Rent Resistance: Burning Skies for PS Vita
view large frontback

Resistance: Burning Skies

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.0

491 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

not perfect...but still first portable FPS

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 2, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overview
==================
I think the critics have been too harsh with this game. It isn't great, but is still one of the best Vita titles in my opinion. You finally have a proper FPS on the Vita.

The critics are right that it is fairly plain story and characters that don't suck you in. It is a fun to play campaign only if you just enjoy FPS gameplay. The mutliplayer I found very respectable. Once again first time worth playing a shooter on a portable system.

I think this is a buy for most FPS fans...at the very least a good rent.

Pros
=============
1) good graphics
2) controls are well done (it isn't perfect as you have to double tap the back to run and some of the touch mechanics are cumbersome....however not much you can do without L2, R2, L3, R3)
3) cool weapons (cross bow is really cool)

Cons
===============
1) story and voice acting is not engaging
2) must have online pass for multiplayer (which I have because I bought instead of renting)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good First Step For FPS On The PS Vita

posted by nevermind86 (PEEKSKILL, NY) Jun 10, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Resistance Burning Skies Is A Pretty Solid fps It's Definitely Nice To Have Two analogue sticks which makes it feel just like a traditional console shooter though the game is extremely short I literally beat it the day It came in the mail I enjoyed my time from start too finish and if your a trophy hunter you'll be happy to know you can get a platinum in about six hours On the multiplayer side of things it is pretty bare bones but regardless still pretty fun for whats there especially if you have a few friends with you(you'll need a online pass which cost $9.99) while you wont be blown away with what the game has to offer all in all burning skies is a good first step for fps games on handhelds and a good sign of things to come for ps vita shooter fans

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!

posted by bigjerm666 (WINTER HAVEN, FL) May 30, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Very smooth single player. Great graphics. Well worth a buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Generic Corridor shooter With Resistance stuff.

posted by lBigBadWolfl (HESPERIA, CA) Jul 28, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game has been hit pretty hard by reviewers already but man this game actually deserves it.

(Short Version)
Boring weapons, Stupid enemies, Repeating graphics, Awful last Boss.

(The Graphics)
They look good at first but you should pretty quickly realize that any given level consists of a few item models and a few wall door and ground texture variations copy pasted repeatedly throughout the entire level with little to no variation. Thanks to the way everything in a level is copy pasted throughout the level you pretty much see everything you're gonna see in a level in the first few minutes of it. (One hallway in particular caught my attention because it consisted of walls lined with this box computer thing and like a dozen of said box computer things knocked over as cover.)

(Game play)
So my big complaint here are the weapons, In the other resistance games all the weapons (Minus a select few) are neat and fill a set roll that keeps you using them. In this game however it boils down to the Folsom and the Bulls-eye, These two weapons alone will pretty much carry you through the entire game no problem just switching back and forth when you run out of ammo. I rarely found myself even using the others just because they just couldn't match up to the two assault rifles.
But I have to admit the crossbow shotgun thing was a neat idea hadn't seen something like that in a FPS in a while.

(The Enemies)
Normally I wouldn't even include something like this in a review but the games enemies needed mentioning. For the most part the enemies minus a select few will sit behind cover and just take shots at you on occasion while never moving to flank or attack you or anything really. (I sat in cover five minutes one time to get up and get some water came back to see I hadn't died with something like 8 enemies right a-crossed from me.) Along with that the last boss is awful, man its just not fun to fight that thing its like it was designed deliberately to be annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Resist This

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Jun 1, 2012

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

=(

I love Resistance. Resistance Fall of Man holds a special place in my heart. I enjoyed Resistance 2 despite some drastic changes and unforgivable ending. I even enjoyed Resistance 3 which tried to revive what was left after Resistance 2 and did a fairly good job of being a great standalone game in a series everyone had moved passed. The PSP game was really good too.
But... Burning Skies just falls flat.

It's got a great weapon upgrade system, is very smooth, good controls, gameplay, graphics are okay, sound is meh and story is forgettable.

It's just hard to care about anything in this game. It is a good game, is easy to run through with some enjoyment and an easy platinum. But it's not going to make you say "Wow," something handhelds rarely ever achieve but so desperately need.

It's hard to say not to play it because, let's be honest, there's nothing else to play and it's not bad enough to swear off completely.

Let me summarize the beginning of the game though:

You, are a fireman, headed to put a fire. Things get hairy because for one reason or another, there's only 3 of you and this is a big building and a big fire. Somewhere in the middle of going through the building, one of your fellow firefighters is snatched up by something. Turns out to be a Chimera which you conveniently kill with your ax and steal his Bullseye. And just like that, you are now a soldier. In the 1950's. With an Alien weapon. No questions, no reservations just BOOM, instant soldier. You fight of a bunch without any fear, difficulty or confusion and the game progresses from there.

[insert cheesey moment with wife and child "I will find you"]

This is all told through some FLATTER THAN FLAT voice acting by the protagonist and stereotypical support characters.

So, I summarize: =(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

eh not my type of game

posted by talamant3z (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 18, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

story couldn't keep my attention. sent it back in the same day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best vita game!

posted by dyland513 (HAMILTON, OH) May 29, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing fun online, great story, and overall it is the best vita game out in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Typical Resistance Game

posted by Dupree539 (PLATTSBURGH, NY) Jun 30, 2014

Member since May 2014

This is exactly the kind of game I was expecting when I put it on my queue. I'm a huge resistance fan though. I think it played very well for what the vita allows. This was my first shooter on the vita, so I was pretty touchy at first, not the game's fault. I wish it would have been a little longer though, also you cannot skip the cut scenes so expect delays....and I mean it. You cannot access the multiplayer without a pass so trophy hunters beware you will not get a platinum with out paying $10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

reviw 435

posted by stitchman (CARY, NC) Sep 17, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

perfect

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just Play Through Once, Then Move On

posted by BOctober26 (DENHAM SPRINGS, LA) Sep 4, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

Glad I rented this game instead of buying outright. One thing first, I am not a normal gamer as far as time goes. I do not get to play games for hours per day. Between work and family, gaming is a luxury for me. But, it took me a total of 5 days to beat the single player campaign on Casual. The story was pretty generic and uninteresting. One firefighter just picks up random powerful weapons and goes to town against a horde of Chimera. I guess the capturing of his wife and daughter drove him to be powerful and mighty. At times, the hordes of enemies could be overbearing and I felt I was running around for my life and trying to attack at the same time. But, after getting several tries over to get through, I would conquer and move on. The trophies for this game are more than easily obtainable. One play through and I had all of them with the exception of roughly 3 of them. As for the multi-player, this is Gamefly and no real way to play since you need an online pass code. I have watched several YouTube videos and it looks pretty generic. I have read there is not much content as well for the number of maps, etc. If you are looking to play the harder difficulties and obtain all trophies, then that is the only real replay value here. I am not much on playing through on harder difficulties myself. But, if you are not able to get online, then you will never obtain the last trophy which is to complete one online match. This is a great rental and nothing more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I'm a gamer not a movie lover.

posted by Weeeeeeee (STOCKTON, CA) Apr 13, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Can't keep story.
Watch story everytime when I start the game.
People already know a PS Vita system had short battery life, but can't believed they didn't think to add skip cutscenes feature for a PS Vita system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Addition to the FPS Vita Games!

posted by Bobaganoosh (PLAQUEMINE, LA) Mar 30, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

I read some of the reviews written by both major critics and gamefly users, and I feel like most were too harsh on this game. I haven't beaten it yet, but so far I'm really enjoying it. The single player seems relatively short. I've seen people saying it only took them a few hours to beat, but I don't think that's a real set back for this game. So far, the campaign is pretty cool. I was surprised. I didn't expect to enjoy it. The graphics are pretty cool for a vita game. It's pretty intense so far. Some guy said the voice acting was over the top (I don't know what he meant about that, but I see nothing wrong with it). I haven't had a chance to fiddle with the online portion of the game because it requires an online pass for it. I'm not gonna be one of those douchebags that rate the game low because of an online pass (that's childish and immature) it's only 10 bucks to get it. I've actually had thoughts on keeping it if the online were great. The controls are smooth as well! The game makes good use of the touch screen controls as well as the rear touch pad (ex. sliding the grenade emblem on the screen to throw grenades, tapping the rear touch pad to run). What's also cool is there are documents hidden throughout the game that could be letters citizens wrote to family members during the war, army people writing intel, and you can find them and read them.

All in all, I'd rate this game a good 8 out of 10. The only bad thing I could see is not being able to test the online. I'm sure it's a good addition to the game though! I suggest renting and or buying this game to anyone looking for a good FPS experience on the PSVita!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Bit Unfair for this Fun Corridor Shooter

posted by Severen (GRAHAM, WA) Feb 4, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Resistance: Burning Skies for PS Vita

+ Fun Shooter.
+ Nice Graphics.
+ Great Assortment of Weapons.
+ Great Style and Cutscenes.
+ Nice Sound Effects.
+ Fun Multiplayer on the go.

- Levels are kind of lifeless.
- Voice Actors in game can be WAY over the top.
- Levels can be on the brown side a lot.
- Controls can be a little touchy and gimmicky.

Resistance for Vita is a fun game and ties into the PS3 Trilogy nicely. The Cutscenes have great style and setup the universe the game lives in. The graphics are good overall and the frame rate is solid. The textures are a bit on the brown side though. The sound effects are good but some of the voice actors are over the top and really annoying. Controls feel good but can be convoluted and gimmicky at times. Multiplayer is good but not anything special. I had fun with this game and I really like the Resistance games on PS3. This game is not as good as those but I didn't expect it to be either. I think that some people wanted this game to reinvent the genre and instead is just good example. If you like Resistance and have a Vita then give it a rent. Sometimes haters are just gonna hate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Action, Worst story

posted by jpshaouni (PITTSBURGH, PA) Nov 24, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

It's fun. I mean the action is good and the weapons are cool. However, the story is painful. I mean I usually don't mind straight forward linear games when the actions good. This was something else though. I mean PAINFULLY lame. I don't even really get what happens in the end. Stupid story and fun action. I beat the whole game in two sittings without really trying. If you want a quick action game to try then try this. I haven't played the PS3 version so I don't know how to compare them.
Won't be anyone's favorite game but not a waste of time. Just click mute during the cute scenes to preserve your sanity.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cool game overall

posted by timmy_tim (TOLEDO, OH) Oct 2, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

beat it in two days after about 7 hours and payed the 9.99 to get the online just for the platinum medal and unlocked all medals within 9hrs... not much fun afterwards glad i didnt buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Semi-decent sci-fi FPS

posted by Metoo999 (NEW YORK, NY) Oct 1, 2012

Member since Aug 2007

This is an average FPS title to hold you over until a better shooter comes along. The whole package feels sort of cheap at first, but it gets better as you go along.

You play a firefighter in the midst of an alien invasion. Riley doesn't express any surprise about this happening. He just takes a gun and starts shooting aliens like it's a normal occurrence. You meet a compatriot, Ellie, who also expresses no surprise about the invasion. She basically says, "Okay, you're a good shot, let's go."

The graphics are not great especially after playing Uncharted: Golden Abyss. The characters' mouths don't move when they talk, which is really poor for a modern game. The textures could have been a lot better.

The guns handle fine except for the pointless, shoe-horned touch controls. It makes no sense that you have to take your hands away from the analog sticks just to do an alt-fire or throw a grenade. It takes away from the flow of the gunfights. I found myself not bothering with the alt-fire modes and I got through most of the game without them. The wall-penetrating gun from the console Resistance games is here and it's still pretty entertaining to use.

There's a cliched story about the husband trying to find his wife and kid, and some freedom fighting throughout the US, but other than that, there's not much. It's a shame because the voice acting is pretty good and there was potential for a better game. The soundtrack is surprisingly touching, which would have helped for a better emotional impact if there had been a good story or actual characterization.

I got every trophy except the multiplayer one which requires an online pass. There were six chapters at about an 1.5 hours each. I never bought the pass, so I can't comment on the MP. I was able to get all single player trophies in one playthrough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

plays well on vita

posted by Cheezr (LANTANA, FL) Oct 1, 2012

Member since Sep 2008

I thought the game played very well on the Vita, it really was console quality graphics and gameplay.
I will consider buying it when the price comes down some more..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Doesn't Deserve Negative Reviews

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Sep 11, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

I didn't know what to expect going into this game. Resistance 3 is one of my favorite first-person shooters of all time and got critically acclaimed reviews, so I was surprised when this game was given horrible reviews by most professionals. This is definitely not up to the standards of it's console counterpart, but then neither is Uncharted: Golden Abyss. Neither is Resident Evil: Revelations or Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars. I don't see what the massive problem is, there's no more of a difference between this and Resistance: Fall of Man then there is between GTA 4 and GTA: Chinatown Wars. The story is weak and the touch controls take a minute to get used to, but besides that I have no complaints with this game. It works great for the first FPS on a handheld.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Buggy But Good

posted by dannypauln (JAMAICA, NY) Sep 5, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

The game was a little buggy. I had to shut down the Vita at lest 3 times. Other-than-that, it was fun to play twice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun, but a little frustrating

posted by Daniel2589 (STARKVILLE, MS) Aug 30, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

The Good: Being the first true FPS game for the Vita, the controls worked out great. The touch screen uses were a little awkward at first, but you could get used to them throughout the game. There is a good collection of weapons and collectibles that help the game retain some replay value. The story is a bit plain, but anyone looking for a more detailed story can build it up through the miscellaneous details that are hidden throughout the game.

The Bad: The trophies are extremely easy. I am no hardcore gamer, but have managed to obtain all but one in less than a day. The online features require you to buy an online pass for 10 bucks off PSN, which could be frustrating if you wanted a platinum trophy for this. The single MP trophy isn't even a grinder, it is merely to play one online match, win or lose, and hardly warrants $10. The online play aside is ravaged with various bugs ranging from not being able to kill or be killed, all the way to causing players to be stuck at a spawn point as a sitting duck without the ability to defend yourself. The online features also feature the infamous NAT 2 problem that may require extensive research into port forwarding or putting your PS Vita into the DMZ on your router.

Aside from those negatives, it is still a fun game to play in SP if you want to just play a good FPS to eat time in waiting rooms, between classes, etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This was Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Edge153 (FORT MILL, SC) Aug 23, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

This was an awesome game the multiplayer was really good and the story was pretty good if you like the resistance series this is the game for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good

posted by jordanjpayne (RAMSEY, NJ) Jul 31, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Good game, the touch screen interface integration isn't very practical to use while playing, feels like a gimmick. Not a compelling story. Well executed in some respects and it's a polished title but I was just hoping for more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Resistance: Burning Skies Review

posted by cometback (BECKLEY, WV) Jul 28, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Oh Resistance. How have I loved you over the past few years. Being the counterpart to Gears of War on the 360, and bringing a smile to my face everytime I play the series.
This entry into the series is the worst one in my opinion, but that doesn't take from that yes, it's a handheld game, etc. The game really doesn't shine at the key moments that it should shine in. Like the previous Resistance games, the bosses are a sight to behold and you actually get a 'feel' that you are going to die. Not in this game. Yes, the bosses (if you call them that) are cool, but they are really not that great, Resistance great. They are very few in the game also.
The game is extremely easy and since there are no difficulty trophies to worry about, it's a walk in the park. I got the platinum in about 8 hours.
The gunplay in the game is rather bland. Nothing exciting. Which, they do bring back the old weapons from the previous ones, like the Carbine, Auger (the best), etc.
The story is also mediocre, where you are a firefighter trying to save America from the Chimera.
The multiplayer is decent, but to play, you need the dreaded online pass. Which if you rent the game from Gamefly, it's $9.99, due to the fact you rented it. There's an online trophy for just playing a online game, but like me, to get the plat if you rented it, will cost you $10. Sucky.

Gameplay:6
Doesn't feel like a Resistance game, but just a generic FPS. Which shouldn't happen under Resistance standards.

Sound:5
Nothing works well in the sound department. Music revs up during shootouts and bosses. Voice acting is not that good.

Replay value:5
If you're into the MP, this game is for you. Otherwise, beat it and move on.

Trophy difficulty:4/10
Nothing bad here, just beating the game, and getting the kill trophys, etc. The game DOES NOT have difficulty trophies, which is a first for an Resistance game.

If you like this review add me on PSN at cometback13 with a message that you are from GF. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly good campaign!

posted by GHOST_OF_1887 (KERRVILLE, TX) Jul 24, 2012

Member since May 2011

This story mode in this game is immersive and intense. Something I did not expect a portable shooter to be. The controls take some getting use to, but about an hour after you start pushing all the buttons without hesitation. The cutscenes in this game are also well done not just graphically wise but also some are lengthy not 10 minutes legnthy but about 2-3 minutes at times. I loved the ending to this game it was almost movie quality. Have not played the multiplayer due to the fact that I rented this game from gamefly and it requires a $10 pass but i feel this was a good rent just from playing the story.

Rating......
Graphics - 8
Sound - 9
Controls - 8.5
Gameplay - 8
Replay Value - 8
Overall - 8.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The first FPS for Vita falls flat on its face...F.

posted by LinksALefty (AMERICAN FORK, UT) Jul 20, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

For me the major hook of the Vita when it was announced was being able to contribute to my PS3 trophy count while out and about and the inclusion of dual sticks.

So the Vita was released, and there was no FPS. Isn't that why you made the system? Get it together Shuhei!

But hopes were high because Burning Skies was near. If I had known it was going to come out as doughy as this then I would have kept it in the oven a bit longer. Because simply put, this addition to Resistance is just bad.

The graphics look like a PS2 prototype and the writing and voice acting sound like they were meant for a Nick Jr. Dora special. Why put such a casual effort in for a Rated M game? Not that you have to endure it that long because you'll probably hit the end credits before your bus ride is over.

The only thing that works are the core game mechanics. This is indeed a first-person shooter, and a pretty good one. But everything you see and hear is more than enough to outweigh that.

All in all, the game feels rushed out the door. Like they missed the launch window and just HAD to get something out NOW. The game isn't broken or anything like that. It just feels like they turned presentation and coding over to the interns.

Pros:
-An FPS for the Vita! Finally!
-Insanely easy platinum trophy
-Touch controls actually make sense and act well in place of having an R2 and L2

Cons:
-Ugly graphics
-Poor writing and voice acting (any game that says both the "F" word AND "gee willikers" should never be taken seriously
-Short. And I mean REALLY short. In 3 hours you could finish the campaign and have a platinum trophy.

Right now it is impossible to buy this game cheap enough to justify the purchase. So I recommend renting it via Gamefly if you're a diehard Resistance fan or just really want to experience the power of the twin sticks on the go.

Check out more of my game reviews and other crazy gaming tales at Link's A Lefty Gaming Blog [linksalefy(dot)blogspot(dot)com]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse