Rent Resistance 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Resistance 3

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

6667 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

no Nathan Hale but Wow what a game :) (mild spoil)

posted by JulzR23 (EL PASO, TX) May 14, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

when i picked up the first resistance i didn't expect to become addicted to this series to be honest what first caught my eye was the chimera skull it was a very interesting design i wanted to know what was it about. following Hale and the human race's journey through the first 2 games was by far one of the biggest mind blowing experiences I've ever gotten from a game we have an massive enemy force that only gets bigger with every human that is defeated and some of the coolest bosses i have ever seen. the first 2 games had a great deal of character build up for hale that when you got to the ending of the 2nd one you were like WTH!!!(cant use F apparently) why would they do that we need hale to continue to fight for the human race. i was a little upset and i know i wasn't the only one... but anyway i like to keep an open mind when i saw Capelli as the main character for this one i felt like "OK... this could either be pretty cool or a train wreck" but i had faith and wanted to see the resistance world through the eyes of the man that everyone was hating on. i knew insomniac was going to try and make us love him the way we loved hale. and well it happened i fell in love with the character. what Cappelli showed me was something i knew deep down that hale couldn't it was a human side to this war. yeah you can argue that hale was human because for the most part he was (until the end of the 2nd game of course) but Hale was a guy who had nothing to lose he was unstoppable like kratos or wolverine he was made to pwn. Cappelli especially now that he is no longer a sentinel gave me that feeling that this character was mortal he could no longer heal himself over time and he had a family that's a lot for a man to lose and he lived up to that role. i highly recommend this game for any resistance fan who is still upset about hale give Cappelli a chance and to anyone who hasn't played resistance go pick up the first one you wont be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Once in a while, there is perfection.

posted by Showta (HOODSPORT, WA) Dec 23, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Obviously, this is only one man's opinion, but even after putting up with the annoying install bug on Resistence 3, and it being a short (less than 20 hours) storyline. I am giving Resistence 3 my VERY first PERFECT score of 10/10.

Every aspect of this iteration of the series was a HUGE improvement in presentation and execution. Put 1 & 2 to shame (and they they were both very fun).

KUDOS to Insomniac for ending (I think) the series on such a high note. Great job!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cool weapons

posted by fishyfriend12 (BAY MINETTE, AL) Dec 22, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

i like this game better than all the other resistance games especially the weapons plus the graphics but if u havent played before i would get resitance 2 or 1 first

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is a MUST if you played the first two

posted by TheJRose1984 (GREAT NECK, NY) Jul 29, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'll keep this review brief to prevent ruining the plot. If you played the first two games in the series, you'll definitely want to play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Oh yeah

posted by glasedrocket (VENICE, FL) Apr 19, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Love this game a must own for any shooter fan!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I swear I just Dont get tards that do reviews

posted by Asoberprep (WILTON MANORS, FL) Mar 16, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

How this only got a 7.7 and some games that get a 9 are nowhere as good as this one. Period this game is the best F.P.S. shooter I've played in a long time. Entertaining, solid, and the most important part FUN>

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent Game

posted by justin91189 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I found this game to be very fun. There are many different weapon and the gameplay keeps you wanting more. The background music keeps you in the game. The game to me starts out a little slow but keep going..its work with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

but kick game

posted by gamer6765 (TOMBALL, TX) Feb 14, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

this game is asome i wanted to play allday it's the most but kick game ever i rented it alredy and keep renting it over and over you wont be able to playing it get it alredy for real

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME

posted by 703AliKabir (FAIRFAX, VA) Jan 18, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

Best game i've played all year!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best resistance game of the 3

posted by richardp12344 (TAMPA, FL) Jan 8, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

you can upgrade your weapons like in ratchet and clank the best graphic i seen on the ps3 better than call of duty

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

VERY GOOD

posted by dogboy1234 (FORT WORTH, TX) Nov 2, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

i have been a big fan of this game and loved all of them the this game to me is by far better then killzone 3 i am in love wit this game the people who complain about 10.00 well guess what uncharted 3 will have it to so what get over it stop giving games low review just cause your broke

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by ion2486 (NORTH HILLS, CA) Oct 16, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

even though i haven't beat the game yet, i love everything about this game. its well put together and has lots of enemies to kill. its alot like the first resistance and the weapon wheel is great. the coop for this kinda sucks in the since that when you wanna bring up the weapon wheel you will still get hit if not taking cover. but this game is just great. i would recommend this if you like fist person killing and aliens to kill.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

still waiting!!!!!

posted by spitgame101 (KENOSHA, WI) Sep 11, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

this game was shipped to me on the 6th and i cant wait to get my hands on it.im a huge fan of the resistance series and the first 2 were great games.i know that 3 will be superb and im itching to play it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MUST PLAY even if you've never played resistance

posted by Hazael93 (MIAMI BEACH, FL) Apr 7, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Honestly I've played resistance since the days of Russia (Resistance 1) to the change of setting to the western side of the world (Resistance 2). Both Awesome games but Resistance 3 is well polished, the perfection of the previous two games the way the game-play feels to the sweet feeling of finishing enemies with these amazing guns that the game throws at you. This game is a sweet ride and one you'll enjoy from beginning to end. I thought since the main player from the first two games isn't on the third would make this game not as interesting but the story is intense and will hook you on to it. This is one of the best shooters I've ever played and one i recommend to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great gameplay, okay story.

posted by hevinlyreign (SPOKANE, WA) Sep 21, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is an excellent FPS. The game play is amazing and the graphics are wonderful, just what you'd expect from a Sony game. There was no excessive loading or any glitches that I had experienced.

The story line was sub-par in my opinion. There was no carry over from the first two installments and you are a different character in the same era in the same crisis. I have enjoyed all the Resistance games and they are a little better in my opinion than all of the COD and MOH type games. It is nice to have the nostalgia from the earlier time frame in America and to combined it with extra-terrestrials. It is still sad for me to know that the protagonist is a super human machine that can carry way too many weapons and ammo and be able to save not only the world, but the universe from a highly technologically advanced species.

I would highly recommend this game especially if you have played the first two titles. You can just jump right into Resistance 3 if you are new to the series, you will just be a little confused on some of the story elements when they are speaking about the protagonist from the first two titles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An excellent game

posted by s3rgioru3las (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 27, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Really easy to get into, challenging and just a great overall experience. I loved the game though it felt somewhat short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fresh FPS experience!

posted by nitehawk (NORTH BILLERICA, MA) Aug 14, 2012

Member since Mar 2009

This is a breath of fresh air from Call of Duty as a FPS experience. The storyline is awesome, graphics are phenomenal and the guns, oh boy, the guns are insane.

Having a weapon wheel like this does confuse you at some moments because you're not sure which gun to take out your foes with, but having a selection to change in a firefight can make it more exciting. Finding ammo and health instead of always having enough also changes up the experience a bit too.

The story is very engaging, the multiplayer is fun, but established players truly are superior so jumping into a game for the first few hours will result in some confusion and a horrid K/D ratio.

I tried the sharpshooter gun with this, but I got sick of it and was glad when I changed back to the sticks. Aiming and moving at the same time was very hard for me and the times when I could just stand still and aim it was fun to use a gun to shoot bad guys, but moving became such a chore that I was glad to go back to the traditional way.

This game is must have for PS3 owners.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

4/5 Stars.

posted by Starvois (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jun 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When i got the game i was very skeptical, I'm a C.O.D player (since C.O.D 4) and was looking for something to fill the void since most of the C.O.D games are well, getting stale. So naturally when i got the game i was hoping for something that would be comparable to Call of Duty...

First things first, this completely (pardon my French) Destroys Call Of Duty! (in my opinion)

Graphics are amazing, extremely balanced, wonderful game play! i have no idea why i haven't been on board with the whole resistance series!

My only complaint (very minor) is that there is almost no aspect of stealth, and the interface is dull at best. Also if you have ever played Halo your in for a treat! the main game play mechanics are very similar. For that reason i say that this game is amazing but still just a First Person shooter, and you can (& should) expect it to not be perfect. The best way i can describe it as is: An amazing game...out of the average FPS genre.

Worth looking at if you are interested in a nice balanced C.O.D alternative!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this game rocks

posted by superhitman18 (SPRING HILL, TN) Jun 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i have been a big fan of the resistance series.Resistance3 has few areas that you go to like New york and more.this game is the best resistance game i have played but i hate that they changed the main person in the game but after all he would become one of the chimeran soon or later but it is a great game with the new main person.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Yes, you can use all your weapons again!

posted by SoulGamer (STAFFORD, TX) May 2, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

I love part one because of all the variety of weapons you can use. But in part 2, you can only use 2 weapons at a time which I thought took away the gameplay aspect of what original made resistance fun. Thankfully, part 3 brought back the weapon circle letting you use all the weapons. The game was so fun using these weapons, the only downside with the game is the length and boss fights. Overall, I give it a 9 because of how much fun I had using all the weapons. (Do not use the same weapon throughout the game, this is not the way to play resistance)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GReat Shooter

posted by sinister_bass (MIAMI GARDENS, FL) May 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

really lives up to other resistance games does't use other bullscrap from other shooter like COD or battlfied this is a must try if you have a ps3 console, really good job its really uniq.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What a Great Game!

posted by TenaciousP (HASKELL, NJ) Apr 13, 2012

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Even though I couldn't go online (because I rented it) I had a blast running around removing the Chimaera (sp?) A slew of weapons that all have a unique, fun style; a host of grenades that are intuitive about being thrown; and the combat is super-tight, and never feels dull, or "brownish-grey" I loved the beautiful sets, the character models never glitched through a wall, and the storyline was interesting enough to keep me from skipping through, just to go kill more stuff. You get a giant taser, a freeze gun, rocket launcher, several machine guns, an awesomely powerful revolver with explosive rounds, A shotgun that sets people on fire, a gun that turns stuff into a walking viral bomb, I could go on, but the weapons are only half the fun. Seriously, check this game out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by Sfx (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been a fan of the resistance game series, but resistance 3 was just awesome, a little different from the past two game but new character and different stories happening along the way was just a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

RESISTANCE 3...PS3...7-13 RATING

posted by tractrdave (NEW PHILADELPHIA, OH) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Oct 2009

NOW & FORWARD, THIS IS HOW I WILL RATE GAMES:

1) BEGINNER
2) 1-3
3) NOVICE
4) 3-5
5) AVERAGE
6) 5-7
7) GOOD
8) 7-9
9) EXPERIENCED
10) 9-11
11) EXTREME
12) 11-13
13) MASTER

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

1st time player or resistance

posted by bricon06 (DUBLIN, VA) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This game is awsome. the story and game play excelleant.online play just as good as MW3 if not better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse