Rent Resistance: Fall of Man for PS3
view large frontback

Resistance: Fall of Man

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.3

12424 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic launch title.

posted by Vertisce (TOOELE, UT) Mar 14, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

64 out of 77 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I cant believe I have owned this game from day one and forgot to write a review...this game is great. Graphics are very good. Voiceovers are good. The story is original and very engaging. After I beat the game the first time I had to go through it again to get more of the story line and understand it. The weapons are very original and fun to play with. After beating it once it unlocks more weapons for you to use the next time around. Its a bit tough to keep up with whats going on at a few points in the game but its not hard to put the pieces together later. The Co-Op is great. This game was enough fun that my wife even gave it a go...and she doesnt even like FPS games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is loads of fun

posted by LiNk39 (TOMS RIVER, NJ) Nov 23, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

50 out of 66 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

This game is my favorite game out for the PS3 and is on my top 15 list of favorite games. The graphics are phenomenal and playing coop is very fun because team work really comes into play. Resistance really shines in multiplayer though. The ability to play with 39 other players online alone tells you this game is something new and innovative for the PS3. The multiplayer can get very fast paced and extremely fun with that many players. Imaging turning the corner and seeing 15 enemies unload on you. It's a very thrilling experience. The best part of a 40 player team deathmatch is when all 40 players are confined to a small area and it's all out war. Oh, and did I mention this game's frame rate never slows down ever. I have experienced no lag while playing resistance online even while downloading 2 episodes of my favorite show which shocked me. Another aspect that sets this game apart is the use of PS3's sixaxis controller. Did you walk too close to that burning bus and your health is slowly declining because you're on fire? Simply shake the controller like a mad man and congratulations, you're no longer on fire. You can tilt the controller left to bring up the map, or tilt it right to bring up the multiplayer scoreboard.
In the end, Resistance: Fall of Man is a must own title if you own a PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Resistance:Fall Of Man Excellent

posted by Locs13 (MONTEBELLO, CA) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game is so dam good I dont no where to start the graphics are amazing the maps are big a full of stuff to watch out for and the story line isn't short for once. Ooh and the online play is the best I have seen so far. This game to me is one of the best in 06 and today and with Part 2 on the way I just cant wait. This game has it all I would recommend this to any one who has a Ps3 period. The only down side I would say has to be that theres to much little things to do to many little secret bonuses and stuff that you should look out for but thats all besides that this game is one of the best in my opinion. So go get it and lets play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great coop FPS

posted by ChazinPA (BLOSSBURG, PA) Apr 26, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Fun FPS with great coop mode. Coop was the reason wifey and I rented this one, and it was worth the 12 - 15 hrs we put into clearing it.

Graphics were excellent, play control was well laid out and accurate, weapons got stronger and baddies got tougher as the game went on, and unlike some games there was plenty of ammo to use the bigger guns to your hearts content.

I thought this had better coop than army of two by far, and that was Army of Two's selling point... Not quite on par with Boarderlands though... but few are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wicked

posted by MissisMan (BONNE TERRE, MO) Dec 22, 2006

Member since May 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best games I've played so far. Its not realistic at all, however its still fun to charge into a fire fight against 10-12 aliens with another 20 or following behind them. The action is intense

The BOTTOM LINE is this game will allow you to pass numerous amounts of time playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Flagship

posted by Jordano (SAN DIEGO, CA) Dec 16, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

For the Flagship game of the Playstation 3 console launch series, I critizied the heck out of this game and in the end I must say I was not dissapointed, if you plan on renting this game do so with the intent to get hooked on the online mode.

Single Player is fun, the story is above average, and the challenge is there, but not too much of it, I beat it on hard mode after only about 8 hours of playing. Multiplayer is where it is really at. The ranking system of the multiplayer mode keeps you hooked for hours and hours a day.

From Private all the way up, there must be over 50 ranks for the multiplayer mode, each one giving you access to different skins, clothes, helmets, belts, bandoliers, accessories etc. etc. And it doesn't take all too long to level and is actually fun to do so.

Another awesome aspect is how you can get medals, ribbons, and badges for your accomplishments online, like kill 10 people without dieing, kill 20 people, etc etc.

For you single players out there, the story line is pretty decent, they leave it open at the end for a sequel i'm assuming, or just a kind of woah I wonder what's going on....kind feel to it, I quite enjoyed it.

-The Overlord-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun but dated now

posted by Nangul (KITTERY, ME) Dec 7, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I've only played the single player game so I can't comment on the multiplayer portion of the game.

Gameplay: Controls are good. The standard layout for playstation FPS. Smooth play throughout the game.

Length: I'm not sure how many hours I've put in off the top of my head (I'm not in front of my PS3), but I would say the single player campaign is of sufficient length. I've been playing the game in fairly long play sessions so I can finish it, but have had to put the game down to maintain sanity and other such things.

Audio/Video: Graphics are dated compared to late 2008 games, but that is to be expected. I would say the graphics are good for the games release time frame. Audio quality is good and haven't noticed any problems with it.

Overall: If you're looking for the newest things with cutting edge graphics, this isn't it. But, I have found it fun to play and it definitely makes me look forward to playing Resistance 2.

One thing to mention though it may be a quirk...the game locked-up on me once during a loading scene, but I didn't have any other problems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good sci-fi shooter

posted by 0ddjob428 (STEPHENVILLE, TX) Jun 19, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This review is based on the single player campaign only. If you like sci-fi shooters then you will enjoy this game. The game seemed to get better as it progressed. The graphics are good, some of the alien structures are huge and have a cool atmosphere. I also liked that you can carry multiple weapons at one time. I did prefer the alien weapons over the human weapons. The aliens have some unique land mines that make the levels fun to traverse. I really enjoyed this game, the graphics are good but not the best out there. The gameplay more than makes up for any graphic issues. Overall I would recommend this game as a buy. I'm looking forward to resistance 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I came late to the party

posted by boredbren (SCHENECTADY, NY) Aug 22, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

So, this game is a 5 year old game, and it shows. I picked it up to play through this and the second one before the new one came out.
This game looks like at one point it may have been great. But it does not stand the test of time.
The shooting mechanics are dated. The levels are beyond linear, and are quite rudimentary.
Now I dont want to give this game a low score just because it is older, but the fact that it doesnt stand the test of time definatly makes it a 6 for me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Resistance: Fall of Man (MY personal review)

posted by Gameboyguy (MOBILE, AL) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Now, I've played a lot of 1st person shooter games in my life. I'm a Resident Evil, Call of Duty, and Halo fan. This game is different because of the well written storyline. It's so straitfoward, even my little 1st grade cousin (who's very simple) understood it completly. The weapons are (at most) great. There was ONE weapon, however, that I didn't like. It's the sapper, because I find no particular use for such a weapon that shoots blobs of liquid that "damage" a chimera. I was completely pleased, though, that the sniper rifle has a slow motion capability; because I love to see a chimera's blood being splatered against a wall. The creatures, characters, blood, weapons, and the environment were highly illustrated to perfection. Sadly, i didn't get to experience the multiplayer part of the game, both online and offline. My gamefly account ends in December, and I still got a lot of games to review. Overall, this game rocks and everyone who has a PS3 better buy, rent, or just play it until some other phenominom wipes this game out.

P.S.: When this game says Easy, Medium, or Hard, they mean it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Impressive Launch Title

posted by TornadoTN (TELFORD, TN) Dec 14, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

With the launch of the highly anticipated Playstation 3, many people were concerned about the lack of quality games available on release of the system. This lack of quality launch games has been a problem with almost every major console launch, so the concerns of gamers were certainly valid. However, Insomniac impresses PS3 owners with this outstanding game that is a must have for any PS3 owner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than resistance 2

posted by owengamer (EAST FALMOUTH, MA) Apr 1, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

This game is an awesome game it blows resistance 2 away in every way the weapon wheel is in this game and not in the 2nd,not as hard,Better ai,and way longer you get your'e 30$ worth of it.The game just feels more original and fresh as resiatance 2 feels copied and too hard.My buy would be for this game because it's less and it's better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Reason to own the PS3

posted by Kdiggy (CORAOPOLIS, PA) Dec 16, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

17 out of 26 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Amazing game,, and the real reason to own the PS3. Graphics amazing and gameplay smooth as silk.. The
game really owns on its online capability.. If you have a PS3 you must own this title.

This is coming from someone who hates the FPS view,, but I'm starting to be converted.. : )

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Launch Title

posted by asgeras (IOWA CITY, IA) Dec 6, 2006

Member since May 2005

17 out of 26 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Okay, first off, let me say that I played this game on a standard definition tv, so I can't rant and rave about the high definition. However, the graphics are very well done, and are definitely NOT something you could see on the PS2, despite what another review states.

The AI is only as good as you let it be. On easy mode, it will easily let you flank the creatures, while on Super Hard mode, they will more often flank you. Also, the AI is intelligent enough even on normal mode, that I didn't mind fighting mostly the same enemies throughout the game (not that there weren't variations).

As stated in the title, the game is a great LAUNCH game. An official review stated that Resistance would be great game one year into the PS3s life. I don't know if I would go that far, but it does a good job as far as FPSs go, offering variable levels, unlockables, and an absolute ton of weapons, all of which are useful (some more than others, though).

The sixaxis isn't used as a gimick either. The only motion sensing used is for shaking of a creature that grapples, and comes rather naturally after the first time. The only thing that is wont, is that the motion sensing isn't used for vehicular control.

All in all, it is an excellent game. If you own a PS3 and are into FPSs, this is a game you should own. I know that as soon as I get my next paycheck, I'm clicking the "keep it" button.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Resistance: Fall of Man

posted by Mattress (BREMERTON, WA) May 21, 2007

Member since May 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is the benchmark for all FPS to be judged!! The graphics are absolutely brilliant and the best I have ever seen. The weapons set this game apart from any other FPS. If you like FPS games, you need to check this game out, you will not be disappointed. I hope Insomniac Games makes 20 episodes to follow this one. It will well be worth it. The game is actually a little easier than it should be. That is the only complaint I have. There are also no cheats created for this game. But the game play, graphics, and storyline are all superb. Every company should check this game out and make sure their graphics are equal to it before creating a game. The graphics are just incredible!! F.E.A.R's graphics are a 5 compared to the 10 this game gets. You must check this game out!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Highly Addictive

posted by NixsMom (Littleton, CO) Jan 12, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Great environments, sound, and game play. This is a must-buy PS3 game.
Out of all the launch titles announced for the PS3, Resistance looked to be the one with the most hype attached to it. After playing it for a while, the hype was worth it.

Is it a Halo killer? Probably not. But it's one of the best FPS out there, and a good indication of what the PS3 is capable of. Beautiful graphics are found all over the place. No clippings or enemies being able to shoot me through walls (unless they have the Auger weapon). Everything in Resistance has a great amount of detail, as do the monsters. The sound is great with heavy gun sounds, monsters screeching in the background, and realistic voice acting. The plot is pretty decent for an FPS, but I doubt it'll really pull you into the game. The controls handle very well, and it's almost seamless to switch or reload weapons. I like the fact that the game isn't too hard, but it's not completely easy either. However, I found being able to run into a huge group of enemies and killing them all with my shotgun way too easy. Overall, it's one of the better FPS's out there. It has everything that Halo does minus the involved plot. It's not going to sway anyone from playing Halo or Half-Life, but it's an excellent alternative for Playstation 3 owners.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is good

posted by alec32167 (KAILUAKONA, HI) Dec 14, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

When i first played this game i loved it
and i know that people hate the ps3 but you have to think, its not the game system that's bad, its the amount of bad games compared to the good ones so don't always trust the Game Fly ratings because there are lots of ps3 haters out there!, look at the
user and critic reviews.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Original Great Resistance By Insomniac Games

posted by popeye065 (SAN JOSE, CA) Sep 2, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The Game Is Different For Most Of Shooters You've Seen Out In Console. Not Just Considering It's Not Another World War 2 Shooter Thank The God Of Gaming. The Game Is Alternated History As WW2 Never Happen Because A Supposed Virus That Infects People Into Chimera, Of Course Were Getting Our A$.$ Kicked. You Are A American Soldier To Back Up The British As They're The Only Country From The East That Is Not Completely Overrun. Soon Into The beginning You Play With A M5A2(So Y Do We Now Have A M4A1?) The Gun Is A Typical You've Seen, Really The Only One Every Other Gun Has Many Twist Twirl & Booms That Make The Ratchet & Clank Guns Shoot Themselves. The Shooting Is A Run & Gun Much More Than Call Of Duty In Noob Recruit Difficulty, You Run Around Completely Freely Jumping & Crouching Taking Cover When Ever You Feel You Losing Too Much Health. The Health Bar Is Apart Of It All, Try To Stay Focus On This Part, The Health Bar Is Divided Into 4 Section Because You Got Infected You Can Recharge Like You Would In Other Games But There's A Catch If You Lose One Section Completely It Can't Recharge It Needs To Get A Health Packet That Look Like Yellow Lanterns. The Enemies Are No Joke At All, The Enemies Can Take Almost As Much Damage As A Tank, Not Only That But When You Shoot Them 10 Or So Bullets They Callapse To The Ground & Get Back Up To Shoot A Little Bit More For Good Measure, They Are Very Fun To Kill. Ohh, Wait I Forgot That Was Just The Hybrid They Are 15 Or So Types Of Enemies In The Games. You'll Find Out When You Play This Game. This Game Is One Of The Greatest Shooters I've Ever Played.

Thank You Gaming God Not A World War 2 Shooter!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nice Game

posted by JackNY (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 22, 2006

Member since Jul 2004

24 out of 48 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I heard that Resistance:Fall of Man was gonna be Sony's Halo, I wouldnt say that it is, The game itself doesnt bring anything new to the FPS genre. The weapons are standerd, Machine Gun, Sniper Rifle, Shotgun, Hailer (kinda like the Needler). The Alien Weapons are interesting, One is( dont remember what its called) can shoot thru walls, which is pretty cool, The rest of the Alien Weapons are basically like every other shooter. The Story of the game is, WWII never happend, and these alien creatures called the Chimera, POP out of nowhere and starts taking over Euorope and then Americans and Britians are trying to destroy the evil Chimera....Thats basically the story for yah! But, The graphics are nice, not really what i was hoping for, but there nice, for example, when you throw a granade, no dirt really flys, like in COD3. The Alien Detail is nice, but the atmosphire is bland at times. The Gameplay is smooth, and fast paced.

Overall the Game isnt The Best Shooter, It isnt the worst Shooter.
Rent it, dont buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not exactly up to standards yet

posted by Weeble (TACOMA, WA) Jan 12, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

22 out of 45 gamers (49%) found this review helpful

Although Fall of Man is an epic and creative original game, the action is overly repetitive and pretty shallow. This may sound jaded coming from an old gamer like myself, but I really expected much more. I hate to do this but compared to Gears of War this game just doesn't match the eye popping graphical elements that come with the out standing game play and extremely well written take on world war events in the "what if" universe of the 1950's. So that said, the lighting affects are for the most part slightly above average or average for the most part when compared to "Other" next gen shooters. The level design is very reminiscent of most FPS war shooters, but with some pretty amazing twists on old familiars.
The soldier models up close look plastic and last gen.
Online play...don't even get me started, just forget about it. Sony's trying but they have no clue on how to create the environment of X Box Live, I'm sorry, and very disappointed to say. No wonder it's free.
So while Fall of Man isn't the best FPS or shooter on the market when compared to the "others" it is component and fun. Just not exactly next gen. Oh and unless you have a multi thousand dollar 1080p HiDef TV, you're playing in the same resolution that the Wii max's out at, which is 480p. If you don't know what that means, think standard DVD no matter what Blu ray suggests. If your TV maxes out (and nearly all of the Hi Def TV's in most homes in the world do)1080i Sony does not translate to 1080i and defaults automatically to 480p the standard resolution for a standard DVD regardless of the media it is printed on. What a rip off!! Sony lied to us. Yes the PS3 is Superior than the 360 but only if you have the huge bucks to satisfy its video demands on the TV end which is where we see all that superiority. I have a 1080i..so I am pretty annoyed. I have the faith, but Sony says "no patch to translate for 1080i HUH? Fine I'll sell my PS3 and get a 360 then. This is just awfull. Sorry ranting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Resistance Review

posted by IFragYou (CYPRESS, CA) Mar 18, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was pretty good to me. I think that the online is better than story mode. Although story mode is pretty good with a friend playing with you. Sergant Hal, the guy you play as, is a pretty freaking cool guy. The weapons in this game are high-tech. I love the hailstorm in story mode; they should have that in multiplayer mode. The bulls-eye is cool, you can set a trap of bullets waiting for the enemy then shoot a tag to the next Chimira that comes along and all the bullets will leap onto that enemy.

Online is cool but not as fun as like Gears of War, but then Gears of War did get game of the year so... I love meltdown mode, i thought it was like Star Wars Battlefront 2, but even better. Oh yeah i forgot the rocket launcher on this game, it's sweet!!!! You can stop the rocket in mid-air, then shoot a bunch of mini rockets at enemies and you can still fire the rocket after that.

If you are interested or planning on picking up this game for the ps3...do it!!!! You'll have a good time playing.

I give it a 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Halo Killer

posted by LynxFX (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jan 26, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Now let me start this off with that I liked the Xbox and I enjoyed Halo. It looked great, had an epic feel, and the music was top notch. However, it was repetitive to the point of boredom and the weapons were uninspired. Then comes Halo 2, less repeating, but shorter and all the same faults of Halo still existed. I would rate Halo a 8, Halo 2 a 7.

Resistance is my first game on the PS3 and I was pleasantly surprised. Story is average with a been there, done that feel but they did make it their own. The level designs were all quite different and the AI keeps you on your toes for the most part. There is a steady pace to the game without any one section feeling like it is dragging the game down.

It was shorter than expected, I finished it in around 10 hours but they do give you an incentive to play through again, new weapons. The last level is the only spot that seemed out of place in skill level. You may breeze through most of the game but when you hit the last 3, there is a huge increase in accuracy and lethalness of the AI.

Online is where this game shines. People complain (without even using it) that the PS3 online network won't hold a candle to LIVE. Well I'm telling you it does. It at the very least surpasses LIVE in its first 2 years in terms of reliability, speed, and ease of use. 32 player games? No problem. No lag, butter smooth framerates. Hop out, find a new game, and be in another within a minute. Invite friends, build a clan, track your stats, all very easy and so far run great. This definitely gives the game replayability.

Seeing as how this is a launch game, I'm impressed that it turned out as well as it did. It took the 360 a year to get a game out this good. Nice to see Sony start with one out of the gate. Now just bring on the rest.

The lack of 1080i scaling or support almost makes me want to drop my rating to an 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Launch Title

posted by gameslayer (BELGRADE, MT) Dec 14, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Alright, I have to admit that this game doesn't live up to the PS3 hype, but I can tell you why. Sony needed to get its system out there quickly before people decided to stop waiting for it, which means that they needed games fast. So instead of making 1080p games that sucked, they made a sweet game thats long and keeps you playing that has roughly PS2 graphics. What I am expecting is games like F.E.A.R., Rainbowsix Vegas, and Assassins Creed to use the PS3 to its fullest potential.
And people, please stop comparing these games to HALO. HALO is an awesome game and one of the only reasons I own an xbox 360, but seriously, it's like comparing the origanal gameboy to a PSP. It's stupid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow. Even for someone not very good at FPS games.

posted by Knobster (CALEDONIA, MI) Feb 27, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game grabs your attention from the first mission and doesn't let go until the end. (Heck, with new weapons unlocked after you beat the game, it doesn't even end there!) I'm not a huge FPS fan (not very good at them, my old thumbs aren't quick enough on the controls) but this was a great game. There are plenty of weapons and the health system is nice as you regenerate some or all of your health based on the amount of damage you've taken. The weapons are different enough to suit any player's style. Like to barge into a room and wreck havoc? The Hailstorm is for you. Prefer the high ground and picking enemies off from afar? There is a cool sniper's rifle with the ability to slow time down. Chimera hiding behind a barrier? Whip out the Auger and shoot through the walls! There is plenty of strategy involved in this game as well: all enemies can be taken down by brute force but with a little planning, you can take them out in a creative and fun way. A few of the missions have you at the controls of various vehicles, complete with their own type of weapons for taking the chimera down. The story itself is also very compelling and there are bits of intelligence (in the form of folders) scattered throughout the missions that provide great information and even tips on certain enemies. The enemy AI is solid, they will lob grenades at you, dive away at your grenades and make full use of barriers, walls, etc. All in all this was an awesome game for the PS3 and well worth the rental. Now on to the sequel!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great

posted by champions4 (MARIETTA, GA) Feb 14, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is a great game. great online play. great campaign mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse