Rent Resistance 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Resistance 3

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.7

6632 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Resistance 3 by tyler

posted by Tyizhi_209 (JACKSON, CA) Apr 24, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

OVERALL
The campaign was enjoyable, some great stuff they've thought of.
Its important to know it cost money to play online multiplayer. (which i didn't)
But if you like campaigns or shooters then you should give this game a look.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just a Typical Shooter- Nothing New or Interesting

posted by scorp321 (MENTOR, OH) Apr 17, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

I'm not sure why this game has gotten such great reviews. It's just a pretty typical shooter & doesn't really add anything new or interesting to gaming. It's basically a God-like experience on every level where you feel overwhelmed with enemies. The story doesn't pull me in & it's just a place to pause in between shooting hundreds of aliens. Very similar to the Crisis games. OK to rent, but I definitely wouldn't buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good

posted by jayprime (BOYES HOT SPRINGS, CA) Feb 2, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by how much fun I had playing this game. While the game took me about 8-9hrs on difficult to beat the good story kept me intrigued. The game looks good with awesome sound to boot. This game has high paced action with a good assortment of weapons. I highly recommend a play through of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

PlayStation Move works great with this one

posted by societydweller (INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, MN) Dec 6, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

I hadn't played any of the Resistance games since the first. It was my first. When I comes to PlayStation 3. Resistance: The Fall of Man, was the first little taste of that PS3 can do. Resistance 3 is a far bigger bite. Worth a rent for sure. And the PS Move works like a dream if you have it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Call of Duty With Aliens!!

posted by angryarmytony (FAIR OAKS, CA) Dec 2, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

I was immediately intrigued by this game and immersed myself fully into this story. Needless to say it falls short and seems to drag on when it really doesn't have to and clearly just tried filling in a few pointless missions which are too long and full of mowing down countless enemies with your arsenal of weapons.

Somehow your character is carrying over 10 weapons which are not customizable but all have a special ability that comes along with each. However only 2 or 3 of these abilities are actually useful against the hundreds of enemies you will be killing in every mission. Enemies seem to line up to your gun for you to easily kill them when they are not shooting at you through cover.

Graphics seemed subpar but somewhat up to date which makes sense considering the creators designed over 5000 enemy grunts you can kill in roughly 3-5 hits depending where you hit and which gun you use. Reminding me of Call of Duty World at War, Resistance 3 has the exact same WW2 feel which makes sense considering it is the 1950's.

Overall this game had a lot of potential but to me the largest short comings on this game were a terrible AI on both enemies and teammates, pointless dull missions that are dragged out for far too long, and a dull story that I found completely unappealing and boring. The only good I found in this game was the new unique weapons that are not found in other games making this a nice change in pace, however short lived.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I've played better but not that bad

posted by chargerbrett (PIQUA, OH) May 16, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Good game for people into the aliens and supernatural. I really liked that the buttons were just like COD. Storyline got a little old and the graphics weren't the best. Some times there were just to many bad guys to shoot that all you could do was high tail and run. I liked that your guns would gain levels and improve, I didn't like that you couldn't decide whether or not you wanted to add a scope it just did it automatically. Could have been a much better game with some more thought into it. Overall, worth the rent, not worth the buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

no Nathan Hale but Wow what a game :) (mild spoil)

posted by JulzR23 (EL PASO, TX) May 14, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

when i picked up the first resistance i didn't expect to become addicted to this series to be honest what first caught my eye was the chimera skull it was a very interesting design i wanted to know what was it about. following Hale and the human race's journey through the first 2 games was by far one of the biggest mind blowing experiences I've ever gotten from a game we have an massive enemy force that only gets bigger with every human that is defeated and some of the coolest bosses i have ever seen. the first 2 games had a great deal of character build up for hale that when you got to the ending of the 2nd one you were like WTH!!!(cant use F apparently) why would they do that we need hale to continue to fight for the human race. i was a little upset and i know i wasn't the only one... but anyway i like to keep an open mind when i saw Capelli as the main character for this one i felt like "OK... this could either be pretty cool or a train wreck" but i had faith and wanted to see the resistance world through the eyes of the man that everyone was hating on. i knew insomniac was going to try and make us love him the way we loved hale. and well it happened i fell in love with the character. what Cappelli showed me was something i knew deep down that hale couldn't it was a human side to this war. yeah you can argue that hale was human because for the most part he was (until the end of the 2nd game of course) but Hale was a guy who had nothing to lose he was unstoppable like kratos or wolverine he was made to pwn. Cappelli especially now that he is no longer a sentinel gave me that feeling that this character was mortal he could no longer heal himself over time and he had a family that's a lot for a man to lose and he lived up to that role. i highly recommend this game for any resistance fan who is still upset about hale give Cappelli a chance and to anyone who hasn't played resistance go pick up the first one you wont be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Shooter

posted by Justwondering (DORCHESTER CENTER, MA) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I had allot of fun playing this game. I really loved having all the cool guns and all the different aliens it was a pretty cool game if you never played it pick it up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MUST PLAY even if you've never played resistance

posted by Hazael93 (MIAMI BEACH, FL) Apr 7, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Honestly I've played resistance since the days of Russia (Resistance 1) to the change of setting to the western side of the world (Resistance 2). Both Awesome games but Resistance 3 is well polished, the perfection of the previous two games the way the game-play feels to the sweet feeling of finishing enemies with these amazing guns that the game throws at you. This game is a sweet ride and one you'll enjoy from beginning to end. I thought since the main player from the first two games isn't on the third would make this game not as interesting but the story is intense and will hook you on to it. This is one of the best shooters I've ever played and one i recommend to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Short story

posted by Le22az (PHOENIX, AZ) Feb 26, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This game is way to easy without multiplayer this game is just a short story if your bored

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game, some pros and cons

posted by GF_casualgamer (MANTECA, CA) Feb 22, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I'm a casual gamer, I like games on the easier side and good graphics & story. I don't care for weapons upgrade and do not like RPG or open world format. Give me a great linear story, great graphics, easy to finish and I'm happy. I want to check my brain and be entertained.

Pros: Good shooter, good graphics, story is interesting. Checkpoints are manageable so when you die, it doesn't take long to catch up.

Cons: No auto aim, no hiding and pop out for quick shots.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

P.O.S Game

posted by kreyes19 (NEW YORK, NY) Feb 4, 2013

Member since Oct 2010

this game sucks a step backwards from part 2 and on top of that it freezes constantly smh

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

should have stopped at 2

posted by durango95 (DECATUR, AL) Feb 3, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

its ok alot slower ,split screen isnt as good ,play seems choppy and forced, 1 or 2 are much better ,,even the weapon change is better in 1 and 2 maybye it will redeem its self with the online play ,,,can only hope

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Resistance 3

posted by libra517 (ROMEOVILLE, IL) Jan 25, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This game froze up my (PS3). would not play and now I cant even delete it from my system

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

overall good but could do better

posted by thanatos2277 (OREGON CITY, OR) Jan 23, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I'm a big fan of resistance. The game is a good collection to have in the series. But I think the desingers were getting lazy because it feels like its lacking something... but still a great game... 8 stars out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

So buggy I couldn't play it

posted by russ45 (GAINESVILLE, FL) Jan 17, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

I was able to play the first level--Haven, OK--but once I got to St. Louis it would lock up and never progress to any sort of video or game screen. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling. Then I tried it again with Internet turned off in case patch 1.05 was the problem. Nothing worked.

This game is, pure and simple, a waste of your time and your money. It is an endless source of frustration. Insomniac should be ashamed of themselves for producing an unplayable game. Gamefly, frankly, should be ashamed for renting a lemon. I feel duped by both companies.

Save yourself some strife and don't touch this game. The first 2 were great, but this one is just the opposite.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Once in a while, there is perfection.

posted by Showta (HOODSPORT, WA) Dec 23, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Obviously, this is only one man's opinion, but even after putting up with the annoying install bug on Resistence 3, and it being a short (less than 20 hours) storyline. I am giving Resistence 3 my VERY first PERFECT score of 10/10.

Every aspect of this iteration of the series was a HUGE improvement in presentation and execution. Put 1 & 2 to shame (and they they were both very fun).

KUDOS to Insomniac for ending (I think) the series on such a high note. Great job!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cool weapons

posted by fishyfriend12 (BAY MINETTE, AL) Dec 22, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

i like this game better than all the other resistance games especially the weapons plus the graphics but if u havent played before i would get resitance 2 or 1 first

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

RESISTANCE3

posted by goldbone69 (HOLLAND, NY) Dec 11, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

it was a good game but a little short and hard to keep my attention

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it does not work

posted by alexgaudino (RICHLANDS, NC) Oct 31, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

please stop sending me games that dont work please this is the 2 one that i got that freezes at the next level

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

oh wow

posted by KILOLOCO (GARDENA, CA) Oct 6, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

resistance 3 was a pretty good game it did freeze everytime ill start the game and itll work the second time it would also freeze when it would go into a new chapter i got up to chapter 19 but didnt get to play the level. also going around looking for health packs sucked. overall it was a good game but because of all the defects, resistance 3 deservesa 5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Resistance 3

posted by drake339 (CENTREVILLE, MD) Oct 3, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

After a very long lenghtly download (AKA patch) and the long load of the game itself it started out okay. After a chapter or two if was too buggy (game would stall and you would have to restart your PS3) after doing this several times during several chapters it just was not what was expected from them like the first two games (I thought were quite good 7+) If it was not so buggy it may have been better. Oh Multi player (don't get me started on all those problems) Better off with something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great gameplay, okay story.

posted by hevinlyreign (SPOKANE, WA) Sep 21, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is an excellent FPS. The game play is amazing and the graphics are wonderful, just what you'd expect from a Sony game. There was no excessive loading or any glitches that I had experienced.

The story line was sub-par in my opinion. There was no carry over from the first two installments and you are a different character in the same era in the same crisis. I have enjoyed all the Resistance games and they are a little better in my opinion than all of the COD and MOH type games. It is nice to have the nostalgia from the earlier time frame in America and to combined it with extra-terrestrials. It is still sad for me to know that the protagonist is a super human machine that can carry way too many weapons and ammo and be able to save not only the world, but the universe from a highly technologically advanced species.

I would highly recommend this game especially if you have played the first two titles. You can just jump right into Resistance 3 if you are new to the series, you will just be a little confused on some of the story elements when they are speaking about the protagonist from the first two titles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not as good as what could have been!

posted by BlaketheReaper (GATE CITY, VA) Sep 6, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is good like the title says but not as good as what they could have made it, after a little gameplay it gets repetative and the story isnt really up to par but it is a good shooter even if you havnt played the first two games you'll still be able to pick right up on this one. All and all it is good and fun I gave it a 7 I think you'll enjoy it it just sucks to know it's not what it coulda been!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An excellent game

posted by s3rgioru3las (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 27, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Really easy to get into, challenging and just a great overall experience. I loved the game though it felt somewhat short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse