Rent Resonance of Fate for PS3
view large frontback

Resonance of Fate

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.7

2255 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Repetitive

posted by Arshus (GREENWOOD, IN) Jul 7, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

Jumping to it. This game is beautiful. Voice acting is JRPGish, which can work at times and not so well at others. The story is ok, different, and it can be gripping at times.
Game play. Oh man, this is where it gets old fast, I mean very fast. Boss fights do get interesting with decent amounts of strategy involved but it just gets old. Combine turn based fighting with matrix style gun play repeat. Everyone moves in straight lines while shooting and reloading in the same turn, you get to press a button to make your character jump which can turn into flips, twists, and no handed cart wheels. That is the majority of the game. Random fights on open world maps. It all just seems 2 generations ago rpg elements with current gen graphics add a decent story and thats it.
Overall my experience with ROF was good at first but it just got old. Really old and fast. I see little to no replay value. There was potential here I just think that this could have, no it should have been better. As always, thanks for your time gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Resonance of Fate

posted by Shad51 (HATTIESBURG, MS) Jan 18, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

The storyline of this game was good but the gameplay was terrible and I could not finish the game because of how confusing it was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not as good as I wanted it to be

posted by bcwent (EWING, NJ) Sep 4, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

After reading great reviews on launch, I bought this game. It does have some interesting elements but it is deeply flawed. First, this game is GRAY. Just gray warehouse after gray city. The characters were just as bland.

I could deal with that, but the battle system is designed around having three characters, and you cannot do any remotely powerful moves unless all three are positioned correctly in the battle area. Problem is, there are whole sections of game where one of your characters wanders off due to a story point. I got so frustrated trying to battle with only two characters that I just abandoned the game around level 6 or so. I never quit games, especially RPGs. The frustration just eclipsed the fun, so I moved on.

I would recommend renting this game before buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

hard

posted by archangel2596 (BETHLEHEM, PA) May 15, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

this game is gud but its very very very hard

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Eh

posted by shadowshero501 (ELGIN, IL) Apr 13, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

It seemed like a decent game but i found it really hard. If you don't do fights right and lose all your hero gauge power your dead. if any of your party members go down game over there's no resurrection. the game has no actual tutorial except if you go to the arena and ask someone about stuff. also if your epileptic do not play a number of screens in the game have constant flashing screens which i found hard to look at. Last I also found the story to be lacking but I did not go that far into it due to the difficulty and I did not have the patience for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good but not for me

posted by Le22az (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 7, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

it was a good and fun for a few but i got bored n it just started to die off for me still better then any COD game i know haha

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not that tight

posted by mizzery9 (EUDORA, KS) Feb 7, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I played for an hour and felt like i'd seen all the combat had to offer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

just bad

posted by Darkanda316 (LAKEWOOD, WA) Dec 12, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

this game was very well bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by Cuddlebuns (DEER PARK, WA) Sep 8, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Its one the most perfect games I've ever played. Except that it gets really harder as you go. But great story, with outstanding effects with in graphics and action moves as in attacking for instances. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh

posted by pwick1 (AUSTELL, GA) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

"There is no real incentive to play further". This game starts out with the thrill of a brand new firearm based rpg with over the top acrobatic combat. Its satisfying to watch the matrix like diving gun combat at first but after a while it becomes stale. There are only three weapon types to chose from: the pistol, the machine gun and the grenades; its fun to watch all the animations associated with each weapon when combined with one of the three characters but the game feel so long that all the novelty would have worn out before reaching a discernible midway point. the story is shallow and has no driving incentive; you'll spend some missions in cold harsh lands fighting annoyingly terrible baddies just so you can get medicine for a girl who has a cold (really all that for cold medicine). There is always some reference to some darker more potent past for each of the characters, but the game does very little to reveal exactly what happened in their deep dark pasts quickly enough to keep you interested. The combat can be a little fun but is extremely repetitive and the environments and locales are bland and plain. Its worth a view but I'd suggest youtube if you have a computer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

OK game until a certain point

posted by Kirutshu (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Resonance of Fate is certainly not the best RPG SEGA has made,its not the worst either.
The Story:Decent
Graphics:Passable
Gameplay:Pretty Good
Bottom Line:The difficulty on easy is fairly easy,until Chapter 6,its worth renting but prepare to ragequit on Chapter 6,i initially regarded this game as terrible,i immediately sent it back during Chapter 6,in hindsight,it was my fault for not grinding enough and the games fault for making it so hard to grind

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this is a first for me -.-

posted by omegafate (SPENCERVILLE, OH) May 24, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

its very difficult to say and trust me ive been a fan of sega since the days of the genesis. i have to deem this game unplayable, due to the fact of the lack of formal battle system training. unless you know what you are doing you wont win a battle due to its complex nature.plus everyone's health is tied in to one pool of health. also when u do die you have to cough up some major funds to revive and start back over or close to. i think if sega makes another rpg other than phantasy star, they will need lot of assistance in not making it to indepth.

so basically the game just look pretty, but caters to the more extreme rpg or mmorpg fan than the everyday rpg/mmorpg casual fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BORING!!!!

posted by kreyes19 (NEW YORK, NY) May 10, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

boring game boring environment gameplay sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A lot of potential but...

posted by Zoxx (EPWORTH, GA) Mar 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I love the characters, the story, etc... etc... Everything about this game but the combat system really starts to get old in a hurry. Enemies can be entirely frustrating, and you don't get a good explanation of why certain things are happening during boss fights and it leaves you retrying them multiple times just to get more frustrated by the "cheating" boss fights. And normal fights get to where you approach every fight the same way, and you end up doing more or less the same thing each fight, and the fights can be time consuming, especially in dungeons. So the moral of the story is... it's a pretty decent game, but you have to be really patient with the dungeons and combat, or you'll burn yourself out in no time. And ultimately... I burnt myself out and had to send it back before I could manage to get half-way through it, which is a shame because I really enjoyed the characters and the story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Missions, Graphics, Exploration

posted by Arshus1 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Dec 30, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

I first heard bout resonance of fate a while back. When I got the game I admit I didnt expect to much. Then I saw Tri Ace was involved during the intro. Then my curiosity was tweaked a bit. Then I realized that the graphics and the atmosphere were hitting close to a square-enix game. Despite how much the FF dynasty was failing drastically, I was impressed with the atmosphere, the limited voice acting, and the amount of detail found in the title. I agree this game is NOT for everyone but, just like green eggs and ham you dont know unless you try. About 15hrs into the game you find that there is perks here and there that keep you goin. The story is decent with some side missions spiced with little stories, the characters very mysterious, but the graphics are what make this title so good. I mean there is hardly an angle that doesnt just shine with detail. Detailing your characters for in battle out of battle is rewarding, customizing your weapons, and the creation/breaking down of materials for new parts is kinda cool. For all the potential it really falls short on gameplay. There are times when you get through a tough battle and your waiting for some cool rewards but saddly there are none. I gave this game a 5 for its story, amazing detail, and creativity. The gameplay just gets really boring and there seems to be so much more your characters can do but, just dont. Leveling is a chore in its own tied into the gameplay. As usual thanks for your time fellow gamers and continue to game on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

don't like it

posted by garsterj (WOODRUFF, WI) Dec 5, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

didn't like the game because it pretty lame

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of a Few Solid RPGs for PS3.

posted by BaIIsweat (MEDFORD, OR) Sep 25, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game from Gamefly and ended up keeping it despite having beat the game. I figure it was worth it, and I'll probably replay the game at some point.

Firstly, kudos to Sega for a truly innovative and new battle-system that took some time to wrap my head completely around, but not long enough that I even came close to giving up. There have been sooooo many games that have tried new battle-systems for RPGs that just ended up disappointing me miserably. This isn't one of them. The battle system is pretty epic once you get the hang of out. For the slower learners, it might take awhile to get used to, but trust me when I say it's worth it.

The story is fairly decent, but not as captivating as I would like from an RPG. There are also menial side quests and an arena that you can participate in for additional rewards. I would've really liked to see more to this story, and for it to be more engaging. There are a couple of gaps, and you never really feel like the story is concluded, let alone truly started.

The upgrade system for weapons attachments is kind of ridiculous, but I'm sort of into figuring out what pieces I can put together in a puzzle in order to optimize my guns. It adds a bit of thinking, not much, and isn't completely necessary. You don't need to really have the best set-up to succeed. So, players who don't wanna bother hunting for certain pieces, etc. can just strap on whatever they can and it'll be fine, but for people who want the best they can opt to make the best.

It has some solid replay value too, but after doing all of the arena fights I needed a break before starting my new game +. I think anyone willing to take on a new, innovative battle-system with a decent story behind it will thoroughly enjoy this game. It's definitely worth a rent, and probably worthy of a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Underrated: Long and Difficult, but Worth a Play

posted by Dunric (DULUTH, MN) Sep 4, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

Definitely not for casual people, the battle system is unique but takes some actual effort to master.

Game itself is pretty unique, seems a bit redundant in places, but overall it works.

Storyline is very interesting, conceptually, but it's really hard to understand the causes and effects for everything--I actually had to look up the game's plot after beating it (granted, it took me maybe 3-4 weeks of semi casual playing, ~100 hrs) to better understand exactly why some of the characters do what they do. I like the idea for the story, but it feels like big pieces are left out.

The characters themselves are very well done, graphics, sound effects and music are all amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not So Good

posted by Krazoom (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 22, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

Incredibly complex battle system that takes quite some time to adjust to and hideous graphics that I am shocked was passed as a PS3 quality.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

You'll either love it or hate it

posted by killquick4 (HOMESTEAD, PA) Jun 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

All the reviews claiming it's to hard where written by idiots who couldn't or didn't read how the game actually works and therfore died all the time. this game does require you to pay VERY close attention to the story and characters or else you will never beat it. that being said tis is both good and bad for the game in different ways. for those who actually enjoy the challenge and are very picky about every detail you will love this game. Although for the gamers who love a challenge but don't pay to much attention to the story and just want to play you'll end up hating it.

Pros:

-Very Challenging and requires you to plan many turns ahead before making a move
-Movement of enemies requires you to think if your move will kill you or win you a fight
-The combat system is very enjoyable once you get it down.
-The game doesn't hold your hand and play for you

Cons:
-The hero gauge is WAY to short for the first half of the game
- Casual gamers ( like myself) will enjoy the game overall but hate more of it than the hardcore gamers.
- Boss Battles are insanely to hard in the beggining and this will discourage alot of players
- the hero gauge depletes to easy and you'll find yourself close to winning a battle then sitting in a corner until you get killed

Overall the game is fun for the hardcore RPG players but for the casual Gamers then this title should be avoided as it will annoy you more than you will find entertainment from it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Promising without Delivery.

posted by Deception613 (VASSAR, MI) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

All in all, I am a fan of Role Playing Games. I am a classic fan of the linear style play through that was a good majority of the past decade or so. Recently, I have decided to branch out into the gaming populace over the last couple of years or so. Resonance of Fate was no different. I had heard good publicity on a game that did not see much advertisement before it's release and I was willing to give it a try.

I am sorry to say that this was not one of SEGA's master pieces. The graphics and structure of the Full Motion Video's was breath taking to say the least, and the idea's of the story line were marvelous. On the other hand, much like my Title, the game did not deliver.

I would rate the poorly managed battle system a 6 out of 10. The lack of an item system made a person rely on Leanne for a good majority, and when she becomes a heavy hitter, it is entirely wasted.

There is a lot I can say about this game, and I am sore to say that after a good 200 hours of playing, I was not impressed. A tip for all of you readers, who take the time to read reviews before you rent-

This game is nothing more than a "shelver". You take it out when you are bored, but that is about it. Best advice? Buy it used, unless you are a die-hard SEGA fan. Keep it for a rainy day, but do not invest your last $40 for a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun and Flawed.

posted by Isomemory (WASHINGTON COURT HOUSE, OH) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Though I enjoyed my time with Resonance of Fate, I hate to do it - but I'm sending it back before finishing it. I'm 39 hours in, and I can't play another minute.

With that being said, that doesn't mean that the game is horrible by any means. Allow me to Explain.

Without going to far into detail, the first thing that will grab you about this game is that it's combat system is pretty fantastic. Unfortunately, from the moment you get into your first battle, the combat system never really changes at all and that pretty much killed it for me.

Pros:
- Fantastic Combat System
- Unique steampunk setting
- Interesting and likable main characters
- Fun weapon customizing system
- Ability to customize character clothing
- Above average voice acting (for most of the cast)
- Combat Arena
- Unique and fun "World Map" system
- Neat enemy models

Cons:
- Combat never really changes
- The story is uninteresting and has severe pacing issues
- The majority of the game is spent pretty much in combat, which despite being fun, becomes mind numbingly repetetive
- Weapon's do not change when you equip them with custome parts (makes sense when you see how absurd you can make them look on the schematic screen, but is still dissapointing
- Graphics are kind of hit or miss.
- The soundtrack becomes quite annoying after a while
- Lack of character depth

With all of that, I still think that if you enjoy JRPG's and are dying to play something unique and different from what you're used to, I think you should definately give this a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not what i thought

posted by olicapone (CORONA, CA) May 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

first of all i was expecting a good game. one with lots of story and potential. i was wrong. i was thrown into a world with no tutorials, intros, or any means of conveyance as to the understanding of the plot. frankly it seemed like there was a plot but it was so poorly announced and held such little basis that i simply understood nothing even after playing for hours and getting past a few chapters. i dont know if the game progresses later but as far as i played it became frustrating not knowing full well how to even battle, let alone the story. honestly disappointed with the game i was expecting much more and i got nothing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mediocre RPG

posted by djbeatzzz (WEST NEW YORK, NJ) May 7, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Upon playing the game I recognized that the gameplay mechanics were awkward and not rewarding at first. As I played the game and customized my gun to the right powers to be It became easier. The level of rewarding the player is not high and unless your a hardcore RPG fan you wont play it and just toss it. It cost me 70 hours to complete in total although I did not attempt neverland because I knew it would be a waste of time of the same blah. Also I had another pet peeve, why do they always ask if your sure you want to leave an area!? Its so bloody annoying and why do you need to see them on an elevator whenever your using it on the core!!! There are just so many wrong things with this game. Sega used to be so great with games like shining force and warsong, now this! Its really a disgrace. I could definitely make a better game being a creative advisor for their games. What it comes down to is customer satisfaction and that is their gratification for completing a quest. Travel was such an annoying runt in this game. Arggghhh!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fresh perspective on the RPG World

posted by revenger68 (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 3, 2011

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is fantastic. I almost listened to the bad reviews, but chose to give it a honest shot instead. This game takes on a unique style of gameplay. The characters are a blast to watch & develop quite nicely. If you're sick of the same 'ol same 'ol either all-out hack-n-slash and the long winded cast-style RPG style this is a refreshing change. There aren't any typical classes: Swords, mage, blah blah blah... This game takes a unique perspective of explosives and guns. It works similar to a turn-based RPG without the usual slow paced rate.

The characters are well-developed and have a unique story. I found myself loving this game right out of the box. Graphics are great, animation is fluid and combat is refreshingly unique to any other RPG I've played with a perfect balance of tactic and variety. Combat may seem complex at first, but it's quite easy to grasp. On top of that there are interactive tutorials to show you every step of the game.

If you forget how to pull off a technique, or are stuck: there is an in-game manual you can pause and go to at any time from anywhere in the game, even in combat.

All I can say is it's a refreshing change in the typical "Am I going to be a mage or a swordsman?" type of mentality most RPG's have. I think of this as a turn-based game with the pace of live-action. It's well worth the rent, if not buy (I'm buying this!).

Last but far from least: the game has FANTASTIC sound. If you have a surround sound system this game was designed for it. There is even a configuration utility in-game for configuring sound. I found this to have the best audio i've heard in a RPG for quite some time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse