Rent Resonance of Fate for PS3
view large frontback

Resonance of Fate

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.7

2249 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Resonance of Fate

posted by Shad51 (HATTIESBURG, MS) Jan 18, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

The storyline of this game was good but the gameplay was terrible and I could not finish the game because of how confusing it was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

just bad

posted by Darkanda316 (LAKEWOOD, WA) Dec 12, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

this game was very well bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BORING!!!!

posted by kreyes19 (NEW YORK, NY) May 10, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

boring game boring environment gameplay sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

in game training not worth it

posted by goodboy (BEEVILLE, TX) Sep 15, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

overcomplicatedly, this game trains you to play it in game, but it's just a bunch of junk for no gameplay value; like they said in other reviews, make a game for normal people, sheesh

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst battle system ever

posted by bcherry133 (HANOVER, PA) Sep 13, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I couldn't even get into the plot because the battle system was so horrible. I'm really glad I didn't buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Total wast of time!

posted by Warp19 (COVINGTON, GA) Aug 31, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

I don't know who this game was made for, but not normal people. This game drops you right into a fight with no warning, and no training. I found my self in a fight not knowing how to Evan atk, soon I got a game over. This game is not for Evan normal players that may need to know what the controls do, If you are an ESP you will do fine with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SLOW game

posted by xelerated (AVON, IN) Aug 30, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

This game moves so slow. I couldn't get very far it was just to boring.
The graphics were amazing but game play couldn't be worse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

waste of time

posted by zerocool83 (LA VERGNE, TN) May 24, 2010

Member since May 2010

i waited around to play it and now i wish i would have not even popped it in. the graphics are horrible. the camera angle in towns is annoying and no give on the angles. as far as maps go the game doesn't offer much help in cities and the world map looks like a Chinese checker board... so now i am stuck with the shame of having this game on my ps3 0% on trophies! don't even bother with this game is an eyesore compared to other games on the market.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not impressed

posted by tophop101 (BUFFALO, NY) Mar 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

This game was one i was looking forward to for a long time. i played for a few hours and packed it up and shipped it back. The battle system is so complex you spen the frist 2 hours just trying to grasp it, thought i did, then realized nothing works the way it should. Characters are so ridiculous you dont want to watch the cutscenes, the one place where this game shines, great graphics....wasted. Pass on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not so great

posted by dmytheus (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Mar 20, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Don't bother. Game play is terrible. Story needs work. Controls suck. Just not worth it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

UHHH Terrible

posted by Tmactown01 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 20, 2010

Member since Sep 2006

This game is terrible a joke. I have to think people these days are trying to make bad games it has to be that. Noone could make a a battle system more terrible. Will noone ever make a good RPG again?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this is a first for me -.-

posted by omegafate (SPENCERVILLE, OH) May 24, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

its very difficult to say and trust me ive been a fan of sega since the days of the genesis. i have to deem this game unplayable, due to the fact of the lack of formal battle system training. unless you know what you are doing you wont win a battle due to its complex nature.plus everyone's health is tied in to one pool of health. also when u do die you have to cough up some major funds to revive and start back over or close to. i think if sega makes another rpg other than phantasy star, they will need lot of assistance in not making it to indepth.

so basically the game just look pretty, but caters to the more extreme rpg or mmorpg fan than the everyday rpg/mmorpg casual fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not what i thought

posted by olicapone (CORONA, CA) May 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

first of all i was expecting a good game. one with lots of story and potential. i was wrong. i was thrown into a world with no tutorials, intros, or any means of conveyance as to the understanding of the plot. frankly it seemed like there was a plot but it was so poorly announced and held such little basis that i simply understood nothing even after playing for hours and getting past a few chapters. i dont know if the game progresses later but as far as i played it became frustrating not knowing full well how to even battle, let alone the story. honestly disappointed with the game i was expecting much more and i got nothing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Puts its worst foot forward

posted by Eakin3 (PONTE VEDRA BEACH, FL) Oct 20, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This game lives and dies by its combat system, which is incredibly complicated, rough to control, and unnecessarily frustrating. As others have commented there's absolutely no hand holding or introduction except for the optional tutorial area which is absolutely essential if you're going to have any chance of figuring the game out.
Examples of poor game design choices I found in the first 3-4 hours I played it:

-During your turn you can target and fire at enemies, but they'll be doing the same to you. Your attacks will frequently be interrupted by theirs, which ends your turn. You can't dodge this. You can try to charge more quickly by getting closer to your target, but moving depletes the same energy meter you use to attack.

-Hero actions are special running attacks you can preform that overcome this limitation. However, preforming one knocks off a third of your party's life bar and can be interrupted by hitting any object. You can jump over objects, but only if you can time your jump by memory because the camera probably won't be oriented so you can see it.

-When you get down to critically low life your whole party becomes weaker and slower. While it's theoretically possible to recover from this by KOing an enemy 95% of the time it just leaves you flailing for an incredibly frustrating minute or two while you get ripped apart.
I played up to the first boss, who took me down a dozen or so times before I decided I had no interest in going any further.

It's really a shame, because there was the beginning of a potentially interesting story and a really cool steam punk setting I wanted to explore, but it honestly just isn't worth it.

This game is the opposite of a rental. The first half dozen hours are supremely frustrating. Maybe it gets better after that but if you aren't willing to put in several hours of work to overcome the combat systems ruthlessness you won't ever see it. Sent it back after a weekend

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Great idea, but poor game

posted by Taurus (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

“Resonance of Fate” has to be one of the greatest ideas, but worst game I have ever played. The battle system is sluggish for fight that use guns as their main weapon, the hexagon map movement is just confuse for the player, but the only good thing I like about this game is the weapon detailed customizations. The creators need to go back to the drawing board and see what makes a good role-playing game,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Forget it

posted by GFcritic (AUBURN, WA) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

I didn't even make it far enough to find a save spot! Started it again and got killed, then again. Made 0 progress in over an hour and decided enough was enough and sent it back. I'm a RPG vet, this game sucked.
All the SEGA games I've tried recently have sucked. This game played like a PS2 game, reading instead of talking most of the time. Hated it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game is nothing short of terrible

posted by qubica300 (KENNESAW, GA) Apr 14, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

Ok, so I thought this game had promise. It delivered all right--hours of frustration just working through a vague and cumbersome tutorial. Then when real battles begin, you are stuck in a myriad of complex control sequences just to complete basic moves. After the second or third random battle created by manuevering thru a ridiculous hexagon stuyle grid (by the way, the grid is also confusing, and you don't really ever get to navigatte freely on the world map, just the linear paths of random cities and "levels"), you take randomly earned Tetris style pieces and try to "clear your path" just to get to another random battle of awkward control sequences--in the end, just to shoot a gun. Really? Could this be nothing more than annoying.........don't waste your time. Unless you enjoy doing nothing but creating macro-esqu button mashing with no real purpose.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not that tight

posted by mizzery9 (EUDORA, KS) Feb 7, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I played for an hour and felt like i'd seen all the combat had to offer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

don't like it

posted by garsterj (WOODRUFF, WI) Dec 5, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

didn't like the game because it pretty lame

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Promising without Delivery.

posted by Deception613 (VASSAR, MI) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

All in all, I am a fan of Role Playing Games. I am a classic fan of the linear style play through that was a good majority of the past decade or so. Recently, I have decided to branch out into the gaming populace over the last couple of years or so. Resonance of Fate was no different. I had heard good publicity on a game that did not see much advertisement before it's release and I was willing to give it a try.

I am sorry to say that this was not one of SEGA's master pieces. The graphics and structure of the Full Motion Video's was breath taking to say the least, and the idea's of the story line were marvelous. On the other hand, much like my Title, the game did not deliver.

I would rate the poorly managed battle system a 6 out of 10. The lack of an item system made a person rely on Leanne for a good majority, and when she becomes a heavy hitter, it is entirely wasted.

There is a lot I can say about this game, and I am sore to say that after a good 200 hours of playing, I was not impressed. A tip for all of you readers, who take the time to read reviews before you rent-

This game is nothing more than a "shelver". You take it out when you are bored, but that is about it. Best advice? Buy it used, unless you are a die-hard SEGA fan. Keep it for a rainy day, but do not invest your last $40 for a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

No idea what's happening.

posted by Qolotlh (HERMITAGE, TN) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Nearly 4 hours in I feel I've come in on the last 15 minutes of a show I've never seen. I'm sure there is a story but there is no hook to keep you interested. The gameplay is simultaneously unique and frustrating. Probably better for someone who is more an RPG fan than action adventure I would think.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Garbage!!!!

posted by Iceman86 (MICHIGAN CITY, IN) May 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This game is a total P.O.S. The graphics are of PS2 era at best....The story makes no sense what so ever....Even though this is a PS3 game, why is it that it reminds me so much of a PS1 game...what I mean by this is, you have to read everything in the game....come on people....the days of reading dialogue are over...BUT, I do have to admit I liked the fighting style in the game....I love the gun play....the only problem with it is that you can easily get beat by a low level enemy if u don't know what your doing....And after the 20th time getting beat by the same enemy, who by the way hits you one time and puts you in critical caution, you will be ready to ship this game back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Couldn't get into it

posted by decapad (BRONX, NY) May 9, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This was a bit of an odd game. It tried some new things & that part you gotta like. But somehow this game just wasn't fun. I lasted for a few hours before throwing in the towel. It seemed very focused on the combat - which took some getting used to. Then it's secondary focus was on upgrading weapons. But I really like exploration, interacting with the environments, puzzle solving & digging up cool secrets in my adventures - which this game really lacked. So the balance just wasn't there for me. But if you like lots of combat & upgrades - you may like this one. D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Repetitive

posted by Arshus (GREENWOOD, IN) Jul 7, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

Jumping to it. This game is beautiful. Voice acting is JRPGish, which can work at times and not so well at others. The story is ok, different, and it can be gripping at times.
Game play. Oh man, this is where it gets old fast, I mean very fast. Boss fights do get interesting with decent amounts of strategy involved but it just gets old. Combine turn based fighting with matrix style gun play repeat. Everyone moves in straight lines while shooting and reloading in the same turn, you get to press a button to make your character jump which can turn into flips, twists, and no handed cart wheels. That is the majority of the game. Random fights on open world maps. It all just seems 2 generations ago rpg elements with current gen graphics add a decent story and thats it.
Overall my experience with ROF was good at first but it just got old. Really old and fast. I see little to no replay value. There was potential here I just think that this could have, no it should have been better. As always, thanks for your time gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not as good as I wanted it to be

posted by bcwent (EWING, NJ) Sep 4, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

After reading great reviews on launch, I bought this game. It does have some interesting elements but it is deeply flawed. First, this game is GRAY. Just gray warehouse after gray city. The characters were just as bland.

I could deal with that, but the battle system is designed around having three characters, and you cannot do any remotely powerful moves unless all three are positioned correctly in the battle area. Problem is, there are whole sections of game where one of your characters wanders off due to a story point. I got so frustrated trying to battle with only two characters that I just abandoned the game around level 6 or so. I never quit games, especially RPGs. The frustration just eclipsed the fun, so I moved on.

I would recommend renting this game before buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse