Rent Resistance 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Resistance 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.4

16019 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Multi-player Madness

posted by psymons (FISHERS, IN) Nov 29, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

49 out of 57 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Resistance 2 pulls off what no other game has...large numbers of players online....successfully. When I saw that they touted that you could play with 60 players online the first thing I thought was "this is going to be a lagfest". Luckily, R2 (hey, I kinda like that) proved me wrong. While playing a game that big can get chaotic at least you never lack anything to shoot at. Speaking of shooting, the weapons while limited in number are freaking excellent. Snipers will have a great time with this game and anyone can pick one up and begin killing right away due to the "no sway" scope. Let the head shots ensue. The Auger is a "Perfect Dark" type weapon that allows you to see and fire through objects at unsuspecting enemies. Each weapon has a secondary feature that really comes into play. A lot of thought went into these weapons. I won't go into the campaign since I haven't played it as much but do know that it is fun. Overall, if you are into online gaming this game is a must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun for a long time

posted by Ryan47 (MONTGOMERY, IL) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I bought this game for christmas and still am in love with it now. The campaign mode is very fun and deep. they way campaign flows is nice. now where the game really shines is in the online mode. First its chaotic and fun. You might first get frustrated with how much you will die but theres a reason to this. You can play with up to 60 players! So while you will get blindsided a lot, theres always some action lurking around the corner. Not to mention the leveling up and experience points method for the online is fun and satisfying. The only problem that i have with this game so far is that the weapons, other than the grenades, are weak and frustrating. You'll shoot a guy for literally about 10 seconds before they die. if you dont have playstation network i would suggest you rent this game and see how you like it, but if you do have psn, definately buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Resistance 2 review.

posted by cbiller1 (FORT MYERS, FL) Aug 14, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Best game of all time could not stop playing. This game is amazing and in my opinion has the best co-op system i have ever played. I like how they connect competitive,co-operative, and campaign all to make your character profile. I love this game and after playing it i was addicted already they made everything player friendly like easy to make clans and join them. All in all the greatest game ever and i will buy resistance 3 because i played this game and so should you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!

posted by darkmatter4 (WATERTOWN, SD) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wow is all i have to say.
Story mode = Awesome.
Co-op = Fantastic.
Multiplayer = Great.
So much to love about this game.
Had it since release and have bought it for others.
I would for sure recommend buying this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best PS3 FPS To-Date, IMO

posted by Necrodread (PALM BAY, FL) Jun 15, 2009

Member since May 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

In an attempt to keep this review fairly brief, I can summarize Resistance 2 best by stating that it has positively evolved from R:FoM in every possible aspect. The solo campaign is extremely intense, engaging, creative, diverse, and epic, right to the very end; the eight-player co-op campaign is brutally difficult, yet highly rewarding and fun; and the competitive multiplayer gameplay, whether playing with four players or sixty, can easily rival that of games such as Halo 3, Unreal Tournament III, and Warhawk. In addition to the oustanding gameplay improvements, there have also been tremendous graphical and mechanical advances; the game looks absolutely gorgeous when played in full 1080p, and matches its looks with leading-edge next-gen audio. As far as replayability goes, there are certainly reasons for one to want to do so, though they are more along the lines of game modifiers and harder difficulties, rather than alternate endings or a different play-through experience. Much like R:FoM, R2 is very linear: however, in my opinion, this trait suits the game and story perfectly, helping you to really feel as though you are part of the action, rather than finding your own clever ways of breezing past enemies and bosses, as many modern open-ended games allow. R2 also boasts an incredible number of perfectly-located checkpoints and auto-saves, preventing much of the frustration which accompanies many modern FPS's.
If there are any con's concerning this game, they are that the game will occasionally, randomly, freeze for a second or two in the solo campaign, sometimes even crashing during the solo and co-op campaigns, and that the online gameplay is certainly not lag-less. Players still jerk around occassionally, and jitter across the landscape, making headshots near impossible for the average gamer.
All in all, however, Resistance 2 easily earns from me my first ever GameFly rating: a perfect 10 out of 10. If you own a PS3, rent this game immediately!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Most Improved Sequel Ever

posted by SkinnyJr (DEERFIELD, IL) Nov 9, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

47 out of 60 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Resistance 2 throws down with massive boss fights, waves upon waves of enemies attacking at once- sometimes 20-30 at a time, and a great story that leaves you wanting more answers. During Nathan Hale's final 19 hours, you travel across the US to defeat the Chimera strongholds. There are several new enemies, causing you to switch tactics during a battle which is very nice. The weapons selection is great, you'll never find a lack of creativity when it comes to Insomniac. I just loved this game from start to finish. The multiplayer is nice, not Call of Duty 4 nice, but still good. The 60 player matches are NOT hectic, dividing the match into small team based objectives adds much needed organization. I didn't notice I single hiccup- not even with 30 enemies on screen. Fantastic game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

60 people online!! R2

posted by zerokool (HENRICO, VA) Apr 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

the offline game is fun, & the online play is amusing to say the least. I saw there was 60 players in a room and I joined up...my first round I got 40 kills but had 75 deaths...Everytime I was shooting someone, 10 of their friends were shooting me in the back. If you can handle grenades and like run & gun...this game is for you. I get tired of run & gun after a few matches so the replay value for me is none. Weapons are good but not nearly lethal enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great but hard at times!!1

posted by TheColdWol (HUNTINGTOWN, MD) Apr 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Alright this game is far more fun than the first. Its hard at some parts but not all. The weapons are better, and the bosses are easy to kill. Haven't played co-op yet but you can play with up to 8 people which is more than any other co-op game on any system. The graphics are better. The multiplayer is fun and allot of people can be played with up to 60 people at once more than any other game i've seen. So get this game don't even rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by bearsfan (SMITHS GROVE, KY) Jan 2, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

13 out of 17 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

I own all 3 systems and this is the second best shooter I have ever played and the best in many ways. Resistance 1 was a really good game, especially when considering it was a launch title. But they took everything good about the first game and improved on it.

First the graphics were amazing and maybe the best I have ever seen. I actually took some Chimera fire while looking around at the scenary. I used to always use Gears of War as the game to compare as greatness in graphics well this game has surpassed that.

Second, the gameplay is intense and the controls are tight and responsive. My heart was pounding through a lot of the game because of the feeling of being overwhelmed. But that is what amazed me about the game was that no matter how overwhelmed I felt by the enemies I knew if I thought about the situation there was a solution. The weapons were also the best that I have ever seen in a shooter.

The story was improved and very good but there are very few shooters that I think of as "great" stories but this one was above average as far as shooters go. I missed the narrator from the first though but I guess it wouldn't have made since to bring her back considering her commentary from the first.

If you own a PS3 this is a must play. If you have a friend that owns a PS3 convince him to get it and go play his copy. This is my favorite PS3 game to date and yes I have played MGS but that is a rant for a different place.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best shooters for the PS3!

posted by aztecz (UTICA, NY) Jun 17, 2009

Member since May 2009

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This was a great sequel to an awesome game resistance fall of man. Yes, the graphics are a little cartoonie,and that game was a little short, and you cant hold as many weapons as the other one. But all in all this game is great. Awesome storyline. Good weapon designs. Campaign is very fun. Co -op is too. And online with the 60 players i thought it world be a lag fest but its not dosent lag at all and its awesome so fun! So i definetly recomed buying or at least renting this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game yet from Insomniac

posted by aaustinite (HIGHLAND, IL) May 27, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

The story mode is not what I liked about this game, I rarely play the single-player modes if i don't have to. The online mode is flawless, since the new patch lag is almost non- exsistant. I really like the new download packs. they do make the game way better. I want everyone to rent then save up to keep it. Worth every dollar. Also the new PS Home Space is a nicely done effort from insomniac. I am saving up to play it for keeps. I can't imagine a r3, where would they begin? the moon? who knows?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Resistance 2 review

posted by Raziel111 (LINDSAY, CA) Mar 25, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Resistance 2... yeah, kind of a let down for me. Sure the game has pretty much the same action as the first one, but the differences between this game and Resistance: Fall of Man left a bad taste in my mouth.

The Chimera are different. They're bigger, badder, and better than the first Chimera. The regular grunts return. But now they have new monsters. For one, hatchlings. They don't need a conversion center to make a chimera. A ten foot egg is laid pretty much anywhere. These guys may not look like much but they can kill you easily in numbers. The little crawlers - as if they weren't annoying enough, they now spit acid at you. Seriously?!!! Plus, furies are here. What are they, well, if there is a large expanse of water, a furie will be there and will kill you instantainiously. They now have a craken. Plus there's a 100 ft. tall chimera. He's not that hard, and he does give you a cool action sequence. He's just too ugly. Plus, the technology, like in the movies is incredibly big and weird looking.

The female narrator has and been removed and, oh, get this. Nathan Hale has a personality. He actually talks every cutscene. Plus, he's not the only one of his kind. There are others who are like him to, known as Sentinels. They've been affected but appear human, and have Hale's abillities.

A big flaw in gameplay was the lack of a weapons wheel. Hale can only carry two weapons at a time. And there are some cool weapons in that game. Plus, the health bar has improved. Why? Because there isn't one. Just a red screen. This gets very annoying as enemies get stronger and Hale gets weaker. You'll find out why. But my biggest disapointment was the ending. Sure, the gameplay was fun at the end, but the ending wasn't cinematic enough. It had a twist, but it was just a pretty blah ending.

Overall, this game wasn't as good as Fall of Man, but it was still fan. If you liked the first one. You have to play this one. Overall, I had a good time, despite the bad challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Addicting game

posted by tammiem (ELWOOD, IN) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is very addicting..you play for hours on end..just to try to "beat" the game. It reminds me of Aliens, so if that's your thing..you"ll love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great follow up to R1

posted by temak82 (SCHENECTADY, NY) Nov 11, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game. I thought the graphics are well done, levels were good, the sound was solid and controls were tight. I am an avid and seasoned FPS player and I highly recommend this game. For anyone saying that this game "sucks" or gives it a 1 because it has no real coop mode, should focus on the actual gameplay as that what makes the game.

The only reason I gave it a 9 is because I wished it was a bit longer. I finished the game in about 2.5 days of playing a few hours each day on Normal setting.

The game is not overly difficult either, it's well balanced to say the least. You can easily snipe enemies from far away and those Chameleons take 1 shot to kill. If those guys get you annoyed and actually kill you then not sure how you can call yourself a "hardcore" fps gamer.

Check this game out if you like shooters, you won't be disappointed. A breath of fresh air after garbage like Far Cry 2 and Brothers in Arms.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not as good as "Resistance Fall Of Man"

posted by gary7354 (WESTLAND, MI) Nov 10, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

18 out of 27 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Everything sounded great, looked great, and worked well for Resistance 2, the following is a list of why the first game was better:
1) The selection of weapons was not as diverse in this game and you can only carry two in this game while the original was limitless.
2) The game is much shorter or it takes less time to play through in my experience.
3) You had to pick up ammo from other weapons the first game had ammo containers. It seemed as though I was short of ammo many times in this new game.
3) You did not get to use a tank or any other mechanized vehicles as in the first game. It was great fun getting back at the enemy with the powerful tank cannon in the first game.
4) The Bullseye ammo is lower now 35 in the chamber and holds extra 175 while originally it chambered 70 and held an additional 210 rounds.
5)The Auger held 100 rounds originally but now only 50 rounds.
6)The carbine chambered 50 rounds and held an additional 150 originally. In R2 the carbine chambers 30 rounds and held an additional 180 rounds.

The Auger is improved as the visual to see through matter is now a very visible green turning red when an enemy is killed.

Advice: The pods that produce the running creatures, once human, can be destroyed as pods which will help. This will lower their numbers as they try to overwhelm without weapons. So, destroy the pods asap with a melle to reduce the number of the creatures especially ones that can latter attack from behind.

GameFly sent me the game on 11-5-2008 but never received it so I purchased it from GameStop.

I think that if you buy this game it is well worth the cost but do yourself a favor and rent of buy the first version as it is better than the second in my opinion. Have fun!!

Gary

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great! yet not perfect.

posted by m1kem1m1k (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 15, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Wow, this game was awsome! the weapons were amped up a notch and the multiplayer was taken to a whole new level. First the campaign; I loved the campaign of this game in so many ways and i do have a few complaints, I'll save those for later. So Hale is back and has some new friends just like him, infected with the chimeran virus but still awake, called the sentinels. Good story so far, conversion centers are gone and instead, there are these freaky eggs that have big, ugly and fast chimerans in them and they can hatch at any time. This can get pretty spooky when your in a dark room with nothing but eggs. The weapons are great, some old favorits are back including the auger, bullseye and the carbine. The auger is way better now because you can see the enemy glowing through walls unlike before and same for the bullseye if you tag somebody.Then there's the new guns, the marksman, the ripsaw( my personal favorite, who doesn't love chopping aliens running at you into little bits!) the magnum, and the wraith. One is a battle rifle from halo, one is the magnum from halo, one is a gattling gun, it's not coping if it's in every game, and one can be a very bad knockoff of the chainsaw from gears. CREATIVE! Not to mention they took away the pistols and slipskulls, MY FAVORITE GUN AND ENEMY! Not to mention the ending sucked, what are they going to do now! Ok so on to the multiplayer. Great multiplayer, kind of an inbetween COD and halo. You don't die quick and it doesn't take a million bullets to kill someone. Also you can hook up with friends and play from the SAME CONSOLE! THANK YOU! You also can custimize your characters look. Also you can get a perk for your player which you can activate when you have enough points, which I really like. And on to the big 60 player multiplayer. It is awsome. Some how it works and is incredibly addictive. You get put in a squad which is given objectives like defend a node or secure a node or attack a node, kill a priority target or defend one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

what a letdown

posted by sugarwolf (POTTERSVILLE, NJ) Jun 19, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

ok, so i played through the first resistance with my friend and had a great time. the game had killer graphics and a unique 50s retro thow back feel which was eerie and enjoyable.
this game however was a giant disappointment. in the first resistance you could play 2 player in the main campaign with, story wise, made no sense but it was massive amounts of fun. this time around there is no two player campaign option despite the fact that you are running around with a team of guys like you. great idea guys, take one of the most successful elements of the first game and scrap it when it actually makes sense to implement it.
also, the game suffered from appalling graphics inconsistency. sometimes the blood was very visceral and real but most of the time it looked like 2D jelly smears.
worst of all, it was lacking the real feeling of danger that the first game had in favor of a "seriously how badly can we rip off the ambiance of gears of war and fail miserably" theme. the more horrorish elements were pretty much gone.
then there were the boss battles which were intelligence insulting. basically lots of patterns where if you made a mistake it resulted in instant death.
this brings me to the most annoying problem of the game which was its willingness to create relentless chains of situations where you can suffer an event that causes you to instantly die. worse off, since the sections of the game where you wont instantly die are nothing new from the first game and thus yawningly easy, it is clear that the instant death scenarios were created in order to instill the game with an artificial feeling of difficulty.
play the first resistance if you want to play a good game. play the second if you want to find out what it would be like if the first game had been molested by its uncle when it was younger.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Resistance 2

posted by RLsport36 (DALY CITY, CA) Nov 7, 2008

Member since May 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Insomniac honored every promise they made at E3 about this anticipated sophomore title sequel. With 3 challenging modes from CAMPAIGN, CO-OP (8 players online), and COMPETITIVE (60 players online)-there is something to satisfy ANY hardcore FPS player in this game!

Exclusively on the PS3 console, R2 lives up to "hype" that it generated from the beginning and it's great blu-ray formatted graphics to it's crisp sound jarring real to life effects and the 1st ever largest and ONLY competitive multi-player online should challenge any of the FPS games on the market! Humans-4 eyed menacing monsters-deadly weapons-larger than life geographical correct maps to play on...Definitely THUMBS UP for R2!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fight The Good Fight.

posted by aenderw (GREENSBORO, NC) Nov 5, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

23 out of 37 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

The Playstation 3's flagship title, Resistance: Fall of Man was a masterpiece on the system. How could Insomniac improve upon a near perfect experience? Well, Resistance 2 of course. In fact, it blows 'Fall of Man' out of the water in nearly every aspect.

Graphically, the title is nearly flawless. I've experienced no slow down whatsoever in my many hours with the game. The original color scheme that was overly saturated with grays and browns has been revamped to allow for a brighter hue. However, the colors are still filtered with that classic gritty hue that perfectly conveys a world in turmoil. There are awe inspiring scenes in nearly every act. From the basic battles with Chimera soldiers to boss fights with the Kraken and Leviathan, you'll be blown away the entire time. The audio is mostly unchanged from the amazing collaboration of the sounds of war and orchestrated pieces throughout found in the first title.

The story (campaign) focuses more on Hale's choices this time than 'Fall of Man.' This is in stark contrast to the plot giving a broad overview of the war and Hale's being pointed in a particular direction. While several of the plot strings are brought to satisfying conclusions, there are new ones uncoiled. I can't wait to see how this story closes!!

The game's multiplayer was the selling point for me. It offers local two player co-op, online 8 player co-op, as well as the 60 man multiplayer mode known as Skirmish. The local co-op mode offers a different story than the main campaign, which spices things up a bit. The Skirmish mode splits you up into six teams of five for both sides and sets objectives. You are allowed to pick between three classes: soldier, medic, and spec-ops. Each offers a class specific move that proves to be supremely helpful.

Resistance 2 is a must rent (if not buy) title for PS3 owners. The campaign and multiplayer are nearly perfect and will keep you busy for months to come.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazingly put together....

posted by BigTwin (Ridgewood, NY) Jan 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm not one for first-person shooter games in particular, I mostly stick to my sports and fighting games. But this game is a masterpiece, the campaign mode is very exciting and the action is non -stop, there are serious battles in this game and it actually feels like a war scene is taking place. At times there are 30-50 people on the screen battling it out, which is what you want in any shooting game. Playing on a difficult setting increases the fun and challenge... the story m is gripping and leaves you at the edge of your seat and begging for more... great make up and graphics are amazing... the weapons are well put together and so are the levels, the scenery at times is mind blowing. You will love this game from start to finish...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Resistance 2

posted by spyder98gs (NASHVILLE, TN) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I thought Resistance: Fall of Man, was a great game. The enemies were challenging, the graphics were realistic, and overall the game made you feel like you were in a war zone. Resistance 2 takes all that away. The enemies are easier, but to compensate for this, the game just throws wave after wave of them at you. The graphics now look cartoonish and not realistic at all. You can't carry as many weapons, and you don't have to scrounge as much for ammo. Basically they took all the unique elements out of the game and made it feel like another Halo clone. Plus they took out the co-op campaign mode. Personally, I like being able to play through a game with a friend, rather then just playing death match all the time. If you want a good shooter for the PS3 play the first Resistance. Play this one if you want to see how the story ends, but don't expect it to be anything like the original. In this case they tried fixing what wasn't broken, and messed up a good formula.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

3 games in one.

posted by loucypher (FREMONT, IN) Oct 25, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

One of the few really well put together games out there.
Not only did they have a great idea for the game, the people that made it were also verry good at the science of making a game.
Game one. Single player ( great game play, great story line that leaves wanting to know more about the world,really makes you feel like your in the game.) plus the killing is really fun.

Game two. co op whole new story, with rpg like upgrades and rewards,plus extra background info on the war your fighting.
3 diffent classes all with one job each, do you job and everyone lives,dont do it and you die. Plus the killing is really really fun.

Game 3 competive multiplayer. OMG 60 PEOPLE WARS!!!!!!!!!!
oh and they pulled it off well. your split up into five man squads so its not total random anarchy. Its just like real war,army vs army not man vs man you really have pindown and flank the enemy as a group,and use the terrain to help you win. In no way is this easy. Plus the killing is really really fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Resistance 2 is amazing

posted by bioresistt (NECEDAH, WI) Nov 8, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Resistance 2 is a stellar sequel to the first game. The story starts right off where resistance fall of man ended. The campaign will take about 12 hours to beat. The graphics are pretty but not photo-realistic. The frame rate never dips which is quite impressive to the scale of the game. The bosses and landscapes of the many different parts of the united states is great. The gameplay is great and addictive. It is great fun especially with the online coop which is ground breaking and incredibly fun. The only disappointing thing was the ending. Im not gonna say what happens but lets just say that resistance 3 is a possible game. Overall it is a outstanding game with lasting appeal that is well worth your money. Go out and buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW, AWESOME NON STOP ACTION!!!

posted by RFOMaddict (ALLENTOWN, PA) Nov 5, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

19 out of 36 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS THE MOST INTENSE SHOOTER I'VE EVER PLAYED. U HAVE A CAMPAIGN MODE, 8 PLAYER CO-OP MODE, AND ONLINE MULTIPLAYER THAT SUPPORTS UP TO 60 PLAYERS. THIS IS LIKE BUYING THREE GAMES FOR THE PRICE OF ONE.THIS GAME IS A DEFINITE BUY BECAUSE THERE IS SO MUCH TO DO IN IT. IT CONTAINS AT LEAST 4 2 0 HOURS OF GAMEPLAY FROM WHAT I READ WHICH IS EQUIVALENT TO PLAYING THE GAME FOR 24 HOURS A DAY FOR 18 DAYS AND THE CONTROLS, GRAPHICS AND WEAPONS FEEL MUCH BETTER THAN RESISTANCE 1. THIS GAME BEATS COD4, HALO 3, AND GEARS OF WAR HANDS DOWN. THERE ARE ALSO WEAPONS UNLOCKED AS U LEVEL UP AND OTHER COOL STUFF. THE 8 PLAYER CO-OP STORY YOU HAVE TO WORK TOGETHER AS A TEAM TO SUCCEED WHICH REDEFINES THE REAL MEANING OF COOP. THE ENEMY AI IS SMARTER AND THE STORY IS SO MUCH DEEPER NOW. THE ENEMIES FIGHT BACK BY USING SHIELDS, OR PUNCHING AND KICKING U.I COULD GO ON AND ON BOUT THIS GAME BUT I HAVE TO GO BACK TO PLAYING.BUY THIS GAME RIGHT AWAY AND IF U R STILL NOT SURE ,HOW BOUT U RENT IT FIRST AND TRUST ME, U WONT REGRET THE EXPERIENCE AND YOU LL END UP BUYIN IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Steaming Pile

posted by rjcpdx (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Dec 26, 2008

Member since Jan 2004

20 out of 40 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's easy to do a mediocre shooter. That's kind of the default position in today's corporate gaming world, where game after game is just tired product churned out in a long, undifferentiated line of look alikes.

But to make a really stinky, boring and frustrating shooter -- ah, that's genius.

Hard to believe R2 comes from Insomniac, whose first outing in the series was pretty good and whose Ratchet & Clank is a real treat. Not this time. The game world is generic. The characters are bland. The setting is blander (note to devs: don't set games in Idaho. Just don't.) And the relentless linear march through unexceptional encounters with cookie cutter monsters is just meh from start to finish.

Worse, the design is contemptuous of players. I play FPSes at a very high level; I don't need an award or anything, that's just the way it is. So to be killed casually because an INVISIBLE MONSTER JUMPS OUT? Um, no. There's a -reason- games abandoned this kind of cheap kill ages ago.

A note on this game as a product. The economy is going to be very, very hard on gaming in general and the PS3 in particular in the coming years. Companies with low-ambition, cliched rubbish in the pipeline simply aren't going to be able to sell it in numbers high enough to be viable. In that respect, Insomnia seems to have moved this one out the door just in time. Three generous stars, two of which are for having the chutzpah to put this wreckage in a box.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse