Rent Resonance of Fate for PS3
view large frontback

Resonance of Fate

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.7

2251 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not for those with short attention spans

posted by RedJay (MARION, IA) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

69 out of 72 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

First, to address the save comments, the save point is in your house. The first place you are when the game opens. I found that out by reading the entire in-game manual.

Yes, there's reading. If you skip the manual, you'll probably hate the game.

The battle system is tough to figure out. Read, experiment, fail, try again. The twitch factor isn't as important as strategic thinking. I'm an "old" gamer pushing 40 and I've mastered it. Once mastered, that battle system is more rewarding than most I've seen in the last decade. Once you figure out the system, you'll love going back and bringing fire and death to those tough critters who slapped you around earlier.

The graphics are steam punk. The colors are industrial. The models are sharp enough to enjoy tweaking their costumes. It won't win beauty contests, they left that to the FPS. RPG doesn't need lipstick and rouge, remember D&D?

The story is enigmatic. Absolutely impossible to follow if you're one of the Halo generation. No "reveal a minute" in this title. You have to be patient and enjoy the nuance. The story comes along slowly.

A tough game. An unforgiving game. A game that doesn't hold your hand and give you a trophy for participating. A game that is worth the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent game!! Complex, but great battle system.

posted by Chikage (COVINA, CA) Mar 19, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

43 out of 47 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

This game is better than I had imagine.

The steampunk saga is a little over done now but this game, with its post-apocalyptic theme, makes it unique in it own way.

At first, it took me a while to learn the battle system. Took me about 10 mins to get through the tutorial but when I got through it, I realize how crazy this game is.

Shooting your opponent in the air, laying smackdowns on the opponent (no joke, that's what they're called) and creating tri-attacks to demolish the opponent with all your characters.

Pros:
The battle system is awesome once you get it.
Feels like you're playing some other Matrix movie or game.
Music was done by Motoi Sakuraba, composer of the Star Ocean, Tales of Series, and Valkyrie Profile.
Unique leveling up system keeps you wanting more.

Cons:
The characters on the menu system and battle system look pixelated, which makes them look really awkward.
As others were saying, the battle system was really confusing for beginners.
Takes 5 gigs of install data for this game, the heck do you need 5 gigs for???

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Master the triangle and gun damage

posted by BAH315 (TOLEDO, OH) Feb 18, 2011

Member since May 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Very fun game once I figured out the combat system and gun damage. Use the machine gun to drop the shields then the handgun to take em out. Use a high resonance point tri attack to do major damage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A very nice surprise, well worth AT LEAST a look

posted by TheArcas (HESPERIA, CA) May 15, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Although I was always interested in Resonance of Fate since it's announcement, I was a little wary of the game at first. After a few hours of playing though, I was absolutely hooked!

Story:
The game's story unfolds in a very unfamiliar way which is a vague intro followed by a series of scenes that eventually tie everything together. It is a little confusing at times and was ultimately a letdown for me though. It's not terrible, just not as good as it could have been. In regard to the characters, they're fantastically done. I love every single one of them especially the main characters. The developers chose the perfect VA's and did an excellent job on their design. I actually enjoyed the characters so much that I overlooked the flawed story.

Gameplay:
The game plays sort of like a mix of turn based and action rpg elements, and it mixes rather well. The fighting consists of two types of damage. Scratch and direct damage. Direct damage doesn't usually inflict much damage by itself but this is where scratch damage comes from. Scratch damage sticks to the enemies life bar and can be combined with direct damage to inflict maximum damage. One thing to note about the gameplay is that the game is pretty hard when comparing to other recent rpgs.

Sound and graphics:
Sounds effects like guns and pushing buttons are probably like you expect, they get the job done. The music is mostly just a bunch of hard rock music, nothing too exciting. A plus about music though is that through the XMB you can play your own music. A very nice feature to have. As for graphics, they're great and hold up well to other games.

Overall despite any flaws, this game is fantastic if you're into shooters/rpgs. There is a lot of strategy and pre-planning involved though so if that's not your style I don't recommend this. There's also a slight learning curve as well as a pretty high difficulty. Still, this is one of the best games I've played on my PS3 and look forward to a sequel.

9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

On the flip side

posted by zargot (PHOENIX, AZ) Aug 23, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

It seems everyone has negative things to say about this game. Well I will be the first to say I enjoyed it. The story trailed off a little at the end but the game play remained fun. I enjoyed the map system where you had to use the hexes to uncover the parts of the world you would like to visit. I like the quarkiness of the weapon customization, you can affix something like 10 barrels onto a single hand gun, lol. The battle system was a little hard at first to figure out but fun once you mastered it. Give it a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of a Few Solid RPGs for PS3.

posted by BaIIsweat (MEDFORD, OR) Sep 25, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game from Gamefly and ended up keeping it despite having beat the game. I figure it was worth it, and I'll probably replay the game at some point.

Firstly, kudos to Sega for a truly innovative and new battle-system that took some time to wrap my head completely around, but not long enough that I even came close to giving up. There have been sooooo many games that have tried new battle-systems for RPGs that just ended up disappointing me miserably. This isn't one of them. The battle system is pretty epic once you get the hang of out. For the slower learners, it might take awhile to get used to, but trust me when I say it's worth it.

The story is fairly decent, but not as captivating as I would like from an RPG. There are also menial side quests and an arena that you can participate in for additional rewards. I would've really liked to see more to this story, and for it to be more engaging. There are a couple of gaps, and you never really feel like the story is concluded, let alone truly started.

The upgrade system for weapons attachments is kind of ridiculous, but I'm sort of into figuring out what pieces I can put together in a puzzle in order to optimize my guns. It adds a bit of thinking, not much, and isn't completely necessary. You don't need to really have the best set-up to succeed. So, players who don't wanna bother hunting for certain pieces, etc. can just strap on whatever they can and it'll be fine, but for people who want the best they can opt to make the best.

It has some solid replay value too, but after doing all of the arena fights I needed a break before starting my new game +. I think anyone willing to take on a new, innovative battle-system with a decent story behind it will thoroughly enjoy this game. It's definitely worth a rent, and probably worthy of a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

You'll either love it or hate it

posted by killquick4 (HOMESTEAD, PA) Jun 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

All the reviews claiming it's to hard where written by idiots who couldn't or didn't read how the game actually works and therfore died all the time. this game does require you to pay VERY close attention to the story and characters or else you will never beat it. that being said tis is both good and bad for the game in different ways. for those who actually enjoy the challenge and are very picky about every detail you will love this game. Although for the gamers who love a challenge but don't pay to much attention to the story and just want to play you'll end up hating it.

Pros:

-Very Challenging and requires you to plan many turns ahead before making a move
-Movement of enemies requires you to think if your move will kill you or win you a fight
-The combat system is very enjoyable once you get it down.
-The game doesn't hold your hand and play for you

Cons:
-The hero gauge is WAY to short for the first half of the game
- Casual gamers ( like myself) will enjoy the game overall but hate more of it than the hardcore gamers.
- Boss Battles are insanely to hard in the beggining and this will discourage alot of players
- the hero gauge depletes to easy and you'll find yourself close to winning a battle then sitting in a corner until you get killed

Overall the game is fun for the hardcore RPG players but for the casual Gamers then this title should be avoided as it will annoy you more than you will find entertainment from it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game!!!

posted by ninjasqrl2 (FPO, AP) Mar 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2006

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Ok first off I haven’t actually beat this game yet however I have put in about 30 hours of game play (way more than some of these other people trashing this game) and I feel that I have a good enough grasp of this game to write this review (once again unlike those others)

Battle system:This battle system is difficult. The very first thing you should do is go through the battle tutorial. This will probably take around 30min. if you don’t do this the rest of the game is going to prove difficult. The battle system is difficult to describe. Basically you have two types of damage you can deal to enemies scratch damage which is caused by machine guns and direct damage which is caused by hand guns and grenades. Scratch alone cannot hurt your enemy and it disappears with time but when ever you deal direct damage all the accumulated scratch damage turns into direct damage. So a good strategy is to use a MG to pile on a lot of scratch damage really fast than 1 hit with a HG or grenade to finish your enemy off. There are also others aspects of the combat system but you will just have to play the game yourself for those.

Story:The story is a little confusing but that’s pretty standard with JRPGs. Basically you play as three hunters, Leanne, Zyphyr, and Vashyron. Throughout the game you wander around Bazel completing tasks for the people and earning cash and various items in return. Bazel is a giant sort of clock tower that serves as your over world in the game. The higher levels(1-3) are part of chandelier and are home to the cardinals(nobility). You will receive various missions from here and there isn’t any real combat on these levels. Then as you go down the lower levels (4-9 are middle class with medium difficultly enemies. Finally the bottom levels (10-13) are the hardest in the most disrepair.

This is a very enjoyable game for any who appricate JRPGs. It takes some getting use to and it isnt a cakewake but the challange is what makes it a good game. overall 9.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very good so far.

posted by reganj (LANSING, NY) Mar 19, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

16 out of 20 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Granted, I am just three hours into the game but so far so good. You absolutely have to go straight to the Arena and get battle tutorial training. That training will explain the battle system completely. Insure you have about 30 minutes to dedicate to the tutorial because it pays off to complete it.
I entered my first real battle and handled it with ease. The customization for your weapons and characters is great. I enjoy the way you move along the world map and the graphics style is unique. Although it isn't the prettiest game, I am enjoying this way more than I did Final Fantasy XIII.

Give this game a try and complete the tutorials.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Packing more heat then you should handle!

posted by Icoloco (DRESDEN, ME) May 21, 2010

Member since May 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Reading most reviews above make me think on how they don't really review the game... just state something bad then rate it a bad rating.

Story:7.6
The game tells it in a strange way which isn't bad ,but some people are expecting it to be set right in front of them.

Graphics: 9
I'm blown away by how good the graphics are from walking around in a town to how the character move in battle from how poor looking the towns and towns people look in one town and how they change to another.

Combat: 8.3
seeing the reviews most people didn't play through the tutorial. while it is possible to play through it without.. I would say its a must as the learning curve is steep took me about 30 minutes to get through the tutorial ,but after I was done I had a blast fighting.

Replay:medium
Not much else to say here.

Sound 7.5
While some lines sound cheesy I felt they fit the characters well as for the music had a complaint with it that said it didn't really blow me away.

Things I liked:
Graphics from the towns to how you can change your characters clothes and see them in a cutscene or in battle impressed me.

battle system while its complex and hard to learn to some people you once you get used to it ,it is a blast to use.

Weapon Upgrade/Crafting system: its a warped standard of a normal weapon crafting system but for guns!

What I didn't like
how strange the weapon upgrade system worked I found I was trying to put 2+ sights on my gun at times ,and it would let me.. while it does help you in some ways it hurt my brain...

overall I give it a 7.8. while its battle system is complex and the story telling is strange its a rpg that had alot of work in with it.

Extra: hate people make a one sentence reviews and posting it. its a game with more than 10 hours atleast explain in detail the good and bad not just "GAME SUCKS" rate 1 >=( /end rant

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tutorial a must..

posted by Marmilin (SAINT CLAIR SHORES, MI) Apr 10, 2010

Member since Dec 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I am one of those gamers who laugh at the idea of using a tutorial, but in this game it is pretty much a must. Using a really, funky yet fluid, blend of real time turn based strategy, this game pulls off some really flashy stunts, and insane game mechanics. All that with a steam-punk, post-apocalyptic setting and story, mixes to make one of the greatest games ever right?

Well it is Tri-Ace so don't expect the most gripping thrilling story that would make you rethink your life morals and values. It is, so far pretty standard fare, interesting enough to keep you playing, but will be basic as it can get.

The systems within this game are unique that i haven't seen many others like it, if any at all. The world map consists of hexagons that you use various shapped light squares to 'reveal' thus being able to travel on them. Making the world map itself a mini 'puzzle' game, i stress mini since getting these light squares is a simple matter of murdering more foes. The strategy with this comes in lighting up various energy sources for bonuses. Making the map glow a certain color, think Geosquares in Disgaea, will give that area certain status effects. Cover a dungeon with that color and the entire dungeon has that effect.

Overall both the world map, exploration, and combat systems have been fresh, to a rather stagnant jrpg scene lately. I am 22 hours in and loving it, even if it has some quirky characters and parts. There is also a sort of Barbie dress up deal. Your guns, and accessories are your 'stat' gear and your clothes are basically just whatever you feel like wearing. It gets addictive seeing what new clothes you can buy and what new eye colors, hiar colors, holsters, etc you can deck each character in.

Overall I bought this game and know it'll go unnoticed due to poor advertisement and poor release date, released same day as God of War 3... really?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

True to the RPG genre

posted by ark3typ3 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Nov 21, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I liked it, I liked it quite a bit actually. I wouldn't call this the next block buster hit in the RPG world, but if you're an RPG fan then you will definitely want to try it out.

The combat system is tricky and at the beginning every NPC insists that you practice at the arena....do it. The combat system can get frustrating, but if you keep at it you'll figure it out soon enough (relatively simple to understand, difficult to master). Unfortunately, shooter fans often rate this game low because they're expecting a shooter , not a strategy based fighting system that focuses on timing and happens to use guns. This game has a lot to offer and I love the character and weapon customization, there is plenty to add to your guns to give them their edge and plenty of accessories to give your character the look you want (all of mine had sunglasses within an hour of starting the game)

The story is good. However, you do need to do quite a bit of talking around with the NPCs to get the complete details as the cutscenes leave out some stuff. If you don't pay attention, you WILL miss things so be ready to devote a little focus to it.

All around, this game is worth buying, I actually liked it better than FF13....but then again, anything is better than running down a long, well drawn, hallway for 40 hours:P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A step in the right direction.

posted by J00berts (KIRKLAND, WA) Apr 26, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Resonance of Fate is a welcome change in the JRPG genre, and hopefully the genre will slowly be redefined. I'm roughly 30ish hours into the game (level 40) and I've really enjoyed myself thus far.

Story 6/10:
I'm not going to summarize the story thus far, I'm just going to say that its a pretty generic and linear story. Very predictable, but so are most JRPGs. Its another game that puts emphasis on a post-apocalyptic world, go figure.

Dialogue 6/10:
The voice acting is mediocre. There are a lot of sexual innuendos, some funny, some distasteful, and the occasional joke. But like most other games of this genre, the English voice-overs aren't always... how can I put this lightly... any good.

Visuals 7/10:
Overall the game looks pretty good. It isn't the most visually impressive game, but the graphics are above par.

Controls 9/10:
A lot of the reviews I read talk about how difficult this game is, or how complicated the controls are to learn. THEY ARE NOT HARD TO LEARN. After you start the game, go to the Arena, dedicate 30 minutes of your time to figure out exactly how to play, and bam. It's the people that are too impatient to learn the mechanics of the game that are having problems. You aren't going to get placed into a battle and just figure it out suddenly, it's a little more complicated, plus the Arena tells you some of the subtle tricks to the game.

Gameplay 9/10:
Is this game fun? Very. Is it for everyone? Definitely not. I love the way the game is presented, I love how you travel around, how you unlock Tetris-like shapes to continue further into the maps. Battles start off fun, but I find myself a bit agitated with the same battle plan, over, and over, and over, and over, and over... The bosses aren't even that unique as far as how you kill them.

Overall 8/10:
I truly enjoyed this game up to this point. I've set it down, and unfortunately I don't think I'll pick it back up. Rent it and try it; I thought I wanted to buy it, but I'm glad I didn't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worth A Rent

posted by Xanide (LIBERTY, TX) May 30, 2010

Member since May 2010

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I gave the game a 6 because the graphics are nice, the battle system is sweet and the little board thing you move around is a neat idea. BUT what is the story about? I played for atleast 15 hours and I still have no idea whats going on. Also, If you run out of the little red dots (I forgot what their called) at the bottom of your battle HUD your partymembers whimp out and cant do anything, Basicly leaving you to die. If one of your party members die then its game over. The learning curve is also very steep for begginers, unless you played JRPG's before its going to take you a couple of hours to learn the battle system alone. I give this game a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Awesome

posted by MistaCMD (LONGVIEW, TX) Mar 17, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

13 out of 27 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

This game is like Sci-Fi + Swords + Spells + Guns!
This game is just like another version of Final Fantasy-like games.
If you don't love this game, you're weird....
Try it out....!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fresh perspective on the RPG World

posted by revenger68 (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 3, 2011

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is fantastic. I almost listened to the bad reviews, but chose to give it a honest shot instead. This game takes on a unique style of gameplay. The characters are a blast to watch & develop quite nicely. If you're sick of the same 'ol same 'ol either all-out hack-n-slash and the long winded cast-style RPG style this is a refreshing change. There aren't any typical classes: Swords, mage, blah blah blah... This game takes a unique perspective of explosives and guns. It works similar to a turn-based RPG without the usual slow paced rate.

The characters are well-developed and have a unique story. I found myself loving this game right out of the box. Graphics are great, animation is fluid and combat is refreshingly unique to any other RPG I've played with a perfect balance of tactic and variety. Combat may seem complex at first, but it's quite easy to grasp. On top of that there are interactive tutorials to show you every step of the game.

If you forget how to pull off a technique, or are stuck: there is an in-game manual you can pause and go to at any time from anywhere in the game, even in combat.

All I can say is it's a refreshing change in the typical "Am I going to be a mage or a swordsman?" type of mentality most RPG's have. I think of this as a turn-based game with the pace of live-action. It's well worth the rent, if not buy (I'm buying this!).

Last but far from least: the game has FANTASTIC sound. If you have a surround sound system this game was designed for it. There is even a configuration utility in-game for configuring sound. I found this to have the best audio i've heard in a RPG for quite some time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

killer game

posted by aaronisone (SALEM, OR) Oct 9, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was exiting i enjoyed the story line kinda of confusing at 1st but was good charaters where done amazing and voice acting japaness games like these i can play none stop i was addicted to the game so much but my ps3 crashed so i might play this game again in time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Gratifying battle system, but silly gameplay!

posted by Tobiaskane (ARLINGTON, VA) Jul 10, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

If you are looking for Final Fantasy visuals, an immersive story, and temptuous characters keep on looking. This game is about the battle system and its downright incredible, frustrating, and very rewarding. Its a hybrid combination of turn based and real time. Basically, you can choose what you want your characters to do and then manipluate that action during their turn in real time. I'm sure we will see more of this type of hybrid in the future. Again, this game is all about the battle system. It never gets boring and the AI is extremely intelligent. If you weaken the AI's shields on one side it will turn to where its shields are full. If you target an AI his buddies will target you as he fades to the rear or takes a defensive position. This game is not for the meek. You will have to put some serious time into the battle system to fully understand and appreciate it. All the different types of attacks, combinations (to include air juggling) will nary leave you bored. The leveing up is also based upon the weapons and not the character. When you first put this game in you'll want to return it but if you get comfortable with the battle system it is well worth it.

Clearly, the production of this game was based upon the battle system. It feels like the actual story was tossed together right before shipping out. The voiceovers are not impressive either. The graphics are pixelated and the cutscenes are decent. The colors are very industrial and you'll be convinced they used every shade of gray imaginable. Although the story is linear you have every option to explore on your own. You'll have so much fun with the battle system you'll forget all about the story.

The game tutorials are a bit confusing but you'll figure it out along the way.

Definetaly a rental and if not for the battle system I would have put this game back in the mail. I gave it a 6 for its solid battle system, everything else left much to be desired.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Puts its worst foot forward

posted by Eakin3 (PONTE VEDRA BEACH, FL) Oct 20, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This game lives and dies by its combat system, which is incredibly complicated, rough to control, and unnecessarily frustrating. As others have commented there's absolutely no hand holding or introduction except for the optional tutorial area which is absolutely essential if you're going to have any chance of figuring the game out.
Examples of poor game design choices I found in the first 3-4 hours I played it:

-During your turn you can target and fire at enemies, but they'll be doing the same to you. Your attacks will frequently be interrupted by theirs, which ends your turn. You can't dodge this. You can try to charge more quickly by getting closer to your target, but moving depletes the same energy meter you use to attack.

-Hero actions are special running attacks you can preform that overcome this limitation. However, preforming one knocks off a third of your party's life bar and can be interrupted by hitting any object. You can jump over objects, but only if you can time your jump by memory because the camera probably won't be oriented so you can see it.

-When you get down to critically low life your whole party becomes weaker and slower. While it's theoretically possible to recover from this by KOing an enemy 95% of the time it just leaves you flailing for an incredibly frustrating minute or two while you get ripped apart.
I played up to the first boss, who took me down a dozen or so times before I decided I had no interest in going any further.

It's really a shame, because there was the beginning of a potentially interesting story and a really cool steam punk setting I wanted to explore, but it honestly just isn't worth it.

This game is the opposite of a rental. The first half dozen hours are supremely frustrating. Maybe it gets better after that but if you aren't willing to put in several hours of work to overcome the combat systems ruthlessness you won't ever see it. Sent it back after a weekend

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Couldn't get into it

posted by decapad (BRONX, NY) May 9, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This was a bit of an odd game. It tried some new things & that part you gotta like. But somehow this game just wasn't fun. I lasted for a few hours before throwing in the towel. It seemed very focused on the combat - which took some getting used to. Then it's secondary focus was on upgrading weapons. But I really like exploration, interacting with the environments, puzzle solving & digging up cool secrets in my adventures - which this game really lacked. So the balance just wasn't there for me. But if you like lots of combat & upgrades - you may like this one. D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

kinda sucked

posted by jsteel (BUFFALO GROVE, IL) Mar 23, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 15 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

the battle system is actually pretty cool, it can be a little frustrating at first but once you get the hang of it, it is pretty fun. too bad everything else sucks, no plot, dull characters, terrible upgrade system, and really just a boring rpg.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Great idea, but poor game

posted by Taurus (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

“Resonance of Fate” has to be one of the greatest ideas, but worst game I have ever played. The battle system is sluggish for fight that use guns as their main weapon, the hexagon map movement is just confuse for the player, but the only good thing I like about this game is the weapon detailed customizations. The creators need to go back to the drawing board and see what makes a good role-playing game,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Resonance of Fate

posted by Nuria4 (MARYSVILLE, WA) Apr 18, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Great graphics! A little slow to start off. Found there was a bit of a learning curve with the fighting interface. Once I figured it out I really enjoyed it. Reminds me a little of Final Fantasy X.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Repetitive

posted by Arshus (GREENWOOD, IN) Jul 7, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

Jumping to it. This game is beautiful. Voice acting is JRPGish, which can work at times and not so well at others. The story is ok, different, and it can be gripping at times.
Game play. Oh man, this is where it gets old fast, I mean very fast. Boss fights do get interesting with decent amounts of strategy involved but it just gets old. Combine turn based fighting with matrix style gun play repeat. Everyone moves in straight lines while shooting and reloading in the same turn, you get to press a button to make your character jump which can turn into flips, twists, and no handed cart wheels. That is the majority of the game. Random fights on open world maps. It all just seems 2 generations ago rpg elements with current gen graphics add a decent story and thats it.
Overall my experience with ROF was good at first but it just got old. Really old and fast. I see little to no replay value. There was potential here I just think that this could have, no it should have been better. As always, thanks for your time gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Resonance of Fate

posted by Shad51 (HATTIESBURG, MS) Jan 18, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

The storyline of this game was good but the gameplay was terrible and I could not finish the game because of how confusing it was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse