Rent Resonance of Fate for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Resonance of Fate

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
5.5

2590 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than expected...

posted by kyoput (LEXINGTON, KY) Mar 20, 2010

Member since May 2008

79 out of 84 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

After reading previews for the game I was not bowled over. After playing it, however, I'm sold. It turned out to be a pretty solid, unique RPG title.

The story is slow paced at first but really picks up in the middle chapters. It's not as epic an outline as many RPGs but it does well pushing the game forward. The game takes place on a tower city with multiple levels. The rich on top and the poor at the bottom. The bulk of your missions will take place here. The world map is divided into hexagons to form a grid. At first only certain points are open and you must defeat enemies to acquire hexes to advance on the map. Regular hexes and energy hexes make most of your list. Regular hexes uncover paths while energy hexes open up new areas and dungeons normal hexes cannot open. It sounds complicated but is really quite simple.

The combat is the highlight of this title. An RPG centered on guns and grenades. Not swords and magic. I was hooked immediately. The guns are fully upgradable with many different parts and effects. Very cool to tinker with the guns. Once combat begins it is quick and action packed. Hero moves provide great moments of gun play that musty be balanced against loss of your hero gauge which keeps your party going. Each hero move depletes it but killing an enemy or doing large damage will refill it one or more spaces. So really you begin in wait mode, survey your enemies who you can target at any time and decide the best course of action. One a character moves a turn begins and all enemies begin movement. When you stop they stop and so on. Some battles may have an enemy "leader" and defeating him is an automatic win. Overall a very fun system.

You level up as your guns do and your guns level up as they are used. As well as thrown items like grenades. More use, more exp. Simple, no. Lots of side missions, and character customization is cool. Lots of outfits and odds and ends that you can play with. They even show up in cut scenes.

Solid game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent, But Not For Beginners

posted by DaBeast_xGDx (PEORIA, AZ) Sep 1, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I can honestly say that Resonance of fate has entered my Top 10 list of favorite games of all time. The graphics are simply beautiful and the gameplay brings on a fresh look to RPGs away from the "press one button to attack" mechanics of others.

Now I'm not going to lie. If you are new to RPGs, it would be wise to try one or two others before you try this one as it is not noob friendly, especially since this is a game developed by Tri-Ace who are known to make challenging games.

For one, it's highly recommended that you go to the Arena located a little to the side of the city you start in because the game does not give you an in-game tutorial through the beginning of the game like other RPGs and the last thing you want to do is go into battles with no knowledge of how to do stuff in this game because you will get murdered. However, if you do go to the Arena, the tutorial they give there will teach you everything that you need to know to play this game.

Secondly, this game offers amazing customization from the look of the characters to the abilities of the guns. A warning though. Gun customization takes a little while to get used to as there isn't an in-depth tutorial for the guns but once you get the hang of it, it's fairly easy.

Ah, one more thing. Leveling up works in a unique way in this game. Instead of gaining EXP for the character, you earn it for your weapons and the level that you are on is equal to the sum of the levels on your guns. So if your handgun was at LV19, your machine gun was at LV20 and your grenades were at LV13, your character would be at LV52.

The one thing that I do not like is that although there is a story, it is hardly deep enough to the point where you have to put the pieces together yourself. Otherwise i have no complaints.

So if you like a challenge in your games, this is a must.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Resonance of Fate - Delightful Surprise

posted by nabunta (HOLIDAY, FL) Nov 1, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Hello one and all!!

If you are an RPG fan than this game is for you! Lets get the negatives out of the way first. If you are a fan of having many different options well touph luck, the 3 characters you see on the game case are the only ones you use. The game makes up for this by allowing the user access to an impressive amount of outfits to customize the characters with.

The story itself while interesting is not explained very well and infact this gamer was only more confused with every cutscene, which were by the way very beautiful and detailed; Square Enix would be proud. However there is a good bit of comedy thrown in that makes the cutscenes worth watching.

Luckily,this game really shines where it matters, the battle system. Battles are fast and exciting and often require original thinking, at first. The battles never stop being fun mainly because of the complexity of the battle system itself mixed with the different enemy types and insane amount of slow motion flips. Unfortunately, later on near the end of the game it become a rinse and repeat cycle with every battle, while this doesn't make the battles less fun its just kind of a bummer. There is a small problem with failing as small mistakes in battle can cost you immensly to a point where it almost seems unfair, luckily this was a rare occurence.

All in all I invite anyone who is an RPG fan to give this game at least a full day before you decide it is unworthy because while this game may have its issues its never enough to ruin the experience. For those of you who have played many RPGs and want something new please give this game a real chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not sure why this has a 5 average

posted by skelecopter (MURRYSVILLE, PA) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this expecting it to be pretty bad but i really was looking forward to a jrpg, haven't played one in a while. Anyways there are definitely flaws with this game, but its mostly in the learning curve. It is very unforgiving in the beginning, and if you don't put time into the optional tutorials you're going to be totally clueless and suck at it. Another huge flaw is the save system, it can screw you if you aren't vigilant and make sure you stay on top of saving. It reminds me of the older school rpgs in this regard.

Also when you start you will be given two pistols and a smg for your three players. It doesn't suggest this, but its a must, you HAVE to switch these weapons around and level up everything equally on everyone. It will make the game dramatically easier because every level you get increases your HP. So instead of having your players have one weapon at level 10 and 2 more at level 1 (giving them an overall level of 12). They have a level 8 in everything and are level 24 and have dramatically more hp. Yeah it's confusing if you aren't playing it, sorry...

Then you have to master the tri attacks and how scratch damage works. I found this game to be extremely fun, even though it's really not even a jrpg. The combat is totally unique, the story is totally unique. There are almost none of the annoying stereotypes that a lot of jrpgs have...like the mandatory annoying little kid character for instance is absent in this game. The scenery is really interesting and i've never seen anything like it before in a game.

In a sentence, just ride out the difficult beginning and you will really enjoy the game. I was disappointed there was no option to keep it from gamefly, but i managed to snag it on amazon for cheap. I put in like 15 hours and im only a fraction of the way through (i grinded levels out a lot)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

You'll Either Love it or Hate It

posted by SLagonia (CARMEL, NY) Sep 25, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

If you're a Final Fantasy fan, then this is the game for you. If you're not... Well, you'll probably hate this game.

The graphics are wonderful, the worlds are fully interactive and have the depth of an underwater trench, and it's obvious that the designers put a great deal of effort into this game... But that doesn't change the fact that your game-play is going to be endless fetch-quests and constant trekking across the beautiful landscapes.

To put it another way, this is for people who prefer style over gameplay, and freedom over action. It's in no way a bad game, it's just not for everyone. 5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Guns, Girls, and Smart mouthed boys.

posted by CoreyKei (OAK CREEK, WI) Sep 1, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Graphics: 8/10
The overall area is bleak and just different shades of gray. When you think about the fact that they are living in a giant tower made of metal then I guess it's not so bad. When you go into battle is when it gets good. The "Hero Actions" are like watching a movie. Heck, when you're in a battle it's more like you're in a movie then in a video game.

Sound: 9/10
The music for this game is nice. Not the best music out there but it's good. The voice acting on the other hand is top notch. It's adorable without being annoying.

Gameplay: 8/10
This is where it gets a little weird. The battles are kind of hard to get used to. You really need to go to The Arena and do the training missions. Since the actual story path doesn't really teach you how to play at all. You play with guns pretty much, but there are a ton of things you can do and if you don't do the tutorials you will lose the ability to do some very life saving moves.

Story: 8/10
It's so subtle it's almost as if it's not really there. After every chapter you get an Fmv to move the story along a little bit. That's about it.

Overall this game is fun to play but has a bit of a learning curve and you may want to study up I guess on how to do everything. Once you get the hang of it though it turns into a rather enjoyable game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a lot of fun even if it lacks on story

posted by cipher (LAKE FOREST, CA) Mar 20, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

24 out of 30 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is actually a very fun game despite the first impression. This is not a game you pick up and play. Doing the tutorials in the arena is very important. The explanation can be confusing at times however.

It took me a while to get used to the controls and learn the strategy for using the abilities. Once I got used to the controls, I was just enjoying the fights. I make a point of doing all the quests and not really worrying about the story. I am at chapter 4 right now, and there is not much of story so far. However this is one game I don't mind playing without a story line.

The graphics are passable, it is no Final Fantasy, but it seems to work well for this game. The music is great though. I have to give this game a 8; I took off 2 points for lack of story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tri-Ace has created a beautiful and enjoyable game

posted by Dunkelheit (COLTON, CA) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game may not be for everyone. Yes, there are guns. No, this isn't Halo.

Tri-Ace while not having brought something entirely new to the table have created a unique environment in which customization and tedious grinding are key. The customization is beyond a doubt superb and acts as a slightly enjoyable puzzle if you enjoy putting things together.

The story is something that is slowly kept in the dark throughout the entire game. Revealing tiny pieces slowly, bit by bit at a time. While it has depth the game focuses more on action and customization than giving you a movie to watch and sometimes play.

Unfortunately the game does have some minor annoyances. With over a thousand hexes, you spend a lot of time putting them down just to uncover an entire zone.

The characters can be a bit far fetched at times however their interactions are similar to say Tales of Symphonia although a bit more mature and dark.

Depending on how far you want to go for those thousand points the game can take anywhere between forty and a hundred hours. It depends on the player however needless to say the game has a lot of depth.

Overall I'd give the game an 8, while it is fun, you do get left with a sense of boredom at times.

For anyone who is curious, the voice of Zephyr is the same person who did the voice for Lloyd and Tales of Symphonia.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not intended for the casual gamer

posted by sabenge (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jul 5, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I do not play many RPGs. However, the problem is not of mechanics but of length. There's is something about spending 40+ hours on the main story alone that annoys me. That being said, this game is worth the time invested.

The game begins by treating you to a number of beautiful cut scenes that you will inevitably forget until you reach the later chapters. Although, this helps to set a precedent. Much of the story is left to the player to decipher, but if it is needed there are plenty of explanations if you take the time to google it. It's a shame that it is not fleshed out better because it reminded me, to a degree, of Cowboy Bebop and Outlaw Star, sans the space theme of course, due to the fact that each character is running from the treachery of their past and the majority of the events that take place have no bearing on the overall story but are entertaining nonetheless. Additionally, the dynamic between the main three characters works amazingly well.

As you may have read before, there is a steep learning curve to the battle system. The funniest part about this is that the Arena adjacent to the town in which you start has a tutorial of everything that you need to know and how to implement this knowledge strategically. So, the sort of people that end up quitting after five minutes are obviously those that do not care to actually explore the world or read a text box which makes you wonder why they would bother renting an RPG in the first place when Halo 3 is not that expensive used. Anyway, the basic premise lies in using a machine gun to give the enemy "scratch damage" and then using a hand gun or grenades to deal "direct damage" thus killing it. See? It's not that hard. You just have to read the instructions.

Essentially, if pwning people on Modern Warfare with your friends just does not do it for you anymore, you might want to give Resonance of Fate a chance. Besides, you can always send it back immediately and wait for four days to get a new game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Interesting game but lacks polish

posted by Xionanx (NEW ELLENTON, SC) May 3, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Resonance of Fate is an interesting combat system wrapped up in a existential storyline that ultimately makes little sense. Overall though the game was enjoyable and challenging to play, which is all that really matters.

That being said there were a lot of minor issues that I feel could have and should have been resolved before this game went to market to make it an overall more enjoyable experience. I wont go into the details, becuase non of them prevent completion or cause any major issues. However "if" you want to be a perfectionist and do everything there is to do in this game, be prepared to spend roughly 200+ hours on it.

It has 3 playthrough modes, normal mode required about 60 hours to complete and I didn't mess with the Arena or Neverland at all. Hard mode is unlocked upon completing normal mode.. there is a mode after Hard mode that is unlocked after completing Hard. Collecting "Colored" Hexes is a long and tedious process so I cant even imagine the amouont of time I would have spent collecting enough colored hexes to link terminals.

Anyway... I'm looking forward to a more polished sequel, however the sales numbers for this game dont look to good so it'll probably never come.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Unique, New Experience.

posted by Lockindal (EAST LIVERPOOL, OH) May 18, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Resonance of Fate has issues just like any JRPG. However, this game surprised me in a lot of ways.

#1 : It is unique. No other game I have played has been similar, and the combat is refreshing and a lot of fun. It does get repetitive and boring after awhile, but I am just playing it slowly over time.

#2: Customization. There is a clothes shop, and characters' look changes with how you dress them up. Hair colors, eye color, sunglasses, everything. You have to unlock/purchase the clothes, but hey, that adds to the fun.

#3: The "world map" system is a lot of fun. I won't give any major spoilers, but I really like the terminal/linking system to create bonuses.

#4: The "trinity" system. Your characters actually work together in a way that is really unique. You actually feel like they have to work together to win, and it makes sense.

This is what I don't like about the game:

#1: Repetitive. No new moves over time, and there are only two types of gun. Handgun (DD) and Machinegun (SD). I really feel the game would have been a lot more fun if they had added more weapons. There are grenades, but they are not that great.

#2: Gun Customization does not make sense. I love weapon customization, but not when it does not make sense. You can add like 30 scopes and 6 barrells to a gun.... why would you ever do that. Yet the game forces you to do this in order to grow stronger and destroy your opponents.

#3: No Plot. There is almost zero plot in this game, and what plot there is, is not very good.

Really, those are the only three complaints I had about the game. It is definitely worth the rent, and maybe a purchase if you like it after 3 days of renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by Zengotzu (COTTONDALE, AL) Apr 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is great for anyone who wants to try something new in the realm of rpg the turn-based action is great in my opinion and the customization on the weapons adds a more rpg feel to the game all in all this is a great alternative to Final Fantasy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Game, Excellent RPG

posted by BZZ777 (RANDOLPH, NJ) May 14, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I made this review because I was getting sick of the low scores this game was getting. Maybe there's a reason why other people rated this the way they did, but at least renters/buyers should read both sides before deciding.

To start, I'm a big fan of RPG's, with FFX, Lost Oddysey, and possibly with Resonance of Fate as my 3rd favorite of all time. Of course, please keep in mind that I'm roughly 50% finished with the game.

Graphics (9/10) - Great graphics. The cut-scenes look the same as the action and battle sequences which, in my experience anyways, has been little done in games gamers actually want to finish.

Gameplay (10/10) - To me, this is what makes the game. As you've no doubt gathered from previous reviews, the game revolves around encountering different types of enemies on a large grid-like world, with the only thing seperating you from dying (and gaining the option for a minor hit to your monetary funds to retry) is the strength of your guns, and how you use them. I had my doubts when I started on how quickly I would get bored, and over 24 hours of gameplay into the game so far, I'm still hooked.

I love the soundtrack. The characters (one in particular) can be very lude at certain points, but always in good humor - I found them very likable. The story has been built up rather slowly to this point, but it has great potential - I'm looking forward to seeing how everything is slowly piecing together. So... rent it! I'd highly recommend this to any fan of RPG's looking for a fast-paced change of the same genre, and let's face it - if you're reading this review on here, then what's the harm in trying out a potentially awesome game? :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth the play for and RPG enthusiast

posted by MrJoker (BURLINGTON, NJ) May 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

FF13 Let you down?
Resonance of fate will pick you up
FF13 sucks, this is along the lines it should have been on.
Explorable, unique, and fun, everything FF13 wasn't and was supposed to be.
Sincerely yours, an FF 7-10 fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Underrated

posted by Draco16 (VALENCIA, CA) Apr 17, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was a great game that I'm glad I played. It's unique combat system is not only something that has never been done before but is also pretty fun to use. Most people give this game a bad rap because it is too confusing or too weird but that is what I loved about this game. Rather than using the tried and true RPG combat system they came up with something completely new.

The graphics are beautiful and the world is full of life, every part of the environment seems like it is part of these people's lives and not just some random texture.

For those who like to micro manage, the weapon customize screen will keep you pretty busy trying to get the most bang for your buck out of each gun you own.

To all those out there who fall behind the excuse of "this game is too confusing" need to learn that sometimes straying away from the same mechanics that has always been used can be a good thing.

The only things bad I can say about this game is that they could have made the tutorial mandatory rather than making you go out and find it, and the story could have been a bit more involved rather just taking a back seat for you to see from time to time.

8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Like any Tri-Ace games... 'tis only for the elite.

posted by Jersy0Dvl (SUFFOLK, VA) Mar 20, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

12 out of 28 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

If you played Star Ocean or Eternal Sonata for the 360 or PS3 this game's quality in battle, upgrades...everything is not for the young. Graphics are exeptional, as always from start to finish is a statement saying it is all fictional and not real. Get to the arena first at the beggining to fully see one's true potential NEVER PLAYED A TRI-ACE DEVELOPED GAME YOU WILL GET FRUSTRATED EASILY! Start with eternal-sonata 1st, then branch out. DON'T SAY I DIDN'T WARN YOU!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

No Eternal Sonata, but still decent

posted by Angelese (ROLLA, MO) Apr 12, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

7 out of 16 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This game was definitely not as good as I expected. However, my expectations stem from amazing RPG games, i.e. Eternal Sonata, Star Ocean, Blue Dragon (Despite the graphics, lol). This game had a few fatal errors:

1. Battle system was WAY too complicated for the average gamer or first time RPGer.

2. The story wasn't there from start to finish. The game started to become VERY repetitive and boring.

3. The graphics were decent. Definitely not as good as they could have been.

All in all, if you are a die-hard RPG fan, continue on to rent this game. If not, you can give it a shot, but I think you'd enjoy other games much much more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent, Tri-Ace Does it again!!!!

posted by KristophG (CUYAHOGA FALLS, OH) Mar 31, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Resonance of Fate, probably one of the best RPG's so far this year I have played. The is so much to do in this game it is astounding.

First off that really held me with this game is the battle system. It is Valkyrie Profile 2 with Guns. You can move in real time but you have a time gauge on how far you can go before it changes to the next player or when the enemy attacks. You can do three kinds of attacks, your normal attack, Hero attack, and Tri-Attack. The Normal attack is where you stand in one place and let your gun charge up and shoot but you maybe hit in the process if you are not fast enough, the Hero attack is where you run (and you are invincible) as the meter charges up in your gun and you can unleash heck, and the Tri-Attack when all your characters attack at once. There is a meter called the Hero Meter and it starts with three at the bottom but it eventually grows bigger when you defeat bosses. If your Hero gauge is depleted you are in "panic mode" where you can take Direct Damage instead of Scratch Damage. I will explain that in a minute and if you die, you can pay a certain amount to try again so it is not too hard on the new players to send them back to where they saved last.

Scratch Damage comes from Machine Guns and Direct Damage comes from Pistols. If you do a ton of scratch damage, be sure to hit the same enemy with a pistol for some devastating Direct damage.

The Characters, Vashyron, Zephyr, and Leanne are really likable and believable characters. They don't always fight the troubles but they also pick on each other and act like friends do in real life, so it is a nice breath of fresh air instead of the cliche "save the world" plot so we all need to be serious business.

You can customize your pistols and machine guns into super weapons depending on the items you make through Item Creation.
The story is average but not bad in the slightest, graphics are beautiful and the music is astounding and awesome gameplay. Well done Tri-Ace

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

wow

posted by zanime (SIDNEY, MT) Mar 20, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

wow I am amased by this game. It has a unique gameplay. From runing across the stage shooting to standing still. It is cool that you can move before u attack. The backround and towns are amazing they are great design. There is a few let downs you can get lost very easy, the missions are hard to understand on what you are supposed to do, and the text is hard to read.

I give the game a 8 out of 10 because of that it is hard to read the text and understand what u are supposed to do but, it is a beautiful game.

This a rent if not a buy this game it is a must try is u are a rpg fan or wanna try something new.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fanboys cry

posted by Logoto (RALEIGH, NC) Mar 24, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Yea i've played this for about an hour and it is a strange system for attacks but intersting. I really want to play more so i can get the hang of it but i couldnt for the past 2 days due to other games. Now the reason for writing this review because of all the darn FF13 fanboys. No this isnt like FF13 but it is also awesome. and yea its not press a and attack or you have a scroll bar of your attack it involves where you are located and where the enemy is located. pretty awesome and tons of thinking. So if you want an easy game get FF13,14,15,16,etc/ but if you want a challenge get this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

So much is missing.

posted by phatboyjj (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Graphics:4/5 (looks really good)

Voice Acting: 3/5 (could have been way better)

Gameplay: 2/5 (starts off really cool but...kinda boring)

Music: 4/5 (nice stuff)

Storyline: 2/5 (goes no where fast)

Overall:

This game was really disappointing. Game play was really cool for about 3 hrs after that it gets boring because it never changes. story line is not hard to understand but really over dramatic. over all i give it an 5/10. i dont know what happen to the rest of the game but this game can not be done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fresh and Original

posted by Metyxfly (GREENVILLE, WI) Apr 20, 2010

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game stands alone as a unique role playing game. Yes, the graphics aren't the best and the story is lackluster. However, this game does draw you in and the combat is very unique. I played the game for about 20 hours before I started to get a bit bored, and I will probably continue to play it a bit more before I send it back. This game is certainly worth a rental if you like role playing games. Give it a shot!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly good!

posted by TastyMpire (WILLIAMSBURG, OH) Jun 4, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ignore all the people who played the game for the first five minutes or thought the fighting was too hard. They simply suck at the game, so they don't like it.

The battle system is different than anything I've played before and some people might have a hard time picking it up right off that bat. But give it a few fights and you'll be pulling off seemless chains of attacks and really enjoying yourself like I did.

It's not as polished as some other JRPG's, but it doesn't really detract from the game in my opinion. Unlike other reviewers, I think the music is great and the voice acting is much better than I was expecting. Heads and shoulders above the voice acting in Star Ocean or Magna Carta 2.

I think people who complain about the story must not have ever played a JRPG. There is always quite a bit lost in translation. I wouldn't put this game at the top of your queue, but it is definitely worth a rent if you aren't afraid of a little challenge and want something different for a change.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun, hilarious, but frustrating

posted by Mercury589 (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Jun 9, 2010

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game. The story and cutscenes were often hilarious and I thought the storyline slowly but surely enfolded. I thought the "tower" villagers all had a nice touch with their different sayings depending on the time and chapter. I feel a little mixed about the graphics. On one hand the backgrounds were very lovely and fitting, but it was hard to tell where exactly the foreground began and where you could actually walk. As mentioned by everybody else the character look customization is a lot of fun. The side missions really add a lot more to the gameplay inbetween story scences. I thought the the battle gameplay was both fun and frustrating. It was fun to watch and have the amusing time shooting around. It was also frustrating that even non boss battles could be tough and the boss battles themselves were amazingly frustrating. It would have helped if leveling up actually helped the characters, beside just getting more health. I was also annoyed when you were one character short and you had to decide between having health, double guns, or grenades. At least you were able to replay any boss or hexagon battle for only a little bit of money. While annoying I did manage to get thru the boss battles, which means pretty much anyone can. So I recommend this game for any jrpg fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worse than Vallhala knights

posted by darkfayt20 (LOWELL, MI) Jul 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

6 out of 32 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

BROKEN.....is all i can say for this game, how dare they even think of comparing this with Star ocean????? The battle system is freaking stupid dont buy this dont rent it, DONT BORROW IT, IF YOU SEE THIS GAME BURN, SMASH, BREAK IT DESTROY IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse