 times.

But in the end its realy enjoyable for the while that you do play it but but dont buy it. I definetly recomend renting to anyone who sees video games as an artform.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Nostalgia Factor

posted by conman (SOUTH BEND, IN) Apr 10, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Rez draws on many '80s video game influences: William Gibson's novels, the movie Tron, and countless old vector-display arcade games. I really couldn't believe this game when I first played it; I thought I was back in 1982. It also adds some later influences like the arcade "rail shooter" Space Harrier (from 1985) and more recent rhythm games like DDR. This game looks beautiful and wears its influences on its sleeve.

True, this game is short if your goal is merely to "beat" it. But this game should be savored and felt more than simply "finished." Also, the music is fun and adds to the experience (sounds great blasting through my stereo set-up), but I wish that it had been incorporated into the gameplay itself. Imagine an actual rhythm-based shooter!

As it stands, Rez is a lot of fun and highly replayable. There are some unlockables, but the real joy of the game comes from its shooter roots: setting high scores. Like most shooters, you will play a level over and over again just to memorize the best scoring patterns. I will admit, though, that unlike some of the more impressively difficult shooters (like Ikaruga), it won't take you very long to get basic scoring patterns down.

This game is definitely worth a shot. These days, it would probably be a downloadable game selling for $5-10, but it's absolutely worth a rental, even if you just play through the game to the "end" in close to an hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rent this!!

posted by gatefold (CHICAGO, IL) Feb 2, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There really isn't any reason why you shouldn't rent this game. Unless you don't have a PS2. Then you should go get a PS2 and then rent this game. The visuals along with sound that reacts to your actions make for a solid rail shooter. Though simplistic in its presentation, it offers plenty of unlockables even after you have beaten the five main levels. There is a reason almost every game publication that has something to say about this game considers it one of the best PS2 games ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rail Shooting at its Best

posted by Fusiliryan (PHOENIXVILLE, PA) Oct 23, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I could not believe I found this game on Gamefly. Needless to say, I was excited to play it. I had only ever heard great things about this game, and now I know why. Rez is a rail shooter. As the player, you only control the reticle. You fly through each level locking on and shooting down various enemies. This may not sound like much, but the game play is truly terrific. The colors, music, and fast-paced shooting mesh to give you an experience you will not forget. Unfortunately, it is short. You could complete all the levels in two sittings, if that. This is one of those games that you buy and come back to again and again. Rez, however, is a very rare find, so you're probably better off renting it. You should definitely give it a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply Incredible

posted by Irishboy (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Oct 9, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I Own the DC version, but ive played both versions. This game is Hands-Down the best rail-shooter ever. With amazing music tracks and simply stunning graphics, its kinda shocking thats its listed a available.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A refreshing game in a sequel driven world

posted by Bustastuff (JAMAICA PLAIN, MA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

A light techno beat drums in the background as you take control of our vector drawn character locking onto each enemy and with each kill comes a new note of music to accompany the music in the background, welcome to Rez. Really Rez is a simple game with a great score of evolving music in the background, the game play is simple...almost too simple, but I think that is the true charm of it, that its not a 50 hour trudge of collection quests and useless side quests, but more of an experience. The game has a nostalgic feel to it for the atari and intellivision generation, almost reminiscent of those days with green tanks chasing you down in the original battlezone, and that's something that drew me into game even more. The evolution of the music is a pretty cool feature as well, which gains a new layer of sound with each stage that is successfully passed, which leads up to a boss fight with great music. The story is pretty much your as this being who is "hacking" into a computer system and the character that your controlling is the physical representation of your hacking, and instead of dealing with nasty code you just lock on and shoot. As much as I love the retro graphics and the excellent sound of the game as a whole its very hard to entirely recommend this game as a solid buy, because of its high price tag and the fact that the game can be beat in a couple of hours. There are unlockables that change the game and add another level to the game but all in al the experience while very good, is over far too soon. Now if the price were to come down (which is highly unlikely because this is a kind of rare game) then I would say definitely pick this up, but as a rental I whole heartedly feel that any true retro gamer or anyone who likes a gaming "experience" must play this game, and as long as you accept it for what it is I think you'll be thoroughly enjoyed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tetsuya Mizuguchi's magnum opus

posted by lizardmwk (LYNDEN, WA) Jun 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

A brilliantly original game from the creator of Space Channel 5, Lumines and Meteos. It's a rail-shooter in the proud tradition of Tempest, Space Harrier and Star Fox, but with a fantastic musical element that mixes in elements from rhythm games like Frequency and the aforementioned SC5.

Rez is one of those games that you play more as an experience than a challenge-- in fact, it features a "Travelling" mode in which enemies can't even harm you. That said, the gameplay can be frustratingly difficult in spots. But it's worth hanging in there for the final level, which is an additional notch above the already high production values of the first 4 stages.

Once you've completed the game, the replay value is fairly low, but I highly recommend blasting your way through Rez at least once in your lifetime just to up your gamer cred.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

an old game indeed..

posted by dulun21 (CHANDLER, AZ) May 19, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

suitable as a downloadable game on the playstation store or xbox live. It's fun for about 15 minutes for me.. It's similar to those simple shooter game on the playstation store and xbox live.... not worth a rental..unless you like this type of game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

3-d glasses required

posted by MRPlNK (KANSAS CITY, KS) Jun 20, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

hey, i you really want the full effect of the game, wear 3-d glasses! the game was desighned for u to wear them, but they never said anything!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Art

posted by SnwBrdr (EAGLE, ID) Oct 9, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

This game is great. Every time you push a button you get a new note of music to go along with the beat. I can sit and play this game for hours and not get tired of it. There is mulitple different color schemes to unlock, the music stays the same but that's the least of your worries. This game will always be on my top ten list. You should invest on some headphones for this game because it really does make the experience that much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Can your eyes handle it?

posted by Smashism (LONG BEACH, CA) May 31, 2006

Member since May 2006

Wow this game has great music. too bad my eyes got sore after 10 min.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »