Rent Resonance of Fate for PS3
view large frontback

Resonance of Fate

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.7

2250 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by Cuddlebuns (DEER PARK, WA) Sep 8, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Its one the most perfect games I've ever played. Except that it gets really harder as you go. But great story, with outstanding effects with in graphics and action moves as in attacking for instances. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fresh perspective on the RPG World

posted by revenger68 (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 3, 2011

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is fantastic. I almost listened to the bad reviews, but chose to give it a honest shot instead. This game takes on a unique style of gameplay. The characters are a blast to watch & develop quite nicely. If you're sick of the same 'ol same 'ol either all-out hack-n-slash and the long winded cast-style RPG style this is a refreshing change. There aren't any typical classes: Swords, mage, blah blah blah... This game takes a unique perspective of explosives and guns. It works similar to a turn-based RPG without the usual slow paced rate.

The characters are well-developed and have a unique story. I found myself loving this game right out of the box. Graphics are great, animation is fluid and combat is refreshingly unique to any other RPG I've played with a perfect balance of tactic and variety. Combat may seem complex at first, but it's quite easy to grasp. On top of that there are interactive tutorials to show you every step of the game.

If you forget how to pull off a technique, or are stuck: there is an in-game manual you can pause and go to at any time from anywhere in the game, even in combat.

All I can say is it's a refreshing change in the typical "Am I going to be a mage or a swordsman?" type of mentality most RPG's have. I think of this as a turn-based game with the pace of live-action. It's well worth the rent, if not buy (I'm buying this!).

Last but far from least: the game has FANTASTIC sound. If you have a surround sound system this game was designed for it. There is even a configuration utility in-game for configuring sound. I found this to have the best audio i've heard in a RPG for quite some time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

killer game

posted by aaronisone (SALEM, OR) Oct 9, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was exiting i enjoyed the story line kinda of confusing at 1st but was good charaters where done amazing and voice acting japaness games like these i can play none stop i was addicted to the game so much but my ps3 crashed so i might play this game again in time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game!!!

posted by ninjasqrl2 (FPO, AP) Mar 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2006

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Ok first off I haven’t actually beat this game yet however I have put in about 30 hours of game play (way more than some of these other people trashing this game) and I feel that I have a good enough grasp of this game to write this review (once again unlike those others)

Battle system:This battle system is difficult. The very first thing you should do is go through the battle tutorial. This will probably take around 30min. if you don’t do this the rest of the game is going to prove difficult. The battle system is difficult to describe. Basically you have two types of damage you can deal to enemies scratch damage which is caused by machine guns and direct damage which is caused by hand guns and grenades. Scratch alone cannot hurt your enemy and it disappears with time but when ever you deal direct damage all the accumulated scratch damage turns into direct damage. So a good strategy is to use a MG to pile on a lot of scratch damage really fast than 1 hit with a HG or grenade to finish your enemy off. There are also others aspects of the combat system but you will just have to play the game yourself for those.

Story:The story is a little confusing but that’s pretty standard with JRPGs. Basically you play as three hunters, Leanne, Zyphyr, and Vashyron. Throughout the game you wander around Bazel completing tasks for the people and earning cash and various items in return. Bazel is a giant sort of clock tower that serves as your over world in the game. The higher levels(1-3) are part of chandelier and are home to the cardinals(nobility). You will receive various missions from here and there isn’t any real combat on these levels. Then as you go down the lower levels (4-9 are middle class with medium difficultly enemies. Finally the bottom levels (10-13) are the hardest in the most disrepair.

This is a very enjoyable game for any who appricate JRPGs. It takes some getting use to and it isnt a cakewake but the challange is what makes it a good game. overall 9.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of a Few Solid RPGs for PS3.

posted by BaIIsweat (MEDFORD, OR) Sep 25, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game from Gamefly and ended up keeping it despite having beat the game. I figure it was worth it, and I'll probably replay the game at some point.

Firstly, kudos to Sega for a truly innovative and new battle-system that took some time to wrap my head completely around, but not long enough that I even came close to giving up. There have been sooooo many games that have tried new battle-systems for RPGs that just ended up disappointing me miserably. This isn't one of them. The battle system is pretty epic once you get the hang of out. For the slower learners, it might take awhile to get used to, but trust me when I say it's worth it.

The story is fairly decent, but not as captivating as I would like from an RPG. There are also menial side quests and an arena that you can participate in for additional rewards. I would've really liked to see more to this story, and for it to be more engaging. There are a couple of gaps, and you never really feel like the story is concluded, let alone truly started.

The upgrade system for weapons attachments is kind of ridiculous, but I'm sort of into figuring out what pieces I can put together in a puzzle in order to optimize my guns. It adds a bit of thinking, not much, and isn't completely necessary. You don't need to really have the best set-up to succeed. So, players who don't wanna bother hunting for certain pieces, etc. can just strap on whatever they can and it'll be fine, but for people who want the best they can opt to make the best.

It has some solid replay value too, but after doing all of the arena fights I needed a break before starting my new game +. I think anyone willing to take on a new, innovative battle-system with a decent story behind it will thoroughly enjoy this game. It's definitely worth a rent, and probably worthy of a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A unique experience

posted by coldzero (PELHAM, AL) Mar 5, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

At first, like a lot of people, the game's unique approach at various things confused me. The world map took a few minutes to understand, and the battle system took the entire tutorial as well a few actual fights, but I feel it is a surprisingly decent game. I prefer traditional, menu-driven combat so I was surprised that I actually like this game as much as I do.
I haven't gotten fully into the story yet, but what I've seen is well done. The graphics could be a little better, but I feel like the creators achieved the look they were wanting. The characters seem to be decently well thought out, as all three main characters appear to have a full, distinct personality all their own. I would take three well done characters over twenty static space takers any day.
I can't say much more as I've only completed the first three or four chapters of the game, but I will say that it is a nice change, and a breath of fresh air when the market seems full of remakes and retellings of the same old thing.
Its nice to know that sometimes an original idea can still be formed and put together decently enough to be considered a solid game.
It isn't going to be for people that just want a quick, easy game. The rest of us though that are looking for a challenge might find this game to be what we're looking for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Master the triangle and gun damage

posted by BAH315 (TOLEDO, OH) Feb 18, 2011

Member since May 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Very fun game once I figured out the combat system and gun damage. Use the machine gun to drop the shields then the handgun to take em out. Use a high resonance point tri attack to do major damage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

On the flip side

posted by zargot (BURLINGTON, VT) Aug 23, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

It seems everyone has negative things to say about this game. Well I will be the first to say I enjoyed it. The story trailed off a little at the end but the game play remained fun. I enjoyed the map system where you had to use the hexes to uncover the parts of the world you would like to visit. I like the quarkiness of the weapon customization, you can affix something like 10 barrels onto a single hand gun, lol. The battle system was a little hard at first to figure out but fun once you mastered it. Give it a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not for those with short attention spans

posted by RedJay (MARION, IA) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

69 out of 72 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

First, to address the save comments, the save point is in your house. The first place you are when the game opens. I found that out by reading the entire in-game manual.

Yes, there's reading. If you skip the manual, you'll probably hate the game.

The battle system is tough to figure out. Read, experiment, fail, try again. The twitch factor isn't as important as strategic thinking. I'm an "old" gamer pushing 40 and I've mastered it. Once mastered, that battle system is more rewarding than most I've seen in the last decade. Once you figure out the system, you'll love going back and bringing fire and death to those tough critters who slapped you around earlier.

The graphics are steam punk. The colors are industrial. The models are sharp enough to enjoy tweaking their costumes. It won't win beauty contests, they left that to the FPS. RPG doesn't need lipstick and rouge, remember D&D?

The story is enigmatic. Absolutely impossible to follow if you're one of the Halo generation. No "reveal a minute" in this title. You have to be patient and enjoy the nuance. The story comes along slowly.

A tough game. An unforgiving game. A game that doesn't hold your hand and give you a trophy for participating. A game that is worth the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A very nice surprise, well worth AT LEAST a look

posted by TheArcas (HESPERIA, CA) May 15, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Although I was always interested in Resonance of Fate since it's announcement, I was a little wary of the game at first. After a few hours of playing though, I was absolutely hooked!

Story:
The game's story unfolds in a very unfamiliar way which is a vague intro followed by a series of scenes that eventually tie everything together. It is a little confusing at times and was ultimately a letdown for me though. It's not terrible, just not as good as it could have been. In regard to the characters, they're fantastically done. I love every single one of them especially the main characters. The developers chose the perfect VA's and did an excellent job on their design. I actually enjoyed the characters so much that I overlooked the flawed story.

Gameplay:
The game plays sort of like a mix of turn based and action rpg elements, and it mixes rather well. The fighting consists of two types of damage. Scratch and direct damage. Direct damage doesn't usually inflict much damage by itself but this is where scratch damage comes from. Scratch damage sticks to the enemies life bar and can be combined with direct damage to inflict maximum damage. One thing to note about the gameplay is that the game is pretty hard when comparing to other recent rpgs.

Sound and graphics:
Sounds effects like guns and pushing buttons are probably like you expect, they get the job done. The music is mostly just a bunch of hard rock music, nothing too exciting. A plus about music though is that through the XMB you can play your own music. A very nice feature to have. As for graphics, they're great and hold up well to other games.

Overall despite any flaws, this game is fantastic if you're into shooters/rpgs. There is a lot of strategy and pre-planning involved though so if that's not your style I don't recommend this. There's also a slight learning curve as well as a pretty high difficulty. Still, this is one of the best games I've played on my PS3 and look forward to a sequel.

9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tutorial a must..

posted by Marmilin (SAINT CLAIR SHORES, MI) Apr 10, 2010

Member since Dec 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I am one of those gamers who laugh at the idea of using a tutorial, but in this game it is pretty much a must. Using a really, funky yet fluid, blend of real time turn based strategy, this game pulls off some really flashy stunts, and insane game mechanics. All that with a steam-punk, post-apocalyptic setting and story, mixes to make one of the greatest games ever right?

Well it is Tri-Ace so don't expect the most gripping thrilling story that would make you rethink your life morals and values. It is, so far pretty standard fare, interesting enough to keep you playing, but will be basic as it can get.

The systems within this game are unique that i haven't seen many others like it, if any at all. The world map consists of hexagons that you use various shapped light squares to 'reveal' thus being able to travel on them. Making the world map itself a mini 'puzzle' game, i stress mini since getting these light squares is a simple matter of murdering more foes. The strategy with this comes in lighting up various energy sources for bonuses. Making the map glow a certain color, think Geosquares in Disgaea, will give that area certain status effects. Cover a dungeon with that color and the entire dungeon has that effect.

Overall both the world map, exploration, and combat systems have been fresh, to a rather stagnant jrpg scene lately. I am 22 hours in and loving it, even if it has some quirky characters and parts. There is also a sort of Barbie dress up deal. Your guns, and accessories are your 'stat' gear and your clothes are basically just whatever you feel like wearing. It gets addictive seeing what new clothes you can buy and what new eye colors, hiar colors, holsters, etc you can deck each character in.

Overall I bought this game and know it'll go unnoticed due to poor advertisement and poor release date, released same day as God of War 3... really?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent game!! Complex, but great battle system.

posted by Chikage (COVINA, CA) Mar 19, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

43 out of 47 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

This game is better than I had imagine.

The steampunk saga is a little over done now but this game, with its post-apocalyptic theme, makes it unique in it own way.

At first, it took me a while to learn the battle system. Took me about 10 mins to get through the tutorial but when I got through it, I realize how crazy this game is.

Shooting your opponent in the air, laying smackdowns on the opponent (no joke, that's what they're called) and creating tri-attacks to demolish the opponent with all your characters.

Pros:
The battle system is awesome once you get it.
Feels like you're playing some other Matrix movie or game.
Music was done by Motoi Sakuraba, composer of the Star Ocean, Tales of Series, and Valkyrie Profile.
Unique leveling up system keeps you wanting more.

Cons:
The characters on the menu system and battle system look pixelated, which makes them look really awkward.
As others were saying, the battle system was really confusing for beginners.
Takes 5 gigs of install data for this game, the heck do you need 5 gigs for???

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

hard

posted by archangel2596 (BETHLEHEM, PA) May 15, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

this game is gud but its very very very hard

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not for people easily angered by video games

posted by steel30589 (ROCHESTER, NY) Jan 28, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

The battle system in this game is challenging to say the least. Beyond the very complex battle system the game doesnt hold your hand for very long in terms of difficulty by the third/fourth chapters the enemies are pretty much wrecking you unless you employ some kind of decent strategy and adapt to each battle. This does take some getting used to but once you have a good understanding of the battle system(will take one or two hours) the game can be amazing fun and offer the ridiculous depth and story that true RPG fans live for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

True to the RPG genre

posted by ark3typ3 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Nov 21, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I liked it, I liked it quite a bit actually. I wouldn't call this the next block buster hit in the RPG world, but if you're an RPG fan then you will definitely want to try it out.

The combat system is tricky and at the beginning every NPC insists that you practice at the arena....do it. The combat system can get frustrating, but if you keep at it you'll figure it out soon enough (relatively simple to understand, difficult to master). Unfortunately, shooter fans often rate this game low because they're expecting a shooter , not a strategy based fighting system that focuses on timing and happens to use guns. This game has a lot to offer and I love the character and weapon customization, there is plenty to add to your guns to give them their edge and plenty of accessories to give your character the look you want (all of mine had sunglasses within an hour of starting the game)

The story is good. However, you do need to do quite a bit of talking around with the NPCs to get the complete details as the cutscenes leave out some stuff. If you don't pay attention, you WILL miss things so be ready to devote a little focus to it.

All around, this game is worth buying, I actually liked it better than FF13....but then again, anything is better than running down a long, well drawn, hallway for 40 hours:P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Packing more heat then you should handle!

posted by Icoloco (DRESDEN, ME) May 21, 2010

Member since May 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Reading most reviews above make me think on how they don't really review the game... just state something bad then rate it a bad rating.

Story:7.6
The game tells it in a strange way which isn't bad ,but some people are expecting it to be set right in front of them.

Graphics: 9
I'm blown away by how good the graphics are from walking around in a town to how the character move in battle from how poor looking the towns and towns people look in one town and how they change to another.

Combat: 8.3
seeing the reviews most people didn't play through the tutorial. while it is possible to play through it without.. I would say its a must as the learning curve is steep took me about 30 minutes to get through the tutorial ,but after I was done I had a blast fighting.

Replay:medium
Not much else to say here.

Sound 7.5
While some lines sound cheesy I felt they fit the characters well as for the music had a complaint with it that said it didn't really blow me away.

Things I liked:
Graphics from the towns to how you can change your characters clothes and see them in a cutscene or in battle impressed me.

battle system while its complex and hard to learn to some people you once you get used to it ,it is a blast to use.

Weapon Upgrade/Crafting system: its a warped standard of a normal weapon crafting system but for guns!

What I didn't like
how strange the weapon upgrade system worked I found I was trying to put 2+ sights on my gun at times ,and it would let me.. while it does help you in some ways it hurt my brain...

overall I give it a 7.8. while its battle system is complex and the story telling is strange its a rpg that had alot of work in with it.

Extra: hate people make a one sentence reviews and posting it. its a game with more than 10 hours atleast explain in detail the good and bad not just "GAME SUCKS" rate 1 >=( /end rant

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A step in the right direction.

posted by J00berts (KIRKLAND, WA) Apr 26, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Resonance of Fate is a welcome change in the JRPG genre, and hopefully the genre will slowly be redefined. I'm roughly 30ish hours into the game (level 40) and I've really enjoyed myself thus far.

Story 6/10:
I'm not going to summarize the story thus far, I'm just going to say that its a pretty generic and linear story. Very predictable, but so are most JRPGs. Its another game that puts emphasis on a post-apocalyptic world, go figure.

Dialogue 6/10:
The voice acting is mediocre. There are a lot of sexual innuendos, some funny, some distasteful, and the occasional joke. But like most other games of this genre, the English voice-overs aren't always... how can I put this lightly... any good.

Visuals 7/10:
Overall the game looks pretty good. It isn't the most visually impressive game, but the graphics are above par.

Controls 9/10:
A lot of the reviews I read talk about how difficult this game is, or how complicated the controls are to learn. THEY ARE NOT HARD TO LEARN. After you start the game, go to the Arena, dedicate 30 minutes of your time to figure out exactly how to play, and bam. It's the people that are too impatient to learn the mechanics of the game that are having problems. You aren't going to get placed into a battle and just figure it out suddenly, it's a little more complicated, plus the Arena tells you some of the subtle tricks to the game.

Gameplay 9/10:
Is this game fun? Very. Is it for everyone? Definitely not. I love the way the game is presented, I love how you travel around, how you unlock Tetris-like shapes to continue further into the maps. Battles start off fun, but I find myself a bit agitated with the same battle plan, over, and over, and over, and over, and over... The bosses aren't even that unique as far as how you kill them.

Overall 8/10:
I truly enjoyed this game up to this point. I've set it down, and unfortunately I don't think I'll pick it back up. Rent it and try it; I thought I wanted to buy it, but I'm glad I didn't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

OK game until a certain point

posted by Kirutshu (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Resonance of Fate is certainly not the best RPG SEGA has made,its not the worst either.
The Story:Decent
Graphics:Passable
Gameplay:Pretty Good
Bottom Line:The difficulty on easy is fairly easy,until Chapter 6,its worth renting but prepare to ragequit on Chapter 6,i initially regarded this game as terrible,i immediately sent it back during Chapter 6,in hindsight,it was my fault for not grinding enough and the games fault for making it so hard to grind

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Underrated: Long and Difficult, but Worth a Play

posted by Dunric (DULUTH, MN) Sep 4, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

Definitely not for casual people, the battle system is unique but takes some actual effort to master.

Game itself is pretty unique, seems a bit redundant in places, but overall it works.

Storyline is very interesting, conceptually, but it's really hard to understand the causes and effects for everything--I actually had to look up the game's plot after beating it (granted, it took me maybe 3-4 weeks of semi casual playing, ~100 hrs) to better understand exactly why some of the characters do what they do. I like the idea for the story, but it feels like big pieces are left out.

The characters themselves are very well done, graphics, sound effects and music are all amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun and Flawed.

posted by Isomemory (WASHINGTON COURT HOUSE, OH) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Though I enjoyed my time with Resonance of Fate, I hate to do it - but I'm sending it back before finishing it. I'm 39 hours in, and I can't play another minute.

With that being said, that doesn't mean that the game is horrible by any means. Allow me to Explain.

Without going to far into detail, the first thing that will grab you about this game is that it's combat system is pretty fantastic. Unfortunately, from the moment you get into your first battle, the combat system never really changes at all and that pretty much killed it for me.

Pros:
- Fantastic Combat System
- Unique steampunk setting
- Interesting and likable main characters
- Fun weapon customizing system
- Ability to customize character clothing
- Above average voice acting (for most of the cast)
- Combat Arena
- Unique and fun "World Map" system
- Neat enemy models

Cons:
- Combat never really changes
- The story is uninteresting and has severe pacing issues
- The majority of the game is spent pretty much in combat, which despite being fun, becomes mind numbingly repetetive
- Weapon's do not change when you equip them with custome parts (makes sense when you see how absurd you can make them look on the schematic screen, but is still dissapointing
- Graphics are kind of hit or miss.
- The soundtrack becomes quite annoying after a while
- Lack of character depth

With all of that, I still think that if you enjoy JRPG's and are dying to play something unique and different from what you're used to, I think you should definately give this a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its ok

posted by Burnit (FORT COLLINS, CO) Jan 13, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

This game is ok in my opinion. It is not extremely hard as some of the negative reviews claim, people just need to learn to use in game tutorials. I would play it again and if it were ever on sale I would consider buying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Resonance of Fate

posted by aflexk (DALY CITY, CA) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This RPG has an interesting battle mechanics. The story line may be predictable but i still need to finish the game. In battle, you have endless possibilities handling your opponents.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Resonance of Fate

posted by Nuria4 (MARYSVILLE, WA) Apr 18, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Great graphics! A little slow to start off. Found there was a bit of a learning curve with the fighting interface. Once I figured it out I really enjoyed it. Reminds me a little of Final Fantasy X.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent game but not worth buying and not great...

posted by DeadCry (COPPELL, TX) Mar 29, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

The gameplay is hard to figure out, the tutorial sucks, the gameplay itself is awesome once you figure it out, the graphics suck, the story barely makes any sense, it had so much room to be better, but another disapointment from sega.....i give it a 6 because its got the unique gameplay system with so much, but the graphics the the real disapointment, oh well, still fun to kill things with aerodynamic gunslingers....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very good so far.

posted by reganj (LANSING, NY) Mar 19, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

16 out of 20 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Granted, I am just three hours into the game but so far so good. You absolutely have to go straight to the Arena and get battle tutorial training. That training will explain the battle system completely. Insure you have about 30 minutes to dedicate to the tutorial because it pays off to complete it.
I entered my first real battle and handled it with ease. The customization for your weapons and characters is great. I enjoy the way you move along the world map and the graphics style is unique. Although it isn't the prettiest game, I am enjoying this way more than I did Final Fantasy XIII.

Give this game a try and complete the tutorials.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse